The 2026 FDD shows a highly specified retail-and-commercial operating system: electronic training, proprietary technology, controlled sourcing, and coordinated marketing. The most material burden is that new franchise sales are currently limited to existing system franchisees or Interstate Batteries independent distributors, while operating control remains extensive. These trade-offs are conditional, not a buy-or-reject recommendation.
Data basis. Interstate Battery Franchising & Development, Inc. (IBFAD) issued the analyzed U.S. FDD on June 26, 2026; the review was checked July 29, 2026. IBFAD is a subsidiary of Retail Acquisition and Development, Inc. (RAD), which is wholly owned by Interstate Battery System International, Inc. (IBSI); All Battery Centers, Inc. (ABC) operates the company-owned Centers. The analysis uses Items 1, 3–8, 10–12, 15–17, and 19–22; the Franchise Agreement; Branch Addendum; Letter Agreement; Distributor Addendum; Store System/Technology Agreement; and Participation Agreement.
Item 19 contains no financial performance representation. Item 20 reports fiscal years 2024–2026 on a systemwide population that includes U.S. states, Puerto Rico, and Canada. The current offer covers new Centers for eligible existing franchisees or Interstate Batteries, Inc. (IBI) independent distributors, Branch Centers for eligible franchisees, and approved transfers of existing outlets.
Official consumer materials describe household and vehicle batteries, commercial accounts, testing, installation, recycling, and selected-location battery rebuilding. Those pages establish customer-facing scope, not unit economics or contract rights; the FDD and signed agreements control those subjects.
Public references: official U.S. franchising page; Interstate All Battery Center services; commercial products and services; All Battery Center history and scope; Interstate history; and the FTC consumer franchise guide.
The Item 7 total applies to a new Center and expressly excludes Branch Center establishment costs. A Branch Addendum is available only to an existing franchisee in good standing and authorizes one satellite Center at an approved location within the existing Marketing Area.
Which verified features can operate as advantages or disadvantages?
Seven factors carry the most decision relevance: buyer eligibility, staffing, sourcing and technology, territory and channels, recurring marketing obligations, disclosure quality and outlet ownership changes, and contract flexibility. Each can help one buyer profile while creating friction for another.
Eligibility and add-on formats
Verified fact: IBFAD currently sells new franchises only to existing Interstate All Battery Center franchisees in good standing or existing IBI independent distributors; transfers of operating Centers may still be approved.
Training and mandatory role coverage
Verified fact: Initial training is electronically accessible and takes about three weeks full time, while every Center must continuously have a trained on-premises manager and a dedicated B2B salesperson.
Supplier and technology dependence
Verified fact: IBFAD estimates restrictions cover about 95% of setup purchases and 90%–95% of operating purchases; Oracle software, Microsoft access licenses, and CompuCom hardware sit within prescribed arrangements.
Marketing Area and reserved channels
Verified fact: The Marketing Area provides limited protection against certified franchise Centers, with at least a three-mile radius, but affiliates, distributors, national accounts, internet sales, and alternative formats retain reserved rights.
Royalty and marketing formulas
Verified fact: Franchisees pay a 5% royalty; distributor-franchisees pay the greater of 5% or annual minimums rising to $25,000, plus a 1.5% Fund contribution and required LSM.
Performance evidence and outlet conversion
Verified fact: Item 19 provides no sales or earnings representation, while Item 20 shows 22 franchised outlets were reacquired systemwide in fiscal 2026 and moved into company ownership.
Renewal, transfer, and exit control
Verified fact: The Franchise Agreement has a 10-year initial term; renewal requires then-current documents and conditions, transfers need approval, and a two-year post-term noncompete applies, subject to state law.
What does the outlet data show about the network?
Total systemwide outlets were nearly flat at fiscal year-end 2024–2026, but the ownership mix changed sharply in 2026. Twenty-two franchised outlets were reacquired, increasing company-owned outlets while reducing franchised outlets. The FDD does not state why each reacquisition occurred or what it means for individual unit performance.
End-of-year systemwide outlet mix, fiscal years 2024–2026
Mutually exclusive franchised and company-owned counts; population includes the jurisdictions listed in Item 20.
Interpretation: The 2026 change is principally an ownership conversion, not a comparable drop in total outlets. It does not establish franchisee satisfaction, profitability, or the reason for any specific reacquisition.
Item 20 classifies openings, reacquisitions, and other cessations but does not disclose the commercial reason for each event. Item 19 supplies no system sales, gross-profit, or earnings benchmark, and Item 20 states that some current or former franchisees are subject to confidentiality clauses.
Where does the initial-investment range widen?
Item 7 estimates $179,200 to $438,000 for a new Center, but the spread is concentrated. Leasehold improvements create the largest disclosed range, followed by three-month additional funds and furniture, fixtures, signage, and equipment. The estimate excludes Branch Center establishment costs and debt service.
Selected Item 7 component ranges
U.S. dollars; lines connect the disclosed low and high estimates for compatible cost categories.
Interpretation: Site condition and build-out assumptions can move the capital requirement more than the narrower prescribed technology categories. A buyer needs a site-specific build-out estimate rather than relying on the midpoint.
Which buyers align with the disclosed operating structure?
Eligibility and management capacity matter before broader fit analysis. The model is most directly accessible to current Interstate system participants who can support a staffed retail location and commercial sales activity; a capital-only profile or an unaffiliated first-time applicant faces explicit structural barriers.
What should be verified before signing?
The highest-value checks are specific to the proposed agreement, Marketing Area, outlet history, supplier mix, staffing plan, and exit terms. General system descriptions cannot substitute for the economics and legal conditions of the exact Center or resale under review.
What is the decision-level conclusion?
The strongest verified structural advantage is the specified operating stack—training, Manuals, technology, commercial-account processes, and Marketing Area rules—for an existing system operator prepared to staff retail and B2B roles. The most material friction is combined eligibility, sourcing, technology, and channel control, compounded by no Item 19 performance representation. Existing franchisees or IBI distributors with management capacity align most directly; outside or lightly supervised capital buyers face greater friction. Before signing, verify outlet history and customer-account economics for the exact Center or Marketing Area.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Interstate All Battery Center Franchise?
- How Does the Interstate All Battery Center Franchise Work?
- How to Start an Interstate All Battery Center Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- How Does the Interstate All Battery Center Franchise Work?
- How Much Does an Interstate All Battery Center Franchise Owner Make?