How Much Does a Roosters Men's Grooming Center Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Estimated annual owner earnings
$2,000-$58,000 per shop

A reasonable manager-run range is about $2,000 to $58,000 in estimated pre-tax owner earnings, with a base scenario near $23,000. This is a 2025 FDD-anchored estimate for a traditional U.S. Roosters Men's Grooming Center shop, not an earnings figure reported by the franchisor.

Mode C: FDD-anchored scenario Confidence: LIMITED Traditional six-station shop FY2025 evidence
Independent estimate

This range is an independent analytical scenario. It is not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Roosters MGC International, LLC. The model combines disclosed Gross Sales, recurring franchise fees, a Regis Corporation company-owned salon cost proxy, and clearly identified scenario assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of location, shop format, sales volume, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and execution.

Data basis

Evidence confidence is LIMITED because Item 19 reports Gross Sales but no operating profit, EBITDA, net income, owner compensation, or cash flow. The margin model therefore relies materially on a parent-company operating proxy and editorial sensitivity assumptions.

Legal franchisor
Roosters MGC International, LLC
Current FDD
Issued October 17, 2025; amended February 1, 2026
Item 19 population
67 franchised U.S. shops reporting sales in all 12 months from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025
Applicable format
Traditional shop; Item 7 describes approximately 1,000-1,400 square feet and six grooming stations
Margin benchmark
Regis Corporation FY2025 company-owned salon revenue, salon expense, and rent in the FDD's Exhibit A
Date checked
July 15, 2026
Scenario $23K Base owner earnings

Manager-run, before financing, personal taxes, depreciation, and capital spending.

Official $461,761 Item 19 median Gross Sales

Revenue for the 67-shop reporting cohort, not owner income.

Official 67 Reporting franchised shops

Shops with sales reported in every month of Fiscal Year 2025.

Derived proxy 12.7% Parent store contribution

Company-owned salon revenue less salon expense and rent, before G&A and depreciation.

Official fees 7% Mature percentage burden

6% royalty after the first anniversary plus the current 1% National Fund contribution.

Official system data -7 FY2025 franchised-unit change

Item 20 shows 76 shops at the start and 69 at the end of the fiscal year.

Scenario model

How much may a Roosters Men's Grooming Center owner earn annually?

The modeled manager-run result is approximately $2,000 in the Conservative scenario, $23,000 in the Base scenario, and $58,000 in the Upside scenario. These estimates apply to one traditional U.S. shop and use the medians of the bottom, middle, and top Item 19 sales groups as revenue anchors.

The scenario definition is estimated pre-tax owner earnings: cash remaining after modeled normal shop-level operating expenses and recurring franchise charges, but before financing interest, financing principal, depreciation, capital expenditures, and personal income taxes. The model treats normal paid management as included in the parent-company salon expense proxy, although that expense is not separately disclosed.

Three annual owner-earnings scenarios

Item 19 group medians paired with a franchise-adjusted margin sensitivity and $3,220 of modeled fixed recurring charges.

Conservative, Base, and Upside annual owner earnings scenarios Conservative estimated owner earnings are 2.4 thousand dollars, Base earnings are 23.2 thousand dollars, and Upside earnings are 57.6 thousand dollars. $0 $20K $40K $60K $2.4K $23.2K $57.6K Conservative Base Upside $206.6K sales / 2.7% margin $462.7K sales / 5.7% margin $698.8K sales / 8.7% margin

Interpretation: Revenue placement in the Item 19 distribution matters more than small fixed fees; labor and rent determine whether each sales level converts into residual owner cash.

Sources and method: 2025 FDD, Item 19, p. 56; Item 6, pp. 17-21; Exhibit A, p. 47. Scenario margins are the 5.7% central franchise-adjusted proxy plus or minus 3 percentage points. Figures are rounded only after calculation.

Scenario Revenue anchor Modeled margin Estimated owner earnings
Conservative $206,583 2.7% $2,359
Base $462,709 5.7% $23,156
Upside $698,766 8.7% $57,575

The revenue anchors are official Item 19 group medians. The margins and resulting earnings are independent scenarios. A location can lose money even when Gross Sales are positive, so the Conservative figure is not a floor.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2025 FDD actually disclose?

Item 19 discloses Gross Sales, not owner earnings. For Fiscal Year 2025, the 67 reporting franchised shops produced average Gross Sales of $487,106 and median Gross Sales of $461,761. The FDD explicitly states that the figures do not reflect cost of sales, operating expenses, or other deductions needed to determine net income or profit.

Item 19 sales group Shop count Average Gross Sales Median Gross Sales
Top group 22 $786,297 $698,766
Middle group 22 $460,899 $462,709
Bottom group 23 $225,992 $206,583
All reporting shops 67 $487,106 $461,761
Revenue is not earnings

The gap between the top-group median of $698,766 and the bottom-group median of $206,583 is $492,183. That sales dispersion is official. The FDD does not show whether the higher-sales shops also had proportionately higher labor, occupancy, or manager costs.

How representative is the reporting cohort?

The cohort is broad among the shops counted at fiscal-year end, but it may exclude weaker units that did not operate or report for all 12 months. Item 19 states that 69 franchised outlets were open during the period and that 67 reported sales every month. Item 20 separately shows 76 franchised shops at the start of Fiscal Year 2025 and 69 at the end, with three terminations and four non-renewals.

The 67-shop cohort equals 97.1% of the 69 outlets cited in Item 19, but only 88.2% of the 76 outlets at the fiscal-year start. Because Item 19 requires 12 months of reported sales, the sales table does not describe the full economics of the seven outlets that left the system during the year. This is a material survivorship limitation, not proof that any specific closure was caused by poor financial performance.

Revenue-to-earnings bridge

How is the Base estimate calculated?

The Base estimate starts with $462,709 of official middle-group median Gross Sales and ends with $23,156 of modeled pre-tax owner earnings. The calculation uses a 12.7% parent-company store contribution proxy, subtracts the mature 6% royalty and current 1% National Advertising Fund contribution, and then subtracts $3,220 of modeled fixed recurring charges.

Base formula: $462,709 × [12.7004% parent store contribution - 6% royalty - 1% National Fund] - $3,220 modeled fixed charges = $23,156.
Base-case Gross Sales to owner earnings

A reconciled waterfall using the parent-company salon expense and rent ratios, Roosters recurring percentage fees, and modeled fixed charges.

Base-case revenue-to-owner-earnings waterfall Starting from 462.7 thousand dollars of gross sales, deductions are 329.1 thousand for salon expenses, 74.8 thousand for rent, 27.8 thousand for royalty, 4.6 thousand for national advertising fund, and 3.2 thousand for fixed recurring charges, leaving 23.2 thousand dollars. $0 $125K $250K $375K $500K $462.7K -$329.1K -$74.8K -$27.8K -$4.6K -$3.2K $23.2K Gross Sales Salon expense Rent Royalty National Fund Fixed fees Owner earnings 71.1% proxy 16.2% proxy 6.0% 1.0% Modeled
Revenue Modeled deductions Residual owner earnings

Interpretation: The parent proxy leaves only 12.7% after company-owned salon expense and rent; the mature royalty and current National Fund contribution consume seven percentage points of sales before fixed franchise charges.

Sources and reconciliation: 2025 FDD, Item 19, p. 56; Item 6, pp. 17-21; Exhibit A, pp. 19 and 47. Components total $462,709 after full-precision calculations. The local-advertising treatment is discussed below.

What is included in the $3,220 fixed-charge allowance?

The allowance includes the disclosed $170 monthly point-of-sale software cost, the maximum $1,000 annual convention registration fee, and one $15 monthly email mailbox. The one-mailbox count is an editorial assumption. The actual convention charge may be lower, and additional mailboxes would increase cost.

  • Included: $2,040 annual point-of-sale software, up to $1,000 annual convention registration, and $180 for one email mailbox.
  • Not separately subtracted: the $1,000 monthly local-advertising minimum, because the parent company's broad “company-owned salon expense” proxy includes other salon-related costs and may already capture ordinary local marketing.
  • Not modeled: a local advertising cooperative contribution of up to $500 per month, additional training, late fees, supplier testing, lease-guaranty fees, or unusual required programs.
  • Potential downside: if the parent expense proxy does not include spending equivalent to the required local-advertising minimum, subtract as much as another $12,000 annually from the modeled residual.
Owner role

How does owner involvement change the economics?

Owner involvement changes the composition of the benefit more than the underlying shop economics. Item 15 requires either the owner or a fully trained manager to devote full time and best efforts to the shop and provide continuous supervision. The FDD therefore supports both an actively managed owner model and a manager-run model, but not an unsupervised passive-income assumption.

Manager-run pre-tax owner earnings
The residual business cash after normal operating costs, including a paid-management cost within the parent-company salon expense proxy. This is the basis of the $2,000-$58,000 headline range.
Estimated owner-operator benefit
The manager-run residual plus any manager compensation the active owner genuinely avoids by performing that work. The added amount is labor compensation, not passive profit.

Why is no manager wage added to the headline estimate?

The FDD does not disclose Roosters manager compensation, and the parent-company salon expense line does not isolate manager pay. Adding a generic salary would imply precision that the evidence does not support. A buyer should obtain the actual manager payroll, payroll taxes, benefits, scheduled hours, and owner duties for comparable Roosters shops before calculating an owner-operator benefit.

Owner-operator effect

An active owner can report more total economic benefit than a manager-run owner while operating the same shop, but part of that difference compensates the owner for full-time management labor. It should not be described as business profit or passive income.

Uncertainty

Which variables can push actual earnings outside the range?

Labor productivity, occupancy, and sales position within the Item 19 distribution are the largest modeled drivers. The $2,000-$58,000 range is deliberately broad, but it still cannot capture every site, lease, staffing model, first-year ramp, or financing structure.

  • Sales mix and ticket: Item 19 combines service and product revenue and does not disclose customer count, average ticket, retail mix, or appointment utilization by performance group.
  • Labor: stylist and barber compensation, payroll taxes, benefits, turnover, recruiting, and manager coverage are not disclosed for the 67-shop cohort.
  • Occupancy: Item 7 estimates traditional-shop rent at $3,000-$10,000 per month, while the parent proxy averages rent across a different mix of company-owned brands and locations.
  • Advertising: the model assumes ordinary local marketing is captured in the broad salon-expense proxy. A separate $12,000 minimum or cooperative dues would reduce the residual if that assumption is wrong.
  • Franchise charges: the National Fund is currently 1% but may rise to 2%; the royalty is 4% only until the first anniversary and 6% thereafter.
  • Capital and debt: depreciation, replacement equipment, remodels, financing interest, and principal payments are excluded. A highly financed owner may have little or no distributable cash even when operating earnings are positive.

Why does the parent-company proxy reduce confidence?

Regis Corporation's company-owned salon segment is a useful operating reference, but it is not a Roosters franchised-shop profit disclosure. The segment primarily includes Supercuts, SmartStyle, Cost Cutters, and other regional trade names, with a different brand mix, price architecture, geography, scale, and corporate overhead structure. The model uses only the disclosed salon-expense and rent relationship, then applies Roosters-specific fees; it does not claim those company-owned salons are economically identical to Roosters.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

A buyer should replace every proxy with shop-level evidence wherever possible. Item 19 substantiation, Item 20 franchisee contacts, and actual operating statements from comparable shops are more decision-useful than a generalized scenario midpoint.

  • Request the written substantiation supporting the Fiscal Year 2025 Item 19 tables and confirm how the top, middle, and bottom groups were constructed.
  • Ask for comparable-shop profit-and-loss statements that separate service revenue, product revenue, barber and stylist labor, manager compensation, payroll burden, rent, common-area charges, utilities, supplies, insurance, local advertising, and technology.
  • Interview current and former franchisees from Item 20 about owner hours, manager coverage, staffing vacancies, wage structure, customer retention, and capital replacement.
  • Reconcile the proposed lease to the Item 7 shop size and six-station format, including base rent, percentage rent, common-area maintenance, taxes, insurance, and any lease-guaranty fee.
  • Model debt service separately using the buyer's actual financed amount, rate, term, and required reserves. Item 10 states that the franchisor does not generally provide financing.
  • Confirm in writing which recurring technology, advertising, cooperative, training, remodel, and supplier charges apply to the specific shop and market.
Decision synthesis

The strongest defensible annual range is approximately $2,000-$58,000 per manager-run traditional shop, with a Base scenario near $23,000. It is scenario-based, not an official owner-profit disclosure. Sales position, labor efficiency, and rent are the largest earnings drivers. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of shop-level expense and manager-pay data for the 67-unit Item 19 cohort. A buyer should verify the Item 19 substantiation, closure-cohort treatment, and actual shop economics through written records and franchisee interviews.