How Much Does a Wayback Burgers Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Estimated annual owner earnings — traditional U.S. restaurant

Manager-run: about -$62,000 to $36,000

A hands-on owner who replaces a paid food service manager could instead receive an estimated owner-operator benefit of about $4,000 to $101,000. The difference is not passive profit: approximately $65,600 represents the market value of management labor performed by the owner.

FDD: 2026 Evidence mode: D — structural estimate Format: traditional restaurant Confidence: limited
Independent analytical scenario — not an Item 19 earnings claim This range is not a financial performance representation by Wayback Franchising LLC. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document supplies the unit structure, owner-management requirements and recurring fees, while U.S. Census Bureau, Internal Revenue Service and Bureau of Labor Statistics data supply separate industry assumptions. Actual results can differ materially with location, restaurant format, sales, food cost, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement and execution.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Wayback Franchising LLC. FDD issuance date: February 12, 2026. Item 19 status: no financial performance representation. Applicable population: one traditional U.S. Wayback Burgers restaurant; Walmart and international formats are excluded. Benchmarks: 2022 Economic Census NAICS 722513 employer establishments, 2023 IRS sole-proprietorship data for restaurants and drinking places, and May 2023 BLS Food Service Managers wages. Checked July 19, 2026.

The matching FDD was not located as a verified public file on the franchisor-controlled website, so FDD references below are plain-text citations by year, Item and page. See the official Wayback Burgers U.S. franchising website.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 Wayback Burgers FDD actually disclose?

It does not disclose sales, operating profit, EBITDA, net income, cash flow or owner compensation. This is an official FDD fact for the current traditional and Walmart offers, not a missing-data inference. Item 19 states that Wayback Franchising LLC makes no representation about a franchisee’s future financial performance or the past financial performance of company-owned or franchised outlets. Therefore, no official “average owner salary” can be calculated from the FDD. Source: 2026 Wayback Burgers FDD, Item 19, p. 47.

That evidence gap determines the method: Mode D, structural FDD-anchored estimate. Item 20 identifies outlet activity but does not provide a U.S.-only comparable sales or profit cohort. It cannot be converted into an earnings figure. The Federal Trade Commission likewise cautions that gross sales are not profit and that any franchisor sales or earnings claim generally belongs in Item 19. See the FTC’s consumer guide to evaluating franchise earnings claims.

Benchmark
$1.323M

Central annual revenue anchor

Derived from 2022 U.S. Economic Census sales divided by 271,243 NAICS 722513 employer establishments; not a Wayback Burgers AUV.

Official FDD
10%

Royalty and required advertising

6% royalty, 2% local marketing and 2% advertising fund, each based on Gross Sales; the royalty also has a $400 weekly minimum.

Benchmark
3.38%

All-business sole-proprietor net margin

2023 IRS net income less deficit divided by receipts for full- and limited-service restaurants and drinking places, including loss-making businesses.

Benchmark
$65,570

Manager labor value

May 2023 BLS annual mean wage for Food Service Managers in Restaurants and Other Eating Places; payroll taxes and benefits are not added.

Revenue is not earnings The $1.323 million figure is an external employer-establishment revenue benchmark. It is not Item 19 Gross Sales, not a Wayback Burgers average unit volume, and not cash available to an owner.
Scenario model

How was the annual earnings range calculated?

The model combines a limited-service restaurant revenue anchor with an all-business restaurant net-income margin, then separates owner labor from manager-run residual profit. Every result is estimated for one mature traditional restaurant over one full year. Calculations use full-precision inputs and are rounded to the nearest $1,000 for publication.

Conservative, Base and Upside are analytical scenarios, not probabilities or FDD performance bands.
Scenario Revenue anchor Owner-benefit margin Manager-run pre-tax owner earnings
Conservative $1.06M 0.38% -$62,000
Base $1.32M 3.38% -$21,000
Upside $1.59M 6.38% $36,000

What could a manager-run traditional unit leave for the owner?

Estimated pre-tax owner earnings after a $65,570 manager wage; before personal income taxes and financing principal.

Manager-run annual owner earnings by scenario Conservative negative sixty-two thousand dollars, Base negative twenty-one thousand dollars, and Upside positive thirty-six thousand dollars. $50k $0 -$50k Conservative Base Upside -$62k -$21k $36k

Interpretation: Under this broad-government-benchmark model, a paid manager consumes more than the estimated owner benefit in the Conservative and Base cases. Sources: 2022 U.S. Economic Census; 2023 IRS SOI; May 2023 BLS OEWS. FDD structural inputs: 2026 Wayback Burgers FDD, Items 6, 15 and 19.

Why use $1.323 million as the central revenue anchor?

It is the closest official national employer-establishment benchmark for the traditional format, not a same-brand result. The U.S. Census Bureau defines NAICS 722513 Limited-Service Restaurants as establishments where customers generally order or select items and pay before eating, including fast-food and fast-casual restaurants. The 2022 Economic Census reports 271,243 employer establishments, $358.864 billion in sales and $93.753 billion in annual payroll. Dividing sales by establishments gives $1,323,036 per establishment; payroll equals 26.12% of sales. See the 2022 Economic Census limited-service restaurant table.

The Conservative and Upside revenue anchors are 80% and 120% of that central value. This spread is an editorial assumption because the FDD supplies no Wayback Burgers sales distribution, quartiles or mature-outlet cohort.

Why use a 3.38% owner-benefit margin?

It is an official but broad tax-data benchmark that includes businesses with losses. The IRS reports $77.217 billion of receipts and $2.610 billion of net income less deficit for 653,372 sole proprietorship returns classified as restaurants—full and limited service—and drinking places in tax year 2023. The resulting 3.38% margin is not restaurant-level operating profit and is not specific to franchises, burger restaurants or Wayback Burgers. See IRS Statistics of Income nonfarm sole-proprietorship Table 1.

Because the IRS source supplies one central margin rather than a comparable distribution, the Conservative and Upside margins are 3 percentage points below and above the benchmark: 0.38%, 3.38% and 6.38%. The model treats this net margin as an all-in operating proxy and does not subtract the FDD’s royalty and advertising fees a second time. That avoids obvious double counting, but it also creates a major limitation: the IRS table does not reveal how much franchise fee expense is embedded in the industry total.

  • Owner-operator benefit formula: scenario revenue × scenario owner-benefit margin.
  • Manager-run formula: owner-operator benefit − $65,570 food service manager wage.
  • Included by proxy: ordinary Schedule C operating deductions, business interest and depreciation reflected in the IRS aggregate.
  • Excluded: personal income taxes, financing principal, owner-specific distributions and separately modeled future capital expenditures.
Owner role

How does active ownership change the result?

Replacing a paid manager increases the modeled owner’s economic benefit by about $65,600, but that increment pays for full-time management work. The 2026 FDD allows either the owner or a trained designated manager to devote full time and best efforts to the restaurant, remain on premises during specified peak hours and provide direct supervision. The official Wayback Burgers franchise FAQ also encourages hands-on participation during ramp-up and continued oversight after managers are hired. FDD source: Item 15, p. 35.

Manager-run earnings versus owner-operator benefit

The horizontal distance is the $65,570 BLS wage value assigned to management labor.

Owner role comparison across three scenarios For Conservative, Base and Upside scenarios, owner-operator benefit is sixty-five thousand five hundred seventy dollars above manager-run owner earnings. $0 -$75k $0 $75k $130k Conservative Base Upside -$62k $4k -$21k $45k $36k $101k
Manager-run pre-tax owner earnings Owner-operator benefit

Interpretation: Active operation can turn a modeled accounting loss into positive total owner benefit, but the owner is exchanging labor for compensation. The BLS wage is a national industry mean and excludes self-employed workers, payroll taxes and benefits. Source: BLS May 2023 Food Service Managers wage estimates.

Owner-operator effect In the Base scenario, the business produces about $45,000 of owner-operator benefit, but a manager-run structure produces about -$21,000 of residual owner earnings. Calling the $45,000 “profit” would collapse business return and owner labor into one number.
Recurring obligations

Which FDD fees have the largest earnings impact?

The largest stated recurring brand burden is 10% of Gross Sales before other restaurant expenses. The 2026 FDD requires a royalty equal to the greater of 6% of weekly Gross Sales or $400 per week, plus 2% for local marketing and 2% for the Wayback Burgers Advertising Fund. At the three modeled revenue levels, the percentage-based royalty and advertising obligation equals approximately $106,000, $132,000 and $159,000 annually. These amounts are operating costs, not owner earnings. Source: 2026 Wayback Burgers FDD, Item 6, pp. 6–9.

Royalty
Greater of 6% of weekly Gross Sales or $400 per week. The $20,800 annualized floor exceeds 6% only when annual Gross Sales are below approximately $346,667.
Required advertising
2% local marketing plus 2% advertising fund, both measured on weekly Gross Sales.
Technology-related maintenance
Approximately $2,400 to $7,500 per year for computer, website, point-of-sale and other equipment maintenance, upgrades and updates.
Refurbishment
Approximately $500 to $10,000 per year, with larger periodic system changes potentially requiring additional spending.
Walmart format
Excluded from this estimate because the sublease adds rent of 2% to 12% of gross revenues, insurance reimbursement and common-area maintenance charges, creating a materially different cost structure.

The scenario margin is treated as an all-in industry proxy, so the 10% fee burden is not subtracted again. This is necessary to avoid double counting, but it prevents a clean reconciliation from revenue to Wayback-specific operating profit. The official franchise site independently confirms a 6% royalty and 4% advertising requirement on its current franchise cost page.

Uncertainty

What could move actual owner earnings outside this range?

The largest unresolved uncertainty is same-brand unit economics. Without Item 19 sales, food cost, labor, occupancy or profit data, the model cannot establish whether a mature traditional Wayback Burgers restaurant resembles the national limited-service employer average or the broad IRS sole-proprietor margin.

  • Sales and site quality: traffic, trade area, pricing, delivery mix, hours and local competition can move revenue far beyond the 80%–120% analytical spread.
  • Food and paper cost: the FDD requires approved sources for most operating purchases, but it does not disclose a unit-level cost ratio.
  • Labor structure: the $65,570 manager figure is wage-only; benefits, payroll taxes, bonuses, assistant managers and local wage levels can increase loaded management cost.
  • Occupancy: lease economics vary by market. The traditional scenario does not use the Walmart sublease cost structure.
  • Financing: the FDD offers no financing and does not estimate third-party loan payments. Business interest is embedded only broadly in the IRS benchmark; principal payments reduce cash after operating earnings.
  • Depreciation and capital needs: IRS net income includes aggregate depreciation, while actual equipment replacement, remodels and refurbishment timing can differ materially.
Evidence confidence: limited The FDD is current and structurally clear, but the earnings result depends materially on broad government benchmarks and editorial revenue and margin sensitivities rather than a same-brand financial performance representation.
Buyer verification

What should a prospective owner verify before using the estimate?

Verify actual mature-unit sales, a complete store-level profit-and-loss statement and the owner’s real management workload. Because Item 19 contains no financial performance representation, franchisee interviews and written substantiation are essential rather than supplementary.

  • Confirm that the FDD and every amendment remain current at the time of sale, and reread Item 19 for any added financial performance representation.
  • Ask the franchisor whether it will provide written substantiation for any sales, income or profit statement made during the sales process.
  • Interview multiple current and former U.S. franchisees listed in Item 20, separating traditional restaurants from Walmart and other nontraditional formats.
  • Request trailing 12-month Gross Sales, food and paper cost, hourly labor, manager compensation, occupancy, delivery commissions, royalty, advertising, technology and repair expense.
  • Ask whether the owner works full time, how many managers are employed and whether reported owner compensation includes wages, draws, distributions or retained earnings.
  • Model financing interest and principal from the buyer’s actual loan proposal rather than treating operating earnings as cash take-home pay.

What is the decision-useful earnings range?

The strongest defensible range is an estimated -$62,000 to $36,000 of annual manager-run pre-tax owner earnings for one traditional restaurant, or about $4,000 to $101,000 of owner-operator benefit when the owner replaces a paid manager. It is a limited-confidence scenario, not an official Wayback Burgers earnings disclosure. The most important driver is unit sales relative to food, labor and occupancy costs; the largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand Item 19 revenue and profit data. Before committing capital, verify the current Item 19, request written substantiation for every financial claim and reconcile several U.S. franchisees’ trailing 12-month profit-and-loss statements to their actual owner involvement.