How Much Does a Floors To Go Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 cost answer

How much capital does this membership require?

The 2026 Floors To Go Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $23,050 to $61,900 to begin operating one FTG Showroom. That range applies to the conversion of an existing floor covering store, not a ground-up retail startup. It includes the $10,000 Initial Membership Fee, selected showroom-conversion costs, initial advertising and service fees, insurance, professional fees, and Additional Funds for the first three months.

$23,050–$61,900Estimated Initial Investment

Applicable format: an existing floor covering store converted to an FTG Showroom under a single-Showroom or multiple-Showroom membership.

Critical limitation: the official range does not represent the capital needed to acquire or create an unrelated new flooring business from scratch. The franchisor directs the offer to experienced owners of existing floor covering stores. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 8–11.

Data basis

Legal franchisor
Floors To Go, LLC, a Florida limited liability company
FDD issuance date
February 27, 2026
Offer structure
Single-Showroom and multiple-Showroom memberships for existing flooring stores
Cost disclosures used
Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17
Public verification
Wisconsin’s 2026 registration record identifies Floors To Go, LLC and an effective registration date of March 18, 2026.
Information checked
July 19, 2026; the FDD is cited by year, Item and page because no matching public copy was verified on a franchise-controlled domain.

The brand’s official franchise information site describes the membership program, while the official Floors To Go brand overview confirms that the network consists of locally owned flooring showrooms.

Capital snapshot

$10,000Initial Membership Fee$1,000 at signing; up to $9,000 through CashBack Participation.
$1,000Direct payment at signingPaid to the franchisor when the Membership Agreement is signed.
$0–$10,000Additional FundsThree months; includes payroll but excludes an owner draw or salary.
$400/mo.Service FeeSingle Showroom; Item 6 says it begins 90 days after membership.
$3,000/yr.Advertising FeeTwo nonrefundable payments of $1,500; one system fee for single or multiple Showrooms.
4%–6%Expected local advertisingOf monthly Gross Sales per Showroom; expected, but not required.
Item 7 investment

What is included in the $23,050 to $61,900 range?

The range combines system payments, optional showroom work, signage, professional costs and three months of operating funds. The low and high totals reconcile to the disclosed line items; the three-month operating reserve is already inside the total and must not be added again.

System and opening payments

Expenditure 2026 amount When or how paid FDD reference
Initial Membership Fee $10,000 $1,000 at signing; remaining balance through CashBack Participation pp. 8–10
Service Fee $400 Periodic monthly payment; timing differs between Items 6 and 7 p. 9
Advertising Fee $3,000 Two payments of $1,500 every six months p. 9
Local Advertising / Promotional Costs $0–$4,000 Monthly, paid to third parties; Item 6 describes 4%–6% of monthly Gross Sales as expected rather than required p. 9

Showroom conversion, protection and working capital

Expenditure 2026 amount Cost interpretation FDD reference
Equipment, Fixtures, Other Fixed Assets, Construction, Remodeling, Leasehold Improvements and Decorating Costs $7,500–$25,000 Optional tenant-improvement and Redesign-related costs; Item 7 lists payment 6–12 months after signing. Designer travel, lodging and meals may be additional if a visit is chosen. pp. 9–10
Other Displays $400–$1,500 per Showroom Optional separate display racks for other licensed trademarks; paid when purchased. pp. 9–10
Store Signage $1,000–$5,000 per Showroom Required; the table says 180 days after signing, but the footnote says installation within 90 days. The first Showroom may receive a credit of up to $1,000 when the approved-vendor and invoice conditions are met. Item 1, p. 2; Item 7, pp. 9–10
Insurance $250–$1,500 Estimated annual premium for the required coverage; the table lists it as due before signing. pp. 9–10
Professional Fees $500–$1,500 Attorney, accountant and other consultants through the first three months; paid as needed. pp. 9–11
Additional Funds—Three Months $0–$10,000 Payroll, expenses and overhead not separately listed; excludes owner draw or salary and is used as needed. pp. 9–11
2026 Item 7 variable cost ranges by category

The widest disclosed range is the optional showroom-improvement category; The three-month reserve creates the second-largest spread.

$0$5,000$10,000$15,000$20,000$25,000

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 8–11. Bars use the official low and high endpoints; no midpoint or “typical” amount is inferred.

Cost implication

The $38,850 difference between the official low and high totals is a derived calculation, not a separate franchisor estimate. Most of that spread comes from optional tenant improvements, required signs, local promotion and the three-month reserve. A buyer should obtain showroom-specific quotes instead of treating the low endpoint as a standard conversion budget.

What the official total does not resolve

  • Acquiring or establishing the underlying flooring store. The membership offer assumes an experienced owner/operator already has an existing floor covering business.
  • Owner compensation. The three-month reserve includes payroll but excludes any draw or salary for the owner.
  • Costs beyond the first three months. The franchisor states that more working capital may be needed during or after startup.
  • Designer travel for an optional showroom visit. The franchisee pays the store-design consultant’s travel, lodging and meal expenses when that visit is selected.
  • Future computer-system costs. No specified system is currently required, but Item 11 permits future hardware, software, maintenance and upgrade requirements at the member’s expense.
Membership fee mechanics

How is the $10,000 Initial Membership Fee paid?

Only $1,000 is paid directly at signing. The franchisor defers the other $9,000 through the FTG CashBack Program, under which it may retain qualifying rebate proceeds for up to five years or until $9,000 has been collected, whichever occurs first.

Membership-fee payment allocation

The chart separates the direct signing payment from the maximum deferred balance assigned to CashBack Participation.

Ten-thousand-dollar membership-fee payment allocation One thousand dollars, or ten percent, is due at signing. Up to nine thousand dollars, or ninety percent of the stated fee, is deferred through CashBack Participation for up to five years. $1,000 Up to $9,000 through CashBack Participation 10% direct cash at signing 90% maximum deferred fee balance Stated fee total: $10,000

Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 10, pp. 4–6 and 16. The $9,000 segment is a maximum deferred balance. If qualifying proceeds generate less than $9,000 during five years, the lesser collected amount is deemed payment in full.

The membership fee is generally nonrefundable, but Item 5 contains a performance-based waiver: if the Showroom reaches $350,000 of first-quality, running-line purchases through the FTG System during the 12-month period beginning 90 days after membership starts, subject to the stated product exclusions, the fee is waived and payments are refunded on or after the fifteenth month.

Early-exit exposure

If the Membership Agreement ends before the initial five-year term is complete, the unpaid membership-fee balance becomes immediately due in cash. That balance is separate from any Early Termination Fee tied to the Redesign, and Item 10 permits assessment of attorneys’ fees and other collection costs.

When does cash leave the business?

1

Before or at contract signing

The table lists $250 to $1,500 of Insurance before signing, followed by the $1,000 direct membership-fee payment when the Membership Agreement is signed.

2

During the showroom conversion

Optional equipment, fixtures, construction, leasehold improvements and decorating are disclosed at $7,500 to $25,000; Other Displays may add $400 to $1,500 per Showroom. Item 11 says the usual period from signing to use of the FTG System is 30 to 90 days, while the Item 7 payment table places the equipment-and-improvement line 6 to 12 months after signing. Floors To Go’s official merchandising page describes the store-planning and display program, but the FDD controls the cost ranges.

3

As signage and opening expenses are incurred

Required signs are $1,000 to $5,000 per Showroom. Local promotion, Professional Fees and initial operating expenses are paid as incurred.

4

After membership begins

The $400 monthly system charge begins, while the $3,000 annual system-advertising charge is paid in two $1,500 installments. The two fee disclosures do not use the same start date for the monthly charge.

5

During the first five years

The franchisor retains eligible CashBack proceeds against the deferred $9,000 balance. An early termination accelerates the unpaid balance and may also trigger the Redesign repayment formula.

FDD caveat

Two timing points require written clarification. Item 6 says the $400 Service Fee starts 90 days after membership, while Item 7 says “monthly after one month.” The table lists the required signs at 180 days after signing, while its footnote and Item 8 require installation within 90 days after the Membership Agreement takes effect. Item 11 also describes a 30-to-90-day typical conversion period, so the opening schedule should be reconciled in writing.

Ongoing and conditional charges

Which fees continue after opening?

The 2026 FDD does not disclose a percentage royalty. Instead, a single Showroom pays a fixed $400 monthly Service Fee, a $3,000 annual Advertising Fee, and potentially $60 to $375 per month for Website Design. Local spending of 4% to 6% of monthly Gross Sales per Showroom is described as expected, not mandatory. For this fee basis, Gross Sales means Showroom revenue from goods and services, excluding sales and use taxes and refunds. The fixed monthly and annual system charges are minimum payments regardless of sales level.

Unless another disclosure Item is identified, the fee rows below are from 2026 FDD Item 6.

Ongoing or event fee Amount or basis Timing and application FDD reference
Service Fee $400 per month Single Showroom; nonrefundable. Item 6 says it begins 90 days after membership. pp. 6–8
Advertising Fee $3,000 per year Two $1,500 payments; does not exceed $3,000 annually regardless of Showroom count. pp. 6–8
Website Design $60–$375 per month As incurred; disclosed maximum annual increase is 25%. pp. 7–8
Local Advertising 4%–6% of monthly Gross Sales Expected, but not required, per Showroom; paid to advertising vendors. pp. 6–8
Annual Convention $299 first two people; $250 each additional As incurred; nonattendance fee is $299. The first convention registration is paid by FTG, but travel, lodging and personal expenses remain the member’s responsibility. Item 11, p. 18; Item 6, pp. 7–8
Renewal Fee $750 Due at renewal; nonrefundable. Renewal terms are five years subject to contract conditions. Item 17, pp. 27–30; Item 6, pp. 6–8
Transfer Fee $5,000 Due at transfer; nonrefundable and subject to approval conditions. Item 17, pp. 28–29; Item 6, pp. 6–8
Audit Audit cost plus interest Payable if an audit finds an understatement of at least 2%. pp. 6–8

The official annual convention information confirms that members of the brand and Abbey Carpet & Floor participate in the same convention program. The FDD, not the marketing page, supplies the registration, nonattendance and travel-cost terms.

Costs that arise only after a trigger

  • Early Termination Fee: $20,000 to $50,000 per Showroom. The amount reimburses FTG for the Redesign and declines by 20% for each full year of completed membership. Nothing is repaid if the initial five-year term is completed.
  • Insurance reimbursement: variable. If required coverage is not maintained and the franchisor obtains it, the member reimburses the cost and premiums.
  • Indemnity: variable. The member reimburses costs and judgments arising from claims connected with operation of the franchised business.
  • Fee increases. Item 6 allows reasonable, uniform changes to the Service Fee and Advertising Fee and states that the maximum amount FTG will increase these fees to is $5,000; it does not further clarify the payment-period application of that ceiling. Convention fees may rise by up to $100 annually.
  • Relocation carrying cost. Service Fees and Advertising Fees continue between closing the original Showroom and starting operations at an approved new location.
  • Elective seminars and conferences. Members pay their own lodging, meals and related attendance expenses; convention travel and personal costs are also outside the registration fee.
  • Advertising customization and extra materials. The member pays customization costs and may be charged direct production cost plus shipping, handling and storage for additional copies.
  • Future technology obligation. Item 11 permits FTG to require a compatible Computer System, maintenance contracts, software and upgrades at the member’s expense, although no specified system is currently required.
Showroom structure

How do multiple Showrooms change the cost contract?

The franchisor offers single-Showroom and multiple-Showroom memberships, but the 2026 FDD publishes only one total range. Additional Showrooms do not pay another Initial Membership Fee, Service Fee or Advertising Fee, yet several premises-related and contractual obligations still apply per Showroom.

First Showroom versus additional Showrooms

This distinction is central to the cost model because the system fee structure is consolidated while physical conversion and purchasing obligations remain location-specific.

First Showroom

Initial Membership Fee: $10,000.

Service Fee: $400 per month.

Advertising Fee: $3,000 per year.

Sign credit: eligible for up to $1,000 under the FDD’s approved-vendor and documentation conditions.

Each additional Showroom

Initial Membership Fee: no additional fee.

Service and Advertising Fees: no additional system fees.

Physical costs: displays, improvements and required signs may still apply per Showroom.

Contract exposure: the Early Termination Fee and minimum purchase obligation apply to each Showroom.

Format difference

Do not multiply the $23,050 to $61,900 official range by the number of Showrooms and do not assume every added Showroom costs only the premises-related lines. The FDD gives no separate all-in total for an additional Showroom, so the franchisor should identify which listed amounts apply to each proposed location.

The operating purchase obligation is not opening inventory

The FDD says no merchandise purchase is required to establish the franchise because the model is aimed at an existing flooring store and uses samples and special orders. After opening, however, the Membership Agreement requires each Showroom to purchase at least $350,000 or 80% of total floor covering and window treatment purchases, whichever is greater, through the FTG System during the following calendar year. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 8, pp. 11–14.

This obligation should be modeled separately from the published total. It is a required purchasing relationship, not an extra one-time franchise fee and not an opening-inventory allowance. The official merchandising overview describes supplier access, display systems and CashBack at a program level.

Funding qualifications

Does the franchisor disclose liquid capital, net worth or financing?

The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds requirement. That absence does not mean the buyer needs only the $23,050 low endpoint; the published estimate assumes an existing flooring business and covers only the first three months of additional operating funds.

Liquid Capital
No minimum disclosed in the 2026 FDD.
Net Worth
No minimum disclosed in the 2026 FDD.
Non-Borrowed Funds
No minimum disclosed in the 2026 FDD.
Direct financing
None, except the deferred treatment of up to $9,000 of the membership fee through CashBack Participation.
Loan guarantee
The franchisor does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation.
Deferred-fee security
No security interest is required; Item 10 says no guaranty is required from anyone other than the member.

Item 10 also says the franchisor does not arrange outside financing or receive payments for placing financing. An official member-program page references business-financing options as a benefit category, but that general description is not a financing commitment, approval standard or substitute for the FDD’s disclosure.

Buyer verification

Ask for the current written financial qualification standard, if one is used in screening, and separate that threshold from the official investment range. A lender’s approval and a franchisor’s acceptance are different decisions.

Final cost checks

What should a prospective member verify before committing capital?

The main task is to convert the FDD’s system-wide ranges into a location-specific cash schedule without replacing the official figures with unsupported estimates. These checks address the material uncertainties in the 2026 disclosures.

  • Confirm the current disclosure package. Verify the February 27, 2026 FDD and any state-specific addenda or later amendments before signing.
  • Resolve the monthly charge start date. Obtain written confirmation of whether the $400 monthly fee begins after one month or after 90 days.
  • Resolve the signage deadline. The table row and footnote use different deadlines; confirm the binding date and whether the first-Showroom credit applies to the selected vendor.
  • Price the actual Redesign. Separate FTG-provided racks, displays and samples from tenant improvements, furniture, office equipment and designer travel paid by the member.
  • Map every proposed Showroom. Identify which costs are system-level, which are per Showroom and what is excluded from the single published range.
  • Model required purchases separately. The $350,000-or-80% purchase obligation is not part of the initial investment total.
  • Test the first-three-month reserve. The three-month reserve excludes owner compensation and may not cover later operating needs.
  • Review exit and change-event costs. Quantify the Redesign amount used for Early Termination, plus Renewal, Transfer, relocation, website, convention and future Computer System exposure.

The Federal Trade Commission’s franchise buyer guide explains why Items 5, 6 and 7 should be read together and why a buyer should investigate costs that the disclosure range does not settle.

Capital interpretation

The verified 2026 Estimated Initial Investment is $23,050 to $61,900 for one existing-store Showroom conversion. The Initial Membership Fee is $10,000, but only $1,000 is paid directly at signing; up to $9,000 is handled through the rebate-retention mechanism. After opening, the central fixed system charges are the $400 monthly Service Fee and $3,000 annual Advertising Fee, while multiple Showrooms avoid duplicate system fees but retain per-location conversion, signage, purchase and termination obligations. The unresolved decision is not the published total—it is which showroom-specific costs, deadlines and operating reserves apply to the buyer’s actual existing store.