How Much Does a CertaPro Painters Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Franchise owner earnings answer

$56,000-$181,000 per year

This is a reasonable independent planning range for pre-tax owner-operator benefit, not a franchisor guarantee. It applies a 7.0% official Item 19 median owner-benefit margin to the derived first-quartile through third-quartile 2025 Gross Sales range for full-year U.S. CertaPro Painters® franchisees. The stronger but more selective official earnings sample reports a $142,921 median and $269,721 average for the exact FDD measure “EBITDA $ + Owner’s Associate Compensation.”

2026 FDD issued March 23, 2026 Mode A official earnings disclosure Confidence moderate Format U.S. franchised painting business
Independent estimate disclosure The $56,000-$181,000 range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Certa ProPainters, Ltd. It combines identified 2026 FDD facts with a derived sales distribution and a clearly identified margin assumption. Actual results can differ materially by territory, residential and Commercial Services mix, pricing, direct labor, painter model, marketing, staffing, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and execution.

Data basis

Legal franchisor: Certa ProPainters, Ltd., a Massachusetts corporation; parent FS Brands, Inc. The FDD was issued March 23, 2026. Item 19 reports 2025 Gross Sales for 291 franchisees operating for the full year and separate financial data from 74 geographically diverse franchisees, most of whom participated in the voluntary Flight Program, had operated for more than two years, and had a greater Commercial Services mix than franchisees in production for less than two years. The financial sample is unaudited and independently unverified. No matching public FDD copy was located on an official franchise-controlled domain, so FDD references below are plain-text Item and page citations.

Supplemental sources: the official U.S. CertaPro Painters franchise site, the FTC guide to buying a franchise, and the BLS wage table for Painting and Wall Covering Contractors. Data checked July 19, 2026.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 FDD officially say an owner may earn?

The official result is a median of $142,921 and an average of $269,721 for “EBITDA $ + Owner’s Associate Compensation.” Those figures cover calendar-year 2025 financial submissions from 74 franchised businesses. They are not systemwide owner salaries, and the FDD does not report a lower quartile, upper quartile, minimum, or maximum for this earnings measure.

The exact label matters. The line combines EBITDA with owner-related compensation, so it is closer to a pre-tax owner-benefit measure than pure business profit. It can include both residual economics and compensation for work performed by the principal. It is before personal income taxes and does not establish after-tax take-home pay. The FDD separately warns that the tables may not contain complete operating-cost information and that no participant achieved every average line item shown.

$142,921

Official median owner-benefit measure

“EBITDA $ + Owner’s Associate Compensation,” 2025 Item 19 sample.

$269,721

Official average owner-benefit measure

Only 32% of the 74 participants were at or above this average.

7.0%

Official median owner-benefit margin

Median “EBITDA % + Owner’s Associate Compensation”; 53% were at or above the average percentage.

$2.05M

Official median revenue in earnings sample

The 74-business financial sample had a higher revenue profile than the broad full-year population.

74

Official financial-data sample

Voluntary, geographically diverse, mostly mature and Flight Program participants.

291

Full-year Gross Sales population

All reported complete 2025 data; some franchisees owned more than one territory.

Evidence confidence Moderate

Why not High? Item 19 directly discloses an earnings-related measure, but the 74-business financial sample is selected rather than systemwide, is weighted toward mature peer-group participants, and has a greater Commercial Services mix than newer franchisees. The FDD also does not separate single-territory from multi-territory owners, employee-painter from subcontractor models, or owner-operated from manager-run businesses.

2025 Item 19 measure Average Median What it measures
Revenue $2,903,461 $2,053,934 Gross Sales generated under the franchise agreement.
Gross Profit % 45.9% 47.0% Revenue after direct labor, paint, materials, discounts, payroll taxes and related direct costs.
Marketing Expense $239,509 $183,742 Direct and brand marketing, including General Advertising Fund and applicable cooperative expenses.
CertaPro Royalty and Fees $125,085 $96,162 Royalty Fee and other fees paid to CertaPro.
EBITDA $ + Owner’s Associate Compensation $269,721 $142,921 Combined operating result and owner-related compensation; not pure passive profit.

Source: 2026 Certa ProPainters, Ltd. Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 36-37. Average and median columns are separate statistics; the median line items should not be added together as though they describe one business.

Population and comparability

What does the strongest evidence actually measure?

It measures historical 2025 performance per participating franchisee business, not a guaranteed single-territory salary. Some franchisees own multiple territories, and Item 19 does not provide a clean per-territory or per-owner labor split. The sample mixes residential and Commercial Services, employee and subcontractor painter models, and businesses at different stages of maturity.

The broad 291-franchisee Gross Sales table reported a 2025 median of $1,294,333 and average of $2,102,015. The separate 74-business financial sample reported median Revenue of $2,053,934—about 59% above the broad full-year median. That gap is the main reason the official $142,921 median owner-benefit figure should not be treated as the systemwide typical result.

Sample limitation The earnings sample is economically stronger than the broader sales population. It is therefore useful evidence for what established, commercially active operators have achieved, but it is a weaker basis for forecasting a new or lower-volume territory.
  • Gross Sales or Revenue: customer billings for labor, materials and services. It is not owner income.
  • Gross Profit: Revenue less source-defined direct costs. It still must cover marketing, royalty and fees, operating overhead, owner or manager labor, financing and taxes.
  • EBITDA $ + Owner’s Associate Compensation: the FDD’s combined owner-benefit line. It should not be silently renamed net income, salary or passive cash flow.
  • Estimated pre-tax owner earnings in this article: cash-equivalent owner benefit after normal operating expenses and disclosed recurring franchise fees, before personal income taxes and financing principal. Depreciation, interest and owner labor treatment are stated separately.

Scenario model

What annual earnings range is reasonable after accounting for uncertainty?

A defensible owner-operator planning range is approximately $56,000 to $181,000 before personal taxes and debt principal. This is an independent estimate for full-year operations, not an official Item 19 range. It applies the FDD’s 7.0% median owner-benefit margin to the derived first quartile, official median and derived third quartile of the 291 reported 2025 Gross Sales values.

  • Conservative: derived first-quartile Gross Sales of $794,879 × 7.0% = $55,642.
  • Base: official systemwide median Gross Sales of $1,294,333 × 7.0% = $90,603.
  • Upside: derived third-quartile Gross Sales of $2,579,383 × 7.0% = $180,557.

Estimated pre-tax owner-operator benefit by sales position

The same 7.0% owner-benefit margin is applied to the broad full-year population’s derived Q1, median and Q3 Gross Sales values.

Estimated owner-operator benefit scenarios Three horizontal bars compare conservative, base and upside annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit based on a seven percent margin. $0 $50k $100k $150k $200k Conservative $55,642 Base $90,603 Upside $180,557

Interpretation: sales position is a major earnings driver, but the 7.0% margin may not hold at every volume. A three-percentage-point margin change moves annual owner benefit by roughly $24,000 at Q1 sales, $39,000 at median sales and $77,000 at Q3 sales.

Source and method: 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 33 and 36. Q1 and Q3 were independently calculated from the 291 individual 2025 Gross Sales values listed in Item 19; the 7.0% owner-benefit margin is the official median from the separate 74-business financial sample. Values are rounded only for display in prose.

Revenue is not earnings The official broad-population median Gross Sales of $1.29 million does not mean an owner takes home $1.29 million. At a 7.0% owner-benefit margin, the analytical result is about $90,600 before debt principal and personal taxes.

Owner role

How does active owner involvement change the result?

Active owner operation can preserve the labor component embedded in the FDD’s owner-benefit measure; hiring a full-time operator can consume much or all of that benefit at lower sales levels. This is an estimated role sensitivity, not an Item 19 result. Item 15 requires the business to be operated by a trained person who devotes full time and effort, while the official franchise site says owners are expected to operate full time.

For a salary-only illustration, the May 2023 BLS table for NAICS 238320, Painting and Wall Covering Contractors, reports an annual mean wage of $98,190 for General and Operations Managers. Subtracting that amount from the owner-operator scenarios produces the residual shown below. The benchmark excludes self-employed workers, is not inflation-adjusted to 2026, and excludes employer payroll taxes and benefits, so a fully loaded 2026 manager cost would likely be higher.

Owner-operator benefit versus manager-run residual

The dark marker is the estimated owner-operator benefit. The light dashed marker is the remaining pre-tax residual after a $98,190 salary-only manager cost.

Owner involvement sensitivity Three rows show how subtracting a general and operations manager salary changes the residual owner earnings in conservative, base and upside scenarios. $0 -$60k $60k $120k $180k Conservative -$42,548 $55,642 Base -$7,587 $90,603 Upside $82,367 $180,557
Owner-operator benefit Manager-run residual after salary

Interpretation: at the conservative and base revenue positions, the salary-only manager benchmark exceeds the modeled owner benefit. A manager-run structure therefore requires stronger sales, a higher margin, a lower management cost, shared management across territories, or another operating design to produce positive residual profit.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 15, p. 28, and Item 19, pp. 33-37; BLS May 2023 NAICS 238320 wage estimates. The manager-run residual excludes benefits, payroll taxes, debt service, capital expenditures and personal income taxes.

Owner-operator effect “Owner-operator benefit” is not passive profit. Part of the amount can compensate the owner for replacing a paid full-time operator. A manager-run owner should focus on the residual after a realistic, fully loaded management cost.

Recurring economics

Which fees and operating factors move owner earnings most?

Direct labor and materials, sales volume, marketing productivity and management structure are the largest earnings levers; recurring franchise fees are material but already embedded in the official Item 19 financial sample. The scenario model therefore does not subtract them again.

Item 6 states a Royalty Fee of 6% on the first $2.5 million of annual Gross Sales, 5% on the next $2.5 million and 4% above $5 million, subject to annual minimum royalty obligations. Advertising Fees and Expenses are 12% of Gross Sales in the first operating year and 10% afterward, including required fund and cooperative components. The Technology Fee is 0.35% of Gross Sales, CertaOne is currently $90 per user per month, and recurrent university training is $40 per month. The official Item 19 Marketing Expense and CertaPro Royalty and Fees lines already reflect actual participating-business spending, so charging those amounts twice would understate earnings.

The FDD also distinguishes a subcontractor painter model from an employee painter model in Item 7. Item 19 does not disclose earnings separately for those models, even though direct labor, payroll taxes, insurance, equipment and vehicle economics can differ materially. Item 7 startup investment is not an annual expense and is not subtracted from one year of sales in this analysis.

  • Sales and job mix: residential versus Commercial Services, project size, pricing discipline and seasonality.
  • Gross Profit control: subcontractor or employee labor, paint and materials, discounts, callbacks and production efficiency.
  • Marketing conversion: required spending does not guarantee profitable leads; cost per booked job and close rate matter.
  • Owner or manager labor: the FDD requires a trained full-time operator, so management is an economic cost even when the owner performs it.
  • Territory count and maturity: Item 19 is per franchisee business and may include multi-territory owners; a new single-territory business may not resemble the selected mature sample.
  • Financing: CertaPro does not offer direct financing in Item 10. Interest reduces accounting earnings; loan principal reduces owner cash but is not an operating expense.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 6, 7, 10, 15 and 19; the official CertaPro Painters investment and owner-requirements page confirms current full-time owner expectations and fee context. The franchise website is supplemental; the FDD controls where terms differ.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on these numbers?

Verify the owner-benefit definition, the selected sample and the labor model with written substantiation and franchisee interviews. The answer is uncertain because Item 19 does not disclose the earnings distribution, owner hours, owner salary add-back, manager compensation, debt load, capital expenditures or results by painter model and territory count.

  • Request Item 19 written substantiation and ask how “Owner’s Associate Compensation” was recorded, normalized and added to EBITDA.
  • Ask participating and nonparticipating franchisees for Revenue, Gross Profit, Marketing Expense, Royalty and Fees, owner compensation, manager compensation, debt payments and capital expenditures for the same calendar year.
  • Separate single-territory, multi-territory, employee-painter and subcontractor businesses; do not average them without a compatibility check.
  • Interview newer operators as well as mature Flight Program participants, including businesses with lower residential sales or limited Commercial Services.
  • Use Item 20 contacts to ask current and former franchisees about closures, transfers and the practical cost of maintaining a trained full-time operator.
  • Model debt service separately and do not convert pre-tax owner benefit into after-tax take-home pay without entity-specific tax advice.

The FTC’s guidance on evaluating franchise financial performance representations emphasizes source, limitations, assumptions and the buyer’s right to request substantiation. The official brand also directs prospects to review the FDD and speak with existing franchisees during its franchise due-diligence process.

Decision synthesis

What is the decision-useful earnings takeaway?

The strongest defensible planning range is about $56,000-$181,000 in annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit for the middle half of the broad 2025 full-year sales population when applying the official 7.0% median owner-benefit margin. That range is scenario-based. The official 74-business Item 19 sample reports a $142,921 median and $269,721 average for “EBITDA $ + Owner’s Associate Compensation,” but its higher revenue, maturity and Commercial Services profile make it unsuitable as a universal owner-income promise.

The most important driver is the combination of Gross Sales and Gross Profit control. The largest unresolved uncertainty is how much of the disclosed owner-benefit line is operating profit versus compensation for the principal’s full-time labor, especially across single-territory and multi-territory businesses. Before deciding, verify the Item 19 substantiation, obtain comparable owner and manager compensation details, and test the assumptions in interviews with current and former franchisees.