How Much Does an Arthur Murray Dance Studio Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 ITEM 7 ANSWER

How much does an Arthur Murray Dance Studio franchise cost?

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document discloses a Total Estimated Initial Investment of $122,500 to $407,625 for one Arthur Murray Dance Studio in the United States. The range includes the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee, premises and buildout costs, equipment, signage, opening marketing, and $10,000 to $25,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months. It excludes the purchase of real estate or construction of a building.

$122,500–$407,625

Official 2026 Item 7 range for one Studio. The largest variable is Leasehold Improvements at $50,000 to $250,000. The total already includes Additional Funds, so that working-capital range should not be added again. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 13–16.

Data basis
Legal franchisor: Arthur Murray International, Inc.
Parent: AMII Acquisition, LLC
Cost-relevant affiliate: Arthur Murray Enterprises, Inc.
FDD issuance date: June 30, 2026
Offer analyzed: one U.S. Arthur Murray Dance Studio
FDD sections used: Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 15 and 17
Current-offer check: July 18, 2026

The brand’s official domestic franchise information confirms that new U.S. franchise opportunities are being offered. No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled public domain, so the Item and page references in this article are intentionally unlinked.

SOURCE CONFLICT

The franchisor’s official franchise FAQ currently states a $75,000 to $300,000 “typical” investment and refers readers to a 2025 FDD. The later June 30, 2026 FDD states $122,500 to $407,625. This article uses the later FDD; a prospective franchisee should ask Arthur Murray International, Inc. to reconcile the website figure with the current disclosure before relying on the website range.

CAPITAL SNAPSHOT

Which cost figures matter most at the start?

The opening capital decision is not one number. The Initial Franchise Fee is due at signing, the Total Estimated Initial Investment covers the full opening range, and Additional Funds cover a limited initial operating period. The current disclosure does not publish a dollar Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold.

Initial Franchise Fee $25,000 Lump sum at Franchise Agreement signing; nonrefundable.
Additional Funds $10,000–$25,000 Three months; includes payroll, excludes owner draw or salary.
Grand Opening Marketing $5,000 minimum Begins 60–90 days before opening and ends at opening.
Liquidity / Net Worth Not disclosed No dollar threshold verified in the 2026 FDD or official domestic page.

Item 5 also requires approximately $120 of proprietary promotional brochures, step charts, and related materials from Arthur Murray Enterprises, Inc. The FDD cover identifies $25,120 as payable to the franchisor or affiliates. The $120 materials amount is already included within the Item 7 Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment and Utilities category; it should not be added on top of the official total. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 6–7; Item 7, pp. 13–15.

ITEM 7 BREAKDOWN

What does the opening-cost range include?

The 2026 opening-cost table total is the sum of eleven disclosed categories. Premises work creates most of the spread, while the franchise fee and Grand Opening Marketing are fixed amounts in the table.

Premises, design and equipment

These categories are generally paid to landlords, contractors, approved or other third parties as incurred before opening. The cost table assumes no tenant improvement allowance.

Item 7 expenditure 2026 range Payment timing
Leasehold Improvements $50,000–$250,000 As incurred, before opening
Security Deposit for Leasehold $8,500–$25,500 As incurred
Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment and Utilities $15,000–$40,000 As incurred, before opening
Design, Architecture and Engineering $0–$8,500 As incurred
Signage and Graphics $5,500–$15,000 As agreed and incurred

Agreement, approvals, launch and working capital

The remaining categories cover the franchise contract, licenses, professional advice, launch marketing, miscellaneous opening expenses, and the first three months of operating needs.

Item 7 expenditure 2026 amount What it covers
Initial Franchise Fee $25,000 Lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed
Business Licenses and Permits $500–$3,000 Local approvals required to operate the Studio
Professional Fees $500–$3,000 Legal, accounting and consulting work
Grand Opening Marketing $5,000 Minimum launch advertising and promotion
Miscellaneous Expenses $2,500–$7,625 Insurance deposits, music licenses, initial inventory, software and website costs, training travel, lodging and other opening expenses
Additional Funds — 3 months $10,000–$25,000 Initial operating expenses, including payroll but excluding owner draw or salary

Table sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 6 and 13–15.

FDD CAVEAT

The three-month operating allowance is already inside the $122,500 to $407,625 Total Estimated Initial Investment. The three-month period is not a promise that the Studio will require no further cash after month three, and the FDD expressly excludes an owner draw or salary from this category.

DANCE-FLOOR BUILDOUT

Why can the premises move the total by so much?

The Studio’s physical requirements make buildout the largest cost variable. The current disclosure expects flooring suitable for dance instruction, mirrors, lighting, walls, and related improvements, and it does not assume a landlord contributes a tenant improvement allowance.

Space requirements that shape the buildout

For a large-city Studio, the 2026 FDD describes a total space target of at least 2,800 to 3,500 square feet and identifies several hardwood-floor areas.

1,600 sq. ft. Minimum main ballroom described in the FDD.
600 sq. ft. Minimum second ballroom described in the FDD.
180 sq. ft. Minimum training classroom described in the FDD.

The FDD also calls for a manager or enrollment office, staff office, restrooms, coat closet, janitor or storage room, and kitchen. Those requirements affect site suitability before any lease is signed.

The disclosed Security Deposit range assumes two months of rent at the low end and three months at the high end. The FDD footnote also estimates three months of rent at approximately $12,750 to $25,500, but Item 7 does not present a separate rent line. A prospective franchisee should confirm how rent is allocated within the site-specific opening budget and avoid adding the footnote estimate to the official total without clarification.

A landlord contribution is possible but not built into the official range. The FDD says a negotiated tenant improvement allowance may be approximately $10,000 to $150,000. That is not a guaranteed credit and should not be subtracted from the disclosed range until it is written into the lease.

Buying real estate or constructing a building is outside the Item 7 total. Real estate price, ownership structure, site visibility, accessibility, market conditions, and construction costs remain separate obligations. Architectural services may be unnecessary when no permits or buildout are required; otherwise, an approved supplier offers a national price of $8,500 plus travel in most states, with Alaska, California, South Dakota, and Hawaii potentially higher. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–16.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

Arthur Murray’s opening costs are paid in stages rather than as one check. For one U.S. Studio, the 2026 disclosure estimates zero to 270 days from signing to opening, depending mainly on whether an approved location is already secured.

1

At Franchise Agreement signing

Pay the $25,000 franchise fee in a lump sum. It is nonrefundable. Owners of a corporation or other entity must sign a guaranty applying the Franchise Agreement obligations to them personally.

2

During site approval, leasing and buildout

Pay the Security Deposit, design services, buildout, Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment and Utilities, permits, signage, and professional fees as incurred. Most of these payments go to landlords, contractors, suppliers, and other third parties.

3

Beginning 60–90 days before opening

Start the Grand Opening Marketing program and spend at least $5,000 by opening. The franchisor may request evidence of the expenditures. The official training and support page describes the broader pre-launch sequence, but the FDD controls the disclosed payment amount and timing.

4

Before opening and through the first three months

Pay approximately $120 for required proprietary materials, fund training travel and living expenses if training is required or elected, and use the $10,000 to $25,000 three-month operating allowance for startup operating expenses, including payroll but not owner compensation.

5

After opening

Pay the royalty by Friday on the previous week’s receipts and meet the ongoing advertising, software, website, event, and conditional fee obligations described below.

Payment-sequence sources: 2026 FDD, Items 1, 5, 6, 7 and 11, pp. 1, 6–16 and 20–25.

OPENING DEADLINE

If an approved location is secured by signing, the Studio must open within 180 days. Without an approved location at signing, the deadline is 270 days. Delays can extend rent, professional, travel, and other third-party costs even though Item 7 does not create a separate delay allowance. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, p. 24.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after the Studio opens?

The principal continuing obligation is the royalty. For one Studio, the 2026 FDD states a standard rate of 8% of weekly receipts, while Item 6 displays a 5% to 10% system range because expansion incentives and older arrangements use different rates. Receipts include money received for instruction, lessons, services, parties, competitions, trips, clubs, memberships, and similar services.

Continuing fee or obligation Amount or basis Timing / condition
Royalty Fee 5%–10%; standard rate 8% of weekly Gross Receipts Friday for prior week; minimum annual royalty basis begins in year two
National Advertising Contribution Up to 2% of weekly Gross Receipts or other fair share Friday when national advertising or promotion is charged
Advertising and Public Relations Requirement At least 12% of annual Gross Receipts Approved media; qualifying national, regional, local and cooperative amounts may count
Agenda Master Software License Fee Currently none; expected $150 per month in 2026 When implemented; may increase to cover software costs
Website Licensing Fee Currently none; expected $350 per month in 2026 When implemented; may increase up to 10% annually
Centralized Digital Advertising Platform Fee Approximately 5%–10% of third-party media spend Optional as disclosed, with future mandatory participation contemplated
Teaching Time Obligations Currently $50 per personal lesson 15 days after invoice when another franchisee teaches prepaid lessons
Convention $625 registration As incurred; convention currently held once every two years, plus travel and living costs

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–13; Item 11, pp. 21–24.

Beginning with the second year, the minimum annual Royalty Fee is based on assumed annual Gross Receipts of $175,000, with any additional amount due by January 31. The FDD states the basis rather than a separate “minimum royalty” dollar line, so no annual sales estimate is calculated here. Existing franchisees opening additional Studios may qualify for reduced Royalty Fee schedules of 5% to 7% under expansion programs. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 11–12 and Exhibit E.

Advertising cooperative payments vary by market and are set by participating franchisees, not the franchisor; the FDD gives no minimum or maximum. A future Technology Fee may include fixed, variable, and one-time charges, but Item 6 gives no current amount. Those two obligations are explicit uncertainties rather than omitted costs.

EVENT-TRIGGERED COSTS

Which conditional fees can create additional cash demands?

Item 6 contains several charges that do not arise in ordinary weeks but can become material after a late payment, reporting failure, transfer, default, unauthorized activity, or termination. These amounts are outside the routine opening budget unless the opening-cost table expressly includes an initial payment.

  • Check Handling: $30 when a bank does not honor a check. More than three dishonored checks in a year can trigger six months of specified alternative payment methods.

  • Interest: the lesser of 1.5% per month or the highest lawful rate on amounts more than 10 days late.

  • Administrative Fee: $100 for each report past due, reporting failure, discrepancy, or understatement of receipts.

  • Audit: reimbursement of costs and expenses if an audit or inspection results from missing information or understated receipts.

  • Contest Entry or Participation: $50 to $200 per person for specified dinner or dance awards programs; separate sponsored dance-competition entry fees may also apply.

  • Lobbying: Item 6 lists $1,000 as billed, explains that allocations vary, and notes that the last system charge was $3,800.

  • Rules violation: $7,500 in Liquidated Damages for each deliberate or major violation.

  • Unauthorized competition or event: the higher of 25% of related revenue or other consideration and $10,000.

  • Required meeting or event: $1,000 for each missed required meeting or event.

  • Administrative Transfer Fee: $5,000 before or at the effective date of an approved assignment.

  • Demand Note: $25,000 on demand if manuals and training aids are not returned after the Franchise Agreement ends.

  • Post-term trademark use: Liquidated Damages equal to 25% of weekly receipts while the Marks are used after termination or expiration.

  • Curing Defaults, Costs and Attorneys’ Fees, and Indemnification: variable amounts determined by the circumstances.

Source for the trigger list: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–11. The figures are contractual fee disclosures, not forecasts that every franchisee will incur them.

RENEWAL AND RELOCATION

The Franchise Agreement has an initial 10-year term and automatically renews for successive five-year terms unless notice is given, but renewal may require a new agreement and remodel. Item 17 does not disclose a fixed Renewal Fee. Relocation carries no fee payable to Arthur Murray International, Inc., but a replacement site must meet current standards, so lease, buildout, signage, permit, and moving costs remain variable third-party obligations. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 12 and 17, pp. 26 and 33–37.

DEVELOPMENT PATHS

Do additional Studios, conversions, and takeovers use the same cost range?

Only one opening-cost range is disclosed. The current disclosure does not provide a separate Total Estimated Initial Investment for a conversion, resale, takeover, or additional Studio, so those paths cannot be assigned a verified total from the current disclosure.

Standard new Studio

The published Item 7 range applies to one Studio. This is the only complete opening-cost contract in the current disclosure.

Additional Studio in an approved Market Area

Each location requires a separate then-current Franchise Agreement and approval. Item 12 states that no fee is required for a new Studio in this Market Area structure, but it does not provide a reduced opening-cost total. Existing franchisees may also qualify for reduced royalty schedules under expansion programs.

Independent-studio conversion

The official conversion page says an existing location, staff, and students may reduce investment and opening time. The current disclosure does not quantify a conversion range, so any reduction must be documented for the specific premises and agreement.

Former market area or Studio takeover

A buyer entering a market where a Studio previously operated may have to pay outstanding debts, cure other obligations, and teach paid-for but untaught lessons. The amount varies and is not included as a separate Item 7 line. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, p. 16.

FORMAT DIFFERENCE

A conversion that reduces initial costs, or the absence of a fee for an additional Studio, does not mean there is no opening investment. The premises, equipment, signage, approvals, marketing, the three-month operating allowance, and any inherited obligations still require a location-specific cost schedule, and the FDD does not publish that alternative total.

FUNDING AND QUALIFICATIONS

How much cash or net worth must a candidate prove?

No dollar Liquid Capital, net-worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds minimum is disclosed in the 2026 FDD or on the official U.S. franchise page checked July 18, 2026. That absence does not convert the disclosed low end into a cash qualification. The franchisor can still evaluate a candidate’s financial capacity, credit, collateral, and ability to fund the full opening plan.

  • Total Estimated Initial Investment: the FDD’s estimated opening range, including the three-month operating allowance.

  • Franchise fee: the $25,000 nonrefundable contract payment due at signing, not the total cost to open.

  • Liquid Capital: no dollar threshold is disclosed; it should not be inferred from the $122,500 low end.

  • Net worth: no candidate threshold is disclosed, and net worth is not the same as cash available for buildout and operations.

  • Personal Guarantee: entity owners must sign a guaranty, and an owner assigning the Franchise Agreement to a corporation or limited liability company remains personally bound. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 1 and 15, pp. 1 and 32.

Item 10 states that the franchisor offers no direct or indirect Financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or obligation. Third-party financing depends on creditworthiness, collateral, lender policies, and market availability. A financing approval would not change the contractual Item 7 costs or remove the need to fund payments when due. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 7 and 10, pp. 16 and 20.

BUYER VERIFICATION

What should be confirmed before relying on the cost range?

The official total is a useful boundary, but the buyer-specific cash requirement depends on the exact site, lease, buildout scope, technology implementation, development path, and opening obligations. The following checks address the unresolved variables in the current disclosure.

  • Obtain the current FDD and all state addenda, then confirm that the June 30, 2026 Item 7 table remains effective for the transaction date.

  • Request a written premises budget showing landlord work, tenant work, the tenant improvement allowance, dance-floor specifications, signage, permits, and whether architectural services are required.

  • Confirm whether the Agenda Master Software License Fee, Website Licensing Fee, Digital Experience Platform, centralized digital advertising platform, or Technology Fee has become mandatory and obtain the current charge schedule.

  • For an additional Studio, conversion, resale, or former market area, obtain a separate written cost schedule rather than applying the standard opening-cost range without adjustment.

  • Ask for the candidate-specific liquidity, net-worth, credit, collateral, and Personal Guarantee standards because no dollar qualification threshold is published.

  • Verify local cooperative advertising assessments and how National Advertising Contributions count toward the 12% Advertising and Public Relations Requirement.

  • Use the Federal Trade Commission’s franchise buyer guide to review the disclosure timing, contract, and independent-adviser checks before signing or paying.

COST IMPLICATION

The verified Item 7 range is controlled chiefly by the premises contract: buildout creates most of the official variation, real estate ownership is excluded, and a conversion or additional Studio has no separate opening-cost total. The franchise fee, liquidity, and recurring-fee obligations must therefore be evaluated as separate capital questions.

Official domestic franchise information Current U.S. offer context and development paths.
State registration status Government list used to confirm an active U.S. registration.
FTC franchise buyer guidance Federal guidance on FDD review and pre-signing due diligence.