How to Start an H&R Block Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Opening timeline

How long does it take to open an H&R Block franchise?

30–120 days Official estimate for a new office

The 2025 FDD estimates 30 to 120 days from signing the Franchise License Agreement to opening a new Franchised Business. That is an estimate, not a promise. Financing, lease completion, equipment installation, zoning or building approvals, and Initial Training may lengthen it. Separately, FLA §2.1 requires the initial Approved Location to open within 14 days after the Effective Date, so the signing and effective-date sequence must be reconciled in writing before execution.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: H&R Block Tax Services LLC. Disclosure: 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document issued September 30, 2025. Applicable paths: new retail office, approved acquisition or transfer, and approved retail or government-facility location; optional small-business services require an addendum. Timeline mode: official total estimate. Primary evidence: FDD Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20; Franchise License Agreement §§2, 7–10, 13–14, 22, 33–38. Checked July 15, 2026. See the official H&R Block U.S. website.
EFIN Required before signing The FDD makes IRS e-file authorization a pre-agreement gate.
61 hrs Possible Initial Training 42 virtual plus 19 on-the-job hours may apply.
800–1,200 Typical square feet New retail-office planning range in Item 7.
Full-time Best-efforts obligation Franchisee or Principal directs day-to-day operations.
Qualification

What must an applicant qualify for before signing?

The firm must first be eligible to prepare and electronically file returns, and H&R Block must approve the candidate, ownership structure, Principal, territory, and location. The 2025 FDD does not publish a universal minimum net worth, liquid-capital amount, credit score, degree, or prior tax-experience threshold for a new applicant. Meeting the disclosed prerequisites therefore does not guarantee approval or an award.

✓

Obtain an EFIN. H&R Block says it will not sign a binding franchise or related agreement until the applicant has an Electronic Filing Identification Number. The IRS authorized e-file provider process includes firm and responsible-official information plus a suitability check.

✓

Confirm PTIN coverage. Each paid federal return preparer must hold a valid current-year PTIN under the IRS PTIN requirements; state preparer registrations may also apply.

✓

Identify the operating person. An entity franchisee is permitted only at H&R Block’s option and must have an approved Principal who signs personally and assumes the agreement obligations.

✓

Document the entity and finances. The FLA calls for formation and governing documents, ownership disclosure, authorizing resolutions, and recent financial statements in the form H&R Block requests.

Evidence: 2025 FDD, Item 1 pp. 5–6 and Item 15 p. 33; FLA §§22, 33 and 34. Transfer candidates face additional then-current criteria concerning education, business skill, experience, aptitude, character, reputation, and financial resources under FLA §18; those transfer criteria should not be presented as universal published minimums for every new applicant.

Verified roadmap

What is the opening sequence from inquiry to first day?

The sequence is licensing first, disclosure and approval next, then an already-identified site, agreement execution, buildout, training, and opening readiness. H&R Block does not disclose a separate development agreement or a universal “award day.” Inquiry, application, candidate approval, FDD receipt, site approval, signing, and opening remain distinct events.

1

Define the proposed path

Action: State whether the request is a new office, existing-office acquisition, transfer, or approved alternative site.

Actor: Applicant and H&R Block.

Blocker: Territory, office, or transaction availability is not promised.

2

Clear tax-practice eligibility

Action: Complete the IRS e-file application, suitability review, EFIN issuance, PTIN planning, and applicable state registrations.

Actor: Applicant, responsible officials, IRS, and state authorities.

Next dependency: EFIN must exist before a binding H&R Block agreement.

3

Receive and review the disclosure package

Action: Review the FDD, FLA, state amendments, territory exhibit, software and financial-product agreements, and any applicable addendum.

Actor: Applicant and chosen professional advisers.

Timing: Federal review period applies before signing or payment.

4

Secure a proposed office and territory

Action: Select or acquire the location, obtain written site approval, and verify the Franchise Territory in FLA Exhibit A.

Actor: Applicant selects and negotiates; H&R Block approves.

Blocker: Landlord consent, proximity, parking, size, traffic, or lease terms.

5

Finalize entity and sign the FLA

Action: Deliver entity, ownership and financial records; sign the FLA, Principal obligations, Franchise Territory exhibit, and relevant attachments.

Actor: Franchisee, Principal, Franchisee’s Associates, and H&R Block officer.

Timing: The $2,500 initial fee is due at execution and is nonrefundable.

6

Approve the plan and complete the premises

Action: Submit the floor plan before construction, then complete permits, buildout, signage, furniture, utilities, and approved suppliers.

Actor: Franchisee, H&R Block, landlord, contractors, suppliers, and authorities.

Blocker: Work cannot start before written floor-plan approval.

7

Install systems and complete training

Action: Meet Block Tech Ready standards, install the secure network, accept required electronic agreements, and complete Initial Training to H&R Block’s satisfaction.

Actor: Franchisee, Principal, designated managers, approved vendors, and H&R Block trainers.

Next dependency: Staff, insurance, equipment, and compliance must be operational.

8

Verify readiness and open

Action: Confirm the Approved Location, permits, insurance evidence, trained personnel, approved marketing, supplies, signage, and authorized systems.

Actor: Franchisee controls completion; H&R Block verifies its approvals.

Uncertainty: The FDD does not describe a separate opening certificate or inspection that replaces these requirements.

Site approval

How do territory, site, lease, and buildout approval work?

The applicant is responsible for finding and controlling the office; H&R Block gives written approval but does not guarantee the site’s performance. Item 11 says the office must be leased or acquired before signing the FLA. H&R Block evaluates the area, traffic patterns, parking, size, and proximity to existing offices. A typical new office is 800 to 1,200 square feet, with parking for at least five automobiles.

The Franchise Territory is documented in FLA Exhibit A. A rural territory may track municipal boundaries, while a metropolitan territory may be a mapped area or only a specific address. It is not an exclusive market: H&R Block and affiliates retain online, digital, alternative-brand, and other channel rights. Adding or relocating an Approved Location requires written permission and an FLA amendment.

Before construction or renovation, the franchisee must submit the prescribed floor plan and wait for written approval. The lease must contain assignment or sublease language permitting assignment to H&R Block in the form described in the Manual. Local zoning, building, signage, occupancy, and professional-license requirements depend on the jurisdiction; the FDD expressly places permits, code compliance, construction, decorating, and hiring on the franchisee rather than the franchisor.

Site approval is not territory protection

Written approval authorizes one Approved Location. It does not create an exclusive territory, guarantee landlord consent, confirm local permits, approve later relocation, or prevent H&R Block’s retained digital and alternative-channel activities.

Evidence: 2025 FDD, Item 7 pp. 13–14, Item 11 pp. 22–23 and Item 12 pp. 29–30; FLA §§7.4 and 10.7.

Timing evidence

Which disclosed timing windows can control the opening date?

Five official windows affect different stages, so they must not be added into one generic total. The opening estimate is the only disclosed end-to-end range. The other periods begin from FDD delivery, IRS application submission, H&R Block’s receipt of a floor plan, or the FLA Effective Date.

Disclosed duration and deadline ladder

Scale: calendar days, with each row’s trigger shown separately

0306090120
Federal FDD reviewAfter delivery; before signing or payment
14 days
IRS EFIN approvalFrom complete application submission
Up to 45
Floor-plan decisionAfter H&R Block receives the proposed plan
21 days
New-office opening estimateFrom FLA signing to opening
30–120
Contract opening deadlineAfter the FLA Effective Date
14 days

Interpretation: the 14-day contract deadline and the 30–120-day FDD estimate use different legal labels but appear to overlap the signing-to-opening period. A buyer should obtain a written explanation of the intended Effective Date and readiness schedule before signing.

Sources: 2025 FDD, Item 11 p. 22; FLA §§2.1 and 10.7(B); FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide; IRS authorized e-file provider guidance. The FTC period is 14 calendar days; counting begins the day after delivery, and signing or payment may occur on the fifteenth day. The rows are not additive.

Responsibility matrix

Who is responsible for each pre-opening dependency?

Most execution risk remains with the franchisee and third parties. H&R Block’s contractual assistance covers approval, training, standards, Manual access, tax software, and limited operating-plan information. It does not shift responsibility for financing, the lease, permits, construction, employees, or local compliance.

Pre-opening responsibility map

Assistance and approval are separated from performance obligations

Applicant / Franchisee

EFIN, PTIN and state preparer eligibility
Site selection, lease negotiation and entity records
Permits, buildout, staffing, insurance and utilities
Approved equipment, training completion and opening readiness

H&R Block

Candidate, Principal, territory and site decisions
Floor-plan approval or disapproval
Manual access, System standards and tax software
Initial Training and standard signage loan

Third parties

IRS e-file authorization and suitability review
Landlord consent and lease performance
Local permits, inspections and code compliance
Contractor, supplier, utility and insurance delivery

Evidence: 2025 FDD, Items 8, 9 and 11; FLA §§7–10. H&R Block may assist with site selection, but the applicant selects the site and bears lease and site-performance risk.

Training and readiness

What training, systems, insurance, and staff must be ready?

The franchisee, Principal, and every owner or manager with day-to-day oversight must complete Initial Training to H&R Block’s satisfaction. Training is facilitated quarterly. The first session is in person in Kansas City, Missouri, and other sessions are virtual; prework and self-study may apply. H&R Block may also require management-level employees. Tuition is not charged for Initial Training, but the franchisee pays travel, lodging, wages, and related expenses.

The office must meet Block Tech Ready standards, use approved Windows-based hardware, operate on a secure H&R Block-only network, and use the franchisor’s proprietary tax-preparation and electronic-filing software. A technical point of contact must be a franchisee, Franchisee’s Associate, or employee. The annual electronic filing and software agreement must be accepted before software use; required financial products and Peace of Mind offerings carry separate acknowledgments or agreements.

Required insurance must be in force before operations, with certificates and endorsements delivered as H&R Block prescribes. If insurance is purchased outside the Franchise Insurance Program, Item 8 specifies an A-VII-or-better carrier and stated liability, errors-and-omissions, and replacement-cost limits. Employees must be qualified, trained for their roles, and subject to required confidentiality, restrictive-covenant, background-check, and system-access procedures.

Opening-readiness file

✓

Written Approved Location and Franchise Territory exhibit

✓

Lease assignment language and landlord approvals

✓

Approved floor plan, completed buildout and local clearances

✓

Insurance certificates and required endorsements

✓

Block Tech Ready hardware, network and technical contact

✓

Completed Initial Training and required staff training

✓

Approved signage, furniture, supplies and marketing materials

✓

Current EFIN, PTINs and applicable state registrations

Evidence: 2025 FDD, Items 8, 11 and 15; FLA §§7, 8, 10.10 and 12. The FDD does not state that training completion alone authorizes opening.

Format differences

Do acquisitions and alternative locations follow the same process?

No. The FLA remains the core agreement, but transaction approval, landlord consent, transfer review, and supplemental documents differ. The 2025 FDD does not disclose an Area Development Agreement or a multi-unit development schedule. Multiple Approved Locations are handled through the FLA, Franchise Territory, written location approvals, and amendments rather than a separate area-development contract.

New retail office

Document: FLA with Franchise Territory exhibit.

Critical gate: proposed site must be leased or acquired before signing and approved in writing.

Existing office or transfer

Document: transfer package and potentially the then-current FLA.

Critical gate: complete financial, ownership and transaction materials; H&R Block approval; landlord consent where required.

Retail or government facility

Document: written permission and FLA amendment under the applicable host agreement.

Critical gate: H&R Block’s agreement with the retailer, military facility, or government installation must permit franchisee operation.

Small-business services

Document: H&R Block Small Business – Standard Addendum.

Critical gate: separate authorization, approved systems, and service scope; licensed audit or attest work is excluded.

Format difference

The assisted acquisition program described in Item 1 is limited to existing qualified franchisees. A first-time applicant should not assume that program, its hardware support, or its financing path applies to a new-office opening.

Evidence: 2025 FDD, Items 1, 10, 11, 12 and 17; FLA §§2.4, 17 and 18; Exhibit F-2.

Buyer verification

What should be verified before signing and before opening?

The buyer should obtain written answers for every unresolved trigger rather than relying on an assumed standard franchise sequence. Use the current Item 20 contact list to ask existing and former franchisees how H&R Block handled site approval, training scheduling, technology installation, and first-season readiness in comparable markets. The FTC consumer franchise guide explains how to use an FDD and interview franchisees.

?

What exact event will be the FLA Effective Date, and how will the 14-day opening deadline be satisfied alongside the 30–120-day estimate?

?

Is the proposed Franchise Territory a city boundary, mapped area, or a single address, and what retained channels may serve clients inside it?

?

Has the landlord accepted the required assignment language, signage plan, construction scope, and any consent needed for an acquired office?

?

Which owners, managers, and employees must attend each training session, and what completion standard or remedial training applies?

?

Which current Block Tech Ready models, approved suppliers, electronic agreements, and insurance endorsements apply to this office?

?

Does H&R Block require any written pre-opening review beyond site approval, floor-plan approval, training completion, and insurance evidence?

Most FLA breaches have at least a 15-day cure period, but some events can support immediate termination without cure, including suspension or denial from IRS e-file, failure to maintain required insurance, and certain fraud, competition, transfer, or repeated-default events. State amendments may change enforceability or notice rules, so the final state-specific agreement controls.

Synthesis

What is the practical bottom line?

The verified path is to obtain IRS e-file eligibility, pass H&R Block’s candidate and ownership review, receive and review the 2025 disclosure package, secure an approved territory and office, sign the FLA and attachments, complete the approved premises and systems, finish required training, document insurance and regulatory readiness, and then open. The total timeline is an official 30–120-day estimate, not a guarantee. The main applicant-controlled dependency is securing a compliant location before signing; the main third-party dependency is IRS, landlord, permit, contractor, and supplier timing. The key unresolved issue is how H&R Block applies the FLA’s 14-day post-Effective-Date opening deadline to the specific transaction.