How Does DQ Treat Franchisees?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Operating model

DQ Treat is a site-based quick-service retail model: the franchisee staffs an approved Street or Captive-venue store, sells ADQ-approved soft-serve, treats, beverages and limited food, fulfills in-store and authorized digital orders, and runs the unit through a franchisor-specified supply, POS, payment, loyalty, food-safety and reporting system.

Data basis: American Dairy Queen Corporation (ADQ), DQ Treat Franchise Disclosure Document issued March 26, 2026; Items 1, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19 and 20; DQ Treat Operating Agreement; Street and Captive-venue single-unit stores plus eligible conversion paths. Item 20 reporting runs through December 31, 2025. Official operating pages were checked August 8, 2026.
2
New-site formats
Street and Captive-venue.
Site-only
Territory grant
No minimum area or exclusive territory.
2
Trained managers at first store
Designated Manager plus one Assistant Manager.
8
Named required tech suppliers
POS, payments, gift cards, ordering, loyalty, firewall, menu boards.
1,053
2025 Item 20 combined outlets
Detailed tables; DQ Treat plus two legacy treat-store types.
Offering and demand

What does a DQ Treat store sell, and who buys it?

The contractual offer is the full approved DQ soft-serve, treat and beverage menu plus a limited number of approved food items. The FDD identifies the market as the general public, while Captive-venue stores are specifically placed in high-foot-traffic venues such as malls, transportation terminals, hospitals, campuses, recreation facilities and office buildings.

The menu is a controlled system input

ADQ determines the authorized Menu and may change required items, ingredients, portions, appearance and packaging through the Operations Manual or other writing. To the fullest extent allowed by law, ADQ may specify menu prices. The franchisee may not add unapproved products or services without written consent.

DQ soft-serveBlizzard Treatsapproved beverageslimited approved food

Customer access is store-led, with authorized digital extensions

The Operating Agreement permits sales from the authorized store, not a general right to sell through internet, third-party or other off-site channels; ADQ may authorize or require those channels. The DQ Mobile App FAQ shows that online ordering and pickup options vary by participating location.

Evidence: 2026 DQ Treat FDD, Item 1 pp. 1-3; Item 12 pp. 40-42; Item 16 p. 45; DQ Treat Operating Agreement §§6.1-6.2. See the official DQ treats menu for current consumer-facing treat categories; availability remains location-specific.

Transaction flow

How does work move through a DQ Treat unit?

The operating cycle is demand generation, order capture, payment and loyalty processing, standardized preparation, handoff and service, then management review and reporting. The sequence is driven by the franchise agreement, the required EPOS stack and ADQ's Operations Manual rather than by a franchisee-designed restaurant process.

1. Demand and promotion
Actor
ADQ plus the franchisee.
Action
ADQ sets national, regional and local sales-promotion programs; the franchisee uses furnished or approved creative and may execute approved local activity.
System / asset
System marketing calendars, NMF/DMA programs, DQ Rewards and approved digital/social materials.
Output
Store visit or authorized digital order opportunity.
2. Order capture
Actor
Customer and store employee.
Action
An employee enters an in-store order in the required EPOS system; where enabled, an app or web order is routed through the DQ Mobile Ordering System.
System / asset
ParTech EPOS hardware/software and Olo digital ordering.
Output
Recorded order with item, price and transaction data.
3. Payment and loyalty
Actor
Customer, store employee and designated processors.
Action
The unit accepts payment methods designated by ADQ; participating customers may earn or redeem DQ Rewards on qualifying orders.
System / asset
Fiserv processing, Verifone encryption, ValueLink/DQGC gift cards and Punchh loyalty.
Output
Authorized payment, gift-card activity and loyalty record where applicable.
4. Preparation and handoff
Actor
Trained restaurant employees under manager supervision.
Action
Employees prepare approved products using specified ingredients, recipes, portions, appearance and packaging, then complete the customer handoff.
System / asset
Approved ingredients, equipment, menu boards, uniforms and Operations Manual procedures.
Output
Completed order consistent with DQ system and food-safety standards.
5. Shift control and quality
Actor
Designated Manager, Assistant Manager and store team.
Action
Managers run day-to-day operations, maintain trained staffing, sanitation and service standards, and respond to operational issues. ADQ may evaluate the store during the business day.
System / asset
Training certification, Operations Manual, health standards and evaluation procedures.
Output
Compliant operating shift and corrective action when needed.
6. Records, reporting and replenishment
Actor
Franchisee management, ADQ and approved supply chain.
Action
The franchisee retains business records, submits monthly operating reports by the 10th and a monthly profit-and-loss statement by the 20th, while purchasing only approved operating inputs.
System / asset
EPOS data, approved accounting methodology, USCI-sourced products and authorized warehouses.
Output
ADQ reporting, fee reconciliation, audit trail and restocked approved inputs.

Evidence: 2026 DQ Treat FDD, Items 8 and 11 pp. 23-39; DQ Treat Operating Agreement §§6.2, 6.5, 6.7-6.11, 6.15-6.16, 7.5-7.7 and 9.8-9.10. The public DQ Rewards page describes app, online and in-store rewards at participating locations.

Owner role and staffing

Who runs the store, and which decisions remain with the franchisee?

The Controlling Owner does not have to manage the store day to day. A first DQ Treat store must instead have a full-time Designated Manager and one full-time Assistant Manager who complete ADQ's required training; the franchisee still controls hiring, compensation, scheduling, benefits, discipline and other personnel decisions.

Franchisee / Controlling Owner

  • Hire, schedule, pay, discipline and manage restaurant employees.
  • Maintain enough trained staff to operate to System Standards.
  • Keep permits, insurance, records and legal compliance current.
  • Attend required regional, marketing and operational meetings through the Controlling Owner or approved substitute.

ADQ

  • Defines Menu, product preparation, equipment, uniform and sanitation standards.
  • Updates the Operations Manual and approved product/supplier lists.
  • Sets training requirements and may inspect/evaluate the unit.
  • Controls system marketing programs and approval of advertising materials.

Required third parties

  • Process POS, card, gift-card, mobile-order and loyalty transactions.
  • Provide required firewall and digital menu-board services.
  • Supply approved food, paper, packaging and other inputs through authorized channels.
Owner participation

The Controlling Owner may delegate daily shifts, but the FDD does not describe absentee ownership. The Controlling Owner retains authority to bind the franchisee and direct compliance; certified managers must devote full time and attention to on-premises management.

Evidence: 2026 DQ Treat FDD, Item 15 p. 44; Item 11 pp. 37-39; DQ Treat Operating Agreement §§7.5-7.7 and 10.4.

Technology, suppliers and controls

Which systems and suppliers are mandatory after opening?

ADQ requires approved products and can designate single suppliers for major operating categories. The 2026 FDD names an integrated stack for POS, payments, gift cards, mobile ordering, loyalty, firewall and digital menu boards, while Unified Supply Chain, Inc. (USCI) manages sourcing and authorized warehouse relationships for many physical inputs.

ParTech, Inc.
Sole required EPOS hardware/software; records orders, sales, item pricing and product movement and sends operating data to ADQ.
Required / sole supplier
Fiserv + Verifone
Payment-card processing plus designated payment-card data encryption services.
Required / sole suppliers
ValueLink + DQGC
System-wide gift-card program and related services.
Required participation
Olo + Punchh
DQ Mobile Ordering System and DQ Mobile Loyalty platform; the FDD defines the DQ-specific requirements.
Required / sole suppliers
Scale Computing + Cineplex
Managed firewall services and digital menu boards.
Required / sole suppliers
USCI supply chain
Sources and manages approved food, paper, packaging and other products through authorized warehouses; ADQ/USCI system-wide arrangements are not negotiated for individual franchisees.
Approved-channel dependency
Franchisor control

ADQ can change the Menu and product specifications, require EPOS/computer upgrades, access EPOS and stored operating data, revise Operations Manual standards, inspect the unit during the business day and require corrective training after an operational default.

Evidence: 2026 DQ Treat FDD, Item 8 pp. 23-28; Item 11 pp. 35-36; DQ Treat Operating Agreement §§6.4-6.5, 6.8, 6.10-6.11. Vendor context: PAR restaurant POS, Olo Ordering and PAR Engagement / Punchh.

Location and channel rules

How do Street and Captive-venue stores operate differently?

Both are single-site DQ Treat franchises with the same core brand controls, but their demand environment and operating-hour rule differ. Street stores serve conventional roadside or shopping-center trade areas; Captive-venue stores depend on host-venue traffic and may follow the venue's required hours instead of the standard daily operating minimum.

Street location

DefinitionFreestanding, streetscape or strip-mall site with less than 500,000 square feet of gross leasable area.
HoursAt least 12 hours each day, except New Year's Day, Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas, unless ADQ approves a variance.
TerritoryAuthorized site only; no exclusive territory. Approved relocation generally must remain within a 500-meter radius.

Captive-venue location

DefinitionMalls/centers of at least 500,000 square feet, terminals, hospitals, campuses, parks/recreation areas, office buildings and similar high-walking-traffic venues.
HoursIf the host venue sets operating hours, the store follows those required venue hours.
TerritoryAuthorized site only; no exclusive territory. Approved relocation must remain within the same building or venue.

Sales from the authorized store have no territorial or customer restriction, but off-site, internet, social, mobile or third-party distribution requires ADQ authorization. An eligible Conversion Addendum may carry forward protected-territory rights from the prior agreement.

Evidence: 2026 DQ Treat FDD, Items 1 and 12 pp. 1-2 and 40-42; DQ Treat Operating Agreement §6.9. Consumer handoff options such as inside pickup, curbside or drive-thru are described on the DQ Mobile App FAQ and depend on the participating location.

System footprint

What does Item 20 show about the operating network?

Item 20 does not isolate current DQ Treat stores. It combines DQ Treat, Dairy Queen/Limited Brazier and DQ soft-serve-only outlets, then separates direct-licensed outlets from territory-operator subfranchised outlets. The detailed status tables show 1,053 combined franchised outlets at December 31, 2025 and no company-owned outlets in this population.

Item 20 combined treat-store population
End-of-year franchised outlets from the detailed status tables; DQ Treat plus Dairy Queen/Limited Brazier and DQ soft-serve-only.
0 500 1,000 750 direct 370 sub 1,120 total 2023 729 direct 357 sub 1,086 total 2024 743 direct 310 sub 1,053 total 2025 Direct-licensed Subfranchised

Interpretation: the detailed Item 20 population declined from 1,120 outlets at 2023 year-end to 1,053 at 2025 year-end. Direct-licensed outlets increased from 729 to 743 during 2025, while the subfranchised population fell from 357 to 310.

Source: 2026 DQ Treat FDD, Item 20, detailed “Status of Franchised Outlets” tables, pp. 55 and 59. Counts are a combined population and are not a DQ Treat-only unit count.

Item 20 signal

The opening Item 20 summary does not reconcile for 2025: it lists 745 direct-licensed franchised outlets but 743 total outlets. The chart uses the detailed status table, which reports 743 and reconciles 2024 year-end to 2025 year-start.

Verification

What operating questions still need unit-level verification?

The FDD establishes a tightly specified operating framework, but several store-level facts are not disclosed. A buyer should verify the current configuration for the exact site and agreement rather than infer it from the broader DQ consumer experience or the combined Item 20 population.

  • Exact DQ Treat-only footprint: Item 20 combines DQ Treat with legacy Limited Brazier and soft-serve-only stores; the exact 2025 DQ Treat count is not disclosed.
  • Digital handoff modes: confirm mobile/web ordering, drive-thru, inside pickup, curbside, delivery and other authorized off-premises channels for the specific store.
  • Site-specific Menu: confirm required and optional items, price directives, limited-time offers, and related equipment or training.
  • Current supplier stack: verify current participation agreements because ADQ may change designated suppliers or require EPOS/computer updates.
  • Conversion rights: for an eligible conversion, read the Conversion Addendum for any carried-forward protected-territory language.
Synthesis

What is the practical operating-model takeaway?

DQ Treat earns its store-level receipts by selling ADQ-approved treats, beverages and limited food through an authorized physical location and any digital channels ADQ enables. The franchisee's core responsibility is executing daily staffing, service, food safety and records within a heavily specified brand, supply and technology system.

The strongest dependency is ADQ control over the Menu, approved suppliers, Operations Manual, EPOS/data access, required technology and evaluations. Street versus Captive-venue hours are the main format distinction; a Controlling Owner may delegate daily management only to required certified managers.

The largest unresolved question is store-specific configuration: the FDD gives no exact DQ Treat-only outlet count and does not establish which off-premises ordering, delivery or pickup modes are active at a given store. Verify those points against current Operations Manual requirements, supplier agreements and the authorized-site configuration.