How much does a Duck Donuts franchise cost in 2026?
The April 8, 2026 Duck Donuts Franchise Disclosure Document lists an Estimated Initial Investment of $394,150 to $628,700 for one outlet. For the Multi-Unit Development Agreement, the disclosed amount to begin a development business is $415,850 to $666,200 for a minimum two-outlet commitment. These are separate Item 7 ranges and should not be blended.
Read the disclosed total as a boundary around several different cash demands, not as a single check written on one day. Some amounts are fixed at signing, some depend on a landlord or contractor, and others are reserves expected to be spent after the doors open. A buyer therefore needs both sufficient total funding and enough near-term liquidity to bridge deposits, construction draws, equipment orders and reimbursements. The lower end is not a promise that a project with a difficult site can be completed at that amount, and the upper end is not a contractual cap. Lease negotiations, credit terms and supplier schedules can change when cash leaves the buyer’s account even when the underlying category stays within the disclosed estimate.
The single-unit range includes the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee and $35,000 to $55,000 of Operating Expenses / Additional Funds for the first three months. The multi-unit range includes the Development Fee and one set of outlet-opening costs; it is not a disclosed all-in budget for fully constructing two complete shops. Source: 2026 FDD cover and Item 7, pp. 11–15.
Capital snapshot
For this offer, the most decision-useful figures are the agreement fees, the three-month operating-capital allowance, the weekly Royalty Fee, the official financial qualifications and the single-unit Leasehold Improvements range.
Lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed; nonrefundable. Item 5, p. 4.
Due for the minimum two-outlet Multi-Unit Development Agreement. Item 5, pp. 4–5.
Included in Item 7 for the first three operating months; owner pay and debt service excluded.
Of weekly Gross Sales, due the Sunday after each Monday-through-Sunday week.
Minimum liquid capital / net worth on the official U.S. page, checked July 21, 2026.
Item 5 states that the franchisor currently offers a 10% Initial Franchise Fee discount to first responders and to active members and honorably discharged veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces, including a qualifying spouse or widow. The discount does not apply to already-discounted fees under the multi-unit agreement. An existing franchisee in good standing is offered a $30,000 Initial Franchise Fee for an additional outlet. Incentive programs may be modified or withdrawn. Source: Item 5, p. 4.
The official U.S. franchising page checked July 21, 2026 displays a different Estimated Initial Investment of $536,150 to $774,500, while its official development brochure identifies that range as 2025 FDD data. This article uses the later April 8, 2026 FDD for FDD-governed cost figures. A buyer should ask the franchisor to reconcile the public page with the current disclosure before relying on either amount.
How do the single-unit and multi-unit ranges differ?
The 2026 FDD separates a single outlet from a Multi-Unit Development Agreement. The multi-unit range is higher mainly because the Development Fee replaces the single-unit Initial Franchise Fee and because several deposits and professional-cost estimates have higher upper or lower bounds. Source: Item 7, pp. 11–15.
Floating bars use one shared $0 to $700,000 scale. The multi-unit amount is the disclosed cost to begin the development business, not the combined full construction cost of two finished outlets.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–15. Values are official disclosed ranges; no midpoint or “typical” amount has been created.
The development-start disclosure is especially easy to misread because the agreement requires at least two locations while the table contains one set of design, construction, equipment and opening categories. In practical terms, the buyer is paying for development rights and beginning the first location, then entering later unit agreements according to the schedule. Capital for later construction is still needed when those projects advance. The proper comparison is therefore not “one store versus two finished stores.” It is “one store transaction versus the initial cash package for a multi-location commitment.” That distinction matters when evaluating lender capacity, lease guarantees and the amount of capital that must remain available after the first opening.
| Cost entity | Single outlet | Multi-unit start | Interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial contract payment | $40,000 | $60,000–$70,000 | Initial Franchise Fee versus Development Fee. |
| Premises Deposits | $2,500–$4,500 | $2,500–$7,000 | Paid as required by landlord and utility providers. |
| Professional Fees | $750–$5,000 | $2,250–$10,000 | Includes entity setup and professional review work. |
The Development Fee is paid when the Multi-Unit Development Agreement is signed. Credits then apply as individual outlet agreements are executed.
Source: Item 5, pp. 4–5. The FDD contains an internal inconsistency for additional-outlet Development Fees: Item 5 says $10,000 for each additional outlet, while Item 7 footnote 1 says the Development Fee increases by $30,000 for each outlet after the second. No single additional-outlet amount should be assumed until the franchisor confirms the controlling agreement.
What is included in the single-unit investment range?
For the 2026 single-unit offer, the range covers the franchise fee, premises, design, build-out, signage, equipment, technology, inventory, opening marketing, professional costs, permits, insurance and three months of Additional Funds. The largest disclosed variable is Leasehold Improvements at $168,500 to $320,500. Source: Item 7, pp. 11–15.
This chart plots only each category’s disclosed maximum on a shared scale. It does not represent an average, budget allocation or additive total.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–15. The six categories shown are the categories with the highest disclosed maximums in the single-unit table.
Contract, premises and equipment costs
For a 2026 single outlet, the premises and physical-asset categories account for most of the range, led by $168,500 to $320,500 of Leasehold Improvements and $90,000 to $117,200 of Furniture, Fixtures, Equipment.
| Cost category | Amount | When paid | Payee or cost driver |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $40,000 | When Franchise Agreement is signed | Duck Donuts Holdings, LLC |
| Your Training Expenses | $0–$2,500 | As required | Transportation, lodging and meals for two people |
| Premises Deposits | $2,500–$4,500 | As required | Landlord and utility providers |
| Professional Design | $12,000–$18,500 | As required | Architect, designer and/or contractor |
| Leasehold Improvements | $168,500–$320,500 | As required | Condition, size, location and local construction cost |
| Signage | $7,800–$13,500 | As required | Approved suppliers |
| Furniture, Fixtures, Equipment | $90,000–$117,200 | As required | Required operating package and suppliers |
Systems, opening supplies and operating runway
For a 2026 single outlet, technology, Initial Inventory, opening marketing, permits, insurance and Additional Funds add $15,000 to $20,000 for Computer Systems and $35,000 to $55,000 for the first three operating months, plus the other disclosed categories below.
| Cost category | Amount | When paid | What it covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Systems | $15,000–$20,000 | As required | Required systems, components and installation vendor |
| Initial Inventory | $7,000–$10,000 | As required | Approximately one to two weeks of ingredients, packaging and supplies |
| Grand Opening Marketing | $12,500–$15,000 | Before and around opening | Publicity, promotions and customer inducements |
| Professional Fees | $750–$5,000 | As required | Entity setup, accountant, attorney and lease/FDD review |
| Licenses and Permits | $100–$2,000 | Before opening or as required | Occupancy, operating and construction approvals |
| Insurance | $3,000–$5,000 | Before opening | Required policy types and limits |
| Operating Expenses / Additional Funds | $35,000–$55,000 | As incurred | First three months after opening |
Most of the spread between the low and high ends comes from the physical site rather than the contract payment. A space that already has adequate utilities, accessible restrooms and usable finishes may require less work than a former tenant space needing demolition, utility upgrades or extensive code corrections. The table also does not eliminate local uncertainty: contractor availability, permit sequencing, landlord work letters and inspection delays can affect both cost and timing. Before treating a proposal as financed, match every construction bid to the required plans, identify what the landlord will complete, and separate refundable deposits from permanent project expense. That exercise is more informative than selecting a midpoint from the published range.
The Item 7 total is labeled “excluding tenant allowance,” but footnote 13 also says the estimate is representative of project cost after allowances and says a buyer may need the full amount up front. The same footnote reports an average $51,197 tenant improvement allowance based on 2025 experience and says failure to receive tenant improvement dollars would increase project cost. Do not subtract $51,197 from the disclosed range without a signed lease and written confirmation of how the allowance is treated.
When is the money paid?
The first major cash payment occurs when the applicable agreement is signed, but most of the capital is spent later as the site, build-out, equipment and opening requirements are completed. The 2026 disclosure estimates a typical 365-day period from agreement signing to opening. Source: Items 5, 7 and 11, pp. 4–5, 11–15 and 20.
Payment timing can create a larger short-term funding need than a simple category total suggests. Contractors may require deposits and progress payments before a landlord reimburses eligible work, while equipment suppliers may require payment before delivery. Insurance, permits and inventory also tend to become due close to opening, when several other invoices are outstanding. A financing plan should therefore map the expected date, payee and reimbursement status of each obligation. The disclosed opening period is a schedule estimate, not a commitment that every lease, permit or construction milestone will occur evenly across the year.
The FTC states that a prospective franchisee must receive the Franchise Disclosure Document at least 14 calendar days before signing a contract or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise explains that disclosure timing and how to review the 23 FDD Items.
Which fees continue after opening?
The core continuing obligations are a 6% Royalty Fee, a 2% Brand Fund Contribution that may increase to no more than 3%, a 1% local marketing expenditure, an online-order charge, a $150 Marketing/Tech Fee and $250 monthly POS System Fees. The Item 6 table does not state a due date for the $150 Marketing/Tech Fee and prints the online-order amount as “.61 per online order” without a currency symbol, so both details should be confirmed before budgeting. Percentage fees are based on the FDD definition of Gross Sales; they are not disclosed annual dollar amounts. Source: 2026 FDD Item 6, pp. 5–10, and Item 11, pp. 21–24.
| Continuing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing | Important condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 6% of weekly Gross Sales | Sunday after each calendar week | Paid to the franchisor by electronic transfer. |
| Brand Fund Contribution | 2% of Gross Sales; may rise to 3% | Weekly with Royalty Fee | Paid directly to the Brand Fund. |
| Required Local Marketing | 1% of Gross Sales | Monthly | Item 11 says the 1% monthly requirement begins in the second year. |
| Advertising Cooperative | Share of actual cost | If formed | No cooperative existed on the FDD issuance date; participation can become mandatory. |
| Digital Transaction Convenience Fee | “.61” per online order | Monthly | The Item 6 table omits a currency symbol; confirm whether the charge is $0.61. |
| Marketing/Tech Fee | $150 | Not stated in Item 6 | Supports loyalty, feedback, communications and technology integration. |
| POS System Fees | $250 | Monthly | Covers required software, platform, monitoring and access. |
Percentage charges should be modeled as contractual formulas rather than converted into unsupported annual dollars. The amount changes with the disclosed sales base, and the payment calendar can create weekly or monthly cash demands even when operating expenses are paid on different cycles. The local spending requirement is also different from a payment to the franchisor: it is an obligation to spend with third parties and retain records that can be audited. Usage-based digital charges rise with order count, while system access and software charges may change as required platforms are replaced or upgraded. Keeping these categories separate prevents a fixed charge from being mistaken for a percentage assessment or a marketing expenditure from being treated as optional.
- Gross Sales
- All sales at or from the Franchised Business or made under the agreement rights, without deductions for delivery costs or write-offs, subject to the specific exclusions in Item 6.
- No weekly sales report
- The FDD permits collection of 120% of the last Royalty Fee and Brand Fund Contribution, with a later true-up when sales are reported.
- Grand opening marketing
- At least $12,500 must be spent with the agency of record beginning at least 14 days before and within the first 60 days after opening; Item 7 estimates $12,500 to $15,000.
- Technology upgrades
- The FDD does not cap the frequency or cost of required system updates. Hardware, software maintenance, repair and replacement remain the franchisee’s cost.
The FTC Franchise Rule requires franchisors to disclose 23 categories of material information. For ongoing-cost review, Item 6 should be read together with the definitions, footnotes and governing agreement rather than as a standalone rate sheet.
Which costs arise only after a trigger or special event?
The 2026 disclosure lists separate charges for late payment, reporting failures, training, relocation, transfer, renewal, noncompliance, audits and default termination. These costs are not part of the ordinary monthly fee stack, but some can be material when the triggering event occurs. Source: Item 6, pp. 6–10; Item 11, pp. 20–26; Item 17, pp. 31–35.
Renewal is not only a $7,500 fee. Item 17 also requires compliance with then-current qualifications and training and may require repairs, upgrades, replacements, remodeling and redecoration so the premises and equipment meet current specifications. Separately, Franchise Agreement §9.4.2 permits required refurbishment and Trade Dress Modifications no more than once in a five-year period at the franchisee’s sole expense. The FDD does not provide a dollar cap for either refresh obligation.
How much liquid capital and net worth does Duck Donuts require?
The official U.S. franchise page states a $200,000 minimum Liquid Capital requirement and a $400,000 minimum Net Worth requirement. Those figures were displayed when checked July 21, 2026. They are financial qualifications, not substitutes for the $394,150 to $628,700 single-unit Estimated Initial Investment.
A qualification threshold answers a different question from a project budget. Liquidity measures resources that can generally be accessed for near-term obligations, while net worth measures the excess of assets over liabilities at a point in time. A person can satisfy the second test without having enough readily available cash for deposits and construction draws. Conversely, meeting the first threshold does not establish that the entire opening plan is funded. The buyer should obtain a written explanation of which assets count, whether jointly held assets are accepted, how debt affects the review and whether the same standards apply to each person signing a guaranty.
- Liquid Capital
- $200,000 minimum on the official franchise page. This is the stated liquid-resource threshold, not the full project cost.
- Net Worth
- $400,000 minimum on the official franchise page. Net Worth includes assets less liabilities and is not the same as cash available for construction and opening.
- Non-Borrowed Funds
- No separate minimum is stated on the official U.S. franchising page or in Items 5–7 of the reviewed disclosure.
- Financing
- Item 10 states that the franchisor does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation. Source: Item 10, p. 19.
- Guarantees
- The FDD states that owners are bound by the agreement and identifies spousal liability as a special risk where the spouse signs a guaranty for financial obligations.
The official qualification figures also appear in a Duck Donuts development brochure, but that brochure expressly references the 2025 FDD for its investment range. Use the current disclosure for fees and investment ranges and the official page only for the separately stated qualification thresholds unless Duck Donuts provides updated written criteria.
What could push the final cash need above the disclosed range?
The largest unresolved variables are the premises condition, tenant allowance treatment, local build-out costs, required technology changes, lease terms and costs incurred after the first three operating months. The disclosed range is an estimate, not a cap or a promise that the disclosed Additional Funds will be sufficient.
The franchisor does not provide or install the equipment, signage, supplies or products required to open; the franchisee pays approved suppliers and contractors. Item 8 also permits an evaluation charge for a proposed unapproved supplier. For a broader method of testing disclosure assumptions, the FTC’s FDD review guidance recommends tough-minded scrutiny and follow-up questions before signing.
What capital figure should a prospective franchisee use?
Use the verified single-outlet range at the top of this article as a project-cost estimate, not a guaranteed cash ceiling. A developer should use the separate development-start range only for the transaction it describes and should not read it as the full cost of completing two outlets.
The principal range driver is the premises build-out, followed by the required physical equipment package. The upfront contract payment is only one component; the official liquidity and net-worth thresholds are qualification measures; and the percentage, marketing, technology and conditional charges continue or arise after opening.
The most important unresolved questions are the public-site investment mismatch, the treatment of tenant improvement allowances and the conflicting additional-outlet Development Fee language. Those points should be reconciled against the latest delivered FDD, attachments and signed agreements before capital is committed.
A final capital plan should reconcile three documents: the delivered disclosure, the proposed lease and the supplier or contractor quotations tied to the approved design. Each document answers a different part of the cash question. The disclosure establishes the official categories and contractual obligations; the lease determines rent, deposits and any reimbursement; and the quotations establish current local pricing and payment schedules. Where the documents use different assumptions, the buyer should preserve the difference rather than forcing them into one blended estimate. Written clarification is particularly important when a reimbursement is conditional, an agreement uses a then-current fee, or a cost has no stated ceiling.