How much does a Snowfruit franchise cost?
Overall envelope across four distinct 2025 Item 7 paths. This is a derived span, not a single franchisor-stated range. The correct capital estimate depends on whether the unit is traditional or Express and whether the franchisee opens a new location or purchases an existing one.
Source: Snowfruit 2025 FDD, Item 7, pp. 13–18. The official Snowfruit site does not publish a matching public copy of this FDD, so the FDD citation is intentionally unlinked.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: JFE Franchising, Inc., a Texas corporation; immediate parent: Wonderfield US Holdco, Inc. FDD issuance date: July 14, 2025; amended September 23, 2025. Formats reviewed: inline, endcap, or island Snowfruit Unit and Snowfruit Express Unit, each as a new or existing location. Cost evidence comes from Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17. Information checked July 17, 2026.
The offer remains publicly presented through the official Snowfruit franchise information site. Wisconsin's official active-registration list showed JFE Franchising, Inc. with an expiration date of September 23, 2026 when checked; see the Wisconsin active franchise registrations. The official franchise disclaimer explains that sales remain subject to applicable registration and disclosure requirements.
Capital snapshot
Why are there four different Snowfruit investment ranges?
The 2025 FDD separates the cost contract by unit format and by whether the buyer opens a new location or purchases an existing location. Snowfruit Express removes the Initial Franchise Fee and waives the Initial Training Fee for up to three people, while an existing-location purchase adds an asset payment and an Administrative Transfer Processing Fee.
Each bar shows the disclosed low and high amount. The bars share a $0 to $170,325 scale but remain separate cost contracts.
new location
existing location
new location
existing location
Source: Snowfruit 2025 FDD, Item 7, pp. 13–18. Exact values are official FDD figures; bar lengths are proportional visualizations.
The Express range is lower mainly because Item 7 lists the Initial Franchise Fee and Initial Training Fee as not applicable. The FDD also says a $3,000 commercial food processor included at the top of the Equipment and Small Wares range is optional for an Express unit.
What does the new-location investment include?
For a new location, Item 7 combines agreement payments, screening, training, equipment, inventory, insurance, professional costs, and three months of Additional Funds. The two new-location formats use nearly the same operating-cost lines, but Express removes the two franchisor entry fees noted below.
| Item 7 category | Disclosed amount | Format and payment timing |
|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $3,000–$50,000 | Traditional only; Express is N/A. Due when the Franchise Agreement is signed. |
| Drug testing, criminal background check, and/or Tuberculosis testing | $250–$1,000 | Both new formats; before opening. |
| Initial Training Fee | $500–$1,500 | Traditional only; Express is N/A for up to three people. Due with the Initial Training Agreement. |
| Travel and Living Expenses while Training | $2,000–$10,000 | Both new formats; before and during training. |
| Food Manager Examination & Certification | $75–$500 each | Both new formats; before opening. |
| Equipment and Small Wares Purchase Price | $3,000–$7,500 | Both new formats; before opening. The high end includes an optional processor for Express. |
| Opening Food Inventory Purchase Price | $1,000–$10,000 | Both new formats; before opening. |
| Pricing Labels and Computer System and Label Printer | $1,309–$4,300 | Both new formats; before opening. |
| Item 7 category | Disclosed amount | Format and payment timing |
|---|---|---|
| Uniforms Purchase Price | $80–$500 | Both new formats; before opening. |
| Licenses & Permits | $200–$3,000 | Both new formats; before opening. |
| Commercial Liability Insurance | $18–$1,800 | Both new formats; deducted weekly from sales. |
| Workers Compensation Insurance | $50–$3,000 | Both new formats; as incurred under state requirements. |
| Technology Fee, first 3 months | $150 | Both new formats; paid monthly. |
| Ongoing Training Fee, first 3 months | $75 | Both new formats; paid monthly. |
| Opening Assistance | $0–$2,000 | Both new formats; on request shortly after opening. The daily-rate conflict is addressed below. |
| Professional Advisors | $250–$5,000 | Both new formats; as incurred. |
| Additional Funds — 3 months of Operating Capital | $12,000–$70,000 | Both new formats; as incurred during the initial operating period. |
Source for both tables: Snowfruit 2025 FDD, Item 7, pp. 13–18. Amounts are nonrefundable unless the FDD states otherwise.
The Additional Funds estimate covers three months of Operating Capital and is already included in each Item 7 total. The FDD identifies employee payroll, inventory, products, and supplies as possible uses when commission receipts do not cover operating expenses. It does not state that owner compensation is included.
What changes when an existing location is purchased?
An existing-location acquisition substitutes several new-opening categories with transaction costs. Item 7 adds $1,000 to $10,000 for Assets of Existing Location and a fixed $1,000 Administrative Transfer Processing Fee. It also lists $1,000 to $7,500 of Ongoing Food Inventory. The chart above shows the separate traditional and Express totals.
Which premises costs are not assigned to the franchisee?
Snowfruit is operated as a department inside a third-party Store, so the cost structure does not resemble a freestanding restaurant build. The FDD says the franchisee does not sign a lease with the Store, the Store Owner provides the refrigerated Display Case, and the Store Owner controls the buildout, development, specifications, and layout.
Store Owner responsibility
Display Case; buildout and development; layout and specifications; and the cost of a Store Owner-directed remodel or update, according to Items 5, 8, and 11.
Franchisee responsibility
Equipment and Small Wares, approved inventory, label system, uniforms, permits, insurance, fixtures or signs not installed by the Store Owner, repairs and replacement, and Operating Capital.
Item 8 estimates that required purchases of products, equipment, and supplies from JFE Franchising, its affiliates, or approved suppliers will represent 100% of the total initial investment and 100% of monthly operating expenses. This is a supplier-control disclosure, not a statement that every payment is made directly to the franchisor.
The official franchise site describes the model as having zero rent, zero build costs, and zero advertising expenses. That statement is consistent with the absence of rent, a franchisee-funded store buildout, or an advertising fee in the reviewed 2025 cost tables, but it does not eliminate the required equipment, supplier, insurance, technology, inventory, payroll, and compliance obligations listed in the FDD. See the official Snowfruit franchise model description.
FDD references: Item 5, pp. 6–7; Item 8, pp. 18–20; Item 11, pp. 24–26.
When does a Snowfruit buyer need the cash?
The payment sequence begins before acceptance and continues through the first three operating months. The largest cash exposure is not limited to the Franchise Agreement signing date because training travel, equipment, inventory, permits, insurance, and working capital are paid at different milestones.
Screening and acceptance
Pay the disclosed screening reimbursement for drug testing, criminal background checks, and/or Tuberculosis testing. Item 7 says it is nonrefundable even if the applicant is not accepted.
Agreement and training commitments
A traditional-unit buyer pays the Initial Franchise Fee when signing the Franchise Agreement and the Initial Training Fee with the Initial Training Agreement. Express lists both as not applicable, with training waived for up to three people.
Before and during training
Travel and Living Expenses are paid before and during training, and Food Manager certification is paid before opening. The Initial Training Program is 20 hours.
Before opening or transaction closing
Pay for required equipment, inventory, labels, computer system, label printer, uniforms, licenses, permits, and insurance. Existing-unit buyers also pay the asset amount at closing and the Administrative Transfer Processing Fee before transfer.
Opening and the first three months
Fund the monthly Technology Fee, Ongoing Training Fee, weekly insurance deductions, payroll, inventory, products, and supplies. The FDD says a Store Owner generally holds the first payment for up to eight weeks and may hold it longer, which makes the three-month Additional Funds range a significant timing buffer.
What financing does JFE Franchising disclose?
Item 10 discloses direct, interest-free financing for two categories. For a traditional Initial Franchise Fee, JFE Franchising may finance 50%: a $1,500 to $25,000 down payment, $1,500 to $25,000 financed, and weekly payments of $150 to $2,500 over 10 weeks, backed by a Personal Guaranty. For Equipment and Small Wares, the franchisor may finance $500 to $7,500 with no down payment and weekly payments of $50 to $750 over 10 weeks. JFE says it does not arrange financing with other sources.
Financing changes the timing of a disclosed obligation; it does not reduce the Item 7 investment. The weekly deductions also overlap with the period when the first Store Owner remittance may be delayed.
Source: Snowfruit 2025 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–12; Item 7, pp. 13–18; Item 10, pp. 23–24.
What fees continue after a Snowfruit unit opens?
Snowfruit does not disclose a conventional royalty line item. Instead, the Store Owner and JFE Franchising retain separate percentages of Gross Sales before the balance is returned to the franchisee as commission, less other charges and purchases. The official franchise site describes this as zero royalty fees; the controlling cost detail is the Item 6 revenue-share schedule.
Scale: 0% to 35% of Gross Sales. These are separate deductions, not a combined range.
Source: Snowfruit 2025 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–12, including Note 5. Exact percentages are official FDD facts; bar lengths are proportional visualizations.
| Ongoing charge | Amount or basis | Timing | Cost interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Technology Fee | Currently $50/month; maximum $100 | Monthly | Maximum may increase 10% annually after required notice. |
| Ongoing Training Fee | Currently $25/month; cap $50 | Monthly | For the supplemental-training mobile application. |
| Commercial Liability Insurance | $18.20 per $1,000 of sales | Deducted weekly | Current group-policy rate; JFE may revise it. |
- Gross Sales
- All business revenue whether paid by cash, debit card, or credit card, excluding refunds, sales taxes, and discounts.
- Commission payment
- The Store Owner keeps its Revenue Share, remits the balance to JFE, and JFE deducts its Revenue Share and other charges before paying the franchisee.
- Express conversion
- On or about May 15 each year, if the disclosed average-weekly-Gross-Sales test exceeds $3,000 for the applicable measurement period, JFE may require conversion to a traditional unit. The traditional Revenue Share schedule then applies, and the FDD states there is no future right to convert back to Express.
Which Snowfruit costs arise only after a trigger event?
Renewal, transfer, relocation, supplier requests, noncompliance, and termination can create costs outside the normal monthly deductions. These amounts are not part of the opening investment unless Item 7 specifically includes an initial payment.
Ownership and contract events
Compliance, supplier, and payment triggers
Other open-ended Item 6 obligations include reimbursement of advances, actual attorneys' fees and enforcement expenses, indemnification damages and costs, additional or remedial training at $500 per person plus attendance costs, and extra employee training at $500 per person.
The same amended 2025 FDD contains inconsistent opening-assistance wording: Item 6 states $500 per trainer per day when more than one day is requested, while Item 7 Note 7 states the first day is free and additional assistance is $400 per day. Item 7 still caps the estimated opening-assistance line at $2,000. A buyer should obtain the current written fee before requesting extra opening support.
Source: Snowfruit 2025 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–12; Item 7, pp. 13–18; Item 17, pp. 34–38.
Does Snowfruit disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?
No liquid-capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds minimum appears in the reviewed 2025 cost and financing disclosures, and the official franchising page checked July 17, 2026 did not publish one. That absence does not make the Item 7 total a cash-on-hand qualification or guarantee that JFE will accept an applicant.
- Estimated Initial Investment
- The format-specific Item 7 range covering disclosed pre-opening and initial operating costs.
- Liquid Capital
- No minimum disclosed in the reviewed Snowfruit sources; it would mean accessible funds, not the Item 7 total.
- Net Worth
- No buyer minimum disclosed; Net Worth is not the same as cash available for opening costs.
- Personal Guaranty
- Required for the financed portion of the Initial Franchise Fee under Item 10, and each owner also signs the Franchise Agreement.
The FTC requires franchisors to provide a disclosure document containing 23 specified items, but state registration does not mean a government agency has approved the investment. The FTC Franchise Rule explains the disclosure framework, while the FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise explains the 14-calendar-day review period before signing or paying the franchisor or an affiliate.
What should be confirmed before relying on the Snowfruit cost range?
The official range is useful only after the correct unit path, Store agreement, fee category, and payment schedule are confirmed in the then-current disclosure package and agreements.
- Confirm the exact format. Verify traditional versus Express and new versus existing; do not transfer a range between paths.
- Obtain the location-specific Initial Franchise Fee. JFE sets the amount using unit type, Display Case size, location, demographics, condition, amenities, and in-store position.
- Map the Store Owner Revenue Share. The percentage depends on the Store agreement, and the Store Owner may periodically adjust it.
- Reconcile required purchases. Check current approved-supplier pricing for food, labels, uniforms, equipment, small wares, insurance, and any optional commercial food processor.
- Test the cash timing. Include the disclosed possibility that the first Store Owner payment is held up to eight weeks or longer and that financed amounts are deducted weekly.
- Resolve the opening-assistance conflict. Obtain written confirmation of whether extra support is charged at $400 per day, $500 per trainer per day, or another current amount.
- Check state status and amendments. Confirm that the FDD and state-specific addenda are current for the buyer's state before signing.
What is the practical capital takeaway?
The verified 2025 Snowfruit investment depends on one of four cost contracts. The largest disclosed variability comes from the Initial Franchise Fee, training travel, inventory, insurance, and Additional Funds. The host-store model removes a conventional lease and franchisee-funded buildout, but ongoing Store Owner and Franchisor Revenue Shares, technology, training, insurance, approved-supplier purchases, and event-triggered charges continue after opening. The most important unresolved cash question is the exact location-specific fee and revenue-share schedule, combined with the timing of the first commission payment.