How Much Does an Arthur Murray Dance Studio Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Estimated annual owner-operator benefit
$37,000–$106,000 per year

A reasonable planning range for a mature U.S. Arthur Murray Dance Studio is approximately $37,000 to $106,000 in annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit, with a base scenario near $66,000. This is an independent estimate anchored to the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document’s fiscal-year 2025 Gross Receipts data. Item 19 reports revenue, not business profit, owner compensation, distributions, or take-home pay.

Evidence mode: Mode C, FDD-anchored scenario Confidence: Limited Format: U.S. franchised dance studio Period: Fiscal year 2025 revenue
Independent estimate

This owner-earnings range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Arthur Murray International, Inc. It combines identified facts from the 2026 FDD with a broad Internal Revenue Service educational-services benchmark and clearly labeled margin assumptions. Actual results can differ materially by location, studio age, Gross Receipts, instructor payroll, occupancy, advertising efficiency, financing, owner involvement, pricing, student retention, and execution.

Data basis

Legal franchisor: Arthur Murray International, Inc. Disclosure: 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, issued June 30, 2026. Item 19 population: 232 eligible U.S. franchised Studios reporting at least 50 weeks for fiscal year 2025; the represented Studios had operated for an average of 19 years. Company-operated comparison: none, because the system reported no company-owned Studios. Benchmarks: IRS Tax Year 2023 nonfarm sole-proprietorship data for Educational Services and Bureau of Labor Statistics wage and benefit data. Date checked: July 18, 2026. No matching 2026 FDD on an official franchise-controlled website was verified, so FDD references below are unlinked and cited by year, Item, and page.

Scenario $66,000 Base owner-operator benefit

Estimated before personal income taxes and financing principal payments.

Official $646,572 Overall median Gross Receipts

Fiscal year 2025 revenue for the 232-Studio eligible cohort.

Official 232 of 240 Studios represented

Item 19 states 97% of franchised Studios were included in Part I.

Official 19 years Average cohort age

A major limitation when applying mature-unit results to a new Studio.

Official 8% Standard royalty

Paid on weekly Gross Receipts; special programs can differ.

Official 12% Minimum advertising and PR spend

National-fund or cooperative amounts can count toward the requirement.

Owner earnings answer

How much may an Arthur Murray Dance Studio owner earn annually?

The independent estimate is about $37,000 in the Conservative scenario, $66,000 in the Base scenario, and $106,000 in the Upside scenario. These figures apply to an actively operated U.S. franchised Studio and use fiscal-year 2025 Item 19 revenue anchors from the middle performance bands. They are estimated pre-tax owner-operator benefit, not an official Arthur Murray profit disclosure and not after-tax take-home pay.

The three revenue anchors are official FDD medians: $521,113 for the third quartile, $646,572 overall, and $789,563 for the second quartile. The model does not label those quartiles as probabilities. It uses them as a transparent planning spread around the center of the reported mature-Studio distribution.

Scenario Official revenue anchor Modeled margin Estimated owner-operator benefit
Conservative
Third-quartile median
$521,113 8.2% $37,000
Base
Overall median
$646,572 11.2% $66,000
Upside
Second-quartile median
$789,563 14.2% $106,000

What does the three-scenario earnings range look like?

Estimated annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit, rounded to the nearest $1,000.

Conservative, Base, and Upside owner-operator benefit scenarios Three columns show approximately 37 thousand dollars, 66 thousand dollars, and 106 thousand dollars of annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit. $0 $30k $60k $90k $37,000 $66,000 $106,000 Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: the approximately $69,000 gap between the Conservative and Upside results is driven by both the reported revenue band and a six-percentage-point margin sensitivity.

Source and calculation: Arthur Murray International, Inc., 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 37–44; IRS Tax Year 2023 Educational Services sole-proprietorship data; FDD Item 6 recurring obligations; independent calculation described below.

Revenue is not earnings

The official $646,572 overall median is Gross Receipts. It cannot be read as owner salary, profit, distributions, or cash available for debt payments. Instructor compensation, rent, advertising, royalty, technology, insurance, utilities, professional fees, and other operating expenses must be paid before any residual owner benefit exists.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 Item 19 actually measure?

Item 19 officially measures Gross Receipts and Dance Packages sold; it does not report Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, Owner Compensation, or cash flow. The main fiscal-year 2025 table covers 232 eligible franchised Studios that had been open at least 12 full calendar months and reported financial results for at least 50 weeks.

The FDD defines Gross Receipts broadly as money received for instruction, lessons, services, parties, competitions, trips, clubs, memberships, and related Studio activities. Because some Dance Packages are prepaid and others are paid over time, receipts can also reflect collection timing rather than only lessons delivered during the year.

Fiscal-year 2025 band Studios Average Gross Receipts Median Gross Receipts
Top quartile 58 $1,296,862 $1,208,678
Second quartile 58 $798,208 $789,563
Third quartile 58 $528,675 $521,113
Bottom quartile 58 $291,900 $296,995
Overall 232 $728,934 $646,572

How widely did official median Gross Receipts vary by quartile?

Fiscal-year 2025 median revenue for each 58-Studio quartile; these are revenue bands, not earnings bands.

Median Gross Receipts by Item 19 quartile Horizontal bars show bottom quartile median Gross Receipts of 296,995 dollars, third quartile 521,113 dollars, second quartile 789,563 dollars, and top quartile 1,208,678 dollars. $0 $300k $600k $900k $1.2m Bottom quartile Third quartile Second quartile Top quartile $296,995 $521,113 $789,563 $1,208,678

Interpretation: the top-quartile median was about 4.1 times the bottom-quartile median. Location quality, studio maturity, student volume, pricing, retention, and local cost structure can therefore dominate a single systemwide average.

Source: Arthur Murray International, Inc., 2026 FDD, Item 19, Table 1, pp. 38–39. The franchisor states that submitted franchisee reports were not audited or independently verified.

Average versus median
The overall average Gross Receipts were $728,934, while the overall median was $646,572. The median is the stronger central anchor here because it is less affected by the $2,807,079 high observation.
Population coverage
Item 19 represented 232 of 240 franchised Studios, or 97%. It excluded certain partial reporters, Studios opened during fiscal year 2025, and a Studio that closed during the year.
Cohort maturity
The represented Studios had operated for an average of 19 years. That makes the table useful for mature-unit economics but less predictive for a new location still building enrollment and staff.
Ownership type
The system reported no company-owned Studios in 2023, 2024, or 2025, so there is no same-brand company-operated profit proxy to validate franchised-unit margins.
Scenario model

How was the owner-earnings estimate built?

The estimate starts with official Item 19 median Gross Receipts, applies an externally benchmarked owner-benefit margin adjusted for Arthur Murray’s disclosed royalty and advertising obligations, and then subtracts expected fixed software and website fees. The result is estimated, not reported by the franchisor, and it is intended as a reproducible decision model rather than a forecast.

Reproducible formula Estimated owner-operator benefit equals the selected Item 19 revenue anchor multiplied by the modeled margin, less expected annual Agenda Master software and website licensing fees. Revenue × adjusted margin − $6,000 expected fixed fees

Why does the base margin equal approximately 11.2%?

The 11.2% base margin is a derived proxy, not an Arthur Murray margin. The IRS nonfarm sole-proprietorship statistics report $16.808 billion of business receipts and $4.943 billion of net income less deficit for Tax Year 2023 Educational Services, producing a broad 29.4% net-income-to-receipts ratio. That Schedule C measure generally includes the economic value of proprietor labor because the proprietor does not deduct a salary paid to themself.

The model then subtracts Arthur Murray’s standard 8% royalty and the incremental advertising burden above the IRS group’s reported advertising ratio. The IRS Educational Services group reported advertising equal to about 1.8% of receipts, while the FDD requires at least 12% of annual Gross Receipts to be spent on advertising and public relations. The adjustment is therefore approximately 10.2 percentage points, not the full 12 points, to avoid counting the benchmark’s existing advertising expense twice.

Base-margin bridge Rate Treatment
IRS Educational Services net income less deficit ÷ receipts 29.4% Broad owner-operator benchmark before franchise-specific adjustments
Incremental advertising requirement −10.2 pts 12.0% FDD minimum less about 1.8% already present in IRS data
Standard royalty −8.0 pts Item 6 standard weekly Gross Receipts royalty
Derived base margin 11.2% Used before the expected $6,000 annual fixed-fee subtraction
Assumptions and boundaries
  • Conservative and Upside margins: 8.2% and 14.2%, created by applying a transparent minus/plus three-percentage-point sensitivity to the 11.2% base. The FDD does not report these margins.
  • Expected fixed technology charges: $150 per month for Agenda Master software plus an estimated $350 per month website licensing fee, or $6,000 annually. The 2026 FDD describes both as expected 2026 charges, so timing and final amounts remain uncertain.
  • Included through the IRS benchmark: ordinary business deductions such as payroll, rent, interest, depreciation, supplies, insurance, utilities, and other operating expenses, to the extent they appear in the broad Educational Services population.
  • Excluded from the published owner-benefit figures: personal income taxes, financing principal payments, discretionary distributions, retained earnings decisions, and future capital expenditures.
  • Interest and depreciation: embedded in the all-in IRS benchmark rather than separately forecast. A buyer’s actual debt structure and asset basis can produce a materially different result.
  • Initial investment: the FDD’s $122,500 to $407,625 startup range and $25,000 initial franchise fee are not subtracted from one year of revenue because they are not recurring annual operating expenses.
Benchmark limitation

The IRS population is much broader than NAICS 611610 Fine Arts Schools and is not limited to franchises, employer businesses, or dance studios. The U.S. Census Bureau’s NAICS definition identifies dance instruction and dance studios within NAICS 611610, but the available IRS owner-benefit aggregate is at the broader Educational Services level. That mismatch is the main reason the evidence-confidence rating is Limited.

Owner role

How does owner involvement change the result?

Owner involvement is economically central because the FDD requires a single-unit owner to devote full time, attention, and best efforts to the Studio and keep it under direct, on-premises control and full-time supervision. The published $37,000 to $106,000 range is therefore best understood as owner-operator benefit: it can contain both residual business profit and compensation for work the owner performs.

Arthur Murray’s official domestic franchise page also describes the candidate as someone prepared to lead a team and be active in the community. The FDD, rather than marketing language, controls the model here: it does not support treating a single Studio as passive income.

What happens when a paid manager is layered into the model?

An illustrative fully loaded manager cost of approximately $117,000 would consume all three central scenario results. This is a benchmark sensitivity for an additional manager-supervised Studio, not an assertion that a single-unit franchisee may step away from the FDD’s full-time participation requirement.

The wage proxy starts with the May 2023 BLS annual mean wage of $83,910 for General and Operations Managers in privately owned Other Schools and Instruction. It is then grossed up using the March 2026 Educational Services ratio of $40.39 in wages plus $16.03 in benefits per hour from the BLS Employer Costs for Employee Compensation industry table. The resulting $117,000 figure is a national proxy; local pay, payroll taxes, bonuses, benefits, and manager scope can differ materially.

Revenue case Owner-operator benefit Less manager proxy Illustrative residual
Conservative $37,000 ($117,000) ($81,000)
Base $66,000 ($117,000) ($51,000)
Upside $106,000 ($117,000) ($11,000)
Top-quartile median at base margin $129,000 ($117,000) $12,000
Owner-operator effect

The manager test does not prove that manager-supervised Studios lose money. It shows that the broad IRS proprietor margin likely includes substantial compensation for owner labor. A multi-unit owner needs enough incremental Gross Receipts and operating margin to fund a qualified on-premises manager at each additional Studio, plus any portfolio overhead and ramp-up losses.

Studio maturity

How does a newer Studio compare with the mature Item 19 cohort?

A newer Studio should not be expected to begin at the mature cohort’s $646,572 median Gross Receipts. Official Item 19 ramp data show median Gross Receipts of $248,707 in the first full fiscal year and $394,456 in the second. Those are official revenue measures, not owner earnings, and the available sample shrinks materially in later years.

Full fiscal year Reporting Ramp Studios Official median Gross Receipts Illustrative benefit at 11.2% base margin
First 32 $248,707 $22,000
Second 28 $394,456 $38,000
Third 20 $444,540 $44,000
Fourth 13 $451,810 $44,000
Fifth 5 $548,841 $55,000
Sixth 2 $750,889 $78,000

The final column is an independent calculation using the same 11.2% base margin and $6,000 fixed-fee assumption as the mature-Studio model. It is not reported in Item 19. The sixth-year observation is based on only two Studios and should not be treated as a reliable system trajectory.

Sample limitation

The Ramp Studio group includes locations opened from 2020 through 2025 that remained open at December 31, 2025, while two Studios that opened during the period and later closed were excluded. Survivorship, reporting eligibility, changing opening cohorts, and the rapidly declining sample size make the ramp table descriptive rather than predictive.

Recurring obligations

Which disclosed fees matter most to annual owner earnings?

The standard 8% royalty and 12% minimum advertising/public-relations requirement have the largest recurring modeled effect. These are official FDD obligations applied to Gross Receipts. The expected software and website charges add a smaller fixed burden, while optional digital-platform charges and future technology fees create additional uncertainty.

Item 6 obligation Disclosed amount Model treatment
Royalty Standard 8% Subtracted from the benchmark margin; incentive programs and legacy arrangements can differ.
Advertising and public relations At least 12% Only the amount above the IRS benchmark’s 1.8% advertising ratio is added, avoiding double counting.
Agenda Master software Expected $150/month Included in the $6,000 annual fixed-fee assumption.
Website licensing Expected $350/month Included in the $6,000 annual fixed-fee assumption.
Technology fee Currently none; may be added Excluded because no amount is stated; treated as unresolved downside risk.
Centralized digital platform About 5%–10% of media spend Excluded because participation was described as optional, with possible future mandatory use.

Beginning with the Studio’s second year, Item 6 also states a minimum annual royalty based on assumed annual Gross Receipts of $175,000. At the standard 8% rate, that implies a $14,000 minimum. Each mature and ramp revenue anchor used in this article generates a higher percentage royalty, so the minimum does not change the displayed scenarios.

Uncertainty and verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

A buyer should verify the actual expense structure of comparable Studios, because Item 19 supplies strong revenue distribution evidence but no direct profit or owner-compensation disclosure. The highest-value checks are written Item 19 substantiation, recent Studio-level profit-and-loss statements for a resale when available, and consistent interviews with current and former franchisees in similar markets.

Buyer verification checklist
  • Request written Item 19 substantiation. Reconcile Gross Receipts definitions, reporting weeks, quartile assignment, excluded Studios, cash collections, refunds, chargebacks, and any competition or event revenue.
  • Ask for instructor-labor detail. Determine wages, commissions, payroll burden, recruiting costs, teacher-training time, turnover, and whether owners teach or sell packages personally.
  • Separate occupancy by market. Compare base rent, common-area charges, utilities, insurance, build-out obligations, and the 2,800-to-3,500-square-foot large-city space guidance in Item 7.
  • Confirm the real advertising mix. Identify national-fund, cooperative, local, agency, paid-media, and public-relations spending and verify that all amounts reconcile to the 12% minimum.
  • Confirm current technology charges. Obtain the executed fee schedule for Agenda Master, website licensing, any Technology Fee, and the centralized digital advertising platform.
  • Separate owner labor from business return. Record hours worked, functions performed, replacement salary, draws, distributions, retained cash, and whether reported profit is before or after owner compensation.
  • Model debt separately. Obtain the actual loan amount, interest rate, amortization, collateral, payment schedule, and working-capital reserve. Do not subtract financing principal when comparing operating performance.
  • Interview comparable franchisees. Prioritize Studios of similar age, metropolitan profile, square footage, owner role, staff count, and revenue band, plus former franchisees listed in Item 20.

The Federal Trade Commission’s guide to buying a franchise explains how to use the FDD and investigate financial claims. Item 19 itself states that written substantiation will be made available on reasonable request and warns that individual results may differ.

Decision synthesis

What is the decision-useful takeaway?

The strongest defensible planning range is approximately $37,000 to $106,000 in annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit for a mature U.S. Arthur Murray Dance Studio, with a base case near $66,000. It is scenario-based, not an official owner-profit figure. The strongest official evidence is the 2026 FDD’s fiscal-year 2025 Gross Receipts distribution: a $646,572 overall median across 232 eligible franchised Studios, with substantial variation from a $296,995 bottom-quartile median to a $1,208,678 top-quartile median.

The most important earnings drivers are Studio-level Gross Receipts and whether the owner personally supplies full-time management labor. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of same-brand operating-expense, owner-compensation, and profit data—especially instructor payroll, occupancy, package fulfillment costs, and the economic value of the owner’s work.

Before treating the range as decision-ready, a buyer should reconcile the Item 19 substantiation to comparable Studio profit-and-loss statements, verify every current recurring fee in writing, and test the assumptions through interviews with franchisees operating similar markets, revenue bands, and owner roles.