Interstate All Battery Center operates as a staffed retail-and-commercial battery business: the franchisee maintains approved inventory, serves walk-in buyers and business accounts, performs authorized battery services, delivers commercial orders, records activity in the required point-of-sale system, and works inside product, supplier, marketing, data, and Marketing Area controls set by the franchisor.
The core cycle is demand generation, battery selection or custom assembly, approved-source fulfillment, in-store service or local delivery, point-of-sale recording, and continuing account follow-up. Interstate Battery Franchising & Development, Inc. supplies the System and controls specifications; the franchisee supplies the location, trained team, inventory execution, customer service, local selling, compliance, and day-to-day management.
Data basis. The legal franchisor is Interstate Battery Franchising & Development, Inc. (“IBFAD”). This analysis uses the U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued June 26, 2026, including Items 1, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19, and 20; the Franchise Agreement; Store System/Technology Agreement; Branch Addendum; and Manual table of contents. Item 20 covers fiscal years ending April 30, 2024 through April 30, 2026. Formats are the full Center and satellite Branch Center. Checked July 29, 2026. New grants are currently limited to existing IBFAD franchisees or existing Interstate Batteries, Inc. distributors in good standing. See the official Interstate Batteries franchising page.
What does an Interstate All Battery Center sell, and who buys it?
A Center sells authorized batteries, power accessories, and approved services to consumers and commercial accounts. The FDD separates inventory into Basic Products, Additional Products, and Auxiliary Products, while the consumer-facing brand pages show a mix of vehicle, powersports, household, medical, security, backup-power, and specialty applications.
Basic Products
“All Battery Products,” including alkaline and dry-cell batteries and batteries for household electronics, hearing aids, and security systems. They may generally be shipped beyond the Marketing Area, subject to other restrictions.
Additional Products
“1090NT Products,” including storage batteries for automotive, motorcycle, marine, golf-cart, equipment, and machinery uses. These carry the tightest Marketing Area and distributor-customer limits.
Auxiliary Products and services
Approved battery products sourced outside IBFAD affiliates, plus authorized testing, installation, recycling, watch or key-fob replacement, and custom battery-pack work. Service availability varies by location.
Retail demand comes from walk-in customers seeking a product, test, installation, replacement, or specialized battery solution. Commercial demand comes from local businesses and organizations, including education, medical, public-safety, fire-and-security, electrical, industrial, hospitality, data-center, and other accounts. The brand’s All Battery Center overview, commercial products and services page, and battery product lookup clarify those customer-facing channels.
Evidence: 2026 FDD, Item 1, pp. 1–3; Item 8, pp. 11–14; Item 16, pp. 28–29; Exhibit I. Official consumer pages are supplemental and do not expand the contractual authorized-product list.
How does work move through the Center after opening?
The disclosed model combines retail counter service with active B2B account development. A transaction may begin with a walk-in need, a locally generated commercial inquiry, an Existing Account, an optional Contact Center Program lead, or an optional National Customer relationship; fulfillment then runs through approved inventory, trained service, required systems, and controlled reporting.
Generate or receive demand
- Actor
- Dedicated B2B salesperson, store team, IBFAD marketing, or optional Contact Center Program.
- Action
- Run approved outreach, receive walk-ins or inquiries, and maintain commercial relationships.
- Output
- A retail need, commercial prospect, Existing Account request, or National Customer requirement.
Identify the battery or service
- Actor
- Trained store operator, manager, salesperson, or sales associate.
- Action
- Assess the application, select an authorized item, test when offered, or define custom assembly.
- Asset
- Product knowledge, diagnostic tools, product specifications, and the inventory record.
Source and prepare approved inputs
- Actor
- Franchisee purchasing function using approved or designated sources.
- Action
- Maintain mandatory inventory and order specified stock, fixtures, supplies, and equipment.
- Output
- Approved stock or components ready for sale, assembly, installation, delivery, or recycling.
Fulfill the customer promise
- Actor
- Center employees, trained service personnel, or delivery staff.
- Action
- Complete the sale, installation, custom assembly, commercial delivery, or recycling handling.
- Output
- Product or service completed under Manuals, safety, and warranty procedures.
Record payment and operating data
- Actor
- Store team using the proprietary Software and required payment arrangements.
- Action
- Record sales, receivables, inventory, financial information, and customer profiles.
- Output
- Transaction, inventory movement, receivable, and customer record available to IBFAD.
Report, follow up, and repeat
- Actor
- Franchisee management, B2B salesperson, IBFAD, and optional program providers.
- Action
- Report Gross Sales, reconcile records, service accounts, and pursue repeat orders.
- Dependency
- Compliance, account status, Marketing Area rules, and program obligations.
Evidence: 2026 FDD, Items 6, 8, 11, 12, and 15; Franchise Agreement §§6, 10, 13–16; Store System/Technology Agreement; Exhibit I. See the official battery rebuilding and custom assembly page and battery recycling page.
Can the owner delegate daily operation?
Personal day-to-day supervision by the franchisee is not required, but the model is not disclosed as absentee. The Center must remain under direct, on-premises supervision by a trained manager, employ a general store manager and dedicated B2B salesperson, and maintain at least one approved store operator who completed IBFAD training.
- Franchisee or ownership group: employs and directs the team, funds inventory and operations, maintains compliance, and remains responsible for Center obligations.
- Operating Principal: required for multiple individual owners. The approved person controls daily activities, works full time, completes training, and must be replaced within 60 days if eligibility ends.
- General store manager and store operator: provide trained on-premises supervision and execute customer service, inventory control, equipment operation, and required procedures.
- Dedicated B2B salesperson: actively markets within the Marketing Area and is required for optional Contact Center Program participation.
A manager-run structure is contractually possible because the owner need not supervise daily operations. A multi-owner franchisee must appoint a full-time Operating Principal. The FDD does not disclose headcount, shifts, labor hours, or an absentee-ownership program.
Evidence: 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 22–24; Item 15, p. 28; Franchise Agreement §§13, 15, and 19.E; Franchise Closing Questionnaire.
Which operating dependencies are mandatory?
IBFAD controls most of the operating architecture: authorized products, mandatory inventory, approved sources, store design, required hardware and Software, data access, marketing approval, and inspection standards. The franchisee chooses and manages employees and local execution, but those choices must operate inside the System, Manuals, Marketing Area, and approved-supplier framework.
Franchisee performs
Maintain the approved Center; employ the team; order mandatory inventory; execute retail service, B2B selling, delivery, recycling, insurance, PCI compliance, records, and licenses.
The franchisee may propose suppliers, submit local marketing for approval, and choose optional Contact Center or National Accounts participation.
IBFAD controls or supports
Define product categories, mandatory items, supplier approvals, store standards, training, Manuals, inspections, marketing programs, Marketing Area boundaries, and National Customer rules.
IBFAD can require upgrades, download Center data, inspect operations, change System elements, approve advertising, and restrict channels or relocation.
Affiliates and vendors supply
RAD is an approved product source and may provide optional contact-center services; IBI supports the distributor channel; ABC operates company-owned Centers.
Oracle supplies the Software, Microsoft the client-access technology, and CompuCom the disclosed hardware. Other designated technology providers may be required.
- Technology: the current package includes three retail-hardened point-of-sale registers. Software captures sales, receivables, inventory, financial information, and customer profiles; IBFAD typically downloads data nightly.
- Cybersecurity and payment: segment the point-of-sale network, maintain a compliant firewall, complete an annual PCI scan and audit, and use designated payment or network providers when required.
- Purchasing: 90% to 95% of operating purchases and leases are estimated to be restricted. IBFAD or an affiliate may be an approved or sole supplier for an item.
- Marketing: local materials require approval 10 days before first use. IBFAD controls the National Marketing Fund and may allocate Local Store Marketing deposits to cooperatives.
Evidence: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–9; Item 8, pp. 11–14; Item 11, pp. 15–24; Branch Addendum §§1, 4–8; Store System/Technology Agreement. The official All Battery Center profile and store directory provide current consumer-facing context.
What can the franchisee sell outside the Marketing Area?
The Marketing Area is not an exclusive territory. It generally protects certified Interstate All Battery Center retail locations within at least three miles of the Center, but affiliates, distributors, alternative formats, and reserved channels retain substantial rights. Product category determines whether a sale, shipment, solicitation, or advertisement may cross the boundary.
- Inside the Marketing Area: the Center may sell authorized products, subject to rules for IBI distributors, affiliates, National Customers, and reserved channels.
- Beyond the Marketing Area: Basic Products and Auxiliary Products may be shipped outside the area, but solicitation or advertising inside another franchisee’s area is prohibited.
- Additional Products: these may not be sold or shipped outside the Center’s Marketing Area or delivered to affiliate-distributor customers.
- Internet and marketplaces: selling or advertising on the internet, Amazon, or Walmart Marketplace requires prior written consent; branded social-media accounts are not authorized.
- Reserved rights: IBFAD and affiliates may use internet sales, kiosks, vending, stores-within-stores, other outlets, distributors, dealers, or other brands inside the area.
The franchisee controls hiring, directs unit employees, manages local relationships, orders inventory from permitted sources, and decides whether to enter optional Contact Center Program or National Accounts Program arrangements. The FDD does not disclose a general systemwide retail price mandate; National Customer agreements may impose specified rates, and all product, channel, and advertising decisions remain subject to IBFAD rules.
Evidence: 2026 FDD, Item 12, pp. 24–27; Item 16, pp. 28–29; Franchise Agreement §§1, 2, 10, and 15.
What does Item 20 show about the operating network?
The systemwide outlet total was nearly unchanged across the three disclosed fiscal year-ends, but the ownership mix changed sharply in fiscal 2026. Franchised outlets fell as ABC and affiliates reacquired 22 franchised outlets, while company-owned outlets rose from 13 to 36.
Systemwide outlet composition at fiscal year-end
Interstate All Battery Center, fiscal years ending April 30, 2024–2026
Interpretation: the system footprint stayed essentially flat—170, 170, then 169 outlets—while the company-owned share rose materially because 22 franchised outlets were reacquired in fiscal 2026.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 20, Table 1 and Tables 3–4, pp. 35–42. Counts are systemwide and include the populations used by the FDD, including Canada and Puerto Rico; they are not presented as U.S.-only counts.
Which operating details still require direct confirmation?
The FDD defines the control structure but does not disclose a complete current product list, local service menu, employee headcount, daypart staffing, current supplier roster, or unit-level labor allocation. Those facts can materially change how a specific Center is staffed and fulfilled.
- Request the current authorized-product list: identify mandatory, optional, and unavailable products, custom assembly, installations, repairs, and recycling services.
- Map the exact Marketing Area: test zip codes, the three-mile floor, distributor Primary Areas, Existing Accounts, National Customers, nearby Centers, and reserved channels.
- Confirm the technology stack: obtain hardware, Software, accounting, CRM, payment, network, PCI, data-access, and upgrade requirements.
- Review staffing by function: separate manager coverage, retail sales, B2B prospecting, delivery, assembly, installation, inventory, bookkeeping, recycling, and follow-up.
- Explain the fiscal 2026 ownership shift: ask which 22 outlets were reacquired and whether the change affects logistics, support, Marketing Areas, or franchise availability.
Operating-model synthesis. Interstate All Battery Center converts retail battery needs and commercial demand into approved-product sales, authorized services, and repeat supply relationships. The franchisee must maintain inventory, trained roles, delivery, records, and local accounts. IBFAD’s strongest controls cover products, suppliers, Software, data, marketing, and channels. A Center receives limited Marketing Area protection; a Branch Center receives none. The largest unresolved question is the labor and service mix required for the specific market.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Interstate All Battery Center Franchise?
- How to Start an Interstate All Battery Center Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- How Does the Interstate All Battery Center Franchise Work?
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning an Interstate All Battery Center Franchise?
- How Much Does an Interstate All Battery Center Franchise Owner Make?