A Saladworks franchise is a staffed, made-to-order fast-casual restaurant. The franchisee funds and runs the Approved Location, hires and trains unit personnel, buys controlled inputs, prepares approved menu items, fulfills dine-in, pickup, delivery and catering orders, and reports every sale through franchisor-designated technology.
What does a Saladworks franchisee sell, and who buys it?
The Restaurant sells approved food and beverages to the general public through on-premises dining, carry-out, online pickup, delivery and catering. The current consumer menu presents salads, warm grain bowls, wraps, melts, soups, kids’ meals, sides, desserts and beverages, while menu availability can vary by location.
Saladworks, LLC licenses the System rather than an unrestricted restaurant concept. The franchisee must offer all required Approved Services and Products, follow Proprietary Recipes, hold sufficient inventory, and sell only authorized items. The official Saladworks menu and create-your-own ordering steps show the guest-facing choice structure; Item 16 and Franchise Agreement Section 7.10 establish the restriction.
Catering is required. The official catering channel accepts salad bars, sandwich or wrap trays, boxed lunches and catering bundles. Delivery radius, minimum order and delivery fee vary by location, so local fulfillment terms operate inside the franchisor’s catering standards.
| Operating path | Agreement structure | Material distinction |
|---|---|---|
| SALADWORKS Restaurant | Franchise Agreement for one Approved Location | Offers the Saladworks menu and required channels under the System. |
| Co-Brand Restaurant | Franchise Agreement plus Affiliate Product Line Addendum | Adds approved FRUTTA BOWLS menu items, ingredients and brand procedures. |
| Multi-unit development | Development Agreement plus a separate Franchise Agreement per Restaurant | The Development Area controls the build schedule; it is not itself an operating license. |
Evidence: 2026 FDD, Items 1, 16 and 19; Franchise Agreement Recitals and Section 1; Affiliate Product Line Addendum. Captive or semi-captive outlets appear in Item 19, but no complete separate new-unit specification is disclosed.
How does an order move through the Restaurant?
Work moves from franchisor-controlled demand channels into the required POS System, then to trained unit personnel for recipe-based preparation, customer handoff, payment or reward processing, and finally sales reporting, inventory control and quality review.
Demand and order entry
- Actor
- Guest, catering buyer or unit employee.
- Action
- Selects an approved menu item or catering package through the counter, official ordering channel or approved delivery path.
- Required system or asset
- Brand website, location page, Olo-enabled online ordering, telephone and POS System.
- Output
- A location-assigned order with item, customization, timing and fulfillment instructions.
Payment and program validation
- Actor
- Cashier, digital checkout and approved processor.
- Action
- Records the transaction, authorizes payment, and applies approved gift card or Saladworks Rewards terms.
- Required system or asset
- POS System, Worldpay processing, loyalty program and gift card program.
- Output
- A paid or authorized ticket and an auditable sales record.
Preparation and quality control
- Actor
- Properly trained Restaurant personnel under the Manager.
- Action
- Portions, assembles, packages and holds food under Proprietary Recipes, approved methods, shelf-life and food-safety rules.
- Required system or asset
- Approved ingredients, equipment, packaging, uniforms and Operations Manuals.
- Output
- A System-compliant meal or catering order ready for fulfillment.
Handoff or delivery
- Actor
- Counter team, catering team or approved delivery provider.
- Action
- Serves dine-in guests, stages pickup, releases delivery orders, or completes catering delivery and setup when applicable.
- Required system or asset
- Order ticket, packaging, pickup area and insured delivery capability when used.
- Output
- Completed customer promise and any complaint or follow-up requirement.
Reporting and operating review
- Actor
- Franchisee or Manager, with franchisor data access.
- Action
- Reconciles sales, submits required reports, manages inventory and records, resolves guest issues, and corrects inspection findings.
- Required system or asset
- POS data, monthly profit-and-loss format, intranet, seven-year records and audit access.
- Output
- Weekly sales reporting, monthly financial reporting and documented compliance.
Evidence: 2026 FDD, Items 6, 8, 11 and 16; Franchise Agreement Sections 7.10–7.13 and 10–11; Operations Manuals table of contents. The official Rewards FAQ distinguishes first-party ordering from third-party delivery orders for loyalty treatment.
Who runs the unit, and which staffing decisions remain local?
The franchisee or at least one principal must devote personal full-time attention and best efforts to management and operation. Day-to-day supervision may be delegated to a trained Manager, but each Restaurant must always have a Manager who completed Saladworks initial training.
The Manager works full time, acts for the franchisee in dealings with Saladworks, LLC, and must be identified to the franchisor. Every multi-unit location needs a trained Manager. A replacement must be hired within 30 days and complete initial training within 60 days, subject to trainer availability.
The franchisee hires, schedules, supervises, trains and pays Restaurant personnel. The FDD discloses no required headcount, shift pattern or staffing ratio. Scheduling, timekeeping and payroll modules remain optional; the franchisee may use alternative software or another method.
The contract does not support an absentee-operation label. Delegating the daily floor to a Manager does not remove the principal’s separate full-time attention and best-efforts obligation under Franchise Agreement Section 7.10.6.
Who performs each operating function?
The franchisor defines the System and controls specified inputs and channels; the franchisee executes the Restaurant operation and bears employer, vendor, legal and financial responsibility; designated third parties provide required distribution, payment and digital infrastructure.
Franchisee
Saladworks, LLC
Designated third parties
Which suppliers and technologies are mandatory?
The franchisee cannot freely source the operating stack. Inventory, equipment, fixtures, furnishings, display units, signs, uniforms, supplies and materials must come from Saladworks, LLC or approved or designated sources, and the franchisor can revoke an approval or change specifications.
The Prime Supplier Program designates an exclusive distributor for proprietary and non-proprietary food, paper and janitorial products. A Co-Brand Restaurant also buys specified FRUTTA BOWLS ingredients through the program. Alternative suppliers require review; approval may cover only a named product line, and approved suppliers must report franchisee purchases.
Evidence: 2026 FDD, Items 8 and 11 and Exhibits E, J and K; Franchise Agreement Sections 7.8 and 7.12–7.13. The Technology Bundle, hardware and network may change; the franchisee remains responsible for operation, maintenance and PCI compliance.
What does the franchisor control, and what can the franchisee decide?
Saladworks, LLC controls the branded operating system: approved products, recipes, suppliers, technology, minimum operating periods, marketing materials, digital presence, loyalty and gift cards, quality standards, inspections and data access. The franchisee controls local employment, day-to-day execution, retail pricing and certain back-office tools within those boundaries.
SW Brand Fund, LLC administers the Brand Development Fund; the franchisee executes the Local Advertising Requirement under approved plans and materials. Systemwide promotions can mandate limited-time products, point-of-purchase materials, promotional pricing or coupons. Additional local spending is permitted, but unapproved materials and independent brand websites are prohibited.
Franchise Agreement Section 12.1 preserves the franchisee’s right to set retail prices, subject to required systemwide promotions, approved discounts and coupon controls. The FDD does not state that Saladworks, LLC sets every ordinary menu price.
Saladworks, LLC has independent access to POS information with no contractual access limitation stated in Item 11. The franchisor may retrieve and use recorded information, require approved processing and mandate system or connectivity updates; the franchisee bears the operating and compliance consequences.
How far does territorial protection extend?
Each approved Restaurant receives a protected Territory, but not an exclusive territory. The protected area can be no larger than the Approved Location, and the franchisor retains broad rights for alternative channels, captive sites, different marks and customers who contact the brand directly.
While the franchisee remains compliant, Saladworks generally will not license another System Restaurant under the Proprietary Marks inside the Territory. Protection does not block the loyalty program, gift card program, branded food trucks, salad stations, store-within-a-store placements, captive locations or Saladworks items sold through establishments operating mainly under different marks.
The franchisee cannot independently use e-commerce, create a brand website, register a Saladworks domain or run unapproved internet advertising. Saladworks, LLC controls the master digital presence; the franchisee may customize an approved location page and use authorized social pages under the Social Media Policy. See the official location directory.
A Development Area protects a development schedule, not all demand. It ends under the Development Agreement’s stated triggers and does not itself authorize operation; every Restaurant still needs its own Franchise Agreement, Approved Location and separately designated Territory.
What does Item 20 show about the operating network?
At September 28, 2025, the U.S. system contained 84 outlets: 83 franchised and one company-owned. Item 20 also reports that total outlets declined from 99 at the end of 2023 to 91 at the end of 2024 and 84 at the end of 2025.
Fiscal 2025 U.S. outlet composition
Exact outlet count at September 28, 2025
The network is overwhelmingly franchise-operated, so most customer execution, employment and local compliance sit with independent franchisees rather than company-owned Restaurants.
Source: 2026 Saladworks FDD, Item 20, Table 1. Reconciliation: 83 + 1 = 84; 98.81% + 1.19% = 100.00%.
Item 20 reports five franchised openings and nine outlets that ceased operations for other reasons in fiscal 2025. It also lists 20 signed Franchise Agreements for outlets not yet open and seven projected new franchised outlets. These pipeline figures are not completed openings or current outlet counts.
The operating footprint contracted in each disclosed year. That does not explain individual unit economics, but it makes current franchisee validation, closure reasons, signed-but-not-open timing and support capacity material operating diligence questions.
Which operating questions remain undisclosed or location-specific?
The FDD defines control rights and core processes but does not disclose a model headcount, shift plan, current store-level service times, exact local delivery economics, detailed required inventory pars, or the complete current contents of the confidential Operations Manuals.
How should the Saladworks operating model be summarized?
Saladworks converts guest and catering demand into made-to-order sales through a controlled Restaurant, online ordering, delivery, loyalty program and gift card program. The franchisee’s central responsibility is full-time management, staffing, inventory, preparation, fulfillment, reporting and legal compliance. The strongest dependencies are Proprietary Recipes, approved suppliers, designated technology, marketing and data access. A protected Territory remains non-exclusive. The largest unresolved question is the location-specific labor, throughput and delivery model needed to meet the required service standard.
Official public operating links: Saladworks franchise website; Saladworks consumer website; current menu and ordering channels; create-your-own product flow; catering menu and fulfillment FAQ; Saladworks Rewards FAQ; and official Restaurant directory.
Contractual citations: Saladworks, LLC 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document, issuance date January 23, 2026; Items 1, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19 and 20; Franchise Agreement Sections 1, 7, 10, 11 and 12; Operations Manuals table of contents; Sysco Application and Agreement; Worldpay Contract; Affiliate Product Line Addendum.