This is an estimated residual pre-tax owner-earnings range, not an official Duck Donuts profit disclosure. The base scenario is about $27,000 per outlet. It applies the official Item 19 Gross Sales band averages to a broad U.S. food-service corporate net-income benchmark. A separate, lower-confidence owner-labor sensitivity reaches about $71,000–$132,000, but only if Duck Donuts confirms that the owner may fill the required certified-manager role; that higher figure includes the market value of the owner's work rather than passive business profit.
This estimate is an independent analytical scenario. It is not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Duck Donuts Holdings, LLC. It combines identified facts from the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document with separately identified Internal Revenue Service and Bureau of Labor Statistics benchmarks and explicit margin assumptions. Actual results can differ materially by location, format, sales, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
Legal franchisor: Duck Donuts Holdings, LLC. FDD issuance date: April 8, 2026. Item 19 status: official Gross Sales only; no franchised-outlet profit, EBITDA, cash flow, owner compensation, or net-income disclosure. Applicable population: traditional franchised outlets open for the full stated calendar year; food trucks, an arena outlet, international outlets, and outlets not open for the full year were excluded. External benchmark: 2022 IRS “Food services and drinking places” corporate returns. Owner-labor benchmark: May 2024 BLS food-service-manager wages. Date checked: July 21, 2026.
Middle 50% average Gross Sales
Item 19 average for 49 outlets; revenue, not owner earnings.
Published performance-band averages
Bottom-25% to top-25% average Gross Sales, not a guaranteed range.
Current sales-based fee burden
6% royalty, 2% Brand Fund, and 1% required local advertising; Brand Fund may rise by one point.
IRS broad net-income margin
Derived from 2022 total receipts and net income less deficit for food services and drinking places.
Base residual owner earnings
Middle-band Gross Sales multiplied by the unadjusted 5.7% IRS margin.
Conditional manager-labor value
BLS May 2024 median wage in food services and drinking places; not passive profit.
What does the 2026 Duck Donuts FDD actually disclose?
Item 19 officially discloses Gross Sales, not owner earnings. The relevant disclosure is for full-year traditional franchised outlets that were open at the start of the stated year and operated continuously through year-end. It excludes newly opened or otherwise partial-year outlets, six nontraditional food trucks, one nontraditional arena outlet, and 16 international outlets. The official figures therefore should not be applied to a new shop's ramp-up year or to a mobile or arena format.
The three franchised-outlet bands are averages: $306,498 for 25 bottom-quartile outlets, $466,950.37 for 49 middle-band outlets, and $792,989.45 for 25 top-quartile outlets. Those groups total 99 outlets. The Item 19 narrative, however, says the data represent 105 franchised outlets plus one affiliate-owned outlet. The six-outlet difference is not explained in the table. See 2026 Duck Donuts FDD, Item 19, pp. 39–40.
The Item 19 narrative describes outlets operating throughout calendar year 2025, while both Gross Sales table headings state January 1 through December 31, 2024. That period conflict, together with the 105-versus-99 franchised-outlet count, is the largest same-brand evidence uncertainty and should be resolved through written substantiation before relying on the bands.
Why the affiliate outlet does not solve the profit question
The FDD separately reports one affiliate-owned outlet with Gross Sales of $798,793.35 and food cost equal to 20.2% of Gross Sales. That food-cost percentage is a same-brand operating signal, but it is not a franchised-outlet profit margin. Item 19 states that the affiliate outlet is not subject to the same fees as a franchisee. It also omits labor, occupancy, royalty, advertising, technology, utilities, insurance, repairs, depreciation, interest, and other operating costs. The 20.2% figure therefore is not used as an owner-earnings margin.
The Federal Trade Commission cautions that Gross Sales do not show an outlet's actual costs or profit. A high-sales shop can still produce low or negative owner earnings when labor, rent, franchise fees, delivery charges, or other overhead are high. Item 19's averages answer a revenue question only.
How is the $8,000–$69,000 owner-earnings range calculated?
The range is estimated by applying three transparent net-income margins to the three official Gross Sales band averages. The central margin is the 2022 IRS ratio of net income less deficit to total receipts for active corporations classified in “Food services and drinking places”: $35.281 billion divided by $617.565 billion, or 5.7129%. Because the IRS dataset is broad and supplies no Duck Donuts-specific variation, the conservative and upside margins are explicit editorial sensitivities of three percentage points below and above that benchmark.
Conservative: 2.7129% Base: 5.7129% Upside: 8.7129%. Figures are calculated at full precision and rounded only for presentation.
| Scenario | FDD Gross Sales anchor | Applied margin | Estimated residual owner earnings |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Conservative Bottom-25% average |
$306,498 | 2.7129% | $8,315 |
|
Base Middle-50% average |
$466,950.37 | 5.7129% | $26,676 |
|
Upside Top-25% average |
$792,989.45 | 8.7129% | $69,092 |
Estimated residual owner earnings by scenario
Per full-year traditional outlet, before personal income taxes and financing principal.
Interpretation: sales position and operating margin compound each other. The difference between the conservative and upside figures is therefore not a prediction interval; it is a structured sensitivity using three disclosed revenue bands and three modeled margins.
Sources: 2026 Duck Donuts FDD, Item 19, p. 40; IRS 2022 Corporation Income Tax Returns, Publication 16, Table 5.1. The detailed IRS Table 5.1 workbook reports the receipts and net-income inputs.
What is included—and excluded—in “residual owner earnings”?
The IRS benchmark is tax-return net income less deficit, not EBITDA, free cash flow, or owner distributions. It is used here as a residual business-profit proxy because the same-brand FDD does not disclose a franchised-unit income statement. The benchmark includes deductions reported across the broad industry, including wages, rent, interest, depreciation, and officer compensation where reported. It does not identify Duck Donuts franchise fees separately.
- Included in the proxy
- Normal operating deductions captured in the IRS industry aggregate, including labor, occupancy, interest, depreciation, and other reported deductions.
- FDD recurring fees
- The 2026 FDD requires a 6% royalty, 2% Brand Fund contribution, and 1% local advertising expenditure, plus transaction and fixed technology/POS charges. These fees are disclosed as an economic reality check but are not subtracted a second time from an all-in net-income benchmark.
- Excluded from the answer
- Personal income taxes, financing principal payments, owner distributions, retained-earnings policy, replacement capital expenditures, and any after-tax take-home calculation.
- Debt treatment
- Item 10 states that the franchisor does not offer or arrange financing. Interest may be reflected in the IRS margin, but principal payments are separate and depend on each buyer's loan amount, rate, and term.
- Revenue anchors are official averages, not medians. Averages can be pulled upward or downward by unusually large or small outlets within each band.
- The margin spread is analytical. The 2.7129% and 8.7129% margins are not reported by Duck Donuts or the IRS; they are the IRS benchmark minus and plus three percentage points.
- The IRS comparison is broader than the concept. Census NAICS 722515 explicitly includes doughnut shops with on-premise baking and carryout service, but the available IRS margin is for the broader food-services-and-drinking-places category.
- The scenario is per full-year unit. It should not be multiplied across a portfolio without modeling ramp-up, shared overhead, development timing, and manager structure.
How does owner involvement change the earnings result?
Duck Donuts is not disclosed as a passive or semi-absentee model. Item 15 requires the franchisee to personally supervise, devote full time, and manage the day-to-day operation of the franchised business. It also requires a Duck Donuts certified manager to devote full time to the job. The official U.S. franchise page similarly describes prospective franchisees as hands-on entrepreneurs. A hired manager therefore does not eliminate the owner's operating obligation under the disclosed agreement.
What can be called owner-operator benefit?
If Duck Donuts confirms in writing that the owner may also serve as the certified manager, the owner could be performing labor that otherwise has a market wage. The BLS May 2024 median annual wage for food service managers in food services and drinking places was $63,040. Adding that labor value to residual business profit creates a conditional owner-operator benefit of about $71,000, $90,000, and $132,000 across the three scenarios.
That add-back is not pure business profit. It combines residual profit with compensation for full-time management work. It is also lower-confidence because Item 15's wording refers separately to “you” and “your manager,” and the IRS net-income aggregate may already reflect some owner/officer compensation. Buyers should not use the add-back unless the franchisor confirms the role structure and the candidate outlet's payroll records show a replaceable manager cost.
Residual profit versus conditional owner-manager benefit
Each diamond adds the $63,040 BLS manager wage to the residual business-profit point.
Interpretation: the $63,040 gap is labor compensation, not a change in store economics. The residual profit remains the relevant measure for an owner who must employ a separate full-time certified manager.
Sources: 2026 Duck Donuts FDD, Item 15, p. 30; Item 19, p. 40; BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook, Food Service Managers, May 2024 wage data.
The main economic question is not merely whether the owner is “involved.” The question is whether the owner can legally and operationally replace a paid certified manager, and whether the outlet's actual payroll includes that replaceable cost. Without both conditions, adding a manager wage overstates owner benefit.
Which variables can move Duck Donuts owner earnings the most?
Sales level, labor deployment, and occupancy are likely to dominate the result, but the FDD does not provide a franchised-unit expense statement to quantify their exact effect. The scenario range therefore should be treated as a screening model, not a forecast for a specific address.
Sales and cohort placement
The difference between the bottom- and top-band average Gross Sales is $486,491.45. That spread is the largest disclosed same-brand driver. Yet the bands are averages within selected performance groups, not percentiles for a new buyer and not probabilities of landing in a particular outcome. Site quality, trade area, delivery mix, operating hours, local demand, and execution determine where an outlet may fall.
Labor and the mandatory management structure
Item 15 requires full-time owner supervision and a full-time certified manager. Payroll therefore cannot be modeled as though the shop were an unattended investment. The BLS wage benchmark is national; actual manager compensation, payroll taxes, benefits, overtime, assistant-management coverage, and local minimum-wage requirements can differ substantially.
Franchise fees and transaction mix
Item 6 imposes a 6% weekly royalty, a 2% Brand Fund contribution that may increase to 3%, and a 1% required local marketing expenditure. It also lists a $0.61 fee for each first-party online order, a $250 monthly POS System Fee, and a $150 Marketing/Tech Fee whose due-date field is not stated in the table. The percentage-based burden is currently 9% of Gross Sales before the transaction and fixed charges, and could reach 10% if the Brand Fund rises to 3%.
The scenario does not subtract these obligations again because the 5.7% IRS benchmark is an all-in net-income measure. That avoids double-counting, but creates a comparability limitation: many corporations in the IRS population are not franchised and may not bear equivalent royalties or brand-fund charges. Actual franchisee profit-and-loss statements are needed to test whether 5.7% is too high or too low for this system.
FDD population and Item 20 reconciliation
Item 20 shows openings, transfers, closures, reacquisitions, and year-end counts, but its 2025 system totals do not fully reconcile across tables. That does not invalidate the Item 19 Gross Sales figures, but it reinforces the need to obtain the written substantiation and identify the exact 99 outlets assigned to the published bands. A buyer should also separate full-year outlets from recent openings and closed or transferred locations when interviewing franchisees.
The confidence rating is Limited because the current same-brand FDD reports revenue rather than franchised-unit earnings, the Item 19 period and outlet counts conflict internally, and the profit conversion relies materially on a broad 2022 government industry benchmark rather than Duck Donuts franchisee expense data.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?
Verify the source year, the cohort denominator, and actual franchised-unit expense structure before treating any point in the range as decision-grade. The FTC recommends requesting written substantiation for Item 19 and speaking with current and former franchisees. The 2026 FDD's Item 20 contact lists make those interviews possible.
- Resolve the measurement year. Ask whether the Item 19 tables cover calendar 2024 or calendar 2025 and obtain the underlying Gross Sales schedule.
- Reconcile 105 stated outlets with 99 tabled outlets. Ask what happened to the six unassigned franchised outlets and whether their results would change the band averages.
- Request franchisee profit-and-loss statements by sales band. Focus on food and paper cost, hourly labor, manager compensation, payroll burden, occupancy, delivery commissions, utilities, repairs, insurance, technology, and all Item 6 charges.
- Confirm the owner/manager structure in writing. Determine whether an owner can serve as the Duck Donuts certified manager or whether the agreement requires two separate full-time roles.
- Test a specific site's rent and labor market. National averages cannot substitute for a proposed lease, local wage schedule, staffing plan, and delivery mix.
- Separate operating earnings from financing. Model interest and principal using the buyer's actual loan terms; do not subtract the Item 7 startup investment from one year of sales.
- Interview both current and former franchisees. Ask established full-year operators in the bottom, middle, and top sales bands what owner compensation, distributions, retained earnings, and manager payroll looked like over multiple years.
- Check later amendments. Confirm whether recurring fees, Brand Fund rates, technology charges, or Item 19 substantiation changed after the April 8, 2026 issuance date.
What is the strongest defensible earnings takeaway?
The strongest defensible range is approximately $8,000–$69,000 per full-year traditional U.S. outlet per year in estimated residual pre-tax owner earnings, with a base scenario near $27,000. It is scenario-based, not an official franchisor earnings figure. The most important disclosed driver is the outlet's Gross Sales band; the largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of franchised-unit expense data, compounded by the Item 19 year and cohort-count inconsistencies.
An actively working owner may create additional economic value, but the conditional $71,000–$132,000 owner-operator-benefit range includes a $63,040 labor benchmark and should not be described as passive profit. Before making a decision, a buyer should reconcile Item 19's source period and population, request written substantiation, confirm whether the owner can replace the certified manager, and compare the model with actual multi-year profit-and-loss statements from current and former franchisees.