How much does a Best Western hotel franchise cost?
There is no one usable startup-cost range. The 2026 Membership FDD issued by Best Western International, Inc. discloses separate Item 7 estimates for seven hotel brands, and each brand has a new-construction range and a conversion range. Across all 14 disclosed brand-and-development combinations, the estimates run from $581,925 for the low end of a 75-room Best Western conversion to $32,499,275 for the high end of a 120-room Best Western Premier new build.
This is the full envelope across 14 separate 2026 Item 7 ranges, not a single estimate for one hotel. The correct capital figure depends first on the applicable brand, modeled room count, and whether the project is a conversion or new construction. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 35–53.
- Legal franchisor
- Best Western International, Inc., an Arizona nonprofit corporation.
- Document basis
- 2026 FDD, issued February 27, 2026; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17 reviewed for cost obligations.
- Covered offers
- Best Western, Best Western Plus, Best Western Premier, @Home by Best Western, Executive Residency by Best Western, GLō and Aiden; new construction and conversion.
- Checked
- July 20, 2026. FDD citations remain unlinked because no matching 2026 copy was verified on an official franchise-controlled website. Corporate identity can be checked on the official corporate overview.
Capital snapshot
The following figures summarize different obligations. They should not be added together unless the 2026 FDD says the amount is outside Item 7.
Seven brands, each with a new-build and conversion range.
For the modeled 75- to 120-room hotels in Item 7.
Three months, depending on brand and modeled property.
3.5% only for the qualifying legacy ownership structure described in Item 6.
Billed one month in arrears.
Per guest room, per month.
The development path matters more than a single brand-level cost label. For every disclosed brand, the conversion range is materially below the new-construction range because the conversion table may assign a $0 low end to renovation work or Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment (FF&E) when an existing hotel already meets requirements. Actual conversion costs still depend on the property's condition and the required design work.
How do the 2026 investment ranges differ by hotel brand?
The 2026 FDD models different room counts by brand, so these ranges are not interchangeable. The official brand portfolio includes additional brands, but the figures below apply only to the seven offers named in this FDD. They should not be applied to Vīb, BW Signature Collection, BW Premier Collection, WorldHotels or SureStay offers.
Floating bars use a common $0 to $32.50 million scale. Solid bars are new construction; outlined bars are conversions.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 35–53. Bar positions are derived only to place the official low and high endpoints on a common scale; the labeled ranges are the FDD figures.
What drives the range inside a 75-room Best Western new build?
Construction Work is the dominant disclosed category. The second chart plots the highest disclosed amount for six major Item 7 categories, using $10.5 million as the full bar length. It is not a total, average or midpoint.
Bars show category maximums; each label also shows the official low-to-high range.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 35–36. Bar lengths are derived as each official maximum divided by the $10,500,000 Construction Work maximum. Conditional extension fees and smaller categories are not plotted, so the chart does not reconcile to the official total.
Aiden has a cost obligation the other six formats do not
Aiden System Hotels must hire a management company that meets the franchisor’s standards and receives approval. Item 7 includes $24,000–$36,000 for three months of Management Company fees for both the 90-room new-construction and conversion models. The other six brand tables do not include that line item.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 51–57; Item 8, p. 58; Item 15, p. 83.
What is paid before opening, and when is it due?
The cash outflow begins before Board approval and continues through construction or renovation, systems installation, training and opening. The 2026 FDD's payment sequence is more useful than treating the upfront affiliation payment as the entire startup cost.
| Payment entity | 2026 amount | When paid | How to interpret it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Impact Study Fee | $0–$4,000 | Before commissioning an impact study | Optional contribution. If approval conditions are met, the $4,000 is credited toward the Affiliation Fee. |
| Evaluation Fee | $4,000 | With the Application for Membership | Non-refundable and not credited to another payment. |
| Affiliation Fee | $45,000 + $200/room above 50 | Before Board consideration | The modeled fees are $50,000 for 75 rooms through $59,000 for 120 rooms. Refundability depends on the application outcome and deadlines. |
| Distribution Photography Package Fee | $1,200–$8,000 | As required before opening | Starting amount depends on brand; one room night for the photographer may also be required. |
| Initial Training Fees | $3,350–$6,000 | As required | Includes Voting Representative Brand Orientation and the applicable General Manager training. |
| Required system installations | $5,650–$7,050 | During installation or implementation | PMS installation $1,500, IoT hardware $550, BWI Two-Way installation $1,500, and HMSS installation $2,100–$3,500. These are components of the Computer System estimate, not additions to the Item 7 total. |
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 14–17; Item 7, pp. 35–57; Item 11, pp. 67–70.
The Franchise Rule generally requires delivery at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. See the FTC's FDD review guidance.
Up to $4,000 is paid before the study is commissioned. Credit and refund treatment depend on the Application Deadline, Board presentation and approval outcome.
The $4,000 Evaluation Fee is due with the application and is non-refundable.
The amount is $45,000 for 50 rooms or fewer, plus $200 for every room above 50, up to 1,000 rooms.
Construction Work or Renovation Work, FF&E, Inventory and Operating Equipment, Signage, permits, insurance and the Computer System are paid to contractors, suppliers, agencies and the franchisor or affiliates according to project timing.
Photography, Green Key Global certification, training and required systems must be in place. The official development-process page describes the broader design, pre-opening and training framework, while the FDD controls the disclosed fees.
Item 7 includes conditional delay fees in its ranges: up to $35,000 for extensions to begin new construction and one quarter of the applicable Entrance Fee for each approved three-month opening extension. A buyer should not treat those amounts as unavoidable, but should confirm whether the project schedule makes them likely.
What does Additional Funds cover?
Additional Funds are already included in every Item 7 total. The 2026 estimates cover the initial three months and include working capital for staff salaries and operating expenses. Depending on the brand model, the range is $270,000–$544,950. The FDD states that these estimates exclude debt service and lease costs; it does not identify owner compensation or distributions as a separate included component.
Do not add Additional Funds to the total a second time. Also, the Item 7 tables do not provide a separate line for acquiring land or purchasing an existing hotel. The buyer should verify the treatment of real estate acquisition, lease deposits and financing costs for the specific transaction.
Which Best Western fees continue after opening?
The recurring cost contract is not one royalty percentage. It combines Monthly Fees based on Property Room Revenue (PRR), per-room assessments, annual dues, technology charges, loyalty-program costs, distribution fees and regional cooperative charges. PRR includes room-rental revenue and specified loyalty redemptions, breakfast amounts included in the room rate, guaranteed no-show revenue and credit transactions, less allowed room rebates and overcharges; taxes collected directly from guests are excluded.
| Recurring fee | Amount or basis | Timing | Decision point |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly Fees | 5% of PRR | Monthly, one month in arrears | 3.5% applies only to the qualifying legacy ownership structure described in Item 6. |
| Marketing and Technology Fees | 2.10% of PRR | Monthly, one month in arrears | Comprises sales/marketing and technology assessments. |
| Advertising Assessment | $16.86 per room/month | Upon statement receipt | Separate from regional cooperative charges. |
| Annual Dues | Tiered room formula | September 15 for the next fiscal year | $2,345.45 for 20 rooms, then three per-room tiers. |
| On-Boarding Program Service and Support | $15,000 total | 12 equal monthly installments | Applies to new System Hotels. |
| PMS/GMS, HMSS, IoT and Two-Way support | Multiple fixed/per-room charges | Monthly | $3.97 per room/month for AutoClerk Atlas PMS and GMS; $130 HMSS; $9.99 IoT; $0–$921 Two-Way maintenance. |
| Green Key Global maintenance | $500 every 3 years | During the Membership Agreement | Follows the initial $675 certification included in Item 7. |
| Regional Co-Op Membership Fee | Varies | Monthly | The FDD gives an example of about $100/month plus about $1.50 per room, often capped at 150 rooms; each cooperative sets its fee. |
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 18–34; Item 8, p. 58; Item 11, pp. 64–70.
Which fees depend on reservations or guest programs?
The percentage fees cannot be converted into a reliable annual dollar amount without a hotel-specific PRR figure and the applicable mix of rewards, direct, GDS and third-party bookings. The FDD supplies fee bases, not a buyer's annual fee budget.
Which fees change when the property, ownership or compliance status changes?
Item 6 contains material event-triggered costs that are not part of ordinary monthly operations. They matter when a project is delayed, rooms are added, ownership changes, a property relocates, standards are missed or the Membership Agreement ends early.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 14–17; Item 6, pp. 27–32; Item 17, pp. 84–89.
Is there a renewal fee?
The 2026 FDD does not disclose a separate Renewal Fee. The Membership Agreement begins an Extended-Length Term of 20 years after activation on the reservations system and automatically renews for successive 10-year terms unless either party gives timely non-renewal notice. Renewal can still involve compliance, refurbishment and operating expenditures under then-current standards even without a stated renewal payment.
The franchisor can adopt Refurbishment Programs. Under the disclosed governance process, a Board program generally requires a member vote when required items exceed $150 per room through Best Western Supply or when most properties are expected to need a trade person for installation. The FDD does not provide a universal future refurbishment amount.
Does Best Western disclose liquid capital, net worth or financing?
The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum Liquid Capital requirement or Net Worth requirement. That is different from saying a buyer needs no equity. Item 7 still discloses substantial project costs, and lender underwriting may require cash equity, collateral, guarantees and reserves.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7 note 18, p. 57; Item 10, p. 62. The official partnership overview describes the member-owned relationship but does not replace lender-specific capital requirements.
Request a transaction-specific sources-and-uses schedule that separates the Item 7 hotel-development budget from land or hotel acquisition, loan fees, interest carry, debt service, lease obligations and lender reserves. None of those should be inferred from a missing financial-qualification threshold.
What costs remain uncertain after reading Item 7?
The official range is a starting contract disclosure, not a property-specific budget. The FDD says actual costs may vary substantially with the existing hotel's age, condition, physical structure and furnishings, and with local construction, material and labor costs.
The official official U.S. development information and ownership and development overview describe the current development platform. The cost obligations should still be verified against the latest FDD, Membership Agreement, approval letter and project documents before payment.
What is the practical cost conclusion?
A prospective U.S. member should select the exact 2026 Item 7 table before setting a capital target. The disclosed totals extend from $581,925–$2,557,075 for the modeled 75-room conversion at the low end to $17,000,975–$32,499,275 for the modeled 120-room premium new build at the high end. The upfront affiliation payment is only a small part of the project budget, while post-opening percentage, per-room, per-booking and conditional charges require a separate operating-fee schedule. The largest unresolved amount is the site-specific construction or conversion scope.