How much does an Interstate All Battery Center franchise cost?
The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $179,200 to $438,000 to establish one new Interstate All Battery Center. The range applies to the standard retail Center described in Item 7, assumes a leased site, and does not include the cost of establishing a separate Branch Center.
Estimated Initial Investment for one new Center. The total includes the $37,500 License Fee and $60,000 to $80,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months of operation.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 9–11. The Item 7 total excludes Branch Center establishment costs and does not estimate purchased real estate, ground-up construction, or free-standing-building costs.
- Legal franchisor
- Interstate Battery Franchising & Development, Inc. (IBFAD), a subsidiary of Retail Acquisition and Development, Inc.; the ultimate parent is Interstate Battery System International, Inc. The parent structure is also shown in the company’s 2026 corporate structure report.
- Disclosure basis
- U.S. FDD issued June 26, 2026; Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17.
- Applicable formats
- One new retail Center, plus a separately contracted Branch Center available to an existing franchisee. The brand’s official Center format page describes the retail concept, but the FDD controls the cost figures in this article.
- Public FDD link
- No matching 2026 FDD was verified on a franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD citations below are unlinked Item-and-page references. The public franchise-controlled destination is the official U.S. franchise information page.
- Checked
- July 17, 2026. The legal entity also appeared on the Wisconsin active franchise filing list.
The disclosed range should be read as a boundary for a defined store plan, not as a quote or a promise that every qualifying operator will spend the low end. Each line has its own assumptions, payee and due date. A lower premises estimate does not ensure lower equipment, inventory or operating-cash needs, and a local proposal can combine values from different points inside the individual ranges. The document supplies the official endpoints; it does not publish a midpoint, “typical” budget or recommended financing structure.
It is also important to separate the amount needed over the whole opening period from the amount required at the first signature. Only some obligations are paid immediately to the franchisor. Others go to landlords, contractors, employees, insurers and approved vendors over several months. A buyer evaluating available cash therefore needs a dated uses-of-funds schedule rather than a single account balance comparison.
Before relying on the boundary, match every planned expenditure to a written quote, contract assumption or clearly identified reserve. Mark whether the amount is fixed, estimated, refundable, financed, deferred or payable on demand. Then test the calendar for periods when several invoices overlap. This review does not replace the disclosure; it translates the disclosure into a project-specific cash calendar without changing the published endpoints. It also makes missing information visible, which is preferable to hiding uncertainty inside a single rounded budget figure.
Which cost figures matter most before signing?
The initial investment, the License Fee, Additional Funds and the percentage-based operating fees are separate obligations. The 2026 FDD does not treat the Initial Franchise Fee as the cash needed to open, and it does not publish a liquid-capital or net-worth threshold.
Nonrefundable; due in full when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Included in Item 7 for the first three months after opening.
Paid monthly; a minimum annual floor applies to distributor-franchisees.
Due monthly for the preceding month’s Gross Sales.
The approved ramp-up campaign sets a minimum first-year spending schedule.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 5–7; Item 6, pp. 7–9; Item 7, pp. 9–11.
The snapshot is deliberately divided by function. The signing charge buys contractual rights but does not pay for premises, stock, technology or early operating needs. The three-month allowance is part of the opening estimate, while the percentage-based charges begin after activity starts. Marketing also has two separate channels: a systemwide contribution and locally directed spending. Treating those obligations as one “advertising fee” would hide different payment mechanics and minimums.
No published cash threshold means the disclosure does not answer how much uncommitted cash a particular operator should retain. That question depends on the timing of vendor deposits, lease terms, borrowing conditions and the owner’s separate personal needs. The absence of a threshold is not evidence that the full project can be funded with debt, nor does it reduce the amounts shown elsewhere in the disclosure.
What is included in the $179,200 to $438,000 range?
Item 7 combines premises costs, build-out, the License Fee, training expenses, technology, opening inventory, a delivery-vehicle down payment and wrap, and three months of Additional Funds. The official total reconciles exactly to the low and high ends of the listed categories.
Premises, build-out and opening infrastructure
| Item 7 category | Amount | When due | Payment recipient |
|---|---|---|---|
| Real Property | $6,600–$27,000 | As incurred | Landlord |
| Leasehold Improvements | $0–$150,000 | As incurred | Landlord and vendors |
| Furniture, Fixtures, Signage & Equipment | $30,000–$55,000 | On order | Suppliers or manufacturers |
| Architectural & Permitting | $0–$10,000 | As incurred | Vendors |
| Delivery Vehicle | $4,500–$6,500 | Before opening | Suppliers |
| Initial Training Expenses | $3,000–$5,000 | As incurred | Employees and suppliers |
Franchise rights, technology, inventory and operating cash
| Item 7 category | Amount | When due | Payment recipient |
|---|---|---|---|
| License Fee | $37,500 | On signing the Franchise Agreement | IBFAD |
| Existing Account Acquisition Payment | $0–$5,000 | On Point of Sale Computer System installation | IBFAD |
| Computer Software | $13,000–$15,000 | Before opening | IBFAD |
| Computer Hardware | $4,600–$17,000 | On delivery | IBFAD |
| Initial Inventory | $20,000–$30,000 | 30 days after opening | Approved suppliers |
| Additional Funds — 3 months | $60,000–$80,000 | Within the first three months | Various suppliers |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 9–11. The Delivery Vehicle figure is only a down payment plus required wrap graphics, not the vehicle’s full purchase price.
The two tables should be used together. The first group is dominated by location and construction choices, while the second contains more standardized contractual and operating components. Even within the second group, the customer-account payment can be zero or can vary by the accounts transferred, and the hardware amount depends on the selected configuration. The official total is the sum of every low endpoint and every high endpoint, but an actual project does not have to follow either endpoint across all rows.
The premises assumptions are especially restrictive. The rent allowance represents three months, and the disclosure says the usual store footprint is roughly 1,200 to 1,800 square feet. Local geography, condition, deal structure, availability, material costs and negotiation can change the result. A proposal involving a purchased building, new construction or a free-standing property sits outside the stated assumptions and needs a separate written estimate before the opening total can be considered complete.
These are derived groupings of compatible Item 7 line items. They preserve the official low and high endpoints and do not represent a typical or expected spending mix.
Derived calculation from official figures: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 9–11. Low endpoint: $44,100 + $75,100 + $60,000 = $179,200. High endpoint: $253,500 + $104,500 + $80,000 = $438,000.
The $258,800 spread between the low and high Item 7 totals is driven chiefly by Leasehold Improvements, Real Property, Furniture, Fixtures, Signage & Equipment, technology and Additional Funds. The FDD recommends factoring a 15% contingency cushion into a budget, but that statement does not revise the official $179,200 to $438,000 total.
When is the startup money paid?
Cash is not paid as one lump sum. The License Fee is due at signing, site and build-out costs arise during development, technology is paid around installation or delivery, and some opening obligations continue for months after the Center begins operating.
Sign the agreements
Pay the nonrefundable $37,500 License Fee in full when signing the Franchise Agreement. An existing franchisee that also signs a Branch Addendum owes a separate nonrefundable $22,500 Branch Center Franchise Fee.
Secure and prepare the site
Real Property, Leasehold Improvements, Architectural & Permitting, and training-related expenses are paid as incurred. Furniture, Fixtures, Signage & Equipment are generally paid on order.
Install operating systems
The Existing Account Acquisition Payment is due on installation of the Point of Sale Computer System. Computer Software is due before opening, Computer Hardware is due on delivery, and the Delivery Vehicle down payment and wrap are due before opening.
Open and fund the first 120 days
Initial Inventory is due 30 days after opening. Item 7 includes $60,000 to $80,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months. The approved ramp-up marketing campaign requires at least $10,000 of Local Store Marketing during the first 120 days.
Complete the first operating year
The ramp-up marketing schedule requires another $15,000 during the remaining 245 days. Royalty Fee and National Marketing Fund payments begin monthly, while Help Desk and Network Services fees are due on the first day of each month after opening.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 5–7; Item 6, pp. 7–9; Item 7, pp. 9–11.
This sequence matters because several large obligations can overlap. A landlord or contractor may require deposits before the store systems are delivered, while training-related expenses and pre-opening payroll decisions can arise during the same period. The inventory invoice is deferred until after opening, but that does not make the inventory free at launch; it creates a near-term payable that must be planned alongside the first monthly operating charges.
The marketing schedule also crosses the opening date. Part of the required spending occurs during the first 120 days, with the balance spread over the rest of the first year. When the franchisor implements the campaign, invoices are payable within 14 days. A cash schedule should therefore show both the date money leaves the account and the period the expenditure is intended to support.
Opening and fully commencing business within nine months of the Franchise Agreement effective date creates a $5,000 credit. An approved extension from nine to 12 months has no extension fee; an approved extension from 12 to 18 months requires a $5,000 Opening Extension Fee. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 7.
Which fees continue after the Center opens?
The core continuing obligations are the Royalty Fee, National Marketing Fund contribution, Local Store Marketing expenditures and technology-support charges. Percentage fees use Gross Sales as defined by the Franchise Agreement; they should not be converted into annual dollars without a supported Gross Sales figure.
| Continuing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing | Key condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 5% of Gross Sales | Monthly by the 10th for the prior month | Distributor-franchisees pay the greater of 5% or the applicable annual minimum. |
| National Marketing Fund | 1.5% of Gross Sales | Monthly by the 10th for the prior month | Separate from Local Store Marketing. |
| Local Store Marketing — first year | Greater of 4% of Gross Sales or at least $25,000 | Monthly deposits / as incurred | $10,000 in the first 120 days and $15,000 in the remaining 245 days. |
| Local Store Marketing — later years | Greater of 4% of Gross Sales or $15,000 | During each calendar year | Dollar floor is subject to inflation and is measured together with cooperative advertising expenses; percentage may rise to 6.5%, no more than one percentage point in a year. |
| Computer Software Fee | $1,200 per year | January 1 in advance; first payment prorated | Payable after the Center opens. |
| Help Desk | $160 per month | First day of each month | Plus $25 for assistance requests above the disclosed allowance. |
| Network Services | $170 per month | First day of each month | Payable after opening. |
| Required insurance | Actual cost | Before opening and throughout the term | IBFAD may procure coverage and seek reimbursement if required insurance is not maintained. |
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–9; Item 8, pp. 13–14. The FTC franchise buying guide explains why royalty, advertising and renovation obligations should be evaluated separately from the initial franchise fee.
The monthly percentage charges use the contract definition of revenue rather than an accounting measure chosen by the operator. The disclosure permits electronic collection and allows an estimated withdrawal when a report is not submitted. That makes accurate reporting and sufficient account balances part of the payment process, not merely an end-of-year bookkeeping task.
For an operator who also holds the related distribution status, the annual minimum is a floor, not an extra charge stacked on top of the percentage calculation. Monthly payments are credited toward the floor, and only a shortfall is invoiced after the year. Local spending is different: it is paid or deposited for approved activity and remains separate from the systemwide contribution. Because the percentage bases depend on actual activity, the disclosure does not support converting them into a forecasted annual dollar figure.
This schedule applies only when the franchisee is also an Interstate Batteries independent distributor; the amount due is the greater of 5% of Gross Sales or the stated annual minimum.
Official figures: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–8. If monthly royalty payments do not meet the applicable annual floor, the shortfall is due within 30 days after invoice.
Why does a Branch Center require a separate cost analysis?
A Branch Center is a satellite location available only to an existing franchisee under a Branch Addendum. Its $22,500 Branch Center Franchise Fee is disclosed, but the $179,200 to $438,000 Item 7 range expressly excludes all costs to establish the Branch Center.
The Branch Center cost contract is incomplete without a site-specific budget
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 1, p. 3; Item 5, p. 5; Item 7, p. 9; Branch Addendum, pp. 1–2. The Branch Addendum says a delivery vehicle is not initially required, but IBFAD may require one later if business volume warrants it.
Do not add $22,500 to the standard Center range and call the result a Branch Center budget. The fee is known, but the remaining Branch Center establishment costs are not quantified as a separate FDD total.
The satellite arrangement can share the broader relationship, but it still requires its own approved premises, improvements, signs, permits, insurance, equipment and operating setup. The addendum also permits different standards and a narrower product mix. Those differences could move individual categories up or down, yet the disclosure gives no complete set of endpoints. A written site package is therefore necessary to distinguish costs that can be shared from those that must be duplicated.
The delivery-vehicle exception illustrates the problem. The satellite location is not required to begin with another vehicle, but one may be required later if volume makes it necessary. That conditional obligation should not be placed in the initial satellite estimate as a certainty, nor should it be ignored as impossible.
Which charges arise only when a specific event occurs?
Item 6 contains several event-triggered obligations that are not part of the standard Item 7 total. Some are fixed; others reimburse IBFAD’s actual costs or require whatever spending is necessary to meet current System standards.
- Site Selection Assistance / Pre-Opening Assistance Fee: $500 per visit plus transportation, lodging and meals. Assistance for a second or additional Center is currently $250 per day, plus expenses.
- Rescheduling Fee: $500 when IBFAD approves a request to change the scheduled final-inspection or setup date.
- New Software or Hardware / Software Installation Fee: the purchase, license or lease cost as incurred. If IBFAD installs nonproprietary software obtained from another vendor, the franchisee reimburses its costs and expenses.
- Manual Replacement Fee: currently $1,000 for a replacement copy of the Manuals.
- Training: currently $500 per week per trainee when IBFAD conducts a special session; regularly scheduled initial training has no training fee, although the franchisee pays participant expenses.
- Transfer Fee: $5,000 before an approved transfer. Item 17 also requires outstanding monetary obligations to be paid and ordinary transfer conditions to be satisfied.
- Interest / Collection Costs and Expenses: interest at the lesser of the maximum lawful rate or 1.5% per calendar month from the due date until paid, plus reasonable collection costs when incurred.
- Income and Sales Tax: taxes or assessments arising from the intellectual-property license or amounts paid to IBFAD, due within 30 days after invoice or with the royalty payment when applicable.
- Audit: reasonable audit or inspection cost when an audit reveals an understatement of royalties or Gross Sales exceeding 2%.
- Indemnification: losses and expenses incurred by IBFAD or its affiliates because of the franchisee’s activities, including legal and court costs, as incurred.
- Remodeling: the amount necessary to comply with appearance standards; IBFAD may require major remodeling no more than once every five years.
- Store System/Technology Agreement-related Expenses / De-Identification Fee: reimbursement of Store System/Technology Agreement-related expenses and IBFAD’s out-of-pocket de-identification costs.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 5–7; Item 6, pp. 8–9; Item 17, pp. 30–32.
These charges should not be treated as a single contingency percentage because they arise from different facts. Some can be avoided through timely performance, some are tied to a voluntary transaction, and others may be imposed to restore compliance. The disclosure does not provide a reserve amount for all such events. A practical review should identify which events are plausible during the intended holding period and who controls the timing.
Fixed charges are easier to place in a schedule, but reimbursement obligations remain open-ended until the underlying work is defined. Relocation, de-identification, collection and compliance work can depend on third-party invoices. Renovation is also a standards-based obligation rather than a disclosed fixed allowance. The five-year limitation controls how often a major remodel can be required; it does not publish the cost of that remodel.
Required-source rules also affect future spending. Item 8 estimates that about 95% of purchases and leases used to establish a Center, and 90% to 95% of purchases and leases used to operate it, are subject to approved-source restrictions. New or updated Software or Hardware may be required with 90 days’ notice, and supplier testing for a proposed alternative source can be charged to the franchisee.
Item 6 does not list a separate Renewal Fee. Item 17 nevertheless requires the franchisee to make required renovations and satisfy then-current training and System requirements before renewal, so renewal can create capital spending even without a named fixed fee.
What do Additional Funds cover, and what remains unresolved?
The $60,000 to $80,000 Additional Funds range covers the first three months after opening and is already included in the $179,200 to $438,000 Item 7 total. It is not an extra amount to add on top of the official total.
The three-month allowance is intended to bridge the period immediately after opening, but the wording does not guarantee that it will be sufficient. The document expressly says actual needs vary with local conditions, management, wages, competition and the pace of activity. It also excludes several payments that begin during the same period. A uses-of-funds schedule should therefore place excluded obligations on separate lines instead of assuming the allowance absorbs them.
Double counting is the opposite error. Because the allowance is one of the rows used to reach the official total, adding it again would overstate the disclosed range. The correct approach is to preserve the official total, then separately identify costs the document says are outside that total or unclear within it. This distinction is particularly important when comparing lender proceeds, owner cash and vendor terms.
- Covered period
- Three months from the Center’s opening date.
- Examples named in Item 7
- Liability and property insurance, utility deposits, accountant and attorney fees, miscellaneous expenses, and a reference to initial payroll costs.
- Express exclusions
- Debt service, compensation the owner chooses to pay themself, Royalty Fee, National Marketing Fund contributions and Local Store Marketing expenditures.
- Location variables
- Management practices, local economic conditions, wage rates, competition, sales level, inflation, tariffs and worldwide events.
Item 7’s Additional Funds footnote is internally unclear about payroll: it names “initial payroll costs” as an example, then states that the estimates do not include “payroll expenses.” A prospective franchisee should obtain written clarification about which payroll amounts, if any, are embedded in the $60,000 to $80,000 range. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 10–11.
- Confirm the site model. Item 7 assumes leasing and uses three months of rent; it does not estimate purchased real estate, ground-up construction or free-standing-building costs.
- Separate the vehicle down payment from the full vehicle obligation. The $4,500 to $6,500 category covers only the down payment and approved wrap graphics.
- Clarify Existing Accounts. The $0 to $5,000 estimate depends on RAD’s gross profit from qualifying accounts in the Marketing Area during the prior 12 months.
- Keep marketing outside Additional Funds. Royalty, National Marketing Fund and Local Store Marketing obligations are expressly excluded from the Additional Funds estimate.
- Request a Branch Center build-out estimate separately. Item 7 supplies no complete Branch Center investment range.
Does IBFAD finance the investment or disclose cash requirements?
IBFAD does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a franchisee’s note, lease or other obligation. The 2026 FDD also does not state a minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds requirement. Third-party directory figures should not be substituted for an absent current FDD disclosure.
That leaves the funding structure to the operator and outside capital providers. Approval by a bank, landlord or equipment lessor would be a separate decision and would not change the payment duties in the contracts. Borrowing can also create debt service that the opening estimate expressly excludes from the early operating allowance. The absence of franchisor financing should therefore be considered together with payment timing, not as a stand-alone yes-or-no feature.
Eligibility and capacity answer different questions. The current offer restriction identifies who may enter the program; it does not state how much cash that eligible party must hold. Conversely, having enough funds would not make an otherwise ineligible applicant eligible under the stated offer. Both conditions must be resolved before a project budget has practical meaning.
A separate veteran program may provide a credit of up to $5,000 toward the Existing Account Acquisition Payment or initial inventory purchases. The FDD does not describe this as a reduction of the $37,500 License Fee, and the credit does not reduce every Item 7 category. IBFAD also reserves discretion to waive all or part of an initial fee in rare instances, but it reported no such waiver during the fiscal year ended April 30, 2026; a buyer should not budget an assumed waiver. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 5–6; Item 10, p. 15.
Because the current offer is limited to existing franchisees or Interstate Batteries independent distributors in good standing, eligibility status is a threshold issue distinct from financial capacity. The official Interstate All Battery Center information page can confirm the brand and store format, but the Franchise Agreement and current FDD govern the financial obligations.
What capital question remains after reading the official range?
The verified 2026 Estimated Initial Investment is $179,200 to $438,000 for one new leased-site Center. The principal range drivers are Leasehold Improvements, premises costs, Furniture, Fixtures, Signage & Equipment, technology and Additional Funds. The $37,500 License Fee is only one component; ongoing Royalty Fee, National Marketing Fund, Local Store Marketing and technology charges continue after opening.
The main unresolved budgeting questions are site-specific construction, any free-standing or purchased-real-estate plan, the payroll ambiguity inside Additional Funds, and the complete cost of a Branch Center. Those amounts should remain separate from the official range until IBFAD supplies written, format-specific figures.
A complete internal budget should therefore reconcile three views: the official category totals, the actual calendar of payments, and the items that remain outside or uncertain. Keeping those views separate prevents a one-time signing charge from being mistaken for opening cash, prevents early operating cash from being counted twice, and prevents percentage-based obligations from being presented as unsupported fixed annual amounts.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Interstate All Battery Center Franchise?
- How Does the Interstate All Battery Center Franchise Work?
- How to Start an Interstate All Battery Center Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning an Interstate All Battery Center Franchise?
- How Much Does an Interstate All Battery Center Franchise Owner Make?