Snowfruit does not publish an official owner-earnings figure. This limited-confidence range is an independent structural scenario built around the 2025 FDD's Snowfruit Express conversion threshold. A manager-assisted version of the same model produces only about -$700 to $10,200 in annual business residual. The difference is primarily the estimated market value of work performed by the owner, not passive profit.
This earnings range is not an Item 19 financial performance representation by JFE Franchising, Inc. It combines identified facts from the 2025 Snowfruit Franchise Disclosure Document with an IRS industry-margin proxy, a BLS wage benchmark, and clearly labeled scenario assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of location sales, unit format, Store Owner and Franchisor Revenue Shares, produce costs, spoilage, labor, operating execution, financing, and the owner's working role.
- Legal franchisor
- JFE Franchising, Inc., a Texas corporation
- FDD issuance
- July 14, 2025; amended September 23, 2025
- Item 19 status
- No financial performance representation; 2025 FDD, Item 19, p. 39
- Applicable formats
- Traditional Snowfruit Unit and Snowfruit Express Unit in third-party grocery facilities
- External benchmarks
- IRS 2022 corporate food-and-beverage-retailer data; BLS May 2025 national wages
- Date checked
- July 17, 2026
The FDD reports neither outlet sales nor owner profit.
This is a conversion trigger, not reported unit sales.
Combined Store Owner and Franchisor Revenue Shares.
2022 corporate food-and-beverage retailers; not Snowfruit unit economics.
BLS May 2025 mean wage for first-line food-service supervisors.
Down from 1,156 at April 1 in the partial-year Item 20 table.
What does Snowfruit's 2025 Item 19 actually disclose?
Officially, it discloses no sales, operating profit, net income, cash flow, owner compensation, or other financial performance measure. Item 19 says JFE Franchising does not make representations about future franchisee performance or past company-owned or franchised-outlet performance. It may provide actual records only when a buyer is considering an existing outlet. That statement applies to both traditional Snowfruit Units and Snowfruit Express Units. Source: 2025 Snowfruit FDD, Item 19, p. 39.
The absence of a financial performance representation is not proof of weak or strong economics. It means there is no same-brand population, reporting period, sample size, average, median, margin, or percentage-achieving result from which a reliable owner-profit estimate can be calculated. The FTC's Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise recommends examining Item 19 and obtaining information from current and former franchisees rather than treating informal earnings claims as substantiated evidence.
The FDD's $3,000 average-weekly-Gross-Sales test is an operating threshold for possible conversion of a Snowfruit Express Unit. Annualizing it to $156,000 creates a transparent model input, but it does not establish that an average, median, mature, or typical Snowfruit unit produces that revenue.
How was the annual earnings range estimated?
The model uses three analytical sales anchors and three margin sensitivities; none is an official forecast. The Express-format sales anchors are 80%, 100%, and 120% of the FDD's $3,000 weekly conversion threshold. The base residual-margin proxy is 2.47%, calculated from 2022 IRS Table 5.1 net income divided by total receipts for active corporations classified as food and beverage retailers. Conservative and upside margins are three percentage points below and above that proxy.
| Scenario | Annualized Gross Sales anchor | Residual margin | Manager-assisted residual | Owner-operator benefit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $124,800 | -0.53% | -$700 | $45,500 |
| Base | $156,000 | 2.47% | $3,900 | $50,000 |
| Upside | $187,200 | 5.47% | $10,200 | $56,400 |
The IRS margin is used as an all-in residual proxy, so the scenario does not separately subtract Snowfruit revenue shares, insurance, or fixed monthly fees. Adding specific charges to a margin already calculated after total corporate deductions would risk double counting an unknown expense structure. The IRS population does not identify Snowfruit franchise fees, which is the central comparability limitation and the main reason the confidence rating is Limited.
How do the three scenarios compare?
Annual per-unit manager-assisted residual versus owner-operator benefit
Interpretation: The model's business residual is small across all three cases. Most of the owner-operator benefit is compensation for replacing paid supervisory labor.
Sources and calculation: 2025 Snowfruit FDD, Item 6, p. 12; IRS Corporation Complete Report, 2022 Table 5.1; BLS national occupational wages, May 2025. Values rounded to the nearest $100.
What assumptions are embedded in the model?
- Sales anchors: $2,400, $3,000, and $3,600 per week, equal to 80%, 100%, and 120% of the Express conversion threshold. These are analytical anchors, not reported outcomes or probabilities. The $3,600 weekly upside case may be subject to conversion into the traditional format and different revenue shares.
- Margin proxy: 2.47% is a broad IRS corporate food-and-beverage-retailer net-income ratio: $22.542 billion of net income divided by $912.079 billion of total receipts. The scenario band is -0.53% to 5.47%, using a plus-or-minus-three-percentage-point sensitivity.
- Owner labor: $46,180 is added only to the owner-operator result, using the BLS national annual mean wage for first-line supervisors of food preparation and serving workers.
- Debt and taxes: Personal income taxes and financing principal are excluded. The IRS proxy aggregates corporate deductions, including interest and depreciation, so this is not store-level EBITDA.
- Traditional units: No numerical earnings range is published for the traditional format because Item 19 provides no sales anchor and Item 6 permits a much wider combined revenue-share range.
How does owner involvement change the result?
Owner involvement changes the economic interpretation more than it changes the modeled unit margin. Item 15 requires the majority-owning Acting Principal to participate personally and actively. The unit must be under direct, day-to-day, full-time supervision by that owner or a trained full-time manager, and even a manager-run location still requires the Acting Principal's active involvement. This is not a passive-ownership structure. Source: 2025 Snowfruit FDD, Item 15, p. 30.
Two different measures should not be confused
- Estimated manager-assisted residual
- The modeled business amount remaining after the broad all-in expense proxy, before personal income taxes and financing principal. It is approximately -$700 to $10,200 in this structural scenario.
- Estimated owner-operator benefit
- The manager-assisted residual plus $46,180 of replacement-supervisor labor value. It is approximately $45,500 to $56,400, but a substantial part compensates the owner for working in and supervising the unit.
- After-tax take-home pay
- Not estimated. Entity structure, state and local taxes, deductions, other income, and owner-specific circumstances prevent a defensible universal figure.
At the base scenario, about $46,180 of the $50,000 owner-operator benefit is labor value and only about $3,900 is modeled residual business profit. A buyer seeking manager-assisted economics should focus on the smaller residual figure, not the combined benefit.
Which FDD charges can move Snowfruit owner earnings most?
The variable revenue shares are the largest disclosed recurring claims on Gross Sales. For a traditional Snowfruit Unit, the Store Owner Revenue Share is 15% to 35% and the Franchisor Revenue Share is 5% to 20%, producing an arithmetic endpoint range of 20% to 55%. A Snowfruit Express Unit initially has a narrower arithmetic endpoint range of 20% to 32.5%. These sums are derived from disclosed component ranges; the FDD does not state that every endpoint combination occurs in practice. The exact contract percentages therefore matter more than the $50 monthly Technology Fee or $25 monthly Ongoing Training Fee. Source: 2025 Snowfruit FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–12.
How wide is the disclosed variable-charge range?
Percent of Gross Sales before inventory, freight, labor, and other operating deductions
Interpretation: Two locations with identical Gross Sales can have materially different commission revenue before product, freight, labor, and other expenses because their Store Owner and Franchisor Revenue Shares may differ.
Source: 2025 Snowfruit FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–12. Combined ranges are derived by adding compatible Store Owner and Franchisor Revenue Share endpoints. The $18.20 per $1,000 insurance rate equals 1.82% of Gross Sales.
| Recurring item | Disclosed amount | Owner-earnings treatment |
|---|---|---|
| Store Owner Revenue Share | 15%–35% | Variable deduction from traditional-unit Gross Sales; negotiated by JFE with the Store Owner. |
| Franchisor Revenue Share | 5%–20% | Variable deduction from traditional-unit Gross Sales; set by JFE. |
| Express combined initial share | 20%–32.5% | Derived from the initial Express Store Owner and Franchisor ranges; may change after conversion. |
| Commercial liability insurance | 1.82% of sales | Current group-policy rate; deducted weekly and subject to revision. |
| Technology and ongoing training | $900/year current | $50 plus $25 per month. The FDD permits higher maximum fees; annualized current charges are derived. |
The FDD also states that JFE pays the franchisee the remaining commission after deducting other charges or purchases, including food and inventory costs, freight, equipment fees, and amounts owed to JFE, affiliates, or suppliers. Because Item 19 gives no expense ratios, the article does not fabricate a Snowfruit-specific product-cost or labor-cost margin.
What could make actual owner earnings differ most?
The largest unresolved variable is actual location-level Gross Sales, followed by the exact revenue-share terms and fresh-produce operating costs. No Item 19 population shows how traditional or Express units perform by age, geography, Store Owner, franchisee tenure, or owner role. The official U.S. Snowfruit franchise website describes an in-store grocery model with no rent or build costs and says franchisees prepare products daily, but it does not publish a compatible owner-profit measure.
Does Item 20 change the confidence level?
Yes, but it does not directly measure profitability. Item 20 reports 1,156 franchised outlets at April 1, 2025 and 1,014 at July 18, 2025, a net decline of 142 during that partial period. It also reports 312 outlet transfers in fiscal 2024 and 49 in the April 1–July 18, 2025 period. Openings, terminations, transfers, reacquisitions, and territory-level changes can alter the population from which informal franchisee reports are gathered. Source: 2025 Snowfruit FDD, Item 20, pp. 40–45.
These counts should not be interpreted as a loss rate or earnings statistic without outlet-level reasons and exposure periods. They do justify asking whether a cited franchisee result comes from a current location, a transferred unit, a terminated host-store relationship, an Express unit, or a mature traditional unit.
What should a buyer verify before relying on any income claim?
- Request the actual records for the specific existing outlet under consideration, as Item 19 permits, and reconcile Gross Sales to cash commission received.
- Confirm the exact Store Owner Revenue Share, Franchisor Revenue Share, insurance rate, Technology Fee, Ongoing Training Fee, and any supplier deductions in the proposed agreements.
- Ask current and former franchisees for weekly Gross Sales, produce and packaging purchases, spoilage, freight, payroll hours, manager pay, and owner working hours for the same unit format.
- Separate Express results from traditional-unit results and determine whether the $3,000 weekly threshold would trigger conversion and different revenue shares.
- Compare franchisee statements with the franchisor's written substantiation and the correct Item 20 outlet cohort; do not rely on oral projections alone.
- Model debt service separately. Financing principal reduces cash available to the owner even though it is not a unit operating expense, and personal taxes require owner-specific advice.
What is the most defensible Snowfruit owner-earnings takeaway?
The strongest defensible range is scenario-based, not official: approximately -$700 to $10,200 in annual manager-assisted residual, or approximately $45,500 to $56,400 in owner-operator benefit for an Express-format structural case around the FDD's sales threshold. The owner-operator range includes $46,180 of estimated labor value and therefore must not be read as passive business profit.
The most important earnings driver is the amount of weekly Gross Sales left after the Store Owner Revenue Share and Franchisor Revenue Share. The largest uncertainty is that Item 19 supplies no actual sales or expense distribution for either format. Before making a decision, a buyer should verify the exact Item 19 statement, request written substantiation or existing-outlet records, and test the model against same-format franchisee interviews that separate owner labor, manager compensation, debt service, and personal taxes.