How Does the Doc Popcorn Franchise Work?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Operating model in one view

Doc Popcorn operates as a fixed-site snack retail system: the franchisee runs an approved PopKiosk or PopShop, prepares fresh flavored popcorn from proprietary blends, serves walk-up and approved catering or event demand, records sales through designated systems, and buys core inputs from controlled suppliers.

Legal franchisor
Doc Popcorn Franchising L.L.C.
Disclosure basis
2026 U.S. FDD, issued April 16, 2026
Current disclosed formats
PopKiosk and PopShop, each with mobile/catering rights
Operating evidence
Items 1, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19 and 20; Franchise Agreement
Item 20 period
Fiscal years 2023–2025; year ended September 27, 2025
Date checked
July 31, 2026
2Fixed formatsPopKiosk and PopShop are the current disclosed offers.
78Franchised outletsItem 20 Table 3 at fiscal 2025 year-end.
0Company-owned outletsReported for 2023, 2024 and 2025.
NoneExclusive territoryProtection may attach to an approved Event, not a market.
Day 3Monthly sales reportGross Revenue reporting is due after each month.

Source: 2026 Doc Popcorn FDD, Items 1, 6, 12 and 20, pp. 2–3, 7–11, 27–28 and 36–39; Franchise Agreement §7.10.

Offering and demand

What does a Doc Popcorn unit sell, and who buys it?

The Franchised Business sells fresh flavored popcorn made with proprietary Doc Popcorn Blends, proprietary packaging, soft drinks, bottled water and other approved Doc Popcorn Products to the general public. The transaction is principally retail and venue-based, with approved mobile and catering work extending a fixed unit beyond its Permanent Site.

PopKiosk

Compact high-traffic retail

A PopKiosk is typically 160–350 square feet in a high-traffic venue. The franchisee prepares and serves approved products from the accepted Permanent Site using specified equipment and trade dress.

PopShop

Larger fixed retail

A PopShop is typically 300–1,200 square feet and follows the same controlled product system. Both fixed formats may use unit equipment for approved mobile or catering services.

The flavor catalog shows the assortment, while the catering page describes Mobile PopCart service, bulk purchases and delivery at participating locations. The FDD and Franchise Agreement control franchisee channels.

Channel limit

The brand advertises regional home delivery, but franchisees need approval for internet, mail-order, wholesale, catalog or direct marketing. Doc Popcorn Franchising L.L.C. and its affiliates reserve alternative channels, so e-commerce is not a franchisee-owned territory.

Source: 2026 Doc Popcorn FDD, Items 1, 12 and 16, pp. 2–3, 27–28 and 31; Franchise Agreement §§1.2, 7.6 and 9. Official context: Doc Popcorn consumer site.

Transaction cycle

How does work move through the unit?

Work starts at an approved site or Event, moves through controlled purchasing and fresh preparation, and ends with transaction recording, monthly reporting and correction. Permanent Site and Event procedures differ, but execution remains the franchisee’s responsibility.

1

Secure the selling channel

Actor
Franchisee or Designated Manager
Action
Operate the accepted Permanent Site; identify and contract for approved Events.
Required system or asset
Unit Rider, site acceptance, lease or Event contract, franchisor intranet when Event protection is requested.
Output
An authorized place and time to sell Doc Popcorn Products.
2

Order controlled inputs

Actor
Franchisee or unit manager
Action
Forecast and purchase Doc Popcorn Blends, packaging, beverages, supplies and replacement equipment.
Required system or asset
Doc Popcorn L.L.C. and approved or designated suppliers; required inventory standards.
Output
Approved ingredients and operating supplies available for production.
3

Prepare and present product

Actor
Trained unit employees under franchisee supervision
Action
Pop, flavor, package, display and serve only approved products using System methods.
Required system or asset
Approved Operating Unit, equipment, recipes, Franchise Operations Manual, uniforms and sanitation procedures.
Output
Sale-ready product meeting brand, food-safety and venue standards.
4

Take and fulfill the order

Actor
Unit employee
Action
Serve walk-up customers or fulfill an approved catering or Event order.
Required system or asset
Square point-of-sale at a Permanent Site; approved cash and reporting method at a non-permanent Event.
Output
A completed sale included in Gross Revenue.
5

Record and report activity

Actor
Franchisee
Action
Reconcile transactions, maintain books, submit monthly Gross Revenue and Event Reports, and retain records.
Required system or asset
Square, QuickBooks standardized chart of accounts, internet, email and electronic funds transfer.
Output
Auditable operating data and calculated recurring obligations.
6

Correct and repeat

Actor
Franchisee, with franchisor oversight
Action
Address customer complaints, inspection findings, equipment issues, product changes and data-security incidents.
Required system or asset
Franchise Operations Manual, inspection rights, records access and approved replacement specifications.
Output
A corrected unit ready for the next service cycle.

Source: 2026 Doc Popcorn FDD, Items 8, 11, 12 and 16, pp. 15–17, 19–28 and 31; Franchise Agreement §§7.2, 7.6, 7.10 and 9.1–9.2, agreement pp. 12–20.

Roles and discretion

Who performs each function, and who controls the decision?

The franchisee is the employer and day-to-day operator. Doc Popcorn Franchising L.L.C. controls System approvals, specifications and audits. Named affiliates, platforms, landlords and Event organizers supply inputs or access the unit cannot replace unilaterally.

Franchisee

  • Hire, pay, schedule, train and supervise unit employees.
  • Run daily production, service, sanitation and cash control.
  • Source leases and select, contract and schedule Events.
  • Execute approved local advertising and required promotions.
  • Maintain licenses, records, insurance and legal compliance.

Franchisor

  • Approve the Permanent Site, relocation, Events and advertising.
  • Define approved products, suppliers, preparation and appearance.
  • Specify technology, reporting, records and data access.
  • Inspect operations, audit books and require corrections.
  • Change the Franchise Operations Manual and System standards.

Third-party dependencies

  • Doc Popcorn L.L.C. supplies core blends and proprietary equipment.
  • The ICEE Company supplies certain ICEE and Slush Puppie products.
  • Square records Permanent Site transactions; QuickBooks holds books.
  • Landlords and venue operators govern site access and operating conditions.
  • Approved suppliers provide packaging, beverages and specified equipment.

Demand support is split between the Advertising Fund and local execution. The franchisee contributes 1% of Gross Revenue to the fund, spends 2% locally, uses approved materials and joins required promotions or cooperatives. The fund need not benefit a particular territory.

Owner participation

The FDD recommends substantial full-time, daily in-person attention by an owner or Designated Manager; it does not require the owner to work every shift. A Designated Manager need not hold equity, but the designated principal and any Manager must complete PopTraining before sales unless waived in writing.

The franchisor is not the employer or joint employer of unit personnel. Recruiting, compensation, scheduling, discipline and workplace compliance remain with the franchisee; System standards govern product preparation and service. The FDD does not disclose headcount, shift ratios or labor hours.

Source: 2026 Doc Popcorn FDD, Items 6, 11 and 15, pp. 7–11, 19–26 and 30–31; Franchise Agreement §§5.2, 6.2, 7.3 and 7.4.

Controlled inputs

Which suppliers, equipment and systems are mandatory?

Core inputs are controlled. The franchisee must use Doc Popcorn L.L.C. or approved and designated suppliers, maintain required technology, and adopt later specifications.

Proprietary supply
Doc Popcorn L.L.C. is the only approved supplier of the PopCart, PopKiosk and Doc Popcorn Blends. At least $5,000 of Doc Popcorn Products must be ordered in each 360-day period.
Beverage supply
The ICEE Company supplies specified ICEE and Slush Puppie products. Packaging, beverages, fixtures and equipment require approved or designated sources.
Transaction system
Square is identified in Item 11 as the fixed-unit point-of-sale platform. A non-permanent Event need not use an electronic point-of-sale system, but its sales still require approved monthly reporting.
Books and reporting
QuickBooks Small Business Accounting, the standardized chart, internet, email and the franchisor intranet support reporting and data access. Records are retained seven years.
Change authority
Doc Popcorn Franchising L.L.C. may revise specifications, revoke supplier approval, require upgraded hardware or software, inspect the unit and access electronic operating information without a contractual usage limitation.

An alternative supplier requires a written submission, samples and approval. The FDD requires a response within 90 days and says review generally takes seven days; the proposed source cannot be used while approval is pending. Approval may later be revoked.

Supplier dependency

Doc Popcorn L.L.C. received $1,056,997 during fiscal 2025 from product and equipment services to franchisees, and designated suppliers may pay it rebates. This does not measure unit profitability; it shows that an affiliated company is embedded in the replenishment path.

Source: 2026 Doc Popcorn FDD, Items 6, 8 and 11, pp. 7–11 and 15–26; Franchise Agreement §§7.6, 7.10 and 10.4, agreement pp. 12–23. Platform context: Square Retail POS and QuickBooks accounting.

Market access

How do territory and Event rights work?

The franchise grants no exclusive geography or customer class. A fixed unit is approved for one Permanent Site; a mobile or catering path may protect a recurring Event only by satisfying the Protected Event conditions.

Permanent Site

The franchisee cannot relocate or operate the fixed Operating Unit elsewhere without prior written consent. The franchisor considers proximity when reviewing another site, but may operate or license competing channels and brands without market exclusivity or compensation.

Protected Event

Protection requires a written Event contract, operation at the most recent occurrence, posting required details to the franchisor intranet, approval, continued participation and compliance with the Franchise Operations Manual. The franchisee must submit a monthly Event Report.

The franchisee selects and schedules Events; the franchisor does not promise venues. Protection applies only to the approved Event and can be lost through nonparticipation, loss of organizer approval or procedural default. It also creates a right of first refusal when the organizer requests expanded Doc Popcorn service.

Source: 2026 Doc Popcorn FDD, Item 12, pp. 27–28; Franchise Agreement §9.1, agreement pp. 18–20.

System footprint

What does Item 20 show about the operating network?

The disclosed U.S. system was entirely franchised at each year-end: 76 outlets in 2023, 79 in 2024 and 78 in 2025, with no company-owned outlets.

Franchised outlets at fiscal year-end
Item 20 Table 3, fiscal years ended in 2023, 2024 and 2025
72 74 76 78 80 76 79 78 2023 2024 2025
The network added three net outlets in 2023 and 2024, then declined by one in 2025. Item 20 reports no company-owned outlets or projected openings as of September 27, 2025.

Source: 2026 Doc Popcorn FDD, Item 20, Tables 3–5, pp. 37–39. Table 3 supplies the 2025 ending count because the 2025 ending cell in Table 1 is blank.

The system has no company-store base. Item 1 reports 31 co-branded Doc Popcorn/Dippin’ Dots franchises as of September 27, 2025; each brand requires a separate FDD and agreement.

Official U.S. co-brand franchise page and the support page describe the combined concept. J&J Snack Foods Corp., the ultimate parent, reports through its 2025 Form 10-K; the FDD controls franchise obligations.

Buyer verification

Which operating questions remain unresolved?

The FDD does not provide a complete labor model, order mix or every current implementation detail. Confirm these points for a specific unit.

  • Confirm the Unit Rider. The offer centers on PopKiosk and PopShop, while the attached form retains PopCart, PopTruck and PopTrailer checkboxes. Verify the authorized Operating Unit and mobile rights.
  • Confirm the current point-of-sale specification. Item 11 identifies Square, while Item 6 also names NCR Silver as a possible vendor. Obtain the current Franchise Operations Manual specification and hardware list.
  • Map online order ownership. Determine whether a local unit receives, fulfills or receives credit for official home-delivery orders; the FDD grants no independent internet sales right.
  • Test supplier execution. Review current Doc Popcorn L.L.C. catalogs, order minimum calculations, shipping lead times, approved substitutions, equipment service and discontinued-product procedures.
  • Build a staffing plan. The FDD does not disclose headcount, shift coverage, production capacity or labor ratios. Venue hours and food-safety rules will shape the roster.
Synthesis

What is the practical operating model?

Doc Popcorn converts walk-up and approved Event demand into retail sales of freshly prepared Doc Popcorn Products. The franchisee’s central responsibility is local execution: staffing, replenishment, preparation, service, venue upkeep and accurate records.

The strongest dependency is the franchisor-controlled System: Doc Popcorn L.L.C. supply, product restrictions, Square and QuickBooks, data access, inspections and manual changes. A Permanent Site is not exclusive territory; a qualifying recurring Event can receive narrow Protected Event status.

The largest undisclosed question is labor and throughput by format. Verify staffing, production capacity, delivery allocation and the authorized Operating Unit against the current Franchise Operations Manual and Unit Rider.