The 2026 CertaPro Painters Franchise Disclosure Document gives two separate startup ranges: $171,000 to $246,000 for the Subcontractor Painter Model and $203,250 to $320,500 for the Employee Painter Model. The ranges are not interchangeable because the employee model carries higher disclosed amounts for equipment, vehicles, contractor licensing, insurance, and Additional Funds.
The 2026 FDD covers both painter models. The lower range belongs to the subcontractor structure and the higher range to the employee structure. Each official total already includes the direct opening fees and the disclosed working-capital allowance. Source: 2026 FDD, cover and Item 7, pp. 12–16.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Certa ProPainters, Ltd., a Massachusetts corporation; parent: FS Brands, Inc. FDD issuance date: March 23, 2026. Applicable formats: Subcontractor Painter Model and Employee Painter Model. Cost analysis uses FDD Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17. Information checked July 20, 2026. No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled public website, so FDD Item and page references are intentionally unlinked. The brand's official U.S. franchise investment page is linked separately for current supplemental information.
Which figures matter most before comparing the two models?
The most important distinction is between the Estimated Initial Investment, direct payments to Certa ProPainters, Ltd., the included working-capital allowance, and percentage charges that continue after opening. The 2026 FDD does not publish a numeric minimum for Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds.
Total investment ranges by painter model
The employee model starts higher and has a wider range. Scale runs from $0 to $350,000.
Interpretation: choosing an employee-painter structure raises both the low and high official startup bounds. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12–16. Figures are official FDD ranges, not derived averages.
The official franchise investment webpage currently gives a broad $171,000–$320,500 headline, but its displayed line-item table does not fully match the March 23, 2026 FDD. The FDD shows $45,000 for Advertising & Marketing and $2,250–$5,000 for training travel, and it separates the two painter models. For a capital decision, use the model-specific FDD figures and ask the franchisor to reconcile the public webpage in writing.
What is included in the initial investment?
Both formats include the same core franchise, marketing, technology, training, office, and premises categories. The material differences appear in painting equipment, vehicles, contractor licensing, insurance, and Additional Funds. This working-capital amount is already inside the official total and must not be added again.
Costs that are the same in both startup tables
The following categories use identical disclosed amounts for both painter models, although actual payment timing and local costs can still vary.
| Startup category | Disclosed amount | When paid |
|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $65,000 | At contract signing |
| Advertising & Marketing | $45,000 | Typically within the first three months of operation |
| Commercial Services Fee | $10,000 | Normally at contract signing |
| Miscellaneous Opening Costs | $2,000–$5,000 | Before opening, as incurred |
| Office Equipment | $500–$5,000 | Before opening |
| Computer System and Proprietary Software Solution | $9,000–$11,500 | Before training |
| Travel and Living Expenses While Training | $2,250–$5,000 | During training and the Forum Program |
| Real Estate and Improvements | $9,000–$24,000 | Within the first three months of operation |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12–16. The common categories use the same disclosed amount in both painter-model tables.
Costs that change with the painter model
The employee model assumes more vehicles and franchisee-owned painting equipment, and it assigns higher ranges to licensing, insurance, and working capital. These are the primary numerical reasons its official total is higher.
| Startup category | Subcontractor model | Employee model | Cost relationship |
|---|---|---|---|
| Equipment | $1,000–$3,000 | $5,000–$15,000 | Subcontractors usually have equipment; employee crews require franchisee purchases. |
| Vehicle | $2,500–$10,000 | $10,000–$40,000 | One leased approved wrapped vehicle versus costs associated with leasing three to four vehicles. |
| Contractor License | $250–$2,500 | $3,000–$7,500 | State and local licensing or registration requirements determine the actual amount. |
| Insurance | $5,000–$7,500 | $7,500–$12,500 | Employee operations can increase workers' compensation and related coverage costs. |
| Additional Funds | $19,500–$52,500 | $35,000–$75,000 | Working capital for three to six months, including payroll costs. |
| Official total | $171,000–$246,000 | $203,250–$320,500 | Preserve these official totals rather than constructing a midpoint. |
Highest disclosed model-sensitive amount by startup category
Each bar shows the maximum, not a typical or expected spend. Scale maximum is $75,000.
Interpretation: Working capital and vehicles create the largest maximum-dollar differences between the two operating models. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12–16. All plotted values are official maximum bounds.
The FDD says personal living expenses are not included in the startup table. A buyer must have separate funds to support the buyer's standard of living for up to 15 months after operations begin. That amount is not quantified and should not be blended into the official franchise investment range.
When is the money paid?
Under the 2026 FDD, the largest direct franchisor payment occurs when the contract is signed, while equipment, licensing, insurance, training travel, marketing, premises, and operating cash are funded later. The three direct new-franchise charges normally due at signing total $82,500; this is a derived sum of the disclosed amounts. The technology setup portion is already inside the computer-system category, so it must not be counted twice.
Before contract or payment
The FDD cover and the FTC franchise-buying guide state that the disclosure document must be provided at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement is signed or money is paid to the franchisor or an affiliate.
At contract signing
A new franchisee generally pays the three direct charges summarized above. Item 5 says the setup and commercial charges are non-refundable; the franchise fee has only the limited refund conditions described in Items 5 and 17.
Before training and during training
The full computer-system range is due before training and includes the setup charge already paid at signing. Training travel is paid as incurred during Franchise Foundations, the Forum Program, Commercial Services Training, and applicable conferences.
Before opening
Miscellaneous Opening Costs, equipment, office equipment, vehicles, contractor licensing, and initial insurance costs are generally incurred before opening. The franchisor's official ownership process also notes that licensing timing varies by state.
During the first three to six months
The disclosed marketing allocation is normally spent in the first three months. Premises costs are also scheduled within that period. The working-capital allowance is used as incurred for three to six months, including payroll, suppliers, and utilities.
The FDD footnotes say franchisees in Arizona, California, Florida, Maryland, Michigan, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Utah, Virginia, or Washington should budget for six to twelve months of startup expenses because licensing may delay full operation. This does not create a new official total; it identifies additional duration risk.
Which fees continue after opening?
Under the 2026 FDD, continuing costs include a tiered royalty, annual minimums, advertising spending, technology and user charges, recurrent training, and required conference or meeting expenses. Every percentage must be read by its disclosed Gross Sales basis; it should not be converted into an annual dollar estimate without actual sales data.
| Continuing obligation | Amount or basis | Payment timing | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 6% / 5% / 4% | Monthly on the 10th | 6% on first $2.5 million annual Gross Sales; 5% from $2,500,000.01 to $5 million; 4% at $5,000,000.01 or more, subject to Minimum Royalty Payments. |
| Advertising Fees and Expenses | 12% first year; 10% after | As incurred | Includes General Advertising Fund and applicable local advertising cooperative payments; do not add those percentages again when measuring the total advertising obligation. |
| General Advertising Fund | 3% or 2% | Monthly on the 10th | 3% of annual Gross Sales at $2.5 million or less; 2% above $2.5 million. |
| Advertising Cooperative Fees | Generally 1%–4% | Monthly on the 10th | Set by cooperative vote and credited against required local advertising expenditures. |
| Technology Fee | 0.35% of Gross Sales | Monthly on the 10th | Separate from the per-user CertaOne charge. |
| CertaOne User Fee | $90 per user monthly | Monthly on the 10th | Applies to each person with CertaOne access; subject to increase on 60 days' notice. |
| CertaPro University Recurrent Training | $40 monthly | Monthly on the 10th | Annual recurrent online training is required. |
| Annual Conference | $2,500–$5,500 per person | Two months before conference | Includes registration and lodging, but excludes airfare. |
| Sales/Production/Marketing Conference or Meeting | $2,000–$3,000 per person | One month before start | Includes registration and lodging, but excludes airfare. |
How do the Minimum Royalty Payments work?
The percentage royalty is subject to annual minimums. The FDD presents separate minimums for Sales of Residential Services and Total Gross Sales. Payment of any shortfall is due by December 31 of each Calendar Year.
| Calendar year | Residential Services minimum | Total Gross Sales minimum | Qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Second year, agreement signed January–May | $21,000 | $27,000 | Annual minimum royalty amounts |
| Second year, agreement signed June–December | $15,000 | $15,000 | Annual minimum royalty amounts |
| Third year | $24,000 | $30,000 | Annual minimum royalty amounts |
| Fourth year | $27,000 | $36,000 | Annual minimum royalty amounts |
| Fifth–sixth years | $30,000 | $39,000 | Each Calendar Year |
| Seventh–eighth years | $30,000 | $51,000 | Each Calendar Year |
| Ninth–tenth years | $36,000 | $51,000 | Each Calendar Year; tenth year is prorated for operating months |
The royalty contract is not simply “6%.” The amount due is the greater of the applicable tier or the required annual minimum. Keep that schedule separate from the startup budget without estimating sales in this cost review.
Which costs arise only after a specific event?
Several Item 6 charges apply only after a transfer, renewal, late payment, default, additional training requirement, conference nonattendance, or technology change. These obligations are not part of the new-unit startup total unless an initial payment is expressly included there.
Transfer Fee: $25,000 when an existing franchisee sells to a buyer found without CertaPro's assistance; one fee per transaction rather than per territory.
Listing and Referral Fee: if the seller elects CertaPro's buyer-locating assistance, the fee is the greater of $50,000 or 9% of the purchase price and includes the Transfer Fee. Negotiations may shift this payment to the buyer.
Renewal Fee: 15% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee, plus the franchisor's attorney fees if applicable. The initial Franchise Agreement term is 10 years.
Late Payment Penalty: the lesser of 1.5% or the maximum rate permitted by law, accruing from the day after the amount becomes due.
Assumption of Management: $500 per day plus costs and expenses if CertaPro assumes or appoints management after abandonment or an uncured compliance failure.
Legal Fees: reimbursement of specified costs and reasonable legal fees connected with litigation or enforcement of the Franchise Agreement.
Conference nonattendance: the greater of $549 or the then-current Annual Conference registration fee.
Production Scheduler User Fee: currently not assessed, but CertaPro reserves the right to implement it on at least 60 days' reasonable notice.
Source for the ongoing and conditional fee tables: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–11; renewal and transfer conditions are also summarized in Item 17, pp. 29–31.
How does buying an existing CertaPro business change the fee contract?
A resale does not use the same opening-fee pattern as a new franchise. The buyer-facing differences are summarized below. The negotiated purchase price and transaction costs are not disclosed as a startup range in the 2026 FDD.
New-franchise fee
$0 for the resale buyer under Item 5. This does not mean the business acquisition has no purchase price.
Technology setup
$5,000, due before required training or, for the employee-model note, before the earlier of training or closing.
Commercial license
No additional Commercial Services Fee if the existing license transfers; Commercial Services Training remains required.
The seller generally pays the transfer-related charge or the larger referral charge described in Item 6, but transaction negotiations can shift the latter to the buyer. A resale buyer should therefore separate the purchase price, transaction charges, reduced technology setup, training travel, and operating cash.
Are financial qualifications, financing, or discounts disclosed?
The 2026 FDD does not state a numeric minimum for Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds. It also says CertaPro does not offer direct financing, guarantee obligations, or receive payments for placing financing. Third-party directory thresholds should not replace a current written qualification from the franchisor.
- Financing
- Item 10 says no direct franchisor financing or guaranty. The official investment page says qualified candidates may be eligible for third-party options, including possible SBA, retirement-rollover, veteran-focused, or partial franchise-fee financing, all subject to approval.
- Veteran incentive
- Qualified VetFran participants receive a 20% reduction of the initial fee, from $65,000 to $52,000. The FDD does not publish a separate veteran total.
- Refund limits
- The franchise fee is fully refundable only if CertaPro rescinds before completion of Franchise Foundations 1. If operations have not started within 120 days, CertaPro may terminate and provide a partial $10,000 refund. Other circumstances are non-refundable; the setup and Commercial Services fees are non-refundable.
The official veteran franchise page confirms the 20% fee discount. The official franchise FAQ confirms that licensing varies by state and municipality, but it does not publish a numeric liquid-capital or net-worth threshold.
What can push the actual capital need beyond the official range?
The official range is an estimate, not a cap. Premises deposits and build-out, licensing delays, personal living support, approved-supplier requirements, technology changes, local insurance conditions, and the choice between subcontractors and employees can all change the cash profile. The FDD explicitly says it cannot guarantee that additional expenses will not arise.
Office requirement: a franchisee must maintain office space outside the home and inside the Territory within three months of beginning operation. Virtual offices, shared workspaces, and coworking spaces do not qualify. Deposits, build-out, and prepaid rent can increase the official estimate.
Licensing duration: verify painting or home-improvement contractor licensing with the applicable state and local authority before relying on the disclosed three-to-six-month operating period.
Lead-safe compliance: The startup estimate includes EPA RRP-related opening costs. The EPA RRP contractor rules explain firm certification, renovator training, and work-practice obligations for covered pre-1978 properties.
Safety training: The startup estimate lists OSHA 10 online training among Miscellaneous Opening Costs. The OSHA Outreach Training Program explains that the 10-hour course provides hazard-awareness training and is not a professional certification or license.
Approved suppliers: Item 8 estimates that approximately 34% of establishment purchases will be made from approved suppliers. Required items include CertaOne, specified hardware and software, insurance, vehicle wraps, signs, marketing materials, and other goods or services meeting brand specifications.
Insurance deposits: state law may require a workers' compensation deposit. Confirm required limits, additional-insured endorsements, automobile coverage, and the difference between subcontractor and employee operations with an insurance broker before signing.
Separate living reserve: identify funds for up to 15 months of personal living expenses outside the official total, without relabeling that buyer-specific reserve as an official CertaPro investment estimate.
What is the practical capital takeaway?
The verified 2026 cost contract is model-dependent, so the two ranges shown at the start of this article must remain separate. The initial fee is only one part of the requirement, and the operating allowance is already included in the official totals. Separate cash may still be needed for living support, extended licensing delays, office deposits or build-out, and other costs the FDD cannot quantify.
After opening, the principal obligations are the tiered royalty with annual minimums, the advertising requirement, technology and user charges, recurrent training, and event-triggered costs. The unresolved question is not a generic “cash required” number: it is which labor structure will be used, how long licensing and office setup will take, and what written financial qualification applies to the specific transaction.