How Much Does a DQ Treat Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

How much does a DQ Treat franchise cost in 2026?

A new U.S. DQ Treat store has two distinct 2026 investment ranges: $548,700 to $1,049,350 for a Captive-venue location and $848,700 to $1,595,350 for a Street location. These are American Dairy Queen Corporation’s Item 7 estimates for a single store, not the amount of cash a lender will necessarily require and not the same as the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee.

$548,700–$1,049,350 Captive-venue location $848,700–$1,595,350 Street location

The March 26, 2026 disclosure separates the formats because premises and equipment obligations differ materially. The totals include three months of Additional Funds but exclude land; a Street-site land purchase may add $250,000 to $620,000 or more. Source: 2026 disclosure, Item 7, pp. 18–22.

The disclosed total answers what the franchisor estimates is needed to establish one store under stated assumptions. It does not answer how much must be held in a bank account on the day of application. Part of the project may be financed, some payments may be refundable under third-party contracts, and local lenders may demand equity, collateral, or guarantees. A sound reading therefore keeps four questions separate: the full project range, the amount paid directly to the franchisor, the cash needed before opening, and the reserves needed after opening. Combining those concepts can either overstate the immediate cash need or understate the full obligation.

That distinction matters during planning because invoices do not arrive at one moment. Early commitments may be relatively small but nonrefundable, while later construction and supplier invoices can require much larger draws. A lender may reimburse approved costs after documentation rather than advance every dollar before work begins. The applicant therefore needs a month-by-month sources-and-uses schedule that shows deposits, expected loan draws, owner contributions, and reserves without changing the official total. This is a cash-flow timing exercise, not a replacement estimate, and it should reconcile to executed contracts rather than assumptions borrowed from another restaurant concept.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: American Dairy Queen Corporation (ADQ), a wholly owned subsidiary of International Dairy Queen, Inc. The DQ Treat Franchise Disclosure Document was issued March 26, 2026. This analysis uses Item 5 (pp. 12–13), Item 6 (pp. 14–17), Item 7 (pp. 18–22), and cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 10, 11, and 17. Formats: Captive-venue and Street. Information checked July 21, 2026.

The official U.S. Dairy Queen franchise site currently emphasizes DQ Grill & Chill rather than publishing a matching 2026 DQ Treat FDD. Accordingly, FDD Item and page citations below are unlinked. ADQ is a wholly owned subsidiary of International Dairy Queen, Inc., which is itself a Berkshire Hathaway subsidiary, as stated in the 2026 FDD.

Capital snapshot

Initial Franchise Fee $25,000 $10,000 application deposit, then $15,000 after approval.
Additional Funds $41,000–$155,000 Three months; upper bound is for a Street location.
Continuing License Fee 5% Gross Sales; paid monthly, subject to conversion and renewal rules.
Sales Promotion Program 5%–6% Gross Sales of non-Orange Julius products; separate current OJ rates apply.
FORMAT DIFFERENCE

Why is a Street DQ Treat more expensive than a Captive-venue store?

The Street range is higher because ADQ assumes a larger store and substantially higher building, construction, leasehold-improvement, and equipment obligations. The disclosure describes a Captive-venue store as approximately 600–1,400 square feet, ordinarily leased inside a larger structure; a Street store is approximately 1,000–1,800 square feet and ordinarily owned. Source: 2026 disclosure, Item 7, pp. 20–21.

The overlap between the two ranges does not mean the formats are interchangeable. A smaller project can still land near the upper end because of labor, landlord requirements, site condition, code compliance, or supplier pricing. A larger project can fall below its maximum when the building and lease allocation are favorable. The correct comparison begins with the approved premises and the contract structure, then tests actual bids against the matching disclosure column. Selecting whichever endpoint appears cheaper without confirming the format would produce a misleading capital plan.

The endpoints should also not be converted into a midpoint and labeled ordinary. A midpoint would hide how the premises agreement allocates work between the tenant and landlord, whether a shell already exists, and which improvements must be replaced rather than reused. The practical use of the range is to test whether each signed quote remains inside the disclosed boundary and to identify which assumptions have changed. When a quote falls outside that boundary, the response is not to force it back into the table; it is to document the reason, update the funding plan, and determine whether approval or revised plans are required.

EXCLUDED FROM ITEM 7

Land is outside both official totals. For a Street location, ADQ states that land may generally cost $250,000 to $620,000 or more. The buyer’s capital plan must therefore separate the official Item 7 total from any real-property acquisition, down payment, financing commitment, environmental work, or site-specific improvement obligation.

WHAT THE RANGE INCLUDES

What is included in the 2026 DQ Treat initial investment?

Item 7 includes the franchise fee, training, premises work, plans, equipment, inventories, deposits, professional fees, and three months of Additional Funds. It does not convert those categories into a “typical” budget; each low and high amount remains format-specific.

Premises, plans, and equipment

Item 7 expenditure Captive-venue Street When paid
Building, Construction and Leasehold Improvements $235,000–$470,000 $390,000–$870,000 As incurred before opening
Prepaid Rent and Security Deposit $2,500–$5,500 $2,500–$5,500 Before opening
Construction Consultation Services $0–$5,000 $0–$7,500 Before consultation
Building Plans, Design Intent Plans and Architectural Seal $7,000–$20,000 $10,000–$50,000 As incurred
Equipment, including signs and point-of-sale systems $220,000–$360,000 $360,000–$420,000 Usually when the order is placed

Equipment may be paid as a lump sum or with a financed balance; financing is not provided by ADQ.

Franchise, training, inventory, and working capital

Item 7 expenditure Captive-venue Street When paid
Initial Franchise Fee $25,000 $25,000 Two payments tied to application and approval
Initial Training Fees and Costs $200–$3,700 $200–$3,700 Before training
Travel and Living Expenses for Training Programs $0–$8,650 $0–$8,650 As incurred during training
Training Inventory $3,000–$6,000 $4,000–$8,000 Before opening
Opening Inventory $7,000–$13,000 $8,000–$17,000 Before opening
Utility Deposits, Business Licenses and Government Charges $3,000–$7,500 $3,000–$15,000 Before opening
Attorneys’ Fees $5,000–$10,000 $5,000–$10,000 As incurred
Additional Funds — 3 Months $41,000–$115,000 $41,000–$155,000 Before opening and as incurred

Source for both tables: 2026 disclosure, Item 7, pp. 18–22. Additional Funds are already included in the official total and must not be added a second time.

TRAINING AND OPENING EXCEPTIONS

When the full Initial Franchise Fee is paid, one person may attend ADQ’s training program without a separate program fee, although the MTRA, SERVSAFE, travel, wages, and other attendance costs remain the franchisee’s responsibility. For certain experienced operators developing another store through ADQ’s Additional Restaurant Development program, approved training alternatives may cost $2,300, $1,000, or—after the revised 2026 path is implemented—$500 per person. In limited cases, ADQ may also require on-site pre-opening or opening assistance at approximately $800 per day for each person assigned. Item 7 does not publish a separate ARD investment total.

FDD CAVEAT

Additional Funds cover three months, but not every three-month expense. The category includes managerial salaries, rent, debt service, local advertising, taxes, freight, office expenses, security, PCI compliance, EPOS support, card processing, internet, and authorized music systems. It excludes hourly labor and food costs beyond Opening Inventory. Source: 2026 disclosure, Item 7, p. 22.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the DQ Treat money paid?

The cash requirement develops in stages: the application deposit comes first, the remaining franchise fee follows approval, then training, design, construction, equipment, inventory, and working-capital payments occur before opening and during the first three operating months.

The sequence also creates commitment risk. A payment made before final site, lease, construction, or financing conditions are satisfied may be difficult to recover even when another payment is refundable. The buyer should map each invoice to the contract that controls it, identify cancellation terms, and note whether payment is due on signing, ordering, delivery, installation, completion, or opening. This prevents a refundable franchisor balance from being confused with nonrefundable architect, contractor, landlord, travel, or supplier expenditures. It also shows how a delay can increase carrying costs even when the underlying scope has not changed.

  1. Application: $10,000 nonrefundable deposit. The first portion of the Initial Franchise Fee is due with the franchise application.
  2. Approval: $15,000 balance. Item 7 states that the balance is due within 10 days after application approval; Item 5 ties it to ADQ’s approval and written consent letter.
  3. Training and professional work. Training fees are paid before training; travel is paid as incurred; construction consultation is paid before consultation; plans and legal fees are paid as incurred.
  4. Premises and equipment commitments. Buildout costs arise before opening. Equipment is usually paid when ordered, either in full or through a down payment with a financed balance obtained from a third party.
  5. Opening and first three months. Deposits, licenses, Training Inventory, Opening Inventory, and the pre-opening portion of Additional Funds are paid before opening; the balance of Additional Funds is used as incurred during the initial operating period.

Sources: 2026 disclosure, Item 5, pp. 12–13; Item 7, pp. 18–22; Item 11, p. 37. ADQ states that a typical period from franchise-agreement acceptance to opening is approximately four to eight months, subject to financing, site, plans, permits, construction, and training.

REFUND LIMIT

The initial $10,000 deposit is not refundable. Item 5 permits a refund of the remaining franchise-fee balance only in specified circumstances, including withdrawal after approval but before construction, unsuccessful required training, failure to secure an approved site within 90 days, or failure to start construction within 180 days of the Franchise Agreement effective date.

ONGOING FEES

Which DQ Treat fees continue after opening?

The principal continuing charges are the 5% Continuing License Fee, the Sales Promotion Program Fee, lease-imposed marketing obligations, payment-processing and technology charges, and the Gift Card Program Fee. Percentage charges must be read with their exact FDD basis; they are not disclosed annual dollar amounts.

A percentage charge rises and falls with the contractually defined sales base. The disclosure does not provide an annual dollar forecast, and no annual amount should be inferred without a supported sales figure. Fixed monthly services behave differently: they continue even during a slow month and may change when vendors revise schedules or required systems are upgraded. Lease obligations add a third layer because a landlord may impose promotional or common-area charges that are separate from the franchisor’s program.

For budgeting, these obligations should be grouped by behavior rather than placed in one undifferentiated expense line. Variable charges require the exact contractual base and exclusions. Fixed subscriptions require the current vendor schedule and the number of terminals, devices, or services actually required. Event-driven charges need a trigger, such as a late report, proposed ownership change, failed compliance review, or facility update. This structure makes it easier to see which obligations continue automatically, which can change with activity, and which arise only after a specific decision or problem.

Continuing obligation Amount or basis Timing Key qualification
Continuing License Fee 5% of Gross Sales By the 10th day of each month for the prior month Conversion rules apply; a qualifying pre-April 2007 renewal may remain at 6% until required modernization is complete.
Sales Promotion Program Fee — non-Orange Julius products 5%–6% of Gross Sales By the 10th day of each month for the prior month ADQ sets the rate within the range and may adjust it with at least 90 days’ notice.
Sales Promotion Program Fee — Orange Julius products Currently 5% for Street; 1.25% for Captive-venue Monthly The FDD permits rates up to 6%; specialty venues may receive reductions.
Lease-Required Sales Promotion Fees Varies When due under lease or sublease Paid in addition to the ADQ Sales Promotion Program Fee.
Gift Card Program Fee Currently 3% of total gift-card redemptions When incurred ADQ estimates about $200 per year per location; allocation may change.

Source: 2026 disclosure, Item 6, pp. 14–17. “Gross Sales” excludes sales taxes and receipts from the sale of gift cards, but includes store product, service, and merchandise revenue as defined in the FDD.

The required DQ Treat technology stack creates several separate cost lines

The EPOS hardware and installation estimate is included within Item 7’s Equipment category, so it should not be added again to the total. Ongoing vendor charges continue after opening. The named suppliers and official provider sites are shown for identity and service context; the amounts come from the current disclosure.

  • Initial EPOS hardware and installation: $24,800–$30,700. Required components include hardware and installation from PAR Technology and managed-firewall hardware.
  • EPOS hardware warranty: $74–$155 per month. The amount depends on the warranty package selected.
  • ParBrink, Olo, and Punchh software: $416–$490 per month. The FDD also requires an Olo fee of 0.25% for each order processed by Olo. See the official Olo ordering platform and Punchh loyalty platform.
  • Card processing: approximately 2%–5% of each approved credit-card sale. The designated provider is Fiserv Merchant Services.
  • Payment-security charges. TransArmor is $19.95 per month; Verifone encryption is approximately $10 per terminal per month; a Verifone device warranty is approximately $80 per device for three years.
  • Managed firewall: approximately $51 per month. Scale Computing is the designated managed-firewall provider identified in the FDD.
  • PCI contractor, when used: $200–$2,000 initially and up to $100 per month. ADQ recommends, but does not generally require, hiring a third party unless the processor requires it. The applicable standard is maintained by the PCI Security Standards Council.
  • Updates and upgrades: no contractual cost cap. The 2026 FDD states that required EPOS upgrades and updates may occur periodically without a contractual limit on frequency or cost.

Source: 2026 disclosure, Items 8 and 11, pp. 23–25 and 35–37. ADQ estimates that approved or specified equipment, technology, signage, products, supplies, and services represent approximately 80%–90% of establishment cost excluding land.

EVENT-TRIGGERED COSTS

Which DQ Treat charges apply only in certain circumstances?

Item 6 contains several charges that do not occur every month but can become material after a transfer, renewal, default, audit, late payment, training change, or enforcement action.

  • Transfer Fee: $6,000. Due with the transfer application. It increases by $500 on January 1, 2030 and every five years thereafter.
  • Renewal Fee: $1,000 per renewal-year, capped at $10,000. A partial year counts as a full year.
  • Audit and recordkeeping costs. If an audit finds Gross Sales understated by 3% or more, the franchisee owes percentage fees on the understatement, other amounts due, and audit costs; additional audit costs can apply for two years.
  • Termination Fee after default. The formula uses continuing license fees and depends on operating history and months remaining on the Franchise Agreement; it is not a fixed amount.
  • Past-due charges. Interest is 18% per year or the maximum lawful contract rate, and a Late Fee may be $50 per delinquent report or payment. Late reporting or payment may also trigger weekly remittance; if ADQ pays an overdue business debt, lien, or tax, immediate reimbursement is due.
  • Training-related charges. Additional Training Fees vary; Training Materials cost $150–$500; a late trainee substitution costs up to $250.
  • Enforcement costs and attorneys’ fees. The franchisee must reimburse ADQ for qualifying enforcement expenses; the amount varies.
  • Modernization and facility work. Item 8 requires the building, premises, equipment, signage, and grounds to meet then-current standards at renewal, in some transfers, every 10 years, or sooner when a lease requires it. The FDD does not state a fixed modernization amount. An approved relocation also requires the new premises to meet then-current construction and equipment standards, but no fixed Relocation Fee is disclosed.

Sources: 2026 disclosure, Item 6, pp. 15–17; Item 8, p. 23; Item 17, pp. 46–49.

CONVERSION CONTRACT

How do conversion costs and fees differ?

A conversion is not simply the lower end of either Item 7 range. Existing Dairy Queen soft-serve-only or limited non-system-food stores may use a Conversion Addendum, and the cost depends on the facility’s format, condition, prior use, deferred maintenance, and required upgrades.

The conversion review should begin with a physical scope, not the fee waiver. Reusable assets may reduce purchases, but obsolete systems, code deficiencies, deferred repairs, or brand-standard changes can offset those savings. The buyer should obtain a written schedule showing what can remain, what must be replaced, who approves each item, and which work is unrelated to the brand change but will be completed at the same time. Keeping those categories separate allows the official disclosure, the construction scope, and the purchase price of an existing operation to be reconciled without treating every improvement as a franchise charge.

DQ Treat conversion fee rules

Initial Franchise Fee

A conversion franchisee, or an existing Orange Julius franchisee converting an Orange Julius location to DQ Treat, does not pay the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee. However, a reduced or zero fee may cause separate training, design-intent-plan, construction-consultation, or opening-services charges that are otherwise included.

Item 7 treatment

A conversion may avoid some listed expenditures, but the FDD does not publish a separate conversion total. Costs can rise because of deferred maintenance or upgrades completed with the conversion.

Conversion provision Fee treatment Period
Soft-serve-only Conversion Addendum Carries the existing soft-serve Continuing License Fee; 5% of Gross Sales on other products Under the new Franchise Agreement
NSF Conversion Addendum Carries the existing soft-serve rate; no Continuing License Fee on food products for 36 full months, then 5% of Food Sales minus Base Food Sales Months 1–36, then month 37 onward
Sales Promotion Program Fee Current agreement rate, but at least 3.5% in years 1–3; at least 4% in year 4; then 5%–6% of Gross Sales Step-up through year 5 and the remaining term

Sources: 2026 disclosure, Items 5–7, pp. 12–22, and the Conversion Addenda cross-referenced in Item 6. “Food Sales” and “Base Food Sales” are defined in the applicable addendum.

FUNDING AND QUALIFICATIONS

Does DQ finance the investment, and how much liquid capital is required?

ADQ does not finance the Initial Franchise Fee, site acquisition, equipment, or leasehold improvements. The franchisee must arrange third-party financing, and any lender independently sets the amount, rate, duration, collateral, guarantees, and equity contribution. ADQ may introduce franchisees to lenders, but the 2026 FDD gives no assurance that financing will be available. Source: 2026 disclosure, Item 10, p. 30.

BUYER VERIFICATION

No format-specific Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum is stated in the current disclosure. The official website’s $400,000 Liquid Capital and $750,000 Net Worth figures are expressly presented for a single DQ Grill & Chill unit, not DQ Treat. They should not be transferred to this format. See the official Grill & Chill investment page and official franchise FAQs for the scope of those figures.

Liquidity and Net Worth measure different things. Liquidity concerns assets that can be converted to cash without relying on the new store, while Net Worth subtracts liabilities from total assets and may include property that cannot readily fund construction. Borrowed proceeds are also not the same as unencumbered cash. Because no fixed threshold is published for this format, the applicant must obtain the current qualification standard directly from the franchisor and separately confirm what the selected lender will recognize as eligible equity.

Item 7 does state that local lenders ordinarily require approximately a 20% equity position on leasehold improvements and possibly 25% on equipment. That is a lender-observation in the FDD, not a DQ Treat Liquid Capital threshold and not a promise of approval. A prospective borrower can review the SBA 7(a) loan program, but eligibility and underwriting remain lender- and borrower-specific.

UNRESOLVED VARIABLES

What should a buyer verify before treating the FDD range as a budget?

The published range is a nationwide disclosure, not a site quote. The largest unresolved amounts are real estate, local construction, municipal charges, lease obligations, required technology, insurance, conversion work, and future modernization.

A complete verification file should preserve the date, scope, assumptions, exclusions, and payment terms for every quote. It should also show who approved the expense and whether a later change order superseded the original amount. This documentation helps distinguish a genuine scope change from simple price movement and makes it easier to reconcile the opening budget with invoices before commitments become irreversible.

  • Confirm the unit format. Use the Captive-venue or Street range that matches the approved site; do not blend the low end of one with the high end of the other.
  • Separate land from Item 7. For an owned Street site, obtain a real-property budget and financing terms outside the disclosed total.
  • Reconcile buildout and equipment bids. Include approved plans, architect work, signage, EPOS hardware, installation, and lender down-payment terms without double-counting the Item 7 Equipment category.
  • Read the lease cost clauses. Base rent, percentage rent, common-area maintenance, insurance charges, taxes, utilities, mall or food-court charges, and lease-required promotion may continue beyond the Item 7 deposit estimate.
  • Verify municipal connection and permit exposure. Item 7 states that electrical, sewer, water, or other connection charges can exceed $100,000 in unusual jurisdictions even though the published category is lower.
  • Price required insurance and supplier contracts. Liability insurance is mandatory, but Item 7 does not disclose a separate insurance line; current vendor schedules can also change.
  • Confirm conversion credits and extra fees in writing. A waived Initial Franchise Fee does not necessarily waive training, design, consultation, opening assistance, maintenance, or upgrade costs.
  • Model post-opening cash separately. Additional Funds cover only three months and exclude hourly labor and food costs beyond Opening Inventory.
  • Review the current disclosure before signing or paying. The FTC franchise due-diligence guide explains the federal disclosure timing and why the Franchise Agreement and FDD should be reviewed together.
CAPITAL DECISION

What is the most useful DQ Treat cost number?

Use the format-specific official range shown above as the starting point, then add only obligations the FDD excludes or cannot resolve—most importantly land for an owned site, site-specific municipal and construction exposure, financing costs, lease charges, and any conversion or modernization work. Keep the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee, the three-month Additional Funds category, ongoing percentage fees, and any lender equity requirement as separate concepts. The remaining material unknown is the buyer-specific cash and Net Worth qualification, because the 2026 DQ Treat FDD does not publish a fixed threshold.