How Does Floyd's 99 Franchise Work?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

A Floyd’s 99 franchise operates a fixed-site retail Barbershop where licensed barbers and stylists deliver approved hair-care services, sell approved grooming products, and process walk-ins, reservations, payments, inventory, and reporting through franchisor-specified systems. The franchisee employs the team and runs the shop; Floyd’s 99 Franchising, LLC controls the operating standards, brand channels, data access, and supplier framework.

Data basis: Floyd’s 99 Franchising, LLC 2026 U.S. FDD, issued July 9, 2026; standard Shop, multi-unit Development Agreement, case-by-case unit franchise, and Resale Shop paths; Items 1, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19, and 20; governing agreements; and Operations Manual table of contents. Item 20 reports through December 31, 2025. Official pages were checked July 29, 2026. No matching franchise-controlled public 2026 FDD was verified, so FDD citations are unlinked.
Operating model in one view

The unit converts local demand and brand-generated digital traffic into chair time. Front-desk or operations staff organize the queue and bookings; licensed professionals perform the approved service menu; the POS System records the client, sale, card payment, inventory movement, and follow-up data; and the Principal Manager keeps staffing, standards, local marketing, and reporting in compliance.

143 U.S. Shops System total at December 31, 2025.
72 Franchised 50.3% of the 2025 system footprint.
10–12 Typical chairs Custom barber chairs in a standard Shop.
2 Primary intake modes Walk-in service and advance reservations.
Full-time Principal Manager Approved leader with day-to-day oversight.

Offering and demand

What does a Floyd’s 99 franchisee sell, and who buys it?

The franchisee sells approved in-shop hair-care services and grooming merchandise to clients. The 2026 FDD identifies haircuts, color, barber-specific services, facial waxing, and professional products for men and women, with demand primarily oriented toward male clientele. The current service menu adds scalp treatments, styling, and milestone cuts.

Chair services

Cuts, fades, shaves, beard work, color, styling, treatments, waxing, and approved add-ons, performed only within each professional’s license.

Retail products

Approved grooming and hair-care products, including FLOYD’S 99 Grooming and specified brands, held in the prescribed mix and inventory level.

Stored value

A mandatory gift-card program with separate records, reconciliation procedures, and franchisee responsibility for stored-value law compliance.

The Shop may serve clients from any area, but sales are location-centered. Wholesale and off-premises, Internet, catalog, or mail-order sales require prior written consent. Floyd’s 99 Franchising, LLC reserves online and alternative-channel rights for branded and competing merchandise.

Evidence: 2026 FDD Items 1, 8, 12, and 16; Franchise Agreement §§10.1(e), 11.1, 13.1, and 14.4. Official context: consumer website, gift cards, and client FAQs.

Service cycle

How does work move through a Floyd’s 99 Shop?

The Shop combines walk-in demand with reservations and appointments. Its POS System manages intake, card processing, inventory, sales records, and reporting. Because the FDD discloses no universal headcount or shift pattern, this workflow maps functions rather than assumed staffing ratios.

1

Demand enters the Shop

Actor
Client; brand and local marketing.
Action
Walk in, book online, call, or respond to approved promotion.
System/asset
Location pages, advertising, telephone, POS booking.
Output
Arrival, reservation, appointment, or inquiry.
2

Queue, reservation, and professional match

Actor
Front-desk staff or Shop manager.
Action
Confirm service and route the client to an available, properly licensed professional.
System/asset
POS queue, schedules, licensed-professional roster.
Output
Checked-in client assigned to chair capacity.
3

Consultation and service delivery

Actor
Licensed barber, cosmetologist, or stylist.
Action
Consult and perform only approved services within the professional’s license.
System/asset
Chair, approved tools and backbar, sanitation standards.
Output
Completed service or approved add-on.
4

Product recommendation and completion check

Actor
Service professional; manager if needed.
Action
Check the result, recommend approved retail, and apply refund, redo, or adjustment procedures.
System/asset
Approved product mix and client-service procedures.
Output
Accepted result, retail selection, or documented follow-up.
5

Payment and transaction recording

Actor
Front-desk staff; client.
Action
Process service, product, discount, card, or gift-card transaction.
System/asset
POS System, designated processor, Card Program records.
Output
Recorded sale, inventory movement, payment, and Customer Data.
6

Reporting, reconciliation, and repeat demand

Actor
Franchisee, Principal Manager, bookkeeping staff, franchisor.
Action
Review data; submit Gross Sales, financial, advertising, and card reports; support follow-up.
System/asset
POS data, accounting system, electronic transfer, approved CRM.
Output
Reports, payments, audit trail, and repeat-service activity.
Customer data control

Floyd’s 99 Franchising, LLC owns Customer Data. The franchisee uses it only to operate the Shop, provides access credentials, protects it, and cannot sell or share it without approval. Client service is local; data control is centralized.

Evidence: 2026 FDD Items 8, 11, and 19; Franchise Agreement §§10.1(g), 12.3, 13.6, and 17.1–17.5; Operations Manual table of contents, Chapters 7 and 10.

People and accountability

Can the franchise be manager-run, and who performs each function?

An entity franchisee may use a manager-run structure, but the Shop cannot be unmanaged. The approved Principal Manager must devote full time and best efforts to oversight. An individual franchisee is the Principal Manager; during an absence, another management-level employee who completed Floyd’s training must manage the Shop.

Owner participation

For an entity, the Principal Manager must own at least 5% of the franchisee or receive at least 5% of Shop net profits and hold a right to acquire 5% equity within 12 months. The manager must be able to reach each assigned Shop within 60 minutes.

  • Franchisee: owns the Shop, employs the team, sets pay and schedules, pays vendors, and handles legal compliance.
  • Principal Manager: directs operations, maintains standards, and has authority in franchisor dealings.
  • Barbershop manager: provides trained location management when the Principal Manager is absent.
  • Licensed professionals: consult and perform approved services within their credentials.
  • Front-desk or operations staff: manage booking, client flow, cash handling, POS, and coverage support.
  • Franchisor personnel or designees: consult, train, inspect, update standards, and administer brand marketing.

Each Barbershop must employ at least one person with a barber’s license and one with a cosmetology license; every professional must hold required credentials. The FDD does not disclose required headcount, labor ratios, booth rental, or shift design.

Evidence: 2026 FDD Items 1, 11, and 15; Franchise Agreement §§6.3–6.4 and 10.1. Official context: support and training and technical education.

Responsibility map

Which decisions belong to the franchisee, the franchisor, and third parties?

The franchisee controls employment and local execution. Floyd’s 99 Franchising, LLC controls Licensed Methods, approved offerings, systems, advertising, Customer Data, and quality standards. Designated and approved suppliers provide critical products, technology, network, signage, and support inputs.

Franchisee decides and executes

  • Hiring, firing, compensation, discipline, and schedules.
  • Daily staff deployment and management coverage.
  • Bookkeeping, payroll, tax, insurance, and legal compliance.
  • Local advertising placement, after required approval.
  • Approved services, products, promotions, and hours.

Franchisor specifies or controls

  • Operations Manual, service, décor, equipment, and sanitation standards.
  • POS specifications, Customer Data, electronic advertising, and Card Programs.
  • Supplier approval, inspections, audits, reporting, and system changes.
  • Prior consent for generative AI used in Shop operations.
  • Mountain Star, Inc. distributes Proprietary Items made by 3 Lefty’s, LLC.

Third-party dependencies

  • Elevate Services LLC provides information technology services.
  • Vector Security provides designated network-as-a-service.
  • 3DX Signs supplies exterior-sign services.
  • Designated providers supply POS, processing, messaging, phones, and support.
  • Unnamed designated providers supply the POS System, card processing, messaging, phones, and support services.

Evidence: 2026 FDD Items 8 and 11; Franchise Agreement §§8–10, 13–14, and 17. The Operations Manual is mandatory; employment and daily operation remain the franchisee’s responsibility.

Systems and inputs

Which technology and supplier relationships are mandatory?

The Shop must use the specified cloud POS System, designated card processing, approved network and security services, compliant accounting capabilities, Internet, and Shop phones. Floyd’s may require upgrades, replacement hardware, software, remote access, security changes, and integrations on notice, generally at the franchisee’s expense.

Client and chair layer Walk-ins, reservations, appointments, staff schedules, client profiles, and service selection. Specified POS System
Transaction layer Sales, approved discounts, credit cards, gift cards, text and email messaging, and inventory movement. Designated processors
Infrastructure layer Internet connectivity, firewall protection, failover, phones, monitoring, security cameras, and remote support. Approved network vendors
Reporting layer Weekly Gross Sales, monthly financial statements, quarterly local-advertising reports, inventory reports, and five-year record retention. Franchisor data access

Alternate suppliers require a written proposal, specifications or samples, and possible testing costs. Designated sources remain mandatory; approvals and standards can change. The FDD identifies 3 Lefty’s, LLC as manufacturer, Mountain Star, Inc. as distributor, Elevate Services LLC as technology provider, Vector Security for network services, and 3DX Signs for exterior signage.

Evidence: 2026 FDD Items 6, 8, and 11; Franchise Agreement §§14.5–14.7 and 17.1. The current POS vendor, software version, full supplier list, and subscription schedule are not disclosed.

Territory and channels

What protection does the franchisee receive, and what is excluded?

The Designated Area guides site selection and is non-exclusive. After site approval, a Protected Territory generally blocks another FLOYD’S 99 Shop while the franchisee remains compliant. It does not exclude reserved products, Internet activity, alternative channels, competitive brands, or Captive Audience Facilities.

What the Protected Territory covers

A geographic area around the Franchised Location, often about a one-mile radius but adjustable for demographics, competition, access, parking, and market conditions. The Shop may advertise and serve clients outside it.

What remains reserved

Online and wholesale distribution, mail order, direct marketing, temporary events, alternative displays, different proprietary brands, and potential Shops in airports, campuses, hospitals, hotels, offices, and similar facilities.

A non-exclusive Development Area continues only while the Development Schedule is met. For a Captive Audience Facility inside it or the Protected Territory, the franchisee has 15 days to accept franchisor-negotiated terms; otherwise another operator may take the opportunity.

Evidence: 2026 FDD Items 12 and 16. No Captive Audience Facility contracts existed on July 9, 2026.

System footprint

What does Item 20 show about the operating network?

At December 31, 2025, the system had 143 U.S. Shops: 72 franchised and 71 Company-Owned, all held by entities affiliated with Floyd’s 99 Holdings, LLC. Franchisees therefore operate alongside a nearly equal affiliate-owned population.

2025 U.S. outlet composition

Exact Shop count at December 31, 2025

143 total Shops
  • Franchised Shops 72 · 50.3%
  • Company-Owned Shops 71 · 49.7%

Interpretation: franchised Shops rose from 62 in 2023 to 72 in 2025; Company-Owned Shops moved from 74 to 71; total Shops rose from 136 to 143.

Source: 2026 FDD Item 20, Table 1, p. 48. Calculations: 72 ÷ 143 and 71 ÷ 143; counts reconcile to 143 and 100.0%.

Item 20 also reports seven franchised openings, one franchised cessation, two Company-Owned Shops sold to a franchisee, and 12 signed but unopened franchise agreements in 2025. No new Company-Owned Shops opened.

Diligence priorities

Which operating details still require buyer verification?

The FDD defines the contractual model but not every live Shop standard. A buyer should verify the current Operations Manual, supplier list, POS configuration, licensing matrix, and manager coverage plan for the proposed market.

  1. Map territory. Obtain the Designated Area, Protected Territory, Development Area, and reserved-channel exceptions in writing.
  2. Test management. Confirm Principal Manager approval, training, economics, 60-minute access, and backup coverage.
  3. Request technology details. Identify POS, terminals, processor, messaging limits, security, integrations, remote access, and replacement cycle.
  4. Request suppliers. Separate designated sources from alternatives and confirm lead times for products, chairs, signage, and network services.
  5. Map licenses. Match each service to required state credentials and coverage during mandated operating hours.
  6. Review data controls. Confirm CRM access, privacy, breach response, gift-cardreconciliation, reviews, and generative-AI approval.

Primary operating references

Contractual operating framework
2026 FDD, issued July 9, 2026; Items 1, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19, and 20; Franchise Agreement; Development Agreement; Operations Manual table of contents.
Official franchise system
Franchise website and franchise FAQs.
Current customer offering
Services, client FAQs, and booking support.
Professional workforce context
Careers and technical education.
Operating-model synthesis

Floyd’s 99 converts walk-in and booked demand into licensed chair services, retail sales, and repeat activity recorded through the POS System. The franchisee’s central responsibility is a licensed, trained team under a full-time Principal Manager. The strongest dependency is franchisor control of the Operations Manual, offering, Customer Data, technology, advertising, and suppliers. The key territory distinction is protected but non-exclusive fixed-site coverage with broad reserved channels. The largest undisclosed issue is the current staffing and shift model.