How does the Caring Senior Service franchise opening process work?
For a standard or conversion Caring Senior Service Franchised Business, the 2026 Franchise Agreement requires opening no later than 75 days from its Effective Date. This is a deadline, not an opening promise. Site and lease approval, required training, three-role staffing, permits, insurance certificates, approved systems, and all amounts due must be complete; missing the deadline can support termination unless the franchisor grants an extension.
Brand context: the official Caring Senior Service website identifies the home-care brand and links to the official U.S. franchise information site. Contractual references below cite the 2026 FDD by Item, agreement section, and page.
Before binding agreement or payment.
Also at least 30 days before training.
After all requested information arrives.
Owner plus up to three additional trainees.
Agency Director, Care Manager, Homecare Consultant.
The standard-unit agreement does not disclose an automatic extension right, extension fee, notice period, or approval standard. It says the franchisor may grant an extension. A candidate should obtain any extension in writing before relying on it. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, pages 23–24; Franchise Agreement §3.4, page 6.
What must an applicant qualify for before signing?
The 2026 FDD does not publish a minimum credit score, net-worth threshold, liquid-capital threshold, education requirement, citizenship rule, or mandatory home-care experience for a first-territory applicant. The Franchise Agreement instead records the buyer’s representation that the buyer has the business experience and financial ability to operate. Initial application forms, approval stages, and decision timing are not disclosed.
For an entity franchisee, every direct or indirect beneficial owner must sign the Continuing Guaranty; an owner’s spouse is not required to sign that guaranty. The business must be locally supervised by an approved, fully trained Agency Director or owner. Meeting any stated criterion does not compel the franchisor to award a territory. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 15, pages 32–33; Franchise Agreement recitals, page 2.
Applicant verification checklist
What must happen from inquiry to authorized opening?
The disclosed sequence has eight decision-relevant stages. Some early sales-process details remain undisclosed, but the agreement-controlled steps after territory selection are specific.
Complete inquiry and qualification
Select format and agree on territory
Receive and review the FDD package
Execute the governing documents
Secure site and lease approval
Build operational readiness
Complete mandatory training
Satisfy final conditions and begin operations
Federal timing sources: 16 CFR Part 436, the FTC Franchise Rule page, and the FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide. The 14-day period is measured in calendar days and is not the total application or opening timeline.
Which disclosed periods drive the critical path?
The following periods use days but begin from different triggers. They should not be added together. Site selection, licensing, staffing, and systems work may overlap, while the 75-day agreement deadline continues to run.
Bars compare day counts from their own stated triggers; the training bar is a disclosed typical range.
Sources: 2026 FDD cover; Item 11, pages 23–24; Franchise Agreement §§3.2 and 3.4, page 6; 16 CFR §436.2(a). The 45–60-day training completion is described as occurring “in most cases,” not as a contractual guarantee.
Who is responsible for each pre-opening dependency?
Caring Senior Service provides criteria, approvals, training, approved-source specifications, and limited assistance. The franchisee remains responsible for finding premises, negotiating occupancy, hiring, permits, insurance, equipment, and timely completion. Landlords, regulators, insurers, and suppliers can delay the opening without changing the contractual deadline.
The franchisee must find the office, and both the location and lease require approval before lease execution. Approval means the proposed site meets the franchisor’s minimum criteria; it does not assure lease adequacy, territory performance, licensing, or business success. Source: Franchise Agreement §§3.2–3.3, page 6.
Site evidence can include a description, photographs, a map, and a letter of intent or proposed lease. Review criteria include neighborhood, parking, office size and physical characteristics, cable-internet availability, lease terms, access from major roadways, and population density. Exterior signs require written franchisor approval and remain subject to the lease and local ordinances.
Licenses and permits vary by jurisdiction. The FDD does not identify one nationwide home-care license or universal approval period. Use the SBA licenses and permits guide to identify government levels and the USA.gov directory of state consumer offices to locate official state contacts, then verify the applicable home-care regulator directly.
Who must train, and what must be resolved before scheduling?
The owner and the Agency Director, when the owner is not serving in that role, must complete initial training to the franchisor’s satisfaction before opening. The FDD describes approximately two weeks of initial training and a curriculum totaling 37 classroom hours plus 68 simulated or on-the-job hours. The initial fee includes training for the owner and up to three additional trainees.
The operating office must have three different individuals in the Agency Director, Care Manager, and Homecare Consultant positions before opening. The Agency Director provides full-time local supervision and requires franchisor approval. The Hub may post openings, prescreen applicants, and schedule interviews for these initial roles; the franchisee makes the hiring decisions and remains the employer.
Item 11 describes one virtual week followed by one week at headquarters in San Antonio, while attached Franchise Agreement §7.2 says the program is offered remotely without travel to a specific location. Obtain the exact execution agreement, training calendar, delivery mode, required attendees, and travel obligations in writing before signing. Do not schedule the site deadline around an assumed format.
How do conversion and multi-territory paths change the process?
All three paths use the Caring Senior Service operating system, approved premises, required training, staffing, licenses, insurance, and opening conditions. The Conversion Addendum changes financial terms and adds verification of the prior business. The Development Addendum creates a separate expansion calendar and approval process for contiguous reserved Territories.
| Path | Governing documents | Distinct pre-opening requirement | Deadline or consequence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard unit | Franchise Agreement and related exhibits | Agree on Territory, obtain site and lease approval, satisfy all readiness conditions. | Open within 75 days unless the franchisor grants an extension. |
| Conversion | Franchise Agreement plus Conversion Addendum | Existing non-medical in-home-care operator supplies prior 12-month financial records and warrants their accuracy. | The addendum does not replace the 75-day opening clause; misstated base revenue can trigger repayment and loss of the royalty reduction. |
| Development | Development Addendum plus a then-current Franchise Agreement for every additional Territory | Submit an Exercise Notice and requalify on compliance, capacity, current financial criteria, performance benchmarks, documents, and releases. | Sign and open at least one additional unit per 15-month Development Period, subject to one written six-month extension. |
For a Development Territory, the franchisor has 30 days after receiving the Exercise Notice and all required information to approve or reject the request. If approved, the franchisee receives the then-current FDD and agreement and has 30 days after receipt to execute required documents and pay applicable amounts. Those approval and signing periods do not extend the 15-month Development Period.
The six-month development extension is a contractual right only when written notice is provided, and each Development Period may be extended once. Missing the signing-and-opening requirement after the applicable period causes the Development Addendum to expire, freeing the reserved Territories for sale. The Development Fee is nonrefundable. Source: 2026 Development Addendum §§2, 4–7 and 9.
What should be verified before the opening date is committed?
Item 20 reports 62 franchised outlets at year-end 2025 and lists current and recent former franchisees. It also states that no franchisees signed experience-related confidentiality provisions during the prior three fiscal years. Prospects can use those contacts to verify actual site review, licensing, training delivery, hiring, and opening-clearance experience without treating another operator’s timeline as a contractual promise.
Verified synthesis: The opening path is qualification, format and Territory selection, federal disclosure review, agreement execution, site and lease approval, operational setup, satisfactory training, and fulfillment of all opening conditions. The total timeline is official as a 75-day contractual deadline, not a guaranteed duration. The most important applicant-controlled dependency is completing premises, licensing, staffing, insurance, and systems in parallel. The most important outside dependencies are franchisor site/training decisions and government approvals. Before signing, resolve the training-delivery conflict and obtain written terms for any standard-unit extension.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Caring Senior Service Franchise?
- How Does the Caring Senior Service Franchise Work?
- How Does the Caring Senior Service Franchise Work?
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Caring Senior Service Franchise?
- How Much Does a Caring Senior Service Franchise Owner Make?