A mature, manager-run Caring Senior Service office may produce anything from an operating loss to roughly $170,000 in annual pre-tax owner earnings, with a base scenario near $45,000. If the owner personally serves as the full-time Agency Director, the modeled owner-operator benefit rises to about $30,000–$280,000, with a base scenario near $155,000. The second range includes compensation for the owner’s labor; it is not passive business profit.
What does the Caring Senior Service FDD actually measure?
Officially, Item 19 measures Gross Billings and Gross Margin—not owner earnings. The 2026 FDD reports calendar-year 2025 results for franchised Caring Senior Service offices. The most decision-relevant mature cohort contains 25 offices that had the Minimum Required Staff: a full-time Agency Director, full-time Care Manager, and full-time Homecare Consultant.
For those 25 offices, average annual Gross Billings were $1,283,771 and median Gross Billings were $1,097,766. The disclosed range was $631,727 to $2,450,157. Average Gross Margin was 51.38%, while median Gross Margin was 50.57%. Eleven offices, or 44%, met or exceeded average Gross Billings; 13 offices, or 52%, met or exceeded average Gross Margin. These are official historical results from the 2026 FDD, Item 19, pages 40–43.
The FDD also reports all 40 franchisee offices, including newer and differently staffed offices. That broader population had median Gross Billings of $906,104 and median Gross Margin of 49.94%. Four offices in their first full 12 months had median Gross Billings of $544,250, while two offices in their second full 12 months had median Gross Billings of $1,350,645. The second-year cohort is too small to treat as a reliable forecast.
Item 20 provides additional context: franchised outlets increased from 55 at the start of 2025 to 62 at year-end, with 10 openings and three outlets that ceased operations for other reasons. Item 19 separately notes that three franchised businesses closed during 2025. The Item 19 reports were not audited and were not confirmed as prepared under generally accepted accounting principles. The FDD also says included territories ranged from roughly 20,000 resident seniors to nearly 100,000, creating substantial market-size variation.
How does Gross Billings become estimated owner earnings?
The model starts with the official $1,097,766 median Gross Billings and 50.57% median Gross Margin, then subtracts expenses that Item 19 leaves out. The resulting figures are estimated, not reported by the franchisor. The model represents a mature office with the FDD’s three required full-time roles and excludes startup investment from annual operating expenses.
The FDD recurring-fee inputs are a 5% Royalty Fee, a 2% Marketing Fee, a $1,045 monthly Technology Fee, and $400–$1,000 per month for required internet advertising suppliers. After the initial six months, the FDD does not impose a minimum local-advertising spend while a full-time Homecare Consultant is employed, although an office may spend more in practice. The first-year Hub support fee, optional Enkiscribe fee, initial marketing, and the $99,997–$153,994 initial investment are not treated as mature annual expenses.
The base case produces a modest residual; the same fixed staffing structure can create a loss at lower revenue and margin.
Interpretation: A three-person office leadership structure creates meaningful fixed labor cost, so revenue and Gross Margin changes have a leveraged effect on residual earnings. Source: 2026 Caring Senior Service FDD, Items 6, 15, and 19; BLS wage proxies; IRS payroll-tax data; stated scenario assumptions.
| Base-case bridge | Definition or assumption | Annual amount |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Billings | Official minimum-staff cohort median | $1,097,766 |
| Less Caregiver Pay | Implied by official 50.57% median Gross Margin | −$542,626 |
| Gross profit after Caregiver Pay | FDD-defined Gross Margin applied to Gross Billings | $555,140 |
| Caregiver payroll burden | 10.5% scenario assumption on Caregiver Pay | −$56,976 |
| Royalty Fee and Marketing Fee | Official 5% plus 2% of Gross Billings | −$76,843 |
| Technology and internet advertising | $12,540 official annual Technology Fee plus $8,400 midpoint internet spend | −$20,940 |
| Office leadership wages | Agency Director, Care Manager, and Homecare Consultant wage model | −$238,960 |
| Office payroll burden | 12% scenario assumption on office wages | −$28,675 |
| Other operating overhead | 8% of Gross Billings for occupancy, insurance, recruiting, office costs, and professional services | −$87,821 |
| Estimated manager-run residual | Before financing, depreciation, capital expenditure, personal taxes, and owner distributions | $44,924 |
- Revenue: Conservative, Base, and Upside use 80%, 100%, and 120% of the official minimum-staff median Gross Billings. That spread is analytical, not an Item 19 distribution.
- Gross Margin: Conservative uses 47.57%, three percentage points below the official median; Base uses the official 50.57% median; Upside uses the official 51.38% average for the same cohort. The average is not a percentile or guarantee.
- Office wages: Agency Director uses the BLS May 2024 median for medical and health services managers in nursing and residential care facilities ($99,250). Care Manager uses the BLS individual-and-family-services median for social and community service managers ($74,710). Homecare Consultant uses a $65,000 editorial assumption because the FDD does not disclose compensation.
- Payroll burden: The model varies caregiver burden from 9% to 12% and office burden from 10% to 15%. The 2026 IRS employer share of Social Security and Medicare is 7.65% before state unemployment, workers’ compensation, benefits, and other costs.
- Other overhead: The 6%–10% range is an explicit scenario assumption, not a same-brand disclosure. It is the largest broad expense proxy in the model.
How much does owner involvement change the result?
Owner involvement can add roughly $110,000–$115,000 of annual labor value when the owner replaces a paid Agency Director. This is an estimated owner-operator benefit, not pure business profit. The FDD allows a franchise owner to serve as Agency Director, but the owner must still employ separate individuals as Care Manager and Homecare Consultant.
The model values the Agency Director role at the BLS $99,250 wage proxy and adds the modeled employer payroll burden that would otherwise apply to that employee. It does not assign extra value to overtime, benefits, or owner risk, and it does not assume the owner can replace more than one required role.
Each line shows the same operating scenario before and after replacing the paid Agency Director with owner labor.
Interpretation: Active ownership improves owner benefit only because the owner performs a full-time management job. It does not change the underlying office economics. Source: 2026 Caring Senior Service FDD, Item 15; BLS wage proxy; scenario calculations.
Which variables can move annual earnings the most?
The largest uncertainty is the cost structure below Gross Margin, because the FDD does not disclose office-level operating profit or detailed expenses. The revenue anchor is official, but staffing compensation, caregiver payroll burden, workers’ compensation, insurance, recruiting, occupancy, and other overhead are estimated. Evidence confidence is therefore LIMITED.
- Caregiver economics: A one-percentage-point change in Gross Margin at the base revenue level changes gross profit by about $10,978 before other effects. Caregiver wage pressure, overtime, unfilled shifts, and pricing discipline can therefore move earnings quickly.
- Fixed office staffing: The Minimum Required Staff model contains three different full-time roles. At lower sales, those wages consume a larger share of Gross Billings; at higher sales, operating leverage improves.
- Territory and collections: Item 19 includes territories with resident-senior populations ranging from roughly 20,000 to nearly 100,000. Gross Billings also include invoiced amounts regardless of collection, so cash receipts may differ from reported billings.
- Definition compatibility: The FDD says billed product amounts are excluded when calculating Gross Margin, but it does not separately quantify those product amounts in the table. Applying the reported margin to total reported Gross Billings is a practical modeling choice and a stated limitation.
- First-year economics: New offices face initial local marketing, required Hub support during the first full year, ramp-up losses, and possible additional working capital. The mature scenarios should not be used as a first-year forecast.
- Financing and taxes: Loan interest and principal are outside the operating scenarios. Personal income taxes are also excluded because entity structure, jurisdiction, deductions, and owner circumstances vary.
What should a prospective owner verify before using this range?
A buyer should treat the range as a diligence framework and replace every benchmark with territory-specific evidence. The FDD states that written substantiation for Item 19 is available on reasonable request, and Item 20 identifies current and former franchisees who can describe actual expense structures.
- Request the written substantiation for 2025 Gross Billings and Gross Margin, including the exact 25-office Minimum Required Staff cohort and any treatment of multiple Territories operated from one office.
- Ask franchisees for payroll registers or percentage ranges covering caregiver wages, employer payroll taxes, workers’ compensation, office staff compensation, recruiting, and benefits.
- Separate billed revenue from cash collections, bad debt, client concentration, overtime, and unfilled-service hours.
- Confirm the current Royalty Fee, Marketing Fee, Technology Fee, internet advertising requirements, local advertising expectations, and any required software or support fees.
- Interview both owner-operated and manager-run offices, and ask how many hoursthe owner works, which required role the owner fills, and whether distributions are paid after maintaining working capital.
- Model financing separately using the buyer’s actual loan amount, rate, term, fees, and required reserves; do not deduct the initial investment as a one-year operating expense.
What is the strongest defensible annual earnings range?
The strongest defensible range is scenario-based: approximately a $85,000 manager-run loss to $170,000 of manager-run pre-tax owner earnings, with a base result near $45,000. An owner who personally performs the full-time Agency Director role may receive roughly $30,000–$280,000 of total owner-operator benefit, with a base result near $155,000, but a substantial portion is compensation for work performed.
The most important driver is the combination of Gross Billings and Gross Margin relative to the fixed three-role office staffing requirement. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the office’s full expense structure below the FDD-defined Gross Margin. Before relying on any figure, a buyer should verify the 2026 FDD Item 19 substantiation, obtain actual expense evidence from comparable franchisees, and distinguish operating profit from owner salary, draws, distributions, debt service, and personal taxes.
All calculated amounts are rounded only for narrative display; scenario tables and chart labels use the underlying model amounts. Historical results do not assure future performance.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Caring Senior Service Franchise?
- How Does the Caring Senior Service Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Caring Senior Service Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- How Does the Caring Senior Service Franchise Work?
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Caring Senior Service Franchise?