How Does the Floors To Go Franchise Work?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Floors To Go is a showroom-based conversion model for experienced flooring retailers. The franchisee sells floor coverings and window treatments from samples, sets retail prices, orders sold merchandise from FTG-approved vendors, arranges measurement and installation, and manages the customer relationship. Floors To Go, LLC supplies merchandising, negotiated vendor programs, brand assets, and systemwide marketing rather than managing the store.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Floors To Go, LLC; Abbey Carpet Co., Inc. is an affiliate, not the franchisor or a required supplier. The analysis uses the February 27, 2026 U.S. FDD, Items 1, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19 and 20, plus the Membership Agreement. It covers single-Showroom and multiple-Showroom memberships. Item 20 runs through December 31, 2025. Public operations pages were checked July 31, 2026, including the consumer website and franchise membership website. FTG has no formal operations manual.
Direct operating answer

What does a Floors To Go Showroom actually do?

Central operating mechanism

The operating engine is sample-led special ordering: consumers browse online, visit a Showroom, or request in-home help; local staff select and measure the project, quote it, order materials from approved sources, coordinate installation, collect payment, and maintain purchase records. FTG controls the branded product program and advertising standards, while the franchisee controls staffing, retail pricing, local execution, and most business systems.

The franchised business is the FTG Marketing System for selling floor covering and window treatment products to individual consumers from an existing retail Showroom. The optional FTG Merchandising System adds showroom design, displays, product selection and interior signage. The official product catalog presents carpet, hardwood, laminate, tile and stone, vinyl, area rugs and window fashions.

The offer is directed to an experienced owner/operator of an existing flooring store. Floors To Go, LLC does not provide site selection, financing, employee training or management supervision. Shop At Home can bring samples to a consumer, but the FDD offers a Showroom membership, not a separate mobile or home-based franchise format.

147Franchised outletsU.S. outlets at December 31, 2025.
0Company-owned outletsNo franchisor-operated retail units reported.
2Membership structuresSingle-Showroom and multiple-Showroom.
$350K
or 80%
Annual purchase testWhichever is greater, for each Showroom.
NoRequired POS todayFTG may mandate a Computer System later.

Source: 2026 FDD, Items 1, 8, 11 and 20; Agreement §§3.3, 5.3 and 7.1.

Customer-to-fulfillment flow

How does work move from inquiry to completed flooring project?

No formal operations manual prescribes the sequence. This workflow connects contractual responsibilities with the public customer journey: the Room Visualizer, estimate requests, showroom consultation, in-home samples, measurement and installation described on the customer-experience page.

Demand capture
Actor
Consumer, FTG-maintained website and local Showroom staff.
Action
The consumer browses products, uses the Room Visualizer, visits a Showroom or requests an estimate or Shop At Home contact.
Required system or asset
Showroom samples, local website pages and approved advertising.
Output
A lead with project type, contact details and likely measurement needs.
Selection and project definition
Actor
Local sales staff or in-home design personnel.
Action
Staff discuss the space, product characteristics and customer preferences, then narrow the project to a flooring or window-treatment selection.
Required system or asset
FTG-labeled samples, approved product information and the current price list.
Output
A selected product and a measurement or scope dependency.
Measure, quote and sale
Actor
The franchisee's sales and measurement function.
Action
The local business measures the job, establishes the retail price and presents the quote. Floors To Go, LLC does not set the price charged to the consumer.
Required system or asset
The franchisee's chosen estimating, POS or recordkeeping process.
Output
An accepted local sale ready for product procurement.
Special-order procurement
Actor
The franchisee and an FTG-approved vendor or manufacturer.
Action
The Showroom orders the sold product from an approved source at terms negotiated for the FTG System and pays vendor invoices under the vendor's terms.
Required system or asset
Approved-vendor list, product price list and purchase account.
Output
Project-specific materials moving through the vendor's distribution arrangement.
Installation and completion
Actor
The franchisee's installation function and local project staff.
Action
The unit schedules installation, coordinates access and completes the customer promise. The Membership Agreement requires a competent, qualified sales and installation staff.
Required system or asset
Installation capability, project schedule, vehicles or tools selected by the franchisee.
Output
A completed project and any customer-service or warranty issue.
Records, CashBack and follow-up
Actor
The franchisee, participating manufacturer and Floors To Go, LLC.
Action
The unit maintains complete books and purchase records; manufacturers report qualifying purchases and remit CashBack to FTG, which verifies, offsets amounts owed and distributes the balance annually or semi-annually.
Required system or asset
GAAP records, purchase documentation and FTG CashBack Program data.
Output
Auditable purchasing compliance, rebate distribution and local customer follow-up.

Source: 2026 FDD, Items 1, 8 and 11; Agreement §§5.2-5.5, 7.1-7.5 and 8.1-8.2. Installer classification is not specified.

Owner role and responsibility map

Who runs the Showroom, and who performs each operating function?

Personal owner participation is not required, but either the owner or Showroom manager is expected to manage the FTG System full time. A non-owner manager needs no equity interest. The franchisee remains responsible for compliance, confidentiality, the Marks and Proprietary Information.

Owner participation

The contract permits manager-run operation but does not define an absentee or semi-absentee model. FTG provides no management supervision; the franchisee maintains sales, installation, customer service, staffing, insurance and records.

Franchisee and unit team

Retail execution
Price, quote, order, schedule and serve.
People
Select the manager; hire and train the unit team.
Local business
Maintain premises, credit, insurance and vendor payments.
Records
Keep financial statements and auditable purchase records.

Floors To Go, LLC

Merchandising
Approve vendors and products; negotiate terms.
Brand system
Supply Marks, samples, displays and Redesign support.
Marketing
Create systemwide materials and maintain brand websites.
Control
Inspect operations and audit purchasing.

Third-party dependencies

Manufacturers
Supply special orders and may fund CashBack.
Installers
Complete projects; classification is not disclosed.
Local vendors
May provide advertising, signage, payments and software.
Optional programs
Business to Business programs are promoted, but each is not mandatory under the FDD.

Source: 2026 FDD, Items 11 and 15; Agreement §§5, 7 and 8.

Inputs, systems and operating controls

Which suppliers and systems are mandatory, and what remains optional?

The strongest dependency is approved purchasing. Each Showroom must buy at least $350,000 or 80% of its floor covering and window treatment purchases, whichever is greater, through the FTG System for the applicable annual period. Other sources are permitted after the minimum is met, but FTG Marks cannot identify unapproved merchandise.

Operating input Classification Who controls it Practical effect
Flooring and window-treatment merchandise FTG-approved vendors; minimum purchasing required FTG approves suppliers, products, wholesale pricing and branded sample labels Other sources remain available after the annual commitment is met.
Showroom displays and samples FTG-provided Redesign components FTG supplies racks, displays and samples; franchisee handles tenant improvements FTG brands the presentation; the franchisee operates the premises.
Website and digital presence FTG-maintained Showroom site; independent site permitted with approvals FTG reviews custom pages, domain names, home pages and links The site is a lead channel, not unrestricted brand e-commerce.
POS, accounting and store-management tools Not currently designated Franchisee chooses today; FTG may require a uniform Computer System later Local flexibility exists, subject to future uniform requirements.
Lead management Officially promoted supplemental program The franchise site describes LeadHub notifications and follow-up tools Confirm whether LeadHub and Lead Solutions are included, optional or required.
Technology requirement

No POS hardware or software is currently specified, and FTG has no independent access to the franchisee's stored computer data. FTG may later impose a uniform Computer System, maintenance contracts and upgrades. The merchandising page describes supplemental programs but does not override the Membership Agreement.

Source: 2026 FDD, Items 8 and 11; Agreement §§5.3, 5.5, 7.1-7.5 and 8.

Territory and channel boundaries

Does the franchisee control local customers, internet sales or nearby competition?

The territory is protected against another physical Floors To Go Showroom but is not exclusive. Schedule "A" defines the approved location and territory. While the franchisee is compliant, FTG will not place another FTG-branded Showroom there, but it reserves alternative distribution, different formats, other marks and FTG Shop At Home.

The franchisee may solicit and accept outside-territory orders but cannot use other channels to make those sales. Floors To Go Marks also cannot be used to sell through internet sites or domains. The FTG-maintained website therefore functions mainly as browsing and lead capture, supported by the Showroom locator, not unrestricted franchisee e-commerce.

Territory limit

Abbey Carpet Co., Inc. may franchise Abbey Carpet & Floor locations in overlapping territories. Protection applies to another FTG Showroom's location, not every customer, order, affiliate brand or alternative channel inside Schedule "A".

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 12; Agreement §§1.2, 3.1 and 4.5-4.6.

System footprint

What does Item 20 show about the operating network?

Item 20 shows an entirely franchised retail network: 161 outlets at year-end 2023, 150 in 2024 and 147 in 2025, with zero company-owned outlets. Local franchisees operate every reported Showroom; Floors To Go, LLC runs the vendor, merchandising, marketing and brand-control layer.

U.S. outlet count at year-end
Franchised and company-owned outlets, 2023-2025
161
2023
0 company-owned
150
2024
0 company-owned
147
2025
0 company-owned
Franchised outletsCompany-owned outlets
Interpretation: the network contracted by 14 outlets from the 2023 year-end peak to December 31, 2025, while remaining 100% franchised at the outlet level.

Source: 2026 Floors To Go FDD, Item 20, Tables 1, 3 and 4, pp. 30 and 35-39. Values are year-end outlet counts; bar heights are scaled to the 2023 maximum of 161.

For 2025, Table 3 reports six openings, one termination and eight outlets ceasing for other reasons, moving the total from 150 to 147. Table 5 projected 11 franchised openings for 2026 but showed no signed-yet-unopened Membership Agreements at December 31, 2025. The projection does not prove those openings occurred.

Buyer verification

Which operating questions remain unresolved in the disclosure?

The FDD defines purchasing, territory, brand and management, but several unit-level mechanics remain local or unspecified. Resolve them against the proposed Showroom, Schedule "A", current vendor list and technology or marketing order forms.

✓
Installation labor modelConfirm employee, contractor or mixed status and responsibility for scheduling, quality control and callbacks. The FDD does not classify installers.
✓
Current technology stackIdentify the actual POS, estimating, accounting, website, LeadHub and reporting tools; separate requirements from optional programs.
✓
Advertising approval conflictItem 11 requires prior approval, while Agreement §7.4 generally exempts compliant local advertising. Obtain the current written procedure.
✓
Supplier and purchase-test mechanicsReview current vendors, account terms, purchase attribution, CashBack eligibility, audit method and excluded product categories.
✓
Territory and channel boundariesMap Schedule "A", nearby FTG and Abbey Carpet & Floor locations, Shop At Home activity and website permissions.
Operating-model synthesis

How should the Floors To Go model be understood?

The central mechanism is a locally priced, sample-led retail project that converts into a special order and installation. The franchisee's critical responsibility is full local execution: people, customer service, purchasing, installation, vendor payment and records. The strongest franchisor dependency is the approved-vendor and branded merchandising program, reinforced by the per-Showroom purchase test. The key distinction is limited physical-location protection without exclusive control of customers or channels. The largest undisclosed question is the actual unit-level labor and technology stack.