How Much Does a Pro Image Sports Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Annual owner-earnings estimate

About $41,000–$106,000

A full-year, traditional Pro Image Sports store may produce roughly $41,000 to $106,000 in estimated manager-run pre-tax owner earnings per year, with a base scenario of about $69,600. This is an independent scenario range, not an earnings figure reported by Pro Image Franchise, L.C. A full-time owner who replaces a paid retail supervisor may instead realize about $87,000 to $153,000 in estimated owner-operator benefit, but $46,680 of each owner-operated figure represents labor value rather than passive business profit.

Evidence mode: Mode C Confidence: Limited Sales period: 2025 Format: Traditional mall/urban retail
Independent estimate—not an Item 19 financial performance representation. The range combines identified facts from the 2026 Pro Image Franchise, L.C. FDD with separately identified U.S. Census Bureau and Bureau of Labor Statistics benchmarks plus explicit scenario assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of location, store format, merchandise mix, sales, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, inventory control and execution.
FDD-anchored scenario estimate Limited evidence confidence

Why confidence is limited: the current FDD discloses Gross Sales for a broad same-brand outlet cohort, but it does not disclose cost of goods sold, payroll, occupancy, operating profit, EBITDA, Net Income, owner compensation or cash flow. The owner-earnings estimate therefore depends materially on a broad government retail benchmark and analytical sensitivity bands.

Data basis

Legal franchisor
Pro Image Franchise, L.C., a Utah limited liability company.
Current disclosure
2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 2, 2026.
Item 19 status
Official 2025 Gross Sales disclosure; no official profit or owner-compensation measure.
Applicable cohort
138 franchised stores open, operating and reporting for the full 2025 calendar year in traditional enclosed malls or urban shopping centers.
External benchmarks
2022 U.S. Census Bureau Annual Retail Trade Survey for NAICS 4511 and May 2023 BLS wage data for retail-sales supervisors in clothing and clothing-accessories retail.
Date checked
July 19, 2026.
Scenario
$69,600

Base manager-run earnings

Estimated pre-tax operating residual before interest, debt principal and personal income tax.

Official FDD
$628,010

Median 2025 Gross Sales

Central revenue anchor for the full-year traditional-store cohort.

Official FDD
$732,925

Average 2025 Gross Sales

Higher than the median, indicating that larger stores lift the arithmetic average.

Official FDD
138

Full-year reporting stores

The disclosed cohort includes 18 franchised units partially owned by a company principal.

Official FDD
5%

Royalty on Gross Sales

Paid monthly; it applies even when unit-level operating results are weak.

BLS benchmark
$46,680

Owner labor-value assumption

May 2023 annual mean wage for a retail-sales supervisor in clothing retail; benefits are not added.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 FDD actually disclose?

Officially, Item 19 discloses 2025 Gross Sales—not owner earnings—for 138 full-year franchised stores in traditional enclosed malls and urban shopping centers. The median was $628,010, the average was $732,925, and the reported range was $103,564 to $2,337,857. Those figures cover revenue before merchandise cost, payroll, rent, royalty, other operating expenses, debt and taxes.

Item 19 measure Official value What it means for an earnings decision
Median Annual Gross Sales $628,010 Best disclosed central revenue anchor because half the observations are above and half below.
Average Annual Gross Sales $732,925 About 16.7% above the median, so it should not be treated as the typical owner’s earnings base.
High / low Annual Gross Sales $2,337,857 / $103,564 Shows substantial store-level dispersion, but the extremes are not probabilities or expected outcomes.
Full-year reporting population 138 stores Excludes nine stores that closed during 2025, 16 that opened after January 1 and one small-town concept.
At or above “stated result” 51 stores / 37% The table shows both average and median; written substantiation should clarify which stated result this percentage references.

Revenue is not earnings

The FDD explicitly says its Gross Sales figures do not reflect the costs and expenses necessary to calculate Net Income or profit. A store can report strong sales and still leave little owner cash after licensed merchandise, staffing, mall occupancy and the 5% royalty.

Item 20 reports 154 franchised outlets at December 31, 2025, up from 149 at the start of the year after 14 openings and nine outlets that ceased operations. It reports no company-owned outlets. The 18 principal-partially-owned stores in Item 19 are therefore franchised units, not a company-operated comparison group. See the brand’s official U.S. franchise overview for the operating concept, but use the current FDD—not marketing copy—for financial definitions and cohort boundaries.

FDD source: 2026 Pro Image Franchise, L.C. Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 35–37; Item 20, pp. 38–43.

Scenario model

How was the annual owner-earnings range estimated?

The $41,000–$106,000 manager-run range is an independent estimate for one full-year traditional store, calculated by applying transparent operating-margin sensitivities to revenue anchors centered on the FDD median. It is not the franchisor’s forecast and the three cases are analytical scenarios, not probabilities.

Estimated manager-run pre-tax owner earnings = scenario revenue × all-in operating residual margin

Revenue: 80%, 100% and 120% of the $628,010 FDD median. Margin: 8.1%, 11.1% and 14.1%, centered on a derived 2022 Census operating residual and varied by three percentage points in each direction.

Scenario Revenue anchor All-in margin Estimated manager-run earnings
Conservative $502,408 8.1% $40,600
Base $628,010 11.1% $69,600
Upside $753,612 14.1% $106,100

How wide is the manager-run earnings range?

Estimated annual pre-tax operating earnings per store, before interest, financing principal and personal income tax.

Conservative, base and upside manager-run earnings scenarios Three columns show estimated annual manager-run owner earnings of 40,600 dollars, 69,600 dollars and 106,100 dollars. $0 $30k $60k $90k $120k $40,600 $69,600 $106,100 Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: sales and margin compound each other. A $125,602 movement between the conservative and base revenue anchors matters, but merchandise margin, labor and occupancy can move the earnings result just as sharply.

Sources and method: 2026 Pro Image Franchise, L.C. FDD, Item 19, pp. 35–37; U.S. Census Bureau 2022 Annual Retail Trade Survey tables. Calculations use full precision and display rounded results.

What does the government margin proxy measure?

The 11.1% base margin is a derived industry operating residual, not a Pro Image Sports margin. For 2022 NAICS 4511, Sporting Goods, Hobby, and Musical Instrument Stores, Census reported $94.022 billion of sales, $42.319 billion of gross margin and $31.900 billion of total operating expenses. The calculation is ($42.319 billion − $31.900 billion) ÷ $94.022 billion = 11.1%.

The Census ARTS definitions specify that gross margin is sales minus cost of goods sold. Total operating expenses include payroll, fringe benefits, rent, advertising, depreciation and many other operating costs; they exclude cost of goods sold, interest, capital expenditures and income, sales and excise taxes. The ARTS methodology covers U.S. employer retail firms and is much broader than this franchise system.

Royalty treatment

The scenario margins are defined as all-in, post-royalty operating margins. The 5% FDD royalty equals about $25,120, $31,401 and $37,681 at the three revenue anchors. It is shown as a required burden but is not subtracted a second time because the aggregate Census expense structure does not isolate franchise royalties. Assuming that the scenario margin remains achievable after the Pro Image royalty is an explicit modeling assumption and a major reason for the Limited confidence rating.

Owner role

How does owner involvement change the result?

An owner who works as the full-time store manager may create estimated owner-operator benefit of roughly $87,000 to $153,000, compared with $41,000 to $106,000 of manager-run residual earnings. This is an estimated 2025-format scenario for one traditional store; the difference is the $46,680 market value assigned to labor the owner performs, not additional passive profit.

Manager-run earnings versus owner-operator benefit

Annual amount per store; owner-operated figures add one retail-supervisor wage benchmark.

Owner role comparison across three scenarios Dumbbell chart compares manager-run earnings with owner-operator benefit. Conservative rises from 40,600 dollars to 87,300 dollars, base from 69,600 dollars to 116,300 dollars, and upside from 106,100 dollars to 152,800 dollars. $0 $40k $80k $120k $160k Conservative Base Upside $40.6k $87.3k $69.6k $116.3k $106.1k $152.8k
Manager-run residual earnings Owner-operator benefit

Interpretation: the owner-operated uplift is compensation for replacing one paid supervisor. It should not be described as passive income, and it disappears if the business still needs a full-time manager.

Source and assumption: BLS May 2023 Clothing and Clothing Accessories Retailers wage estimates, occupation 41-1011. The $46,680 mean annual wage excludes self-employed workers and does not include employer payroll taxes or benefits.

The FDD permits either structure. Item 15 highly recommends—but does not require—the operating principal to supervise on premises. A trained designated manager must supervise the store unless the operating principal serves as full-time manager. Even in a manager-run structure, the operating principal remains responsible for financial oversight, training, personnel decisions, site and remodel involvement, and frequent inspections. The franchise therefore should not be modeled as fully passive.

FDD source: 2026 Pro Image Franchise, L.C. Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 15, pp. 31–32.

Cost pressure

Which operating obligations can move earnings most?

Merchandise margin, occupancy and staffing are likely to move annual owner earnings more than any single disclosed fixed fee, while the 5% royalty creates a direct variable claim on every sales dollar. This is an estimated interpretation for the traditional retail cohort; the FDD does not publish a unit-level expense statement that ranks these costs.

  • Licensed merchandise and inventory: almost all inventory must be sports-related licensed products bought from authorized licensees. The FDD requires at least $60,000 of minimum inventory and highlights at least $60,000 of annual inventory and supply purchases. Purchases are not automatically a same-year expense; earnings depend on sell-through, markdowns, shrink and ending inventory.
  • Occupancy: the Item 19 cohort is concentrated in traditional malls and urban shopping centers, and the FDD describes high occupancy rates for traditional enclosed-mall leases. Item 7 shows one month of base rent can range from $1,000 to $40,000, so location economics can overwhelm the central scenario.
  • Royalty: 5% of Gross Sales is due monthly. The dollar burden scales from about $25,120 in the conservative scenario to $37,681 in the upside scenario before considering any other sales-linked cost.
  • Online orders: the FDD states a 10% order-management fee on online sales processed through the franchisor’s e-commerce site, and royalties also apply. The scenario does not separately model this fee because the online-sales mix is undisclosed.
  • Technology and events: the technology fee is currently $0 but may change under the Item 6 limits. A convention or seminar fee is currently $2,500 per franchisee when charged, plus travel and lodging. Neither is treated as a universal annual amount in the scenarios.
  • Advertising: the FDD does not state a mandatory ongoing advertising-fund percentage. Ordinary local promotion is assumed to sit within the broad Census operating-expense proxy, but actual spending may be higher or lower.

Debt-service effect

The scenario is before interest and financing principal. Item 7 lists a $153,800 to $620,500 initial investment, but that amount is not an annual operating expense and is not subtracted from one year of sales. A financed owner must separately model interest and principal using the actual loan amount, rate, term and collateral structure; those payments can materially reduce distributable cash even when operating earnings are positive.

FDD sources: 2026 Pro Image Franchise, L.C. Franchise Disclosure Document, Items 6–8, pp. 10–18.

Uncertainty

What could make the reasonable range wrong?

The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand store-level expenses matched to Item 19 Gross Sales. The scenario is Limited-confidence because a national 2022 employer-retail benchmark cannot establish Pro Image merchandise margins, mall rent, staffing or royalty-adjusted profitability for a specific 2025 store.

Format mismatch
Item 19 excludes the small-town concept. The estimate should not be applied to the brand’s officially described small-town format without separate operating evidence.
Cohort selection
Stores that opened after January 1, 2025, nine stores that closed during 2025 and one nontraditional small-town store are excluded. The disclosure therefore does not measure a new-store ramp or closure-year economics.
Affiliate participation
Eighteen of the 138 stores were partially owned by a company principal. Item 19 says there were no material operating differences, but buyers should review substantiation for any purchasing, staffing or overhead differences.
Broad NAICS proxy
NAICS 4511 includes sporting-goods, hobby and musical-instrument retailers, not only licensed sports-apparel stores. National employer-firm economics may not resemble an individual mall franchise.
Owner compensation
Census payroll includes salaries of corporate officers but excludes payments to proprietors and partners of unincorporated firms. The aggregate residual therefore does not cleanly separate owner labor from business profit.
Accounting versus cash
Census operating expenses include depreciation and amortization but exclude capital expenditures and interest. The modeled result is an operating-earnings proxy, not EBITDA, free cash flow or guaranteed owner distributions.
Taxes
No after-tax estimate is presented. Entity structure, state and local rules, deductions and personal circumstances determine tax outcomes.

Buyer verification

The FTC cautions that Gross Sales do not reveal actual costs or profit and recommends testing Item 19 claims against written substantiation and franchisee experience. Review the FTC consumer guide to evaluating franchise earnings before treating any scenario as a budget.

  • Request Item 19 written substantiation and confirm why 51 stores, or 37%, are shown as attaining or surpassing the “stated result” when the table includes both an average and a median.
  • Ask for anonymized profit-and-loss statements for stores near the $628,010 median, separated by mall versus urban shopping-center format and by store age.
  • Verify gross merchandise margin, markdowns, shrink, freight, inventory turns and required annual purchases for the exact licensed-product mix.
  • Obtain the full lease economics: base rent, percentage rent, common-area maintenance, taxes, utilities, marketing assessments and renewal escalators.
  • Compare payroll for manager-run and owner-operated stores, including manager salary, payroll tax, benefits, overtime and minimum staffing by trading hours.
  • Confirm the percentage of sales processed through the franchisor’s e-commerce channel and the interaction between the 10% order-management fee and the 5% royalty.
  • Interview current and former franchisees listed in Item 20 about normalized owner compensation, distributions, retained cash, capital spending and debt service—not only sales.

Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible earnings takeaway?

The strongest defensible planning range is approximately $41,000 to $106,000 of estimated annual manager-run pre-tax owner earnings per full-year traditional store, with a $69,600 base scenario. It is scenario-based, not official. An active owner who fully replaces a paid retail supervisor may realize approximately $87,000 to $153,000 of estimated owner-operator benefit, but the added $46,680 is compensation for work performed.

The most important earnings driver is the combined effect of Gross Sales and store-level margin—especially merchandise cost, mall occupancy and labor. The largest unresolved uncertainty is that Item 19 provides no same-brand expense or profit data. Before relying on the range, a buyer should reconcile the Item 19 substantiation to actual P&Ls, verify fee and lease treatment, and test the assumptions through structured interviews with current and former franchisees.