How to Start The Camp Transformation Center Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

OPENING PATH

How do you open a The Camp Transformation Center franchise?

≈180 days
Official typical estimate

The 2026 FDD expects about 180 days from signing to opening, but opening depends on written site approval, an approved lease and plans, buildout, permits, insurance, required systems, successful training, at least 14 weeks of pre-opening marketing, and the required membership presale. The attached Franchise Agreement sets a one-year opening deadline, while Item 11 states 18 months; resolve that conflict in writing before signing.

Data basis: The legal franchisor is The Camp Franchise Systems LLC. The U.S. FDD was issued April 6, 2026 and covers a single Center Franchise Agreement plus an optional Area Development Agreement for multiple Centers. This article uses Timeline Mode A: an official typical estimate and a contractual deadline, with a disclosed conflict requiring verification. Evidence reviewed includes Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20; the Franchise Agreement; Personal Guarantee; Site Selection Addendum and Lease Rider; and Area Development Agreement. Official pages and FTC guidance were checked July 20, 2026.
14 days
Federal FDD review Calendar days before signing or payment.
90 days
Submit a site Measured from Franchise Agreement signing.
30 days
Site decision target After the later of inspection or complete materials.
62 hours
Initial training 42 classroom plus 20 on-the-job hours.
14 weeks
Pre-opening marketing Must occur before the Center opens.
APPLICATION

What must an applicant qualify for before approval?

The official franchise process page begins with an inquiry form, a development-team call, discussion of motivation and resources, initial financial qualification, and territory availability. The official franchise FAQ says good credit and at least $100,000 in liquid funds are used to qualify for financing. The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum credit score or general contractual net-worth threshold, so those marketing statements should not be converted into guaranteed approval standards.

The applicant must also be acceptable to The Camp Franchise Systems LLC. If the franchisee is an entity, the franchisor may approve all owners and future owners; all owners and their spouses must sign personal guarantees. At least one owner and the Designated Operator must complete Initial Training, and either the owner or Designated Operator must directly supervise day-to-day operation. The Center must always have an approved, certified on-site manager. FDD Item 15, pp. 33–34; Franchise Agreement §§4.2 and 5.1–5.2.

The franchisor discloses no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee any note, lease, or other obligation. Any lender approval remains a separate third-party decision despite financing language on the franchise website. FDD Item 10, p. 21.

VERIFIED SEQUENCE

What are the actual steps from inquiry to opening?

1

Submit the inquiry and complete initial screening

Action:
Provide contact details, preferred markets, background, goals, and available resources.
Actor:
Applicant and franchise development team.
Timing:
No contractual duration is disclosed.
Blocker:
Financial qualification, brand fit, or territory availability may stop the process.
2

Review the opportunity and receive the FDD

Action:
Confirm the proposed ownership group, development path, financing assumptions, and candidate market.
Actor:
Applicant and franchisor.
Timing:
The FDD must arrive at least 14 calendar days before signing or payment.
Blocker:
An incomplete or outdated disclosure should pause the transaction.
3

Resolve agreement terms and obtain approval

Action:
Review the Franchise Agreement, guarantees, Site Selection Addendum, Lease Rider, state addenda, and any Area Development Agreement.
Actor:
Applicant, franchisor, and professional advisors.
Timing:
Before execution and payment.
Blocker:
The one-year versus 18-month opening-deadline conflict requires written clarification.
4

Sign, fund, organize the entity, and place required orders

Action:
Execute the Franchise Agreement, pay the non-refundable initial fee and initial Technology Fee, complete guarantees, and order the designated Equipment Pack.
Actor:
Franchisee, owners, spouses, franchisor, and designated vendor.
Timing:
At signing.
Blocker:
Payment or ownership documentation that is incomplete delays activation.
5

Find and obtain written approval for a site

Action:
Submit a proposed site inside the non-exclusive Search Area with an LOI, photographs, accessibility, traffic, demographics, physical details, and lease terms.
Actor:
Franchisee finds the site; franchisor evaluates it.
Timing:
Submit within 90 days; approval target is 30 days after complete review inputs.
Blocker:
No site is approved without an authorized officer’s written approval.
6

Obtain lease and design approval before committing

Action:
Submit the proposed lease before signing, obtain any required Lease Rider, employ design professionals, and submit final plans before landlord, permit, or construction submission.
Actor:
Franchisee, landlord, architect, and franchisor.
Timing:
Signed lease and rider are due to the franchisor within 10 days.
Blocker:
Unapproved lease language or design changes can prevent the next stage.
7

Build, equip, insure, license, and staff the Center

Action:
Complete approved construction, signage, equipment installation, utilities, permits, insurance, bonding, technology systems, opening inventory, and hiring.
Actor:
Franchisee, contractors, suppliers, insurer, landlord, and government authorities.
Timing:
Before opening; local durations are not disclosed.
Blocker:
Zoning, permits, financing, labor, supply, and installation delays remain third-party dependencies.
8

Complete owner, operator, manager, and trainer readiness

Action:
At least one owner and the Designated Operator must complete Initial Training; managers and fitness trainers must satisfy certification standards.
Actor:
Franchisor, owner, Designated Operator, managers, and trainers.
Timing:
Training occurs one to three months before opening and must finish at least one week before opening.
Blocker:
Failure to complete training can support termination.
9

Run presale marketing and mock operations

Action:
Conduct at least 14 weeks of pre-opening marketing, complete mock service events, and build the required initial membership base.
Actor:
Franchisee; franchisor or designated vendors may execute required grand-opening campaigns.
Timing:
The FDD states 150 memberships as of issuance, subject to change.
Blocker:
The Center may not open without both the marketing period and required presales.
10

Verify readiness and open to the public

Action:
Confirm approved premises, trained leadership, required systems, inventory, insurance, permits, staffing, marketing, presales, and opening checklist completion.
Actor:
Franchisee verifies completion; franchisor supplies its opening guide and checklist.
Timing:
Typical estimate is about 180 days.
Blocker:
The operative opening deadline must match the final signed agreement and state addenda.
CONTRACTUAL DEADLINE CONFLICT The 2026 FDD Item 11 says the Center must open within 18 months after signing, but Franchise Agreement §1.5 says one year. Because the Franchise Agreement is the governing contract, a buyer should obtain a written correction, amendment, or clear explanation before signing and confirm whether a state addendum changes either period. The initial franchise fee is non-refundable even if no site is approved or the Center never opens.
TIME EVIDENCE

Which disclosed periods shape the opening schedule?

Non-additive opening periods and deadlines

All values are shown in calendar-day equivalents for comparison; their triggers differ and they must not be added together.

Federal FDD review
14
Site decision target
30
Submit proposed site
90
Pre-opening marketing
98
Typical signing-to-opening estimate
180
Franchise Agreement opening deadline
365

Interpretation: the 180-day figure is an expectation, not a guarantee; site, lease, construction, permit, supplier, training, and presale dependencies can consume or exceed that planning window.

Sources: 2026 FDD Item 11, pp. 22–28; Franchise Agreement §§1.4–1.5; Site Selection Addendum §§1 and 4; and the FTC’s Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise.

RESPONSIBILITY

Who controls each opening dependency?

Applicant or franchisee

Submit truthful application and ownership information; arrange capital and financing.

Find the site, negotiate control, obtain permits, hire professionals, build out, staff, insure, and stock the Center.

Complete training, mock operations, marketing, presales, and opening-readiness tasks.

The Camp Franchise Systems LLC

Decide candidate approval and furnish the FDD and agreements.

Evaluate the site, lease, plans, owners, Designated Operator, managers, suppliers, advertising, and required systems.

Provide the Manual, training, design guide, opening guide, checklist, and disclosed opening assistance.

Third parties

Landlord approval, lease rider acceptance, and possession of premises.

Lender underwriting; architect, contractor, vendor, utility, insurer, and equipment delivery performance.

Zoning, building, sign, occupancy, business-license, and other government approvals applicable to the actual location.

SITE APPROVAL IS NOT TERRITORY PROTECTION A single-unit Franchise Agreement grants no exclusive or protected territory. The Site Selection Addendum’s Search Area is also non-exclusive. An Area Development Agreement can reserve a Development Area against other traditional Centers while its schedule remains in force, but it excludes specified Non-Traditional Venues and ends if the schedule is completed or the agreement terminates.
SITE AND BUILDOUT

What must be approved before construction begins?

The franchisee must employ an architect, designer, and other necessary professionals and obtain prior approval of final plans before submitting them to a landlord, property owner, or government authority and before construction or remodeling begins. After acquiring the site, Item 11 says adapted design plans are due within 10 days; the franchisor states it will use reasonable efforts to approve or reject initial and revised plans within 10 days of receipt. Franchise Agreement §1.3; FDD Item 11, pp. 22–23.

The FDD describes a new Center as generally requiring 2,800 to 6,000 square feet, often in a light-industrial center with large exterior doors, while the current official FAQ says 4,000 to 6,000 square feet. The buyer should use the franchisor’s then-current written site criteria and verify parking, visibility, access, utilities, zoning, and permitted use for the specific property rather than relying on the website range. FDD Item 7, p. 12; official FAQ.

The lease must be submitted before signature. The franchisor may require the landlord to sign the Lease Rider and may request a collateral assignment giving it the option to assume the lease after specified defaults or termination. Written site approval evaluates brand criteria only; it is not a promise that the location will be viable, profitable, financeable, or permitted.

TRAINING AND READINESS

What must be completed before opening authorization?

Readiness area Verified requirement Approval or dependency
Leadership At least one owner and the Designated Operator complete Initial Training. Franchisor certification; approved on-site manager must remain in place.
Training 42 classroom hours and 20 on-the-job hours; finish at least one week before opening. Written or practical exams may be required to the franchisor’s reasonable satisfaction.
Fitness staff Anyone leading training must meet brand requirements; national certification may be required. Certification body and franchisor standards.
Systems Required POS, sales/lead, reporting, mobile-app, internet, communications, and training-platform access. Designated vendors, installation, data access, and user terms.
Supply chain Equipment Pack, MyoFX opening inventory, approved signage, specifications, and required suppliers. Delivery, installation, vendor availability, and brand approval.
Risk controls Specified liability, property, vehicle, umbrella, construction, workers’ compensation, interruption insurance, and bonding. Insurer, state law, lease, and franchisor specifications.
Market launch At least 14 weeks of marketing, required membership presales, and mock service events. Approved materials, designated marketing providers, and changing presale target.

The official website describes a five-day headquarters component plus two days in a Chino-area gym. The controlling 2026 FDD quantifies the program as 62 total hours and permits the franchisor to modify the program. See the official next-steps page and FDD Item 11, pp. 27–28.

MULTI-UNIT PATH

How does an Area Development Agreement change the process?

An Area Development Agreement requires at least two Centers and a signed Development Schedule with specific opening deadlines. The developer pays the development fee when the agreement is executed, identifies and secures each site, demonstrates the franchisor’s then-current financial and operational criteria for each additional Center, and signs a separate Franchise Agreement and release for every approved location. The Development Fee is non-refundable even if no Required Center opens.

Once the franchisor receives the signed lease and lease rider for an approved site, it issues a location-specific Franchise Agreement. The developer must return it within 20 days or the franchisor may withdraw site approval. Missing a Development Schedule deadline is a non-curable material default under the Area Development Agreement and can permit immediate termination by written notice; there is no automatic extension right. ADA §§2.1–2.3, 4.1–4.4, and 7.1.

A development entity must generally be closely held and formed solely to develop and operate Centers. The identified Principals must collectively own and control at least 51% of voting rights or otherwise satisfy the franchisor that they have operational control, and a full-time approved Designated Operator with supervisory experience must oversee development and operations. ADA §§8.2–8.7.

BUYER VERIFICATION

What should be verified before signing and before opening?

Obtain the current FDD, all amendments, receipts, and state-specific addenda.
Confirm the final Franchise Agreement’s opening deadline and reconcile the one-year/18-month conflict.
Confirm the current presale target; the 2026 FDD states 150 memberships but permits changes.
Get the precise Search Area or Development Area in writing and understand its exclusions.
Ask for current written site criteria, including the applicable square-footage range.
Do not sign a lease before written site and lease approval and resolution of the Lease Rider.
Verify required insurance, bonding, permits, occupancy approvals, and landlord conditions for the actual jurisdiction.
Confirm current equipment, software, app, POS, CRM, reporting, inventory, and approved-supplier requirements.
Identify the owner, Designated Operator, managers, and trainers who must attend or pass training.
Call current, former, and signed-but-not-open franchisees listed in Item 20 and the exhibits about real opening delays.
BUYER VERIFICATION Item 20 reported 11 signed-but-not-open franchises as of December 31, 2025 and the FDD’s risk disclosures specifically warn about unopened franchises. Ask those operators what delayed site control, lease execution, permitting, construction, equipment delivery, training, presales, or franchisor approvals. The FTC also recommends reviewing all 23 FDD Items and speaking with current and former franchisees before investing.
AUTHORITATIVE LINKS

Which public sources support the opening process?

The Camp Transformation Center official U.S. franchise website — current franchisor identity and U.S. offer context.
Official next-steps page — inquiry, initial call, financial screening, FDD delivery, signing, and training sequence.
Official franchise FAQ — current public qualification, space, staffing, and training statements.
Official investment page — process-linked equipment, permits, inventory, insurance, and pre-opening obligations.
FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise — FDD timing and due-diligence framework.
FTC Franchise Rule page — official federal rule resources.

Opening synthesis: the verified path is inquiry and screening, FDD review, approval and signing, site and lease approval, design and buildout, required systems and suppliers, training and staffing, presale marketing, readiness verification, and public opening. The FDD’s typical duration is about 180 days, not a promise. The most important applicant-controlled dependency is securing an approvable site and completing buildout and presales; the most important external dependency is coordinated approval and performance by the franchisor, landlord, contractors, suppliers, insurer, lender, and government authorities. The key unresolved issue is whether the enforceable opening deadline is one year or 18 months from signing.