How long does it typically take to open a Floors To Go franchise?
The 2026 FDD says the typical period from signing the Membership Agreement to opening an existing flooring showroom as a Floors To Go showroom is 30 to 90 days. This is an official typical duration, not a guaranteed deadline. It does not include the federal pre-sale disclosure period before signing, and local sign approvals or installation delays can extend the conversion work.
Who is the Floors To Go opening process designed for?
The FDD does not publish a minimum net worth, liquidity threshold, credit-score cutoff, education requirement, or mandatory years-of-experience number. It does, however, state that the Floors To Go membership concept is intended for experienced owner-operators of existing floor covering stores, and the Membership Agreement assumes an operating showroom rather than a greenfield site-development program.
That distinction drives the opening process: Item 9 lists site selection/acquisition and site development as not applicable, Item 11 says current members had established floor covering stores before joining, and FTG does not provide initial employee training or management supervision. The official franchise opportunity site likewise addresses owners who have already built a flooring business foundation. Meeting that profile does not guarantee acceptance; the 2026 FDD does not disclose a scored approval checklist.
What are the actual steps from inquiry to opening?
The evidence supports a conversion sequence rather than a generic franchise-development checklist. The public franchise site provides the inquiry channel; the FDD then governs disclosure, signing, territory documentation, conversion work, insurance and use of the FTG System. The 2026 FDD does not specify a separate discovery day, mandatory interview sequence, construction inspection, opening certificate, or formal initial training course.
Confirm that the existing business fits the disclosed model
Receive and review the current FDD before signing or paying
Define the approved showroom and territory in Schedule A
Execute the Membership Agreement and required ownership documents
Complete the FTG Redesign and approved signage
Put insurance, vendor access and operating readiness in place
Open as a Floors To Go showroom and begin using the FTG System
The 90-day signage deadline is more than a planning target. Membership Agreement §13.2 lists failure to timely install required Showroom signage as a ground for termination without an opportunity to cure. The sign must conform to FTG specifications, receive FTG approval before construction, comply with local sign rules, and be installed within 90 days after the Effective Date.
Which time periods matter, and can they be added together?
They should not be added into one promised total because they use different triggers. The 14-day federal disclosure period occurs before signing or payment; the 30–90 day range begins with signing; the 90-day signage deadline runs from the Agreement's Effective Date. The chart therefore compares disclosed day-based periods without treating them as one cumulative schedule.
Interpretation: the 30–90 day range is the only disclosed total from signing to opening; the other bars are separate legal or contractual timing constraints with different start events.
Sources: 2026 Floors To Go FDD, cover and Item 11(C), p. 17; Membership Agreement §7.3, p. 13; FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise; FTC Franchise Rule.
Who controls the critical opening dependencies?
The franchisee controls most readiness work because Floors To Go is converting an existing retail business rather than developing a new location from scratch. FTG controls the territory definition, brand standards, Redesign materials, design assistance and sign approval. Insurers, merchandise vendors and local authorities can still affect timing, especially where insurance, vendor credit or sign compliance remains unresolved.
How do territory and multiple-showroom openings change the process?
Schedule A identifies both the approved Showroom location and the territory. FTG agrees not to open or license another Floors To Go showroom within that territory while the franchisee is compliant, but the territory is not fully exclusive: alternative channels, competitive brands controlled by FTG or affiliates, and certain other business formats may compete within it. The FDD also states that franchisees may solicit customers outside their territory.
For multiple showrooms added at the same time as the first Membership Agreement, an additional Schedule A is attached for each location. A showroom added later requires FTG's prior approval, and FTG may require the then-current membership agreement for that additional showroom. The 2026 FDD does not disclose an Area Development Agreement, Development Agreement, development schedule, or automatic right of first refusal for additional units.
Here, the approved Showroom address and territory are documented together in Schedule A, but the rights are still distinct. The showroom is the authorized operating location; the territory limits other FTG-branded showrooms but does not block every competing channel or affiliate brand. A later relocation requires 90 days' prior written notice, a location inside the existing territory, FTG's written approval, and acceptance of a territory revision determined by FTG.
Is training required before a Floors To Go showroom opens?
No initial training program is offered because the system is designed around experienced floor covering retailers. Voluntary training programs may be offered, and the franchisee is responsible for training its own employees on the relevant product types, quality and price-list information. The Membership Agreement requires attendance at FTG's annual convention, but the FDD does not make first-convention attendance a pre-opening certification gate.
FTG also does not currently require a specific POS or computer system before opening, although it reserves the right to impose compatible hardware and software requirements in the future. Before participation, FTG is obligated to provide advertising materials, its price list and other FTG System documents; the price list identifies approved vendors and products. The official brand site describes the consumer-facing showroom network as locally owned and operated showrooms with national buying power.
What should a buyer verify before committing to the opening schedule?
The FTC states that a prospective franchisee must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate in connection with the franchise sale. The rule is a pre-sale disclosure protection, not an estimate of how long FTG's screening or conversion will take. A prospect may also reasonably request the most recent disclosure and quarterly updates before signing; see the FTC's Franchise Rule FAQs.
What is the verified Floors To Go opening path?
Verified path: existing flooring retailer inquiry and screening → federal FDD review → Schedule A territory/showroom documentation → Membership Agreement execution → FTG Redesign, approved signage and operating readiness → commencement as a Floors To Go showroom. Timeline: the official FDD states a typical 30–90 days from signing to opening, not a guaranteed deadline. Main applicant-controlled dependency: completing conversion, insurance, vendor credit and compliant signage. Main franchisor/third-party dependency: FTG sign approval plus local sign rules and installation timing. Key deadline to verify: signage installation within 90 days after the Effective Date, along with the unresolved contract-versus-Item-7 wording on when insurance must be in force.