How long does it take to open an All American Pet Resorts franchise?
The 2026 disclosure document estimates 12 to 18 months from Franchise Agreement signing to opening a single All American Pet Resorts location. That is an estimate, not a promise. The agreement separately requires an Approved Location within four months and an operating Pet Resort within 18 months, subject to site, lease, zoning, permitting, financing, construction, equipment, training, and written opening clearance.
What must an applicant qualify for before an All American franchise is awarded?
The official steps to ownership begin with an introductory call, unit-economics review, FDD review, territory mapping, Confirmation Day, and Franchise Agreement delivery. The 2026 Application and Confidentiality Agreement authorizes credit or personal-information inquiries and requires entity documents when the applicant is a corporation, limited liability company, or partnership.
The Franchise Agreement requires truthful application statements, disclosure of material obligations and litigation, funds or firm arrangements to fund development and operation, and compliance representations. It does not disclose a universal minimum credit score, net-worth threshold, pet-industry résumé, or automatic approval rule as a contractual qualification.
The current ideal-candidate page publishes $450,000-plus liquid capital, net worth of at least $500,000, and a 700-plus credit score. An older official ownership page asks about $1 million to $2 million net worth and $500,000-plus liquidity. Because those official pages conflict and the FDD does not make either set a contract term, obtain the written screening standard and confirm whether it applies per owner, ownership group, entity, or proposed location.
Experience
Pet-care experience is not stated as mandatory. The official candidate page emphasizes leadership and ownership or management experience.
Management
An individual may supervise directly or use a Designated Business Manager. An entity must use a manager for direct, on-site supervision.
Signatories
Equity owners sign the Franchise Agreement; relevant owners, involved family members, and an Affiliated Lessor may also sign guaranty and confidentiality documents.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 15, pages 44–45; Franchise Agreement §§2 and 9.8; Exhibit J. Meeting a published screening figure does not require All American Pet Resorts, LLC to approve an applicant.
What are the actual steps from inquiry to opening?
The sales-stage sequence on the official website ends with agreement delivery and a welcome call. The contractual development sequence then controls: find and submit a site, obtain location and lease approval, finalize the Territory, design and build the Pet Resort, secure permits and insurance, install required systems, complete training, and receive written authorization to open.
Inquiry, screening, and application
Action: Discuss goals, market, capital, experience, and submit the Application and Confidentiality Agreement.
Actor: Applicant and franchise-development team.
Timing: No contractual total disclosed.
Blocker: Incomplete ownership, entity, credit-consent, or financial information.
FDD review and operator validation
Action: Review all 23 Items, agreements, financial statements, Item 20 contacts, and state addenda.
Actor: Applicant and independent advisors.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or payment.
Next: Resolve contract, territory, funding, and site-development questions.
Approval, Confirmation Day, and signing
Action: Complete the brand’s mutual-evaluation process, receive the personalized Franchise Agreement, sign required attachments, and pay the signing-triggered fee.
Actor: Applicant, owners, guarantors, and franchisor.
Timing: Coordination fee follows within 15 days.
Blocker: Territory discussion is not a final Approved Location.
Submit viable Pet Resort sites
Action: Locate candidates and submit traffic, competition, demographic, and other requested site information.
Actor: Franchisee; franchisor reviews.
Timing: Proposals within 90 days; Approved Location within four months.
Blocker: Zoning, financing, site control, incomplete data, or rejection.
Approve the lease and define the Territory
Action: Submit the proposed Lease at least 20 days before signing; incorporate the Lease Addendum and collateral assignment.
Actor: Franchisee, landlord, franchisor, and counsel.
Timing: Site response within 10 days after complete information; Territory attachment within 30 days after site approval.
Next: Signed lease or purchase terms acceptable to the franchisor.
Design, permit, and build the resort
Action: Use approved plans, architect, contractors, equipment, signage, and specifications; complete at least one working design-observation day at an existing resort.
Actor: Franchisee and third-party professionals; franchisor consults and approves brand standards.
Timing: No standalone construction duration is guaranteed.
Blocker: Landlord work, revisions, inspections, utilities, permits, and deliveries.
Install systems and complete readiness work
Action: Obtain licenses, insurance and endorsements; install approved inventory, uniforms, cameras, Windows-based hardware, POS and Resort Operations Software; hire sufficient staff.
Actor: Franchisee, insurers, suppliers, utilities, and government authorities.
Timing: Insurance proof is due within 10 days of issuance.
Blocker: Missing certificates, permits, equipment, or approved-source compliance.
Complete training and testing
Action: The owner or Designated Business Manager and one additional attendee complete classroom, practical, and on-the-job work and pass testing to the franchisor’s satisfaction.
Actor: Required trainees and franchisor-designated trainers.
Timing: Up to 20 days; the FDD also describes two to four weeks of hands-on training.
Blocker: Licenses, scheduling, failed assessments, or additional training.
Receive written opening authorization
Action: Deliver the signed Lease, permits, insurance, proof of payment, readiness notices, and evidence that required assets are installed.
Actor: Franchisee submits; franchisor determines readiness.
Timing: Open immediately after written readiness determination, and no later than 18 months after signing.
Blocker: Any unmet agreement obligation or unpaid amount.
Which deadlines control the critical path?
The 12-to-18-month estimate is the planning range. The enforceable milestones begin much earlier. Site proposals are due within 90 days, an Approved Location is required within four months, and opening is required within 18 months. The agreement allows the franchisor to extend certain site periods, but it does not give the franchisee an automatic extension right.
The scale converts 15 days to approximately 0.5 month only for visual placement; labels preserve the exact disclosed periods.
Interpretation: Site approval is front-loaded; lease completion, permits, construction, inspections, equipment, and training sit between approval and opening. Source: 2026 FDD Items 5 and 11; Franchise Agreement §§6.2, 9.2(b), and 9.13.
If the franchisee does not obtain location approval within four months or open within 18 months, All American Pet Resorts, LLC may terminate the Franchise Agreement and retain the Initial Franchise Fee. “Diligent pursuit” does not erase the stated deadline, and any extension should be confirmed in a written amendment signed by an authorized franchisor representative.
Who controls each pre-opening dependency?
The official support page describes site, lease, design, construction, marketing, and training collaboration. The Franchise Agreement is narrower: the franchisee remains responsible for finding the site, negotiating the Lease, funding and completing the buildout, obtaining approvals, and operating only after written clearance.
The Territory is determined after site approval and documented in Attachment B, generally within 30 days. Item 12 describes a non-exclusive Territory based on at least a three-mile radius and a population of 200,000, with one All American Pet Resorts franchise granted per Territory but broad reserved channels and competitive rights. Current market availability should be verified through the official territory page and the final signed attachment.
What must be completed before the doors can open?
The training disclosures must not be added together mechanically. Item 11 states an initial program of up to 20 days and separately describes two to four weeks of onsite, hands-on training, with 58 classroom hours and 237–317 on-the-job hours. Because the document does not clearly state whether all periods are sequential or overlapping, the buyer should obtain the calendar, locations, attendees, tests, and retake plan in writing for the proposed opening.
Opening assistance is not opening authorization. The franchisor may provide pre-opening and grand-opening assistance during the first 90 days of operations and may charge for requested services. The franchisee still cannot open until every condition in Franchise Agreement §9.14 is satisfied and the franchisor gives written clearance.
Federal timing source: FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise and the FTC Franchise Rule page. The 14-day period uses calendar days and is a pre-signing or pre-payment rule, not an application or construction estimate. If the franchisor unilaterally and materially changes the agreement form, the Rule generally provides a separate seven-calendar-day review period; prospect-initiated negotiated changes are treated differently.
Is there a separate multi-unit or area-development opening path?
No area-development agreement or development schedule is disclosed in the 2026 offering. The FDD offers a single-unit Franchise Agreement, and each additional All American Pet Resorts Business requires a separate agreement. Later locations may qualify for a reduced initial franchise fee, but the first agreement grants no option, right of first refusal, or automatic right to buy another territory.
For a second location, verify current qualification, available territory, a new site and Lease approval, the per-location coordination fee, owner and manager capacity, financing, training, and the opening deadline in the new agreement. A discounted fee is not a multi-unit award and does not reserve future markets.
What should a buyer verify before signing?
Item 20 reported 12 franchised outlets at the end of 2025 and three signed agreements whose locations had not yet opened as of December 31, 2025. Exhibit C includes current franchisees, unopened franchisees, and former operators, although some confidentiality clauses may limit what certain contacts can discuss.
Ask operators to separate franchisor response time from landlord, zoning, financing, contractor, utility, inspection, equipment, and training time. Confirm the actual days from signing to site submission, Approved Location, signed Lease, permit issuance, construction completion, training, and written opening clearance. Also reconcile all website statements against the 2026 FDD and the final signed documents rather than relying on sales-stage descriptions.
Verified opening path: complete screening and FDD review, obtain approval and sign a single-unit Franchise Agreement, secure an Approved Location and approved Lease, finalize the Territory, complete design and buildout, obtain permits and insurance, install required systems, pass training, and receive written opening authorization.
Timeline status: 12–18 months is the franchisor’s official typical estimate. The franchisee-controlled critical dependency is delivering a viable site and driving the lease, buildout, permits, staffing, and readiness package. The most important franchisor and third-party dependencies are site/Lease approval and the landlord-authority-contractor chain. The deadlines to verify are the 90-day site proposal, four-month Approved Location, and 18-month opening requirements, including whether any extension is documented and discretionary.