How Much Does a SEVA Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

How much does a SEVA franchise cost in 2026?

Seva Senior Home Care Services has two official initial-investment ranges for one U.S. territory. Under the April 22, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Option 1 requires an estimated $134,500 to $277,000, while Option 2 requires an estimated $114,500 to $267,000. The difference is not a separate unit format: it is a choice between paying a $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee and paying no Initial Franchise Fee in exchange for a higher Royalty Fee until the business reaches the disclosed cumulative Gross Revenues threshold.

$134,500–$277,000 Option 1: $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee

Option 2 is $114,500–$267,000. Both 2026 ranges cover a single Territory and include a 90-day working-capital allowance. They exclude Royalties, Advertising Fees, Technology Fees, interest expense, and taxes. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12–16.

Data basis: Seva Senior Home Care Franchising LLC, an Illinois limited liability company, is the legal franchisor. The FDD was issued April 22, 2026. This analysis uses Items 5, 6, and 7, with cost-relevant disclosures from Items 8, 10, 11, 12, and 17. The offer is for one Seva Senior Home Care Services Territory; the FDD allows a home-based or approved commercial location but does not publish separate Item 7 totals for those workplace paths. Information checked July 19, 2026.

The franchisor does not publish a matching 2026 FDD on its official website, so FDD references below are plain-text citations by Item and page. The FTC Franchise Rule explains the federal disclosure framework.

Capital snapshot

Option 1 total $134,500–$277,000

Single Territory; includes the $25,000 upfront payment.

Option 2 total $114,500–$267,000

Single Territory; includes no upfront fee and a disclosed broker range.

Initial franchise fee $25,000 or $0

The election changes the ongoing percentage schedule.

Additional funds $30,000–$60,000

Included in the official total for the first 90 days.

Royalty fee 5% or 10%→5%

Monthly percentage; the basis depends on the fee election.

SOURCE CONFLICT

The official Seva franchise page currently displays a blended $109,500–$277,000 range. That range does not match either 2026 option. The current FDD totals should control the cost analysis unless Seva Senior Home Care Franchising LLC provides a written amendment or correction.

SEVA'S TWO-PATH FEE CONTRACT

What changes between the $25,000 and $0 fee structures?

The choice changes when the franchisor is paid, not the operating model. Both options buy one Territory and use the same startup categories. Option 1 requires a nonrefundable $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee when the agreement is signed and then charges a 5% Royalty Fee. Option 2 removes that upfront fee but charges 10% of the defined revenue base until the business has generated its first $1 million under that definition, followed by 5% for the remainder of the term. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5–7, pp. 8–16.

Upfront payment versus elevated royalty period

Option 1

$25,000 upfront

Pay the upfront fee in one lump sum when signing. The ongoing rate is 5% of monthly receipts under the defined revenue basis after the contract becomes effective.

Option 2

$0 upfront

Pay no upfront fee. The rate is 10% of defined receipts until the first $1 million under that basis, then 5% for the rest of the term.

If a buyer selects Option 2 and used a Franchise Broker, the buyer must pay the broker's commission, normally $5,000 to $15,000, when entering the Franchise Agreement. The 2026 Option 2 table includes that range. Because the commission depends on broker use, a direct buyer should obtain a written reconciliation rather than subtracting the line item and treating the result as a new official total.

Gross Revenues
All revenues derived or received, directly or indirectly, from the Franchised Business, excluding only sales and use taxes and gratuities or tips paid to employees by customers.
Royalty timing
Due on the fifth day of the month for the prior month's receipts under the stated definition.
Refundability
The fee is fully earned and nonrefundable when the contract is signed and the franchisor receives the funds.
Veteran incentive
A qualified veteran receives a 10% discount on the upfront fee after providing acceptable honorable-discharge documentation. The reduction does not affect the other startup categories.
WHAT ITEM 7 INCLUDES

What is included in the SEVA initial investment?

The disclosure includes the franchise or broker payment, premises costs, technology, launch expenses, payroll, professional and regulatory costs, and a 90-day operating allowance. The two options share every listed category except the upfront franchisor payment and the conditional broker commission. The tables below preserve the official ranges rather than replacing them with a midpoint.

Agreement, training, and premises costs

2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12–15. Monetary columns show low–high estimates.

Cost category Option 1 Option 2 Payment timing or basis
Initial Franchise Fee $25,000 $0 At contract signing; paid to the franchisor.
Franchise Broker Commission Not listed $5,000–$15,000 At contract signing; applies if Option 2 involves a broker.
Travel and Living Expenses for Initial Training $2,500–$5,000 $2,500–$5,000 As incurred; paid to third parties.
Leasehold Improvements $5,000–$25,000 $5,000–$25,000 As incurred; varies with site condition, size, location, and local contract costs.
Rent and Security Deposit $6,000–$12,000 $6,000–$12,000 Includes three months of rent plus one month's security deposit for a typical 300–1,000 sq. ft. space.
Signage $3,000–$10,000 $3,000–$10,000 As incurred; exterior-sign cost depends on local ordinances and landlord requirements.
Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment $10,000–$20,000 $10,000–$20,000 As incurred for the premises buildout.
Computer Hardware and Software $8,000–$10,000 $8,000–$10,000 As incurred under franchisor hardware, software, CRM, and POS specifications.

Launch and first-90-day operating costs

2026 FDD, pp. 14–16. These categories are the same in both fee options.

Cost category Estimated amount Covered purpose When paid
Supplies/Inventory $5,000–$10,000 Supplies and inventory needed to begin operations. As incurred.
Grand Opening Advertising $1,000–$3,000 Required launch campaign under franchisor guidelines. Around opening.
Payroll $20,000–$50,000 First three months; low end assumes one full-time employee, high end two full-time employees including a nurse or administrator. Bi-weekly.
Insurance $3,000–$8,000 Required business insurance described in Item 8. As incurred.
Licenses, Permits, and Certifications $3,000–$10,000 State and local approvals needed for the Franchised Business. As incurred.
Professional Fees $12,000–$25,000 Legal, home-care consulting, accounting, entity setup, licensing, and related work. As incurred.
Utilities $1,000–$4,000 Utility costs that vary by market. As incurred.
Additional Funds — 90 days $30,000–$60,000 Miscellaneous expenses and sufficient Working Capital during the initial operating period. As incurred.
FDD CAVEAT

The $30,000–$60,000 90-day allowance is already included in both official totals. It covers miscellaneous expenses and Working Capital for 90 days, but the FDD does not state that it includes owner compensation. Do not add it to the official total a second time.

What the official total expressly excludes

  • Royalties after the contract becomes effective.
  • Advertising Fees, including the Marketing Fund and ongoing local advertising amount.
  • Technology Fees and ongoing third-party software charges.
  • Interest expense and taxes, plus state or local costs outside the disclosed assumptions.
PAYMENT TIMING

When is the startup money paid?

The startup capital is paid in stages, with the irreversible contract payment occurring first and most third-party costs following during the four-to-six-month opening period. The 2026 FDD states that the business must open no later than 180 days after both parties sign, unless more time is allowed.

Review the disclosure before paying or signing. The FDD cover requires delivery at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or payment to the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC consumer franchise guide explains the same federal waiting-period concept.
Pay the contract-stage amount. At signing, Option 1 requires the nonrefundable $25,000 upfront fee. Option 2 requires $0 to the franchisor, but a buyer who used a Franchise Broker pays the disclosed $5,000–$15,000 commission. The franchisee must also establish ACH authorization before opening for most fees owed to the franchisor.
Fund the site, licenses, systems, and training. During pre-opening, the franchisee pays third parties for lease and deposit, Leasehold Improvements, Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment, Signage, Computer Hardware and Software, Insurance, Licenses, Permits, Certifications, Professional Fees, and training travel. Initial Training must be completed before opening and no later than 60 days after signing.
Fund launch and the first 90 days. Supplies/Inventory, launch advertising, payroll, utilities, and the 90-day allowance are paid as incurred. Payroll is modeled bi-weekly for the first three months, while the operating allowance covers the same 90-day period.

Payment timing sources: 2026 FDD cover; Item 5, p. 8; Item 6, pp. 9–12; Item 7, pp. 12–16; and Item 11, pp. 21–27.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after a SEVA franchise opens?

The continuing cost contract centers on the monthly percentage charge, brand-fund contribution, local advertising amount, technology charge, and third-party software subscriptions. These obligations sit outside the startup total unless an initial payment is specifically included there. Percentage fees must be applied to the FDD's Gross Revenues definition, not to profit or owner income.

Continuing obligation Amount or basis Timing 2026 FDD reference
Royalty Fee — Option 1 5% of Gross Revenues Fifth day of each month for the prior month. Item 6, pp. 9–12.
Royalty Fee — Option 2 10% until first $1 million in Gross Revenues; 5% thereafter Fifth day of each month for the prior month. Items 5–7, pp. 8–16.
National Advertising / Marketing Fund 1% of Gross Revenues Monthly. Items 6 and 11, pp. 9–12 and 23–24.
Local Advertising 1% of Gross Revenues Monthly spend under franchisor guidelines. Items 6 and 11, pp. 9–12 and 23–24.
Technology Fee Up to $250 per month Monthly. Item 6, pp. 9–12.
Third-Party Software Fees Up to $1,000 per month Monthly when applicable. Items 6 and 11, pp. 9–12 and 24–26.

Item 11 also lists current examples of specified or recommended software: QuickBooks at approximately $35 per month, Practina at $150, Microsoft Office at $15, and CareSmartz360 at $550. These examples total $750 per month by derived arithmetic, but subscriptions can change and the separate Item 6 ceiling is up to $1,000 per month. Item 11 further estimates annual computer maintenance, updating, upgrading, or support contracts at $1,000 to $3,000, with no contractual cap on the frequency or cost of required hardware updates.

SOURCE CONFLICT

The fee table says the franchisee agrees to spend 1% of the defined revenue base on Local Advertising, while the advertising section calls 1% a recommended minimum. Because the 2026 FDD uses both mandatory and advisory language, a buyer should obtain written clarification on whether the 1% is a binding minimum and how compliance is documented.

CONDITIONAL COST TRIGGERS

Which fees arise only after a specific event?

Several Item 6 charges are not routine monthly costs but can become material after training, a transfer, renewal, payment default, audit, supplier request, territorial breach, or operational intervention. These charges should be separated from ordinary opening capital because the amount and timing depend on future events.

  • Update or Additional Training: $2,500 per attendee when training occurs, plus related travel and living expenses.
  • Alternative-supplier review: $100 per hour plus costs incurred when the franchisee asks the franchisor to test or inspect a proposed supplier.
  • Transfer: $5,000 for the franchise or a majority interest; $2,500 for a minority-interest transfer, due before the transfer.
  • Renewal: $2,500 when entering a new agreement after the original term; Item 17 states the original term is 10 years and renewal requires compliance and advance notice.
  • Audit and payment default: actual audit cost plus interest if underreporting or underpayment is 2% or more; $50 late fee 10 days after billing; 6% interest as invoiced; and $50 for an insufficient-funds transaction.
  • Payment method and reimbursements: actual credit-card processing charge, normally 3%; third-party charges incurred on the franchisee's behalf, normally $50–$1,000; applicable taxes; and insurance premiums or expenses paid by the franchisor after a coverage failure.
  • Temporary Management: the franchisor's actual expenses plus 10% of the defined revenue base for the period it operates or assists with the business after specified abandonment, closure-risk, service, death, or incapacity events.
  • Territory Violation: 50% of revenue collected from a client served in another franchisee's territory without permission; the FDD says 80% of that payment goes to the affected franchisee and 20% is retained by the franchisor.
  • Claims and losses: actual indemnified loss and actual attorney fees and costs when the contract's conditions are met.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 9–12, and Item 17, pp. 31–35.

CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS AND FINANCING

Does SEVA disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?

The 2026 FDD does not disclose a specific Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds minimum. The published startup range therefore is not a stated cash-on-hand qualification, and it is not the same measure as personal balance-sheet strength.

Official website qualification language

The official franchise FAQ describes financial stability and displays $110,000–$277,000 as Liquid Capital. The 2026 FDD does not state that requirement, and the website endpoints do not match either 2026 option exactly. A buyer should request the current written financial-standard definition, including whether borrowed funds count.

Financing disclosure

Item 10 states that Seva Senior Home Care Franchising LLC offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or obligation. The FAQ says third-party financing may be available on request but names no provider or terms. Approval is not guaranteed.

For outside funding research, the SBA 7(a) loan program lists permitted uses such as Working Capital, Equipment, Furniture, Fixtures, supplies, and certain real-estate costs. A prospective borrower still applies through a lender and must meet lender and SBA eligibility standards. The SBA Franchise Directory is a lender eligibility resource, not an endorsement and not proof of loan approval.

FORMAT AND LOCATION VARIABILITY

Which SEVA cost obligations vary by territory, workspace, or state?

The FDD offers one Territory model but permits either a home-based operation or an approved commercial location, without publishing separate ranges for those workspace choices. The disclosure nevertheless includes Leasehold Improvements, Rent and Security Deposit, Signage, Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment, and Utilities. The rent assumption uses a typical 300–1,000 square-foot space. A home-based buyer therefore needs a written explanation of which premises lines remain applicable.

Item 12 states that a Territory has a minimum population of approximately 50,000 and may be defined by ZIP codes or other boundaries. The official territory information identifies current geographic availability, but it does not replace the Territory description in the Franchise Agreement.

Cost variables unique to this home-care offer

State licensing and staffing

Licenses, Permits, and Certifications are estimated at $3,000–$10,000. Some states require a nurse or administrator, which affects the $20,000–$50,000 payroll range. The FDD also requires a local health-care attorney before signing to assess medical-license rules and any management agreement, contributing to the $12,000–$25,000 Professional Fees range.

Premises and supplier standards

Site condition, local construction prices, landlord terms, signage ordinances, approved-supplier specifications, insurance, and technology requirements can move the total within the range. Item 8 estimates that 60%–80% of establishment purchases and leases will follow franchisor, affiliate, approved-supplier, or system specifications.

A current franchisee may add territory for $10,000 for ZIP codes with a minimum population of 25,000. A Conversion Franchise may receive a discretionary upfront-fee discount after review of its client base, location, and experience, but the 2026 FDD does not publish a conversion total-investment range. These amounts should not be blended into the single-Territory Item 7 totals.

BUYER VERIFICATION

What should be confirmed before relying on the disclosed range?

The core FDD figures are clear, but several buyer-specific obligations require written confirmation before signing. The most important checks concern the fee-option election, broker use, workspace path, local advertising language, financial qualifications, and state licensing assumptions.

Confirm the selected fee option in the contract and verify the exact monthly percentage schedule that follows from that election.
Reconcile Option 2 in writing if no Franchise Broker is involved, because the published Option 2 total includes the $5,000–$15,000 broker range.
Identify the workplace path and ask which Leasehold Improvements, Rent and Security Deposit, Signage, Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment, and Utilities amounts apply to a home-based operation.
Resolve the local-advertising wording by confirming whether the 1% amount is mandatory or recommended and what proof of spending is required.
Request the current financial qualification standard because the official FAQ's cash requirement is not contained in the 2026 FDD.
Price the state-specific legal and licensing work within the official ranges, including any nurse, administrator, licensed-professional, or health-care management agreement requirement.
Obtain current software and insurance specifications because Item 11 permits required systems, subscriptions, updates, and coverage standards to change.
Ask for any amendment or quarterly update issued after April 22, 2026. The official franchise office contact page identifies the franchising office; the written FDD and agreements remain the controlling documents.
CAPITAL DECISION

What is the practical bottom line on SEVA franchise costs?

The verified 2026 starting point is $134,500–$277,000 under Option 1 or $114,500–$267,000 under Option 2. The largest disclosed high-end demands are the 90-day operating allowance, payroll, premises work, professional services, and office equipment. Option 2 reduces the initial range but substitutes a 10% Royalty Fee until the first $1 million in Gross Revenues; it is not simply a $25,000 discount.

The range does not resolve every buyer's cash requirement. It does not establish a stated liquidity or personal-net-worth minimum, does not separate home-based and commercial-location totals, and excludes continuing Royalties, Advertising Fees, Technology Fees, interest, and taxes. The decisive unresolved questions are the applicable premises costs, the Option 2 broker assumption, the Local Advertising obligation, and the franchisor's current written financial qualifications.