How does the SNOWFRUIT opening process work?
The 2025 FDD gives an official typical period, not an opening guarantee. After required training is completed to JFE Franchising, Inc.’s satisfaction and JFE decides to grant the franchise, a new or acquired SNOWFRUIT Unit typically begins operating 14–21 days after the Franchise Agreement is signed. The Store Owner, permits, staffing, approved supplies, certifications, and JFE’s written opening approval can still control the date.
What must an applicant qualify for before JFE awards a franchise?
JFE does not disclose a universal minimum net worth, liquid-capital threshold, credit score, education level, or produce-industry experience requirement in the 2025 FDD. Meeting the disclosed structural requirements does not obligate JFE to approve the applicant: training completion is a prerequisite, and the Initial Training Agreement lets JFE decline an award if it decides the trainee is not qualified to manage a SNOWFRUIT Unit.
- Use a business entity. JFE expects an entity—not an individual—to operate the Unit.
- Name an Acting Principal. JFE must approve this person, who must hold majority ownership.
- Accept active involvement. The Acting Principal remains personally and actively involved even when a manager runs daily operations.
- Pass screening. Drug, criminal-background, and/or tuberculosis results must be acceptable to JFE before acceptance.
- Train the operating team. All principals, the proposed manager, and food-preparation or food-handling employees must complete JFE training satisfactorily.
- Sign owner obligations. Every owner signs the Franchise Agreement provisions and a personal guaranty.
For a second Unit, JFE separately considers location availability, financial ability, and operational capability in its sole discretion. Each additional location requires another Franchise Agreement and applicable fees; the FDD does not disclose an Area Development Agreement or a contractual multi-unit development schedule.
Source: 2025 SNOWFRUIT FDD, Items 5, 12 and 15, pp. 6–7 and 29–32; Initial Training Agreement §§1.1–1.3; Franchise Agreement §§6.2–6.3 and 14.2.
The candidate may sign the Initial Training Agreement and pay the $500-per-person, nonrefundable training fee before JFE makes the final franchise-award decision. Screening reimbursements are also nonrefundable even if JFE does not accept the candidate. Completing training does not itself create a right to receive a franchise.
What are the actual steps from inquiry to written opening approval?
The process is driven by JFE’s qualification decision and Store relationship rather than by a franchisee-selected lease or independent construction project. The sequence below separates candidate actions, JFE approvals, Store Owner dependencies, and government or supplier work.
Actor: Applicant and JFE.
Timing: No application-review period is disclosed.
Next dependency: A suitable Store relationship and location must be available.
Actor: JFE furnishes; applicant reviews.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or making a franchise-related payment.
Blocker: A materially revised franchisor-initiated agreement can trigger a separate seven-calendar-day review period.
Actor: Applicant, proposed owners, and JFE.
Action: Form the entity, designate the majority-owner Acting Principal, and submit required tests or checks.
Uncertainty: The FDD requires acceptable results before acceptance but does not fix their exact order relative to training.
Actor: All principals, proposed manager, food-handling staff, and JFE trainer.
Timing: 20 hours over one week; attendance and satisfactory completion are required.
Next dependency: JFE decides whether the trainee is qualified and whether to grant the franchise.
Actor: JFE decides and identifies the Location and Unit format.
Timing: No location-selection deadline is disclosed.
Blocker: No suitable Store relationship, Store objection, or JFE’s decision not to award the franchise.
Actor: Franchise entity, all owners, and JFE.
Action: Sign the Franchise Agreement with Exhibit A and guaranty; add a Promissory Note, Purchase Agreement, Bill of Sale, or Express Unit Addendum when applicable.
Blocker: Unresolved format, ownership, financing, asset, or closing terms.
Actor: Franchisee, approved suppliers, and Store Owner.
Action: Obtain approved equipment, labels, uniforms, opening inventory, insurance, certifications, and trained employees.
Blocker: Supplier lead times, missing certifications, incomplete equipment, or Store code-of-conduct requirements.
Actor: JFE authorizes; franchisee opens.
Timing: Typically 14–21 days after signing, but no later than two months after the Effective Date or the Store Owner’s earlier requested date.
Blocker: Any incomplete pre-opening obligation; opening without prior written approval is prohibited.
Source: 2025 SNOWFRUIT FDD, Items 5, 8, 9 and 11, pp. 6–7 and 16–28; Franchise Agreement §§2.1, 5.1–5.7 and 6.1–6.3; Initial Training Agreement §1.
Each bar uses its own contractual trigger; the chart is not a calculated total opening schedule.
Interpretation: The 14–21 day operating estimate sits inside a separate two-month opening deadline, while training must also be finished at least one week before opening; Store Owner delay can change the practical sequence.
*The FDD states “within 4 weeks,” shown as 28 days solely to plot the stated week-based period. Source: 2025 SNOWFRUIT FDD cover and Item 11, pp. i and 24–27; Franchise Agreement §§5.2 and 6.1.
Who controls the location, buildout, permits, and opening date?
JFE selects the specific supermarket, grocery-store, university, corporate, or other third-party facility location and identifies it in Exhibit A to the Franchise Agreement. The franchisee does not receive a minimum or exclusive territory, does not sign a lease with the Store Owner, and cannot relocate the Unit without JFE’s prior written consent.
The Store Owner—not the franchisee—has sole control over buildout, development, specifications, and layout. The Store Owner supplies the Unit space, refrigerated display cases, sink, power, storage, and refrigeration. JFE may assist with approvals, but the franchisee remains solely responsible for laws, permits, licenses, trained workers, and any legally required Food Manager or Food Handler credentials.
A specified Store location grants only the right to operate that Unit at that site. Other SNOWFRUIT Units, company outlets, affiliates, and other distribution channels may compete nearby, and the Store Agreement can be ended by the Store Owner on short notice.
The actor with contractual control is different from the party that may provide assistance.
Source: 2025 SNOWFRUIT FDD, Items 8, 11, 12 and 15, pp. 16–32; Franchise Agreement §§2, 5.1, 5.7 and 6.3–6.11.
How do a new Unit, an acquisition, and an Express Unit differ?
All disclosed formats use the core Franchise Agreement and the same Store-controlled location model. The additional documents and approval issues change according to whether the applicant is starting a location, buying JFE-owned assets at an existing location, or receiving an Express Unit in a developing market.
| Official path | Documents and process difference | Opening issue to verify |
|---|---|---|
| New traditional Unit | Franchise Agreement, Exhibit A location, guaranty, and any Promissory Note. | Store readiness, approved equipment and inventory, permits, staff training, and written approval. |
| Existing traditional Unit | Franchise Agreement plus Purchase Agreement and Bill of Sale; closing transfers listed assets. | Inspect the assets: they are accepted “as is” and “where is,” and permits do not transfer automatically. |
| SNOWFRUIT Express Unit | Franchise Agreement plus Express Unit Addendum for a Store-designated developing market. | No initial franchise fee; initial training fee is waived for up to three attendees, but the remaining readiness duties still apply. |
An Express Unit can later be required to convert to a traditional Unit if its average weekly Gross Sales exceed $3,000 at the annual evaluation date defined in the Addendum. That is a post-opening conversion rule, not a separate pre-opening approval path. For an existing Unit, the asset closing is conditioned on the buyer entering the Franchise Agreement, and the buyer should reconcile the asset schedule, condition, purchase price, closing date, and any liabilities before signing.
Source: 2025 SNOWFRUIT FDD, Items 5, 7, 11 and 17; Purchase Agreement §§1–5; Express Unit Addendum §§1–6.
What can delay or prevent the opening?
The strongest applicant-controlled dependency is completion of training and readiness for every person who prepares or handles food. The strongest external dependency is the Store Owner: it controls the physical setup, can request an earlier opening date, may impose Store rules, and can delay delivery of the Unit.
The Franchise Agreement requires the Unit to open in full compliance within two months after its Effective Date or by the Store Owner’s requested date, whichever is earlier. Missing that date is a default. The franchisee also may not open until all pre-opening obligations are complete and JFE gives prior written approval, which may not be unreasonably withheld.
Opening assistance is separate from authorization. At the franchisee’s request, JFE will send one or more people for one day on or around opening at JFE’s cost; additional assistance is $500 per trainer per day plus travel and related expenses. The FDD does not say that the assistance visit is mandatory or that its completion alone authorizes opening.
Source: 2025 SNOWFRUIT FDD, Item 11, pp. 23–28; Franchise Agreement §§5.4, 6.1 and 12; Item 17, pp. 32–38.
What should be verified before signing and before opening?
- Confirm the exact format, Store address, Unit type, and display-case category stated in Exhibit A.
- Ask for the current FDD and state-specific addenda, then document the delivery date and applicable waiting period.
- Confirm whether training occurs before the final award and how JFE records satisfactory completion.
- Identify every required trainee, Food Manager credential, Food Handler requirement, and Store code-of-conduct document.
- Obtain the Store Owner’s requested opening date and a written readiness list for cases, sink, power, storage, and refrigeration.
- List each permit, license, insurance certificate, inspection, and third-party approval required in the actual jurisdiction.
- Confirm approved-supplier lead times for equipment, label systems, uniforms, packaging, and opening inventory.
- For an acquisition, inspect the asset schedule and condition and confirm which permits, employees, inventory, and liabilities are excluded.
- For an Express Unit, read the conversion trigger and confirm that the training-fee waiver is documented for the named attendees.
- Ask JFE to identify the exact pre-opening deliverables required for its written authorization.
The federal disclosure-timing rule in 16 CFR 436.2 uses calendar days, not business days. The FTC Franchise Rule resource explains the disclosure framework, while the official SNOWFRUIT FAQ and brand website provide current public brand and inquiry context. State law or a state addendum may require an earlier disclosure date or alter enforceability, so the applicable documents should be reviewed with qualified advisers.
Verified synthesis. The SNOWFRUIT path is inquiry and market screening, FDD receipt, entity and owner qualification, screening, the Initial Training Agreement and satisfactory training, JFE’s award decision and Store-location identification, format-specific signing, Store-controlled setup, franchisee permits and readiness, and JFE’s written opening approval. The 14–21 day post-signing period is an official typical estimate, not a promise. Training and staff readiness are the main applicant-controlled dependencies; Store availability and setup are the main franchisor/third-party dependencies. The key deadline is two months after the Franchise Agreement’s Effective Date or the Store Owner’s earlier requested date, while the unresolved timing risk is that JFE has no disclosed deadline to select a location.