How much does a Doc Popcorn franchise cost in 2026?
The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document gives two separate fixed-location ranges: $135,000 to $352,550 for a PopKiosk and $175,500 to $393,050 for a PopShop. These are Estimated Initial Investment ranges, not franchise fees, liquidity requirements, or predictions of what a particular site will cost.
PopKiosk: $135,000–$352,550. PopShop: $175,500–$393,050. The 2026 FDD says those totals include three months of Additional Funds and a separate Payroll Expenses allowance covering pre-opening and the first 90 days. FDD Item 7, pp. 12–15.
Data basis: Doc Popcorn Franchising L.L.C.; FDD issued April 16, 2026; U.S. fixed PopKiosk and PopShop formats; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; checked July 18, 2026. The immediate parent identified in the FDD is Dippin’ Dots Holdings, L.L.C.; J&J Snack Foods Corp. identifies the 2022 Dippin’ Dots acquisition on its official company history.
No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD Item and page references in this article are intentionally unlinked. The brand’s official U.S. franchising page confirms that disclosure documents are delivered to qualified prospects during the current franchise process.
Key cost figures
First Doc Popcorn franchise; due when the Franchise Agreement is signed. Item 5, pp. 5–6.
Three months; includes specified operating items but excludes Payroll Expenses. Item 7, pp. 13–15.
Pre-opening plus the first 90 days of operation. Item 7, pp. 13–15.
Of Gross Revenue; due monthly for the preceding month. Item 6, p. 7.
Current rate on Gross Revenue; the FDD permits an increase to 2% with notice. Item 6, p. 7.
Required monthly spend based on Gross Revenue, separate from the Advertising Fund. Item 11, p. 23.
Why are the PopKiosk and PopShop investment ranges different?
The PopShop carries higher disclosed premises, equipment, opening inventory, and signage allowances. The 2026 FDD keeps the two fixed formats separate, so a PopKiosk low end must not be combined with a PopShop high-end category or vice versa.
Both bars use a $0–$400,000 scale; endpoints are the exact FDD totals.
Interpretation: the PopShop range starts and ends $40,500 above the PopKiosk range, but the category mix differs. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12–15. The $40,500 endpoint gap is a derived subtraction from the official totals.
One exact gap, two different cost structures
The PopShop low end exceeds the PopKiosk low end by $40,500, and the same $40,500 difference appears at the high end. That does not mean every PopShop costs exactly $40,500 more. It means the two official ranges are parallel at their endpoints while individual categories—especially Construction, Equipment/Décor, Opening Inventory, and Signage—carry different assumptions.
Premises and opening assets
| Item 7 expenditure | PopKiosk | PopShop | Payment timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Real Estate Lease | $1,000–$32,000 | $1,000–$32,000 | As agreed with third parties |
| Equipment/Décor | $20,000–$45,000 | $20,000–$70,000 | When purchased from Doc Popcorn L.L.C. |
| Construction | $63,000–$130,000 | $100,000–$130,000 | When purchased from supplier or affiliate |
| Architect’s Fees | $0–$14,000 | $0–$14,000 | As incurred |
| Signage | $0–$2,500 | $3,500–$12,000 | As incurred |
| Computer System | $3,000–$6,000 | $3,000–$6,000 | Before the first sale |
Fees, inventory, and the initial operating period
| Item 7 expenditure | PopKiosk | PopShop | Payment timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $15,000 | $15,000 | When the Franchise Agreement is signed |
| Training Expenses | $1,000–$3,550 | $1,000–$3,550 | At training |
| Opening Inventory | $4,000–$12,000 | $4,000–$18,000 | As incurred |
| Miscellaneous Opening Costs | $3,000–$12,500 | $3,000–$12,500 | As incurred |
| Additional Funds — 3 Months | $5,000–$40,000 | $5,000–$40,000 | As incurred |
| Payroll Expenses | $20,000–$40,000 | $20,000–$40,000 | Pre-opening and first 90 days |
Item 5 says certain third-party opening inventory—such as popcorn, sugar, oil, and office supplies—is not included in its affiliate-payment estimate, while the Item 7 Opening Inventory footnote says those third-party items are included in the Item 7 estimate. The official Item 7 totals should be preserved, but a buyer should obtain written clarification about exactly which opening staples are covered by the quoted inventory package. FDD Item 5, p. 7; Item 7, p. 14.
When is the initial cash paid?
The money is not due in one single payment. The 2026 FDD ties payments to the Franchise Agreement, training, site commitments, equipment and construction purchases, opening inventory, the Computer System, and the first three months of operation.
Sign the Franchise Agreement
Pay the $15,000 Initial Franchise Fee in full. It is generally nonrefundable, except that the franchisor may refund 50% after terminating for unsuccessful initial training, subject to a release. Item 5, pp. 5–6.
Secure an approved site and prepare for training
Real Estate Lease amounts are paid as agreed with third parties. Training travel and lodging are paid as incurred; the $1,000–$3,550 estimate assumes two attendees. Item 7, pp. 12–14.
Commit to equipment, construction, décor, and signage
These costs are due when purchased or as incurred. The FDD says a PopKiosk may involve an approximately $100,000 kiosk plus estimated shipping of $2,500–$5,000 and installation of $6,000–$12,000 within the Construction assumptions. Item 7, pp. 13–14.
Complete inventory and technology purchases before opening
Opening Inventory is acquired as incurred, and the $3,000–$6,000 Computer System must be in place before the first sale. Required products and approved-source restrictions are described in Item 8, pp. 15–17.
Fund the first 90 days
Additional Funds of $5,000–$40,000 cover specified operating costs for three months, while Payroll Expenses of $20,000–$40,000 are a separate Item 7 category for the pre-opening period and first 90 days. Item 7, pp. 13–15.
The Item 7 Real Estate Lease estimate assumes leased premises, includes one month of security deposit plus three months of rent, and is based on an approximately 160- to 1,200-square-foot location. Purchasing real estate would be outside these lease assumptions and would increase capital needs. FDD Item 7, p. 14.
Which Doc Popcorn fees continue after opening?
The central continuing obligations are a 6% Royalty Fee on Gross Revenue, a current 1% Advertising Fund contribution, a separate 2% local advertising spend requirement, a $65 monthly Technology Fee, and a Point of Sale Fee of up to $79 per month. The Advertising Fund may be increased to 2% upon 30 days’ written notice.
Bars use a 0%–6% scale. The Advertising Fund marker shows the disclosed 2% ceiling, not the current charge.
Interpretation: these are separate obligations on the disclosed Gross Revenue basis; the 2% local requirement is spending, not a payment to the Advertising Fund. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, p. 7; Item 11, p. 23.
- Gross Revenue
- The total selling price of products and services and other income related to the Doc Popcorn business, less only the exclusions stated in Item 6, including separately stated sales taxes actually paid and valid refunds, discounts, coupons, and credits.
- Royalty timing
- Due on the 10th day of each month for Gross Revenue from the preceding month.
- Technology timing
- $65 due on the 7th day of each month; the franchisor reserves the right to increase it for added technology or supplier price increases.
- Point of Sale
- Up to $79 per month, paid directly to the designated vendor.
- Local cooperative
- Participation may be required if a local or regional advertising cooperative is established. The contribution amount is determined under the cooperative structure and is not fixed in the FDD.
- Minimum product purchase
- At least $5,000 of Doc Popcorn Products in each 360-day period, an Item 8 purchase obligation rather than an Item 6 percentage fee.
Item 8 also estimates that purchases from Doc Popcorn L.L.C. or designated and approved sources represent approximately 90% of total initial cost and 30% to 50% of ongoing operating costs. The affiliate is the only approved supplier of the PopKiosk, PopCart, and Doc Popcorn Blends. FDD Item 8, pp. 15–17.
Which fees arise only after a transaction, default, or special request?
Item 6 contains material charges that are not part of the ordinary monthly fee schedule. They are triggered by transfer, renewal, late payment, audits, extra training, special marketing, supplier review, insurance failure, or other contract events.
On termination after a franchisee default, Item 17 describes a potential lump-sum obligation based on the net present value of Royalty Fees and Technology Fees that would have become due for the remaining term, using the preceding 12 months of fees as the calculation base. That obligation is not included in Item 7 and cannot be reduced to a fixed dollar estimate from the FDD. Item 17, pp. 33–34.
Does Doc Popcorn disclose liquid capital, net worth, or financing requirements?
The standalone 2026 Doc Popcorn FDD does not state a minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold, and Item 10 says Doc Popcorn Franchising L.L.C. does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or obligation. FDD Item 10, p. 18.
The current official franchise website is centered on the Dippin’ Dots and Doc Popcorn co-brand offer. Its Ideal Candidate page lists $100,000 of Liquid Capital and $300,000 of Net Worth, while the official franchising FAQ discusses a co-brand fee and investment structure that differs from the standalone 2026 Doc Popcorn FDD. Those website figures should not be silently applied to a PopKiosk or PopShop purchase without written confirmation of the exact agreement being offered.
A financing relationship is therefore not disclosed for the standalone offer. A buyer using bank, equipment, landlord, or third-party financing must still fund deposits, nonfinanced fees, working capital, and any lender-required equity. Approval by an outside lender would not alter the Item 7 range or guarantee that the disclosed Additional Funds will be sufficient.
Can the Initial Franchise Fee be reduced?
Item 5 discloses two one-time reductions: a 25% discount on the Doc Popcorn Initial Franchise Fee when a Doc Popcorn franchise and a Dippin’ Dots franchise are purchased concurrently, and a 15% discount for a qualifying current U.S. Armed Forces member or honorably discharged U.S. veteran purchasing the first Doc Popcorn franchise. The FDD identifies 25% as the highest available discount.
Item 5 also lists $5,000 per additional Doc Popcorn unit after the first franchise. However, Item 7 models a $15,000 Initial Franchise Fee in each fixed-format table and states in a footnote that the fee is $15,000 for each Franchise. Because those provisions do not align, a multi-unit buyer should not calculate a development budget by assuming either number applies to every additional unit.
Before signing a multi-unit or concurrent-brand arrangement, obtain a written fee schedule showing the fee for each agreement, whether discounts can be combined, when each unit fee is paid, and which Item 7 costs recur at each opening. The 2026 FDD does not provide a separate area-development investment table.
What can push the actual capital need toward the high end?
The largest disclosed variables are Construction, Equipment/Décor, the Real Estate Lease, architect services, Signage, Opening Inventory, Additional Funds, and Payroll Expenses. The FDD does not provide a midpoint, typical budget, or local construction allowance.
The franchisor’s official support page describes assistance with training, design, construction, and opening, but it does not replace the standalone FDD’s cost ranges or shift payment responsibility away from the franchisee.
What should a buyer verify before relying on the 2026 ranges?
The verified starting point is $135,000–$352,550 for a PopKiosk and $175,500–$393,050 for a PopShop. The most important unresolved questions are the exact opening-inventory scope, the fee for additional units, the format covered by any website qualification figures, and the site-specific construction and lease package.
Analytical synthesis: Doc Popcorn’s 2026 fixed-unit cost contract is format-sensitive rather than a single headline number. Construction and premises drive much of the range, Additional Funds and Payroll Expenses are separate, the standalone FDD discloses no liquidity threshold or franchisor financing, and continuing obligations extend beyond the 6% Royalty Fee to advertising, technology, approved-source purchases, and event-triggered charges.