How Much Does an EXiT Realty Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Estimated annual owner earnings

About $14,000–$39,000

An actively operated EXIT Realty office may produce an estimated pre-tax owner-operator benefit of roughly $14,000 to $39,000 a year, with a base scenario near $19,000. This is not reported EXIT Realty profit. It is a limited-confidence proxy built because the 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document provides no sales, profit, cash-flow, or owner-compensation figures in Item 19.

Evidence mode: Structural FDD-anchored estimate Confidence: Limited Format: U.S. real estate sales office FDD: 2025 issuance
Independent estimate

The $14,000–$39,000 range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by EXIT Realty Corp. International or EXIT Realty Upper Midwest. It combines identified 2025 FDD facts with a separately identified 2023 IRS sole-proprietor benchmark and explicit scenario assumptions. Actual results can differ materially by territory, office size, commission production, agent count, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and execution. A loss is possible.

Data basis

Legal entities: EXIT Realty Corp. International is the franchisor; Upper Midwest Realty, Inc., doing business as EXIT Realty Upper Midwest, is the subfranchisor for the offer reviewed. Document: Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 30, 2025; Item 19, pages 26–27; Item 20 begins on page 27. Offer: a protected-territory real estate sales office in the Upper Midwest region. Benchmark: 2023 IRS Statistics of Income for nonfarm sole proprietorships in the combined category “offices of real estate agents, brokers, property managers, and appraisers.” Checked: July 15, 2026. No matching franchisor-hosted public copy of this FDD was verified, so FDD references are presented by year, Item, and page rather than as a clickable document.

Scenario $14k–$39k Owner-operator benefit proxy

Pre-tax, before financing principal; includes the economic value of the owner’s work.

Scenario $19k Base analytical case

Broad IRS average net income less the modeled $3,425 fixed annual EXIT fee floor.

Official FDD 0 Item 19 earnings figures

The 2025 FDD makes no financial performance representation.

Derived $3,425 Modeled fixed fee floor

$3,000 annual MEMO software fee plus one $425 annual membership.

Official FDD 83 Regional outlets at 2024 year-end

Upper Midwest franchised offices; outlet count is not an earnings sample.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2025 FDD actually disclose about earnings?

Official answer: it discloses no outlet revenue or owner-earnings result. Item 19 states that the subfranchisor does not make representations about future franchisee performance or the past performance of franchised or company-owned outlets. Therefore, no official average sales, median sales, operating profit, EBITDA, net income, cash flow, owner salary, or owner distribution can anchor a normal earnings calculation.

The FDD does provide a usable structural picture. Item 1 defines the business as a real estate sales office operating within a protected territory. Item 15 requires the franchisee—or a qualifying broker of record—to devote full time and best efforts, and it requires on-premises supervision by a trained manager. Item 6 discloses software, membership, transaction, regional-development, and company-development fees. These facts support an operating model, but they do not reveal the office’s commission revenue, agent splits, payroll, rent, advertising, or resulting profit.

Revenue is not earnings

Even the external benchmark’s average business receipts are not owner income. The modeled range starts from IRS net income less deficit, not receipts, and then makes a limited adjustment for identifiable EXIT-specific fixed fees. It should not be read as an EXIT office’s average revenue or profit margin.

Evidence Classification Period and population What it can support
Item 19: no financial performance representation OFFICIAL FDD FACT 2025 FDD; offered real estate-office franchise No official sales or earnings estimate
Item 6 recurring fee schedule OFFICIAL FDD FACT 2025 terms; office and per-representative charges Known fee inputs and caps
IRS sole-proprietor net income EXTERNAL BENCHMARK 2023; broad combined real-estate-services category Directional owner-operator proxy only
$14,000, $19,000, and $39,000 scenarios EDITORIAL SCENARIO / DERIVED Annual, pre-tax owner-operator benefit Decision range, not franchisor-reported performance

Scenario model

How was the owner-operator range constructed?

Estimated answer: the range applies a conservative spread to a broad IRS owner-operated-business benchmark, then subtracts a modeled $3,425 fixed EXIT fee floor. It covers one year and one actively operated office. It is not a per-territory FDD result, and it does not establish what a manager-run office will earn.

What does the government benchmark measure?

Benchmark answer: the 2023 IRS Table 1 workbook reports tax-return results for sole proprietorships, not franchised brokerage offices. The combined category contains 1,046,471 returns, $66.261 billion of business receipts, and $23.168 billion of net income less deficit. Dividing net income less deficit by all returns produces about $22,139 per return. Among 658,747 returns with net income, average net income is about $42,483.

This is materially broader than EXIT Realty. It combines real estate agents, brokers, property managers, and appraisers; it includes different geographies, business sizes, operating structures, and levels of owner labor. Because a sole proprietor generally does not deduct a salary paid to the owner, net income can represent both return on the business and compensation for the owner’s work. That is why the output is labeled owner-operator benefit, not passive business profit.

Scenario Reproducible formula Calculated result Published result
Conservative (80% × $22,138.69 IRS all-return average) − $3,425 $14,286 $14,000
Base $22,138.69 IRS all-return average − $3,425 $18,714 $19,000
Upside $42,483.38 IRS profitable-return average − $3,425 $39,058 $39,000

How do the three owner-operator scenarios compare?

Annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit proxy; rounded to the nearest $1,000.

Conservative, base, and upside EXIT Realty owner-operator benefit scenarios Three columns show fourteen thousand dollars for the conservative scenario, nineteen thousand dollars for the base scenario, and thirty-nine thousand dollars for the upside scenario. $0 $10k $20k $30k $40k $14,000 $19,000 $39,000 Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: the spread is driven primarily by the benchmark cohort, not by evidence of EXIT office performance. The upside uses only profitable IRS returns; it is not a probability statement or a franchisor-reported top quartile.

Sources and formula: 2023 IRS nonfarm sole-proprietorship statistics; 2025 FDD Item 6, pages 8–10. Fixed fee floor = $250 monthly MEMO fee × 12 + one $425 annual membership. Variable per-agent and per-transaction fees are not quantified in the scenario because the FDD provides no compatible sales-representative or transaction volume.

What is included and excluded?

Estimated treatment: the scenarios are pre-tax and before financing principal, with important accounting uncertainty. The IRS net-income benchmark is after reported deductible business expenses, but the published category does not isolate commission splits, office payroll, occupancy, advertising, or EXIT-specific charges. The model subtracts only the known fixed annual fee floor and does not silently invent revenue, staffing, or transaction volume.

  • Included: broad operating expenses already reflected in the IRS net-income statistic, plus an incremental $3,000 MEMO fee and one $425 membership.
  • Owner labor: included in the economic benefit because sole-proprietor net income generally compensates both capital and the owner’s work.
  • Interest and depreciation: may be embedded in the IRS statistic when claimed by filers; no add-back is made.
  • Excluded: financing principal, personal income taxes, owner-specific tax elections, and unreported capital expenditures.
  • Not modeled: transaction fees, Regional Development Fees, Company Development Fees, additional memberships, local advertising, office rent, staff, agent splits, and payroll burden because required volume inputs are unavailable.
  • Potential overlap: some benchmark businesses may already incur analogous software or professional-membership costs, so subtracting EXIT-specific fixed fees may overstate the incremental deduction.

Recurring obligations

Which EXIT fees can move annual owner earnings?

Official answer: the fixed modeled floor is $3,425 a year, but per-agent and per-transaction charges can be much larger. Item 6 does not disclose a conventional percentage royalty. Instead, it lists a $250 monthly software charge, annual memberships, tiered transaction fees, a Regional Development Fee, and a Company Development Fee tied to each Sales Representative’s gross commissions.

How large are the disclosed annual fixed amounts and caps?

Amounts are not directly additive: some apply per office, some per person, and some per Sales Representative.

EXIT Realty disclosed annual fixed charges and per-sales-representative fee caps Horizontal bars compare a three-thousand-dollar annual software fee, a four-hundred-twenty-five-dollar annual membership, a two-thousand-seven-hundred-dollar transaction fee cap per sales representative, a five-hundred-dollar regional development fee cap per sales representative, and a ten-thousand-dollar company development fee cap per sales representative. $0 $5,000 $10,000 MEMO software — per franchise $3,000 Annual membership — per person $425 Transaction Fee — per representative cap $2,700 Regional Development — per representative cap $500 Company Development — per representative cap $10,000
Fixed disclosed amount Maximum or cap; actual charge depends on activity

Interpretation: agent count and commission production can matter more than the $3,425 fixed fee floor. The $10,000 Company Development amount is a cap on a charge equal to 10% of each Sales Representative’s annual gross commissions; it is not a flat fee and should not be multiplied without representative-level data.

Source: 2025 FDD Item 6, pages 8–10. Transaction Fee: $50–$400 per transaction side, capped at $2,700 per year per Sales Representative. Regional Development Fee: $35 per side, capped at $500 per year per Sales Representative. Fees and memberships may increase by up to 7% annually under the disclosed terms.

Fee-model limitation

A growing office can generate more gross commission while also adding per-representative fees, memberships, support costs, office space, and management needs. Without gross commission, transaction-side, agent-count, and commission-split data, subtracting the maximum fee caps would create a false estimate rather than a conservative one.

Owner role

How does owner involvement change the result?

Official structural answer: active owner involvement is central to the reviewed offer, and the published range should not be treated as passive profit. Item 15 requires the franchisee, or a named broker of record for an entity, to devote full time and best efforts. It also requires direct on-premises supervision by a trained manager. Item 16 requires the owner or approved designee to hold the applicable real estate broker license.

Owner-operator benefit

The modeled $14,000–$39,000 combines residual business economics with compensation for the owner’s brokerage, recruiting, supervision, production, and management labor. It is not pure return on invested capital.

Manager-run residual profit

A manager-run model must deduct a locally competitive broker-manager wage, payroll burden, and any additional owner oversight costs. Because the FDD discloses no compatible office revenue or payroll data, a positive manager-run earnings range cannot be responsibly calculated.

Personal take-home pay

Not calculated. Personal income tax, self-employment tax, entity choice, owner draws, distributions, retained earnings, and financing principal depend on the buyer’s circumstances.

Owner-operator effect

The base proxy is only about $19,000 before personal taxes and financing principal. Replacing the owner’s labor with a paid broker-manager could consume that amount and more. Buyers should use current local wage evidence—such as the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics tables—but only after defining the manager’s licensed duties, geography, hours, and payroll burden.

Uncertainty

How much confidence should a buyer place in the range?

Uncertain answer: confidence is LIMITED because the model relies materially on a broad external benchmark rather than same-brand uniteconomics. The FDD’s strongest official evidence is structural—fees, operating obligations, territory format, and outlet counts—not income performance.

Item 20 reports 83 Upper Midwest franchised outlets at the end of 2024, down from 88 at the start of that year. It reports one regional opening, three nonrenewals, two reacquisitions, and one outlet that ceased operations for another reason during 2024. Systemwide franchised outlets declined from 568 to 518 during 2024. These figures do not prove profit or loss, but they show why a buyer should not treat a broad industry average as a stable same-brand outcome.

What could push actual owner earnings below or above the range?

Estimated answer: commission economics and labor structure are the dominant unknowns. The following variables are not disclosed in Item 19 for a comparable reporting cohort and can materially change annual results.

  • Office gross commission income: transaction count, average commission per side, referral activity, and local home-price conditions.
  • Agent economics: number of Sales Representatives, commission splits, recruiting pace, retention, and production concentration.
  • Occupancy: Item 7 describes minimum office sizes by territory density and notes that annual rent can rise as the office expands; startup estimates are not annual earnings data.
  • Payroll and supervision: broker-manager compensation, administrative staff, payroll taxes, benefits, and owner replacement cost.
  • Variable EXIT charges: transaction, Regional Development, Company Development, and additional membership fees.
  • Capital and financing: debt interest may affect business income; principal payments reduce owner cash but are not an operating expense; personal taxes are separate.

Buyer verification

What should a prospective owner verify before using this estimate?

Decision answer: replace every broad assumption with office-level records and comparable franchisee evidence. The FDD permits actual records for an existing outlet under specified circumstances, and the FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide explains the framework for financial performance representations. A buyer should obtain written substantiation rather than relying on oral earnings claims.

  • Ask whether a newer Item 19 or amendment contains sales, gross commission income, office expense, or owner-compensation data.
  • Request the exact definition and source records for any earnings statement: office revenue, company dollar, net income, EBITDA, owner draw, or another measure.
  • Interview current and former franchisees from comparable territory-density tiers about 2024 and 2025 gross commission income, agent count, commission splits, payroll, rent, advertising, software, and all EXIT fees.
  • Separate owner production commissions and salary-equivalent labor from residual office profit and distributions.
  • For an existing office, review at least three years of tax returns, general ledgers, bank statements, agent rosters, transaction-side reports, leases, payroll records, and fee statements.
  • Model debt service outside operating earnings and test whether cash remains after principal payments, owner draws, taxes, and necessary reinvestment.

Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible annual earnings view?

Estimated answer: the strongest defensible range is approximately $14,000 to $39,000 in annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit, with a base analytical case near $19,000. It is scenario-based, not official EXIT Realty performance. The most important earnings driver is the office’s commission production and agent economics relative to owner and manager labor. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand sales and expense data in Item 19. Before making a decision, a buyer should verify any updated Item 19, obtain written substantiation for every earnings claim, and test the model against comparable franchisee interviews and office-level financial records.