A reasonable manager-run estimate for one Seva Senior Home Care Services territory is about $18,000 to $116,000 in annual pre-tax owner earnings, with a base scenario near $58,000. This is an independent estimate, not an earnings figure reported by the franchisor. The 2026 FDD supplies two affiliate company-store Gross Revenue observations for 2025, but it does not disclose franchisee profit, Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, Cash Flow, or Owner Compensation.
This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Seva Senior Home Care Franchising LLC. It combines identified 2026 FDD facts with a U.S. Census Bureau industry benchmark and explicitly labeled margin assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of territory size, client hours, caregiver pay, billing rates, administrative staffing, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, state licensing requirements, and execution.
- Legal franchisor
- Seva Senior Home Care Franchising LLC, an Illinois limited liability company.
- Current disclosure
- 2026 Seva Senior Home Care Services Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 22, 2026.
- Item 19 status
- Official 2025 Gross Revenue for two affiliate company stores; no franchised-outlet earnings and no operating-cost disclosure.
- Applicable population
- Two Illinois affiliate outlets that operated throughout 2025; Item 20 reports zero operating franchised outlets through December 31, 2025.
- External benchmarks
- 2022 U.S. Census Bureau Service Annual Survey revenue and expenses for taxable employer firms in Services for the Elderly and Persons with Disabilities; May 2023 BLS industry-specific manager wages.
- Date checked
- July 19, 2026.
The two-store revenue mean multiplied by the 9.6% industry surplus proxy.
The two 2025 company-store observations in Item 19; revenue is not owner earnings.
Two company-owned outlets and zero operating franchised outlets at year-end 2025.
Derived from 2022 Census revenue of $32.758 billion and expenses of $29.625 billion.
Royalty plus national and local advertising, depending on the initial-fee option and revenue tier.
2023 annual mean wages for two relevant management occupations in NAICS 624120.
What does Seva's 2026 Item 19 actually measure?
Officially, Item 19 measures 2025 Gross Revenue at two affiliate company stores, not owner earnings. The Naperville outlet reported $922,996 and the Schaumberg outlet reported $280,178. The FDD then subtracts a 10% royalty, 1% National Advertising Fee, and 1% Local Advertising spend requirement to show “Adjusted Gross Revenues as if a Franchised Outlet.” That adjusted metric still excludes caregiver payroll, administrative payroll, rent, insurance, software, and other operating expenses.
| 2025 affiliate outlet | Gross Revenue | 12% Item 19 adjustment | Adjusted Gross Revenues |
|---|---|---|---|
| Naperville, Illinois | $922,996 | $110,760 | $812,236 |
| Schaumberg, Illinois | $280,178 | $33,622 | $246,556 |
Source: 2026 Seva Senior Home Care Services FDD, Item 19, pp. 35-36. “Adjusted Gross Revenues” is the FDD's term and is not Net Income or profit.
The FDD expressly says these figures do not reflect costs of sales, operating expenses, or other costs required to reach net income or profit. It also identifies material comparability limits: the two affiliate outlets served populations of about 250,000 and 248,000, larger than a franchise territory, and they had sharply different 2025 staffing levels - 47 versus 7 caregivers.
How representative is the Item 19 sample?
The sample is complete for the two affiliate outlets that operated throughout 2025, but it is not a franchisee sample. Item 20 reports no operating franchised outlets in 2023, 2024, or 2025. The evidence therefore shows a real same-brand revenue range, but it cannot establish average franchisee earnings, a median, a probability of success, or a typical mature-territory result. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 20, pp. 37-39.
How was the annual owner-earnings range estimated?
The estimate applies a 6.6%-12.6% analytical margin band to the two official affiliate revenue observations and their arithmetic mean. The central 9.6% proxy comes from 2022 U.S. Census Bureau data for taxable employer firms in NAICS 624120, Services for the Elderly and Persons with Disabilities, a category that includes non-medical home care, homemaker services, and companionship.
Industry surplus proxy = ($32.758B revenue - $29.625B expenses) / $32.758B revenue = 9.564%
The Census benchmark is national and broader than Seva. It is not a franchised-unit margin and does not isolate caregiver economics, owner pay, manager compensation, royalty expense, or a single territory. The conservative and upside margins are the benchmark minus and plus 3 percentage points. Those bands are editorial sensitivity assumptions, not FDD-reported outcomes.
| Scenario | Revenue anchor | Margin assumption | Estimated pre-tax owner earnings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $280,178 | 6.6% | $18,400 |
| Base | $601,587 | 9.6% | $57,500 |
| Upside | $922,996 | 12.6% | $116,000 |
Calculation uses full-precision inputs and rounds results to the nearest $100. Revenue anchors: 2026 FDD Item 19, pp. 35-36. Margin basis: U.S. Census Bureau 2022 industry revenue series and U.S. Census Bureau 2022 industry expense series, accessed through the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
Annual pre-tax residual before financing principal and personal income taxes.
Interpretation: revenue variation and a six-percentage-point margin sensitivity produce a wide result; the chart is not a probability forecast.
Sources and formula: 2026 FDD Item 19 affiliate Gross Revenue; 2022 Census Service Annual Survey revenue and expenses; scenario margin = benchmark minus 3 points, benchmark, and benchmark plus 3 points.
What is included in “pre-tax owner earnings” here?
The modeled figure is cash available after normal unit-level operating expenses, but before personal income taxes and financing principal payments. The model treats interest and depreciation according to the broad Census expense aggregate rather than reconstructing them separately. Capital expenditures and replacement assets are not separately reserved. The benchmark does not disclose how owner compensation is classified, which is one reason confidence remains limited.
- Manager-run assumption: normal paid management is treated as an operating expense within the broad benchmark.
- No double fee subtraction: the Census expense measure is used as an all-in aggregate proxy, so FDD royalties and advertising are not deducted a second time in the primary scenario.
- Single territory: results are per territory, not per owner portfolio, and no multi-unit multiplication is used.
- No after-tax estimate: entity structure, federal and state tax treatment, deductions, and owner circumstances are excluded.
How does owner involvement change the result?
An active owner may capture substantial labor value by replacing a paid General Manager, but that value is compensation for work, not passive business profit. Item 15 permits either direct owner participation or a trained General Manager. For NAICS 624120, May 2023 BLS data show annual mean wages of $74,150 for Social and Community Service Managers and $100,050 for General and Operations Managers.
The owner-operator range adds $74,150-$100,050 of benchmark management labor value to each scenario.
Interpretation: direct owner operation can increase economic benefit materially only when the owner truly replaces budgeted management labor. The teal interval is labor value plus residual profit, not passive income.
Sources: 2026 FDD Item 15, p. 31; BLS May 2023 wage estimates for NAICS 624120. Owner-operator arithmetic adds the two BLS annual mean wage benchmarks to the manager-run scenario result.
A low-revenue territory may not economically support a full-time manager at either national mean wage. Therefore, the $74,150-$100,050 addition is best treated as a full-replacement ceiling for labor value, not a guaranteed increase. The actual benefit depends on the hours and responsibilities the owner absorbs, local compensation, state administrator requirements, and whether another employee must still be hired.
Which FDD fees can move owner earnings most?
The royalty choice creates the clearest mechanical earnings difference: 5 percentage points of Gross Revenues until the no-upfront-fee option reaches $1 million in cumulative Gross Revenues. Option 1 requires a $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee and a 5% royalty. Option 2 has no Initial Franchise Fee and charges a 10% royalty on the first $1 million, then 5%. Both add 1% national advertising and 1% required local advertising.
| Recurring obligation | Option 1: $25,000 initial fee | Option 2: $0 initial fee | Earnings interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 5% of Gross Revenues | 10% until $1 million in cumulative Gross Revenues; 5% thereafter | Option 2 costs 5% of Gross Revenues more during the initial tier. |
| National Advertising Fee | 1% of Gross Revenues | 1% of Gross Revenues | Required under either option. |
| Local Advertising | 1% of Gross Revenues | 1% of Gross Revenues | A required spend, not a payment that converts to owner income. |
| Technology Fee | Up to $250 per month | Up to $250 per month | Up to $3,000 annually. |
| Third-party software | Up to $1,000 per month | Up to $1,000 per month | Up to $12,000 annually when applicable. |
Source: 2026 Seva Senior Home Care Services FDD, Items 5-6, pp. 8-13.
What does the royalty choice mean at the base revenue anchor?
At $601,587 of annual Gross Revenues, the 5-point royalty difference is about $30,079 before considering the $25,000 upfront fee. The combined variable royalty and advertising burden is approximately $42,111 under Option 1 and $72,190 under Option 2 while the 10% tier applies. Adding the maximum disclosed technology and third-party software charges would raise those annual burdens to about $57,111 and $87,190, respectively.
This is a compatible FDD-derived comparison, not a second deduction from the primary earnings scenarios. Because the Census expense benchmark is used as a broad all-in proxy and does not disclose its franchise-fee mix, subtracting the same fees again would risk double counting.
Why is the evidence confidence limited?
The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of a franchised-outlet profit-and-loss statement. The FDD offers two same-brand revenue observations, but no franchisee cohort, no caregiver labor percentage, no bill-rate spread, no occupancy ratio, no manager payroll, and no operating-profit distribution. External industry data can frame a range; it cannot establish a Seva-specific margin.
- Gross Revenue
- Revenue from operating the business under the FDD definition. It is not salary, profit, owner draw, or cash available to the owner.
- Adjusted Gross Revenues
- The FDD's revenue figure after a 10% royalty and two 1% advertising items. It still is not operating profit.
- Manager-run owner earnings
- The scenario's residual after assumed normal operating expenses, before personal income taxes and financing principal payments.
- Owner-operator benefit
- Manager-run residual plus the estimated market value of management labor personally supplied by the owner.
- After-tax take-home pay
- Not estimated because taxes depend on entity structure, jurisdiction, deductions, and the owner's circumstances.
Which variables can move earnings outside the range?
Caregiver utilization and gross spread are likely to dominate the economics, followed by management payroll and the royalty option. The following items should be tested against the exact proposed territory rather than assumed from the two Illinois affiliates.
- Client hours and billing rates: verify recurring weekly hours, payer mix, cancellations, refunds, and bad debt.
- Caregiver economics: verify wage rates, payroll taxes, workers' compensation, overtime, recruiting expense, turnover, and unfilled shifts.
- Territory comparability: compare the proposed population and service radius with the affiliate areas of about 248,000-250,000 people.
- Administrative staffing: determine whether state rules require a nurse or administrator and whether the owner can legally and practically fill the General Manager role.
- Fee option: model both royalty structures over the time required to reach $1 million in cumulative Gross Revenues.
- Debt service: obtain actual lender terms; principal payments reduce owner cash but are not included in the operating-earnings range.
What should a buyer verify before relying on the range?
Ask for the Item 19 written substantiation and enough operating records to rebuild a full revenue-to-profit bridge. The Federal Trade Commission explains that Item 19 claims must have a reasonable basis and that prospective buyers may request written substantiation. Because Item 20 listed no operating franchisees at the end of 2025, traditional franchisee validation was not available for the disclosed period.
- Request monthly 2025 Gross Revenue, client hours, caregiver hours, payroll, administrative payroll, occupancy, insurance, software, marketing, refunds, and bad-debt records for each affiliate outlet.
- Reconcile Item 19's 10% royalty adjustment with the fee option being offered to you and obtain a written explanation of when the 5% tier begins.
- Ask whether any franchised outlets opened after December 31, 2025, and interview every current and former franchisee available under the current disclosure.
- Confirm that your proposed territory, state licensing structure, payer mix, and required staffing are comparable to the affiliate operations.
- Have an accountant classify owner salary, owner draw, distributions, retained earnings, depreciation, interest, and capital expenditure separately.
The strongest defensible annual manager-run owner-earnings range is approximately $18,000-$116,000 per territory, with a base scenario near $58,000. It is scenario-based, not an official Seva earnings disclosure. The most important driver is the combination of billable client volume and caregiver labor economics; owner participation can add labor value but does not create passive profit. The largest uncertainty is the missing franchised-outlet P&L. Before making a decision, verify Item 19 substantiation, the exact recurring-fee option, full operating costs, and any post-2025 franchisee results through records and franchisee interviews.