How Does Ben's Soft Pretzels Franchise Work?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

A Ben’s Soft Pretzels franchise is an on-site food-production and retail operation: the Store receives approved ingredients and packaging, prepares required Menu Items to system recipes, records each sale through the required POS System, and replenishes inventory through controlled supply channels. The 2026 FDD covers Traditional, Captive Venue, and Mobile Store formats.

Data basis: Ben’s Soft Pretzels Franchising Corporation; U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued May 13, 2026; Items 1, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19, and 20; Franchise Agreement and format addenda. Item 20 covers fiscal years 2023–2025 and reports outlets through December 31, 2025. Official operating pages were checked July 26, 2026.
Operating-model answer

The franchisee runs the Store, employs and supervises the unit team, produces and serves approved food, maintains the facility or vehicle, and reports sales. The franchisor defines the Menu Items, recipes, suppliers, technology, marketing rules, location and channel rights, while affiliates and approved vendors control several critical inputs.

3Contractual formatsTraditional, Captive Venue, and Mobile Store.
Full-timeOn-site supervisionOwner, one owner, or trained Store manager.
50–60%Controlled operating purchasesEstimated share subject to specifications or source rules.
WeeklyCore reporting cycleGross Sales reporting and electronic fee collection.
NoneExclusive territoryRights attach to a location or nonexclusive area.
Offering and demand

What does the Store sell, and who buys it?

The Store sells required Menu Items directly to retail customers, venue guests, event patrons, and—when separately authorized—catering or delivery customers.

The Franchise Agreement defines Menu Items as soft pretzels, pretzel pockets, other food items, and soft drinks. The current official consumer menu adds categories such as bites, pretzel dogs, sauces, Prizza, meals, and pretzel sticks, with some items limited to select locations. Demand comes from Store traffic, Venue guests, Mobile Store events, approved online ordering, Ben’s Club, local advertising, and authorized catering or delivery.

  • Traditional Store: retail demand tied to one approved Authorized Location.
  • Captive Venue Store: guests inside the specified Venue; no sales outside it.
  • Mobile Store: events and approved sites inside a nonexclusive Designated Area.

Basis: 2026 FDD Items 1, 12, and 16; Franchise Agreement §§2 and 6.

Customer-to-reporting flow

How does work move through a Ben’s Soft Pretzels unit?

The operating cycle connects demand capture, POS entry, approved preparation, customer handoff, payment data, inventory replenishment, and recurring reporting.

1

Demand reaches the unit

Actor
Customer, venue guest, event organizer, or loyalty member.
Action
Walks in, orders through an approved digital path, or submits an approved catering or truck request.
System or asset
Authorized Location, Mobile Store, Franchise System Website, Ben’s Club, local marketing.
Output
A permitted order or service request reaches the Store.
2

The order is captured

Actor
Counter employee, manager, or approved online-order interface.
Action
Selects approved Menu Items, confirms availability, and enters the transaction.
System or asset
Required POS System, payment processing, gift-card and loyalty functions.
Output
A production ticket and recorded sales transaction.
3

Employees prepare the product

Actor
Store employees under direct on-site supervision.
Action
Use required ingredients, recipes, portions, preparation methods, and packaging.
System or asset
Ben’s pretzel mix, approved food, ovens, mixers, equipment, Manual procedures.
Output
A Menu Item prepared to System standards.
4

The Store fulfills the promise

Actor
Employee or Mobile Store team.
Action
Serves at the counter, hands off pickup, or completes approved catering or delivery.
System or asset
Approved packaging, service standards, maintained Store or vehicle.
Output
Customer receives the order; any issue returns to Store management.
5

Payment and data close the transaction

Actor
Employee, customer, POS System, and approved payment processor.
Action
Processes payment, gift-card use, and applicable loyalty activity.
System or asset
POS hardware and software with franchisor data access.
Output
Sales, customer count, product usage, labor, inventory, and customer data are recorded.
6

Management replenishes and reports

Actor
Franchisee, owner-operator, or trained Store manager.
Action
Reviews inventory, orders approved inputs, maintains the unit, and completes required records.
System or asset
Approved Suppliers List, Approved Supplies List, POS reports, accounting records, electronic funds transfer.
Output
Replenished stock, weekly Gross Sales report, monthly financial records, and an auditable operating trail.
Franchisor control

The POS System is not merely a cash register. It records detailed Store activity, and the franchisor has independent access to the information and data without contractual limits stated in the FDD.

Basis: 2026 FDD Items 8 and 11; Franchise Agreement §§6 and 9.

Format differences

How do Traditional, Captive Venue, and Mobile Stores differ?

All three formats use the same System, but their demand source, physical asset, site agreement, and sales boundary differ materially. The Franchise Agreement, Schedule A, Mobile Store Addendum, and Captive Venue Addendum define the location-specific operating path.

Format Demand and channel Required operating asset Primary boundary
Traditional Store Retail traffic and approved digital orders. Approved premises, equipment, POS System, and inventory. One Authorized Location; no exclusive territory.
Captive Venue Store Guests generated by the specified Venue. Venue space, Captive Venue Addendum, and possible sublicense or sublease. Sales only inside the Venue; venue rules may add requirements.
Mobile Store Events and approved sites. Approved vehicle, permits, insurance, equipment, wrap, and maintenance. Approved locations inside a nonexclusive Designated Area.

The official store-format page illustrates mobile, stand-alone, mall, attraction, and stadium settings. Item 19 uses stand-alone, mall, Walmart, Meijer, Mobile, and Venue labels, but the Franchise Agreement and format addenda govern the three contractual paths.

Basis: 2026 FDD Items 1, 12, and 19; Schedule A; Mobile Store Addendum; Captive Venue Addendum.

Roles and accountability

Who performs each operating function?

A trained owner or Store manager must provide full-time, direct on-site supervision, while the franchisee remains responsible for staffing, employment decisions, food execution, compliance, and records.

Franchisee and Store team

  • Hire, schedule, compensate, and train a sufficient Store team.
  • Prepare Menu Items, serve customers, manage inventory, and maintain the unit.
  • Keep records, protect Customer Information, report Gross Sales, and comply with law.

Franchisor

  • Revise the System, Manual, Menu Items, specifications, and supply lists.
  • Control Advertising Fund programs, online rights, site approval, inspections, and data access.
  • Provide consultation, refresher training, technical support, and product development.

Affiliates and approved vendors

  • Live Large Distribution Inc. and Gordon Food Service, Inc. supply designated inputs.
  • Evan Jones Management Inc. and Ben’s Soft Pretzels LLC may control Venue occupancy.
  • Approved POS, payment, beverage, ordering, and loyalty vendors supply infrastructure.
Owner participation

A manager-run Store is permitted because the Store manager need not own equity. It is not disclosed as absentee ownership: the trained manager must work full time on site, and the franchisee remains responsible.

Basis: 2026 FDD Items 11 and 15; Franchise Agreement §§6–7; Manual table of contents.

Inputs and systems

Which suppliers and technology are mandatory?

The system relies on designated proprietary inputs, approved vendors, a required POS bundle, controlled payment processing, and franchisor access to operating data.

Live Large Distribution Inc.
Designated source for loyalty and gift cards, starter kit, some toppings, equipment, and signage.
Affiliate / designated source
Gordon Food Service, Inc.
Required distributor for food, Ben’s pretzel mix, packaging, German salt, and take-home kits.
Required distributor
Pepsi program
Required beverage contract unless another soda brand is designated.
National contract
POS System and payment processor
Approved bundle records operations, processes payments, and accepts required updates.
Required technology
Incentivio services
Named provider for online ordering and loyalty/rewards in the 2026 FDD.
Named digital dependency

Other items follow the Approved Suppliers List and Approved Supplies List. Alternate suppliers require written approval and may require samples, inspection, or testing; revoked approval ends use. The FDD estimates these rules cover 50% to 60% of operating purchases. Fat Boy Trailers, LLC is an optional Mobile Store equipment source, not a required supplier.

Supplier dependency

Proprietary mix, packaging, salt, designated branded items, beverage participation, POS technology, and payment processing are not open-market decisions.

Basis: 2026 FDD Items 6, 8, and 11; Franchise Agreement §6.

Decision rights

What does the franchisor control, and what remains with the franchisee?

The franchisor controls the operating specification and brand-facing system; the franchisee controls employment and local execution but cannot change the menu, supply chain, sales channel, site, or technology independently.

Franchisor requirement or discretion

  • Menu Items, recipes, portions, packaging, service, signage, equipment, and Manual procedures.
  • Suppliers, POS standards, payment processing, data access, updates, inspections, and audits.
  • Advertising, online presence, catering, delivery, location, relocation, and Mobile Store boundaries.

Franchisee operating decision

  • Hiring, discharge, wages, benefits, and deployment of a trained Store team.
  • Production, service, inventory, cleaning, maintenance, compliance, and bookkeeping.
  • Proposed site, approved local marketing, and pricing subject to reserved Agreement authority.

The franchisee controls employment, so the franchisor is not the Store’s employer. The franchisor may still inspect operations, review records, require System changes, enforce marketing standards, and order immediate closure for a health or safety threat.

Basis: 2026 FDD Items 8, 11, 12, 15, and 16; Franchise Agreement §§5–9.

Territory and channels

Can the franchisee sell anywhere or through any channel?

No. A fixed Store operates at one Authorized Location, a Mobile Store operates only at approved sites inside a nonexclusive Designated Area, and internet or alternative-channel sales remain reserved to the franchisor unless permission is granted.

A Mobile Store’s Designated Area is not protected. Other Mobile or fixed Stores may operate nearby, and the franchisor reserves universities, sports venues, and venues seating more than 5,000 people. Franchisees cannot independently sell for resale, through a separate website, or through another channel; grocery, club, convenience, wholesale, business, military, commissary, and internet distribution remain reserved.

Basis: 2026 FDD Items 12 and 16; Franchise Agreement §2; Mobile Store Addendum.

System footprint

What does Item 20 show about the operating system?

At December 31, 2025, Item 20 reported 88 U.S. outlets: 81 franchised outlets and seven company-owned or affiliate-owned outlets.

U.S. outlet composition

Item 20 reporting date: December 31, 2025

88 total outlets
Franchised outlets81 · 92.0%
Company-owned outlets7 · 8.0%
Three-year net change82 → 88

Interpretation: the disclosed U.S. system is predominantly franchise-operated, while seven company-owned or affiliate-owned outlets provide a smaller operating population alongside the 81 franchised outlets.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 20, Table 1, p. 35. Percentages are 81 ÷ 88 and 7 ÷ 88, rounded to one decimal; 92.0% + 8.0% = 100.0%.

Franchised outlets increased from 75 at year-end 2023 to 78 at year-end 2024 and 81 at year-end 2025. In 2025, six opened and three ceased operations for reasons classified as “other”; the Company-Owned category stayed at seven. Item 20 does not disclose the current count by Traditional, Captive Venue, and Mobile Store format.

Buyer verification

Which operating questions remain location-specific or undisclosed?

The FDD defines the system framework, but the exact unit economics are outside this article and several operating details depend on the proposed Store, venue, suppliers, and current technology configuration.

1

Schedule A: verify the Authorized Location, Designated Area, reserved venues, proximity limits, and event approvals.

2

Approved lists: identify primary, single-source, backup, and optional vendors.

3

Technology: verify POS, processor, ordering, loyalty, data, cybersecurity, upgrades, and support.

4

Staffing: no headcount, shift, capacity, or labor-hour standard is disclosed.

5

Channels: confirm online ordering, Ben’s Club, catering, delivery, events, and marketplace permissions.

Operating synthesis

How does the model work after opening?

The model earns transaction revenue by selling approved Menu Items through a controlled Store, Venue, Mobile Store, or authorized digital and catering path.

The franchisee’s central responsibility is consistent food production, customer service, supervision, maintenance, and records. The strongest dependency is the franchisor-controlled combination of Menu Items, suppliers, POS System, data access, and channel permissions. The key format distinction is one Authorized Location versus a Captive Venue or nonexclusive Mobile Store Designated Area. The largest open question is the current staffing, technology, supplier, and channel package for the proposed unit.

Authoritative operating sources