An H&R Block franchise operates a staffed tax-preparation office inside a prescribed Franchise Territory. The franchisee or Principal runs day-to-day operations, hires qualified personnel, prepares and electronically files returns through the H&R Block System, records every sale, and follows mandatory product, technology, client-service, data-security, and reporting rules.
H&R Block Tax Services LLC, an indirect wholly owned subsidiary of H&R Block, Inc.
2025 U.S. FDD, issued September 30, 2025; Items 1, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19, and 20.
New retail office, purchase of an existing company-owned office, approved additional retail or government-site locations, and authorized H&R Block Small Business services.
U.S. system-wide outlet summary for fiscal years ended June 30, 2023, 2024, and 2025. Official pages checked July 29, 2026.
How does the H&R Block franchise model work after opening?
The unit converts taxpayer demand into completed, approved, and electronically filed returns. H&R Block supplies the brand, proprietary tax software, national marketing, operating Manual, product programs, and support. The franchisee supplies the Approved Location, local team, supervision, compliant service execution, office equipment, operating expenses, client follow-up, and reporting through required systems.
U.S. outlets at June 30, 2025.
Affiliate-operated outlets in the same summary.
Day-to-day operation and best efforts are required.
In person, document drop-off, and virtual service.
Evidence: 2025 H&R Block Tax Services FDD, Item 1, pp. 1–6; Item 15, p. 33; Item 20, pp. 37–49; Franchise License Agreement §§2, 7–11. See the official U.S. tax-business opportunities page and assisted tax-service overview.
What does the franchisee sell, and who buys it?
The Required Services center on federal, state, and local income-tax return preparation and electronic filing for individual taxpayers, with specified guarantees, protection products, financial-product facilitation, notice support, and review services.
The 2025 FDD names MyBlock, Approve Online, the H&R Block Emerald Prepaid Mastercard®, Refund Transfers, Spruce Accounts, Peace of Mind®, Tax Identity Shield®, Tax Notice Services, Second Look® Review, and Video Appointments among the products or services the office must offer. Emerald Financial Services, LLC and an approved banking partner govern financial products through the annually accepted Franchise Financial Products Distribution Agreement.
An authorized franchisee may add H&R Block Small Business bookkeeping, payroll, and non-attest, non-audit general accounting services through a separate addendum. Those services remain limited to Approved Locations and H&R Block-approved systems. The FDD does not authorize every franchisee automatically, and the franchisor may change Required Services and Optional Services.
The franchisee may sell only products and services approved in writing. H&R Block can add, reclassify, or discontinue Authorized Services; current pricing is left to the franchisee under the 2025 disclosure, although H&R Block reserves the right to specify prices where law permits.
Evidence: 2025 FDD, Item 1, pp. 4–5; Item 8, pp. 15–16; Item 16, pp. 33–34; Exhibit F-2. Official operating context: bookkeeping services and payroll services.
How does work move through an H&R Block office?
The operating cycle begins with H&R Block or locally approved marketing, moves through intake and tax preparation, and ends with client approval, e-filing, payment capture, support obligations, and system reporting.
Demand and scheduling
Intake and document collection
Return preparation
Review, approval, and signature
E-file, products, and payment
Follow-up and reporting
The official client journey confirms document drop-off, virtual tax preparation, while the assisted tax-service overview describes office-based access. Contractual basis: 2025 FDD, Items 1, 6, 8, and 11; FLA §§6, 8, 10, and 11.
Who performs each operating function?
H&R Block defines the System and supplies controlled infrastructure; the franchisee or Principal remains responsible for daily execution; approved suppliers, banking partners, and regulators control critical inputs.
Franchisee and unit team
- Franchisee or Principal directly conducts day-to-day operations and devotes full-time best efforts.
- Franchisee hires, trains, schedules, pays, and supervises qualified employees.
- Tax professionals prepare accurate returns, sign as required, and use valid PTINs.
- A designated technical point of contact manages Block Tech Ready issues and updates.
H&R Block
- Provides proprietary tax-preparation and e-file software, Manual access, training, reporting forms, and operating advice.
- Controls national advertising, local creative approval, Authorized Services, office standards, and technology specifications.
- Accesses Client Data, sales reporting, hardware information, and limited employee information.
- May inspect operations and audit financial or business records without prior notice.
Third parties and affiliates
- Emerald Financial Services, LLC and the approved banking partner govern designated financial products.
- Approved vendors supply office modules, computers, routers, payment devices, and specified equipment.
- The IRS issues the EFIN and PTIN framework and regulates electronic filing and paid preparers.
- Insurance may come from the Franchise Insurance Program or a qualifying independent carrier.
This is not disclosed as an absentee model. The Principal must direct day-to-day operations and devote full-time best efforts, although the Principal need not remain physically present during every business hour. Qualified staff must cover the office, and day-to-day owners or managers must complete Initial Training.
Official role context identifies tax professionals, team leaders, receptionists, and bookkeepers across retail and franchise offices, but the FDD does not prescribe a unit headcount. See H&R Block tax-office roles. Regulatory context: IRS EFIN requirements and IRS PTIN requirements.
Which technology, suppliers, and operating rules are mandatory?
The unit must operate on the H&R Block System, Block Tech Ready standards, approved hardware, Block-managed security, proprietary software, and specified reporting tools; independent tax software and unapproved network configurations are prohibited.
Franchisor-controlled
- Required and Optional Services; product terms; Manual revisions.
- Approved Locations, floor plans, office appearance, signage, and minimum office hours.
- Windows-based tax software, Block-managed encryption and antivirus, approved computer models, Cradlepoint router, and supported payment devices.
- Advertising approval, digital-marketing permissions, data practices, revenue reporting, inspections, and audits.
Franchisee-controlled within standards
- Employee selection, staffing level, compensation, schedules, and local supervision.
- Lease negotiation and payment of payroll, rent, utilities, supplies, insurance, and other operating expenses.
- Current prices charged to clients, subject to applicable law and future H&R Block specification rights.
- Whether to purchase qualifying third-party insurance and whether to request authorization for Optional Services or additional local marketing.
A typical office network requires Windows 11 Enterprise, Block-managed disk encryption and anti-virus, approved computers purchased through Coupa, a Cradlepoint E3000 router, and at least 5 Mbps upload and download bandwidth. H&R Block can require upgrades, replacements, and revised specifications at the franchisee’s expense and maintains independent access to information stored or generated by the office systems.
Supplier classification matters. The FDD states there is no purchasing cooperative. Some office modules and computer equipment must come from approved suppliers; other items may be purchased through approved vendors. Financial products must use the approved banking partner unless H&R Block gives written authorization, while required insurance may be purchased independently if the carrier and coverage satisfy the disclosed standards.
Evidence: 2025 FDD, Item 8, pp. 14–16; Item 11, pp. 22–29; FLA §§8–11; Operations Manual Table of Contents, Exhibit J. H&R Block’s data-security rules operate alongside current IRS taxpayer-data safeguards.
What protection does the Franchise Territory provide?
The Franchise Territory limits where another Network Office using both the Licensed Marks and the H&R Block System may be placed, but it is expressly non-exclusive and does not protect the franchisee from H&R Block’s digital channels, other brands, or reserved distribution methods.
A rural Franchise Territory is generally described by municipal boundaries; a metropolitan grant may be a mapped area or only a specific address. The franchisee may serve clients who live outside the Franchise Territory when the Authorized Services are performed at or through an Approved Location inside it. Adding or relocating an Approved Location requires written approval and an amendment.
The franchisee may advertise in media originating inside the Franchise Territory even when its reach extends beyond the boundary. Independent websites, internet sales, digital promotion, unsolicited email, automated calls, and similar channels require permission or are prohibited. H&R Block and its affiliates retain internet, mobile-application, virtual-service, software, and alternative-brand rights inside the territory.
A Franchise Territory is not customer exclusivity. The contract protects against another physical Network Office in the defined area while the franchisee is compliant, but not against company-owned offices outside the boundary, digital delivery into the area, or services offered under another mark.
Evidence: 2025 FDD, Item 12, pp. 29–30; Item 16, pp. 33–34; FLA §§2.1–2.4 and 11.3.
What does Item 20 show about the outlet mix?
At June 30, 2025, H&R Block reported 8,688 U.S. outlets: 1,987 franchised and 6,701 company-owned. The operating network is therefore predominantly company-owned, even though the franchise agreement governs a substantial national franchised population.
U.S. outlet composition at June 30, 2025
Mutually exclusive franchised and company-owned outlets; total reconciles to 8,688.
From fiscal 2023 through fiscal 2025, year-end franchised outlets decreased from 2,339 to 1,987, while company-owned outlets increased from 6,582 to 6,701. Item 20 reports the counts but does not assign an operating cause to the change.
Source: 2025 H&R Block Tax Services FDD, Item 20, Table No. 1, p. 37. Percentages: 1,987 ÷ 8,688 and 6,701 ÷ 8,688; rounded to two decimals and reconciled to 100.00%.
Which operating questions remain unit-specific?
The FDD defines the control architecture but does not disclose the staffing plan, digital-lead allocation, client mix, or exact systems configuration for a particular Franchise Territory or Approved Location.
- Confirm every Approved Location and whether the Franchise Territory is a mapped area or a single address.
- Identify which Required Services and Optional Services apply for the next Tax Season.
- Request the current Block Tech Ready list, replacement schedule, and approved-vendor requirements.
- Verify how website appointments, virtual clients, and drop-off work are routed between franchised and company-owned offices.
- Review actual office hours, seasonal staffing roles, training status, PTINs, and EFIN ownership.
- Confirm current banking partner agreements, product eligibility, insurance evidence, and local licensing obligations.
The customer mechanism is assisted tax preparation followed by approval, e-filing, payment, and follow-up. The franchisee’s primary responsibility is accurate, compliant service delivery through a properly staffed Approved Location. The strongest dependency is H&R Block’s control of the Manual, software, data environment, Authorized Services, and channels. The most consequential distinction is that physical territory protection does not include digital exclusivity. The largest undisclosed question is how digital and virtual demand is allocated to a specific franchise office.
Primary evidence used
- H&R Block Tax Services LLC, 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document, Items 1, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19, and 20; Franchise License Agreement; H&R Block Small Business Addendum; Operations Manual Table of Contents.
- Official H&R Block U.S. franchise, tax-office, drop-off, virtual-service, small-business, and careers pages linked above.
- Official IRS EFIN, PTIN, and taxpayer-data security pages linked above.