How to Start a Vital Care Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

OPENING TIMELINE

How long does it take to open a Vital Care franchise?

≈300 days
Official typical estimate

Vital Care estimates approximately 300 days from signing the Franchise Agreement to opening a new Primary Center. The contract separately requires the franchisee to satisfy both a 330-day cap from the Franchise Agreement Effective Date and a 270-day cap from landlord delivery of possession. Licensing, accreditation, construction, staffing, and payor dependencies can prevent that estimate from being achieved.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Vital Care Franchisor LLC, a Delaware limited liability company. FDD issued April 23, 2026. This article covers a new Primary Center and the disclosed Ambulatory Center, Stand-Alone Center, conversion, and transfer paths. Timeline mode: official total estimate plus contractual deadlines for a Primary Center; separate milestones for other formats. Evidence reviewed: 2026 FDD Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20; Franchise Agreement Sections 1.5, 4.2–4.7, 5, 6.8–6.11 and 14.1; Ambulatory Center Authorization, Stand-Alone Center Addendum, Guarantee, Special Power of Attorney, Cyber Security Standards, Pharmacy Software License, Business Associate Agreement, and Lease Rider. Checked July 17, 2026. The FDD is cited by Item and agreement section because no verified franchise-controlled public FDD link was located.

330 Days from Effective Date Primary Center opening cap
270 Days from possession Second opening cap; both apply
60 Days to secure site From Franchise Agreement Effective Date
14 Calendar-day FDD review Before binding agreement or payment
10 Days to open after approval Written opening approval starts the clock

Sources: Vital Care 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 29–41; Franchise Agreement §§4.4(b), 4.6 and 5.1(b). The federal waiting period is confirmed by the FTC consumer guide to buying a franchise and the FTC Franchise Rule FAQs.

QUALIFICATION

What must a Vital Care applicant qualify for before signing?

The public candidate criteria are qualitative, not a published numeric net-worth test. Vital Care’s official franchise page says applicants must document the capital required and demonstrate entrepreneurial leadership and commitment to the franchise playbook. Neither the 2026 FDD nor the official page reviewed discloses a minimum credit score, liquid-capital amount, net-worth threshold, education level, or prior ownership requirement.

A candidate does not have to be a pharmacist, according to Vital Care’s official ownership article. The contractual operating model is different: the applicant must form an Entity before purchasing, designate an Operating Principal with at least a 25% Ownership Interest, appoint a full-time Key Manager and a Compliance Officer, and ensure the Primary Center is staffed by a licensed pharmacist whenever open to the public. Every Owner signs the Payment and Performance Guarantee.

Approval remains discretionary

Meeting disclosed criteria does not require Vital Care Franchisor LLC to grant a franchise. The FDD states that the franchisor decides, in its sole discretion, whether to grant a VC Business and designate a Territory. Ask which background, credit, ownership, healthcare, and capital documents will be required because the FDD does not publish a complete application checklist.

Sources: Vital Care 2026 FDD, Item 1, pp. 1–6; Item 15, pp. 47–48; Franchise Agreement §1.5. See the official Vital Care franchise opportunity and candidate criteria and Vital Care’s explanation of ownership without being a pharmacist.

FORMAT SELECTION

Which Vital Care agreement and opening path applies?

A new Primary Center is the base franchise format. It combines a closed-door Infusion Pharmacy and an Infusion Suite at one accepted site inside the designated Territory. Remote Centers are additions to a Primary Center; they are not interchangeable with the base format.

NEW PRIMARY CENTER

Franchise Agreement

The Primary Center headquarters must contain the Infusion Pharmacy and Infusion Suite at the same location. The approximately 300-day estimate and the 330-day/270-day opening caps apply.

AMBULATORY CENTER

Ambulatory Center Authorization

An Ambulatory Infusion Suite or Clinic operates inside the Primary Center Territory after written consent. It has no Infusion Pharmacy. The FDD does not disclose a separate complete opening duration for this path.

STAND-ALONE CENTER

Separate agreement and addendum

A Stand-Alone Infusion Suite or Clinic operates in a different Territory under a separate Franchise Agreement and Stand-Alone Center Addendum. Its contractual opening deadline is 180 days from that addendum’s Effective Date.

CONVERSION OR TRANSFER

Modified path requires verification

Vital Care may permit an existing pharmacy or infusion business to convert and may change construction, equipment, opening, and operating requirements through a conversion addendum. A resale requires transfer consent; some legacy transfers also use the Transfer Addendum.

Format difference

The FDD does not attach an Area Development Agreement or a standard multi-unit development schedule. A Stand-Alone Center requires its own Franchise Agreement. A Clinic Operator owned by a third party must be approved, sign the applicable authorization or addendum, and provide owner guarantees; the franchisee remains responsible for the Clinic Operator’s compliance.

Sources: Vital Care 2026 FDD, Item 1, pp. 3–6; Items 8 and 12; Franchise Agreement §4.2; Ambulatory Center Authorization; Stand-Alone Center Addendum §3.

VERIFIED SEQUENCE

What happens between inquiry and written opening approval?

The sequence has nine decision-relevant stages. Candidate screening and franchisor approval occur before signing; site acceptance, lease approval, construction, regulatory readiness, training, and opening authorization remain separate gates.

Candidate and contract
1

Submit the inquiry and qualification evidence

Action: Use Vital Care’s interest process and provide requested ownership, capital, and experience information.

Actor: Applicant; Vital Care screens fit.

Timing: No contractual duration disclosed.

Blocker: No approval or Territory commitment is guaranteed.

2

Receive and review the current FDD

Action: Review all Items, agreements, state addenda, owners, format, and Territory assumptions.

Actor: Applicant and professional advisers.

Timing: At least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or payment.

Next: Confirm the final agreement form and any material changes.

3

Form the Entity and execute the contract package

Action: Sign the Franchise Agreement, Business Associate Agreement, Guarantees, and applicable format documents; pay the Franchise Fee at signing.

Actor: Franchisee Entity and every Owner.

Timing: Fee is due on execution and is non-refundable.

Next: The Effective Date starts the site and opening clocks.

Territory, site, and buildout
4

Confirm Territory and submit a site package

Action: Propose a site, letter of intent or draft acquisition document, demographics, zoning, parking, access, and requested pharmacy-compliance information.

Actor: Franchisee selects; Vital Care accepts or rejects.

Timing: No site-review response period is promised.

Blocker: Do not bind the site before written acceptance.

5

Acquire the accepted site and complete the Lease Rider

Action: Sign the Lease or purchase agreement; deliver the executed Lease and landlord-signed Lease Rider.

Actor: Franchisee, landlord, and Vital Care.

Timing: Primary site within 60 days of Effective Date; documents within 10 days of Lease execution.

Blocker: Missing rider can delay approval or support termination.

6

Approve Plans, permit, construct, and obtain occupancy

Action: Use approved designers, architects, engineers, and contractor; obtain Vital Care approval before permitting; build continuously to approved Plans.

Actor: Franchisee and licensed third parties.

Timing: Must fit both opening caps.

Next: Deliver the certificate of occupancy after completion.

Regulatory and operating readiness
7

Complete licenses, accreditation, insurance, and systems

Action: Secure applicable pharmacy, nursing, business, payor, accreditation, NPI, Medicare, insurance, and surety-bond requirements; implement the Billing Service and Technology System.

Actor: Franchisee, regulators, accreditors, payors, insurers, and vendors.

Timing: Authority-specific; no universal duration.

Blocker: Government approvals are a disclosed opening risk.

8

Staff, train, stock, and run pre-opening marketing

Action: Appoint required roles, hire licensed and trained staff, complete mandatory training, install Operating Assets, stock required products, and execute the approved grand-opening plan.

Actor: Franchisee; Vital Care trains and reviews.

Timing: Role notice 60 days before opening; required training at least 10 days before the Opening Deadline.

Next: Submit proof of readiness.

Authorization and launch
9

Obtain written approval and open to the public

Action: Vital Care verifies the certificate of occupancy, Plans compliance, and pre-opening marketing compliance before issuing written approval.

Actor: Vital Care authorizes; franchisee opens.

Timing: Open within 10 days after approval and within both contractual caps.

Blocker: Training completion alone is not opening authorization.

Sources: Vital Care 2026 FDD, Items 5, 8–12 and 15; Franchise Agreement §§4.3–4.6, 5.1–5.4, 6.8–6.11; Lease Rider; Business Associate Agreement; Pharmacy Software License; Cyber Security Standards.

DEADLINE CHART

Which disclosed time periods control the opening plan?

These periods use different triggers and must not be added together. The chart compares their lengths only; the contract language determines when each clock begins.

Vital Care opening deadline ledger

Bar length is scaled to the longest disclosed period: 330 days.

Primary Center: from Effective Date
330 days
Primary Center: from landlord possession
270 days
Stand-Alone Center: from addendum Effective Date
180 days
Primary site acquisition: from Effective Date
60 days
Role designations: before opening
60 days
Federal FDD review: before signing/payment
14 days
Required training: before Opening Deadline
10 days
Public opening: after written approval
10 days

Interpretation: Site selection, government licensing, payor enrollment, accreditation, construction, and training may overlap, but a delay in any required gate can still prevent written opening approval.

Source: Vital Care 2026 FDD, Items 11 and 15; Franchise Agreement §§4.4(b), 4.6 and 5.1(b); Stand-Alone Center Addendum §3; FTC Franchise Rule guidance.

Third-party dependency

As of December 31, 2025, Item 20 reported 35 signed Franchise Agreements for outlets that had not opened. The FDD’s Special Risks section says a significant number of unopened franchises were largely delayed by governmental licensing. The approximately 300-day estimate is therefore a planning reference, not an opening promise.

TRAINING

Who must complete Vital Care training before opening?

The controlling Franchise Agreement assigns different programs to different people. Initial Training is mandatory for the Operating Principal, Key Manager, and Compliance Officer; New Owner Training is mandatory for every Owner; QuickStart Training is mandatory for the Account Executive before opening and within 90 days of hire.

Program Required attendees Current disclosed length Opening dependency
Initial Training Operating Principal, Key Manager, Compliance Officer 17.5 classroom hours in Item 11; agreement describes a current four-day program Complete at least 10 days before Opening Deadline
New Owner Training Every Owner Three days; 17 classroom hours Complete before opening; offered quarterly
QuickStart Training Account Executive Three days; 23.75 classroom hours Before opening and within 90 days of hire; offered monthly
Sterile compounding Pharmacist and designated employees, if Vital Care requires it Typically 40–45 hours through an approved third party Complete before opening when imposed

The franchisee must also provide job-based competency training before employees perform designated responsibilities. Vital Care may determine successful completion, require a repeat or replacement trainee, and terminate if required trainees have not passed at least 10 days before the Opening Deadline; paid fees are not refunded under that provision.

Sources: Vital Care 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 37–41; Franchise Agreement §§5.1–5.4. The official Vital Care site also describes its broader clinical, operational, sales, and marketing training support; the signed agreement controls mandatory attendance and timing.

RESPONSIBILITY MAP

Who controls each opening dependency?

Vital Care provides standards, review, training, and written approval; the franchisee carries the execution risk; regulators and commercial counterparties control several critical approvals.

Franchisee

Select and acquire an acceptable site; negotiate the Lease and obtain the Lease Rider.

Hire qualified professionals, obtain licenses, construct to approved Plans, insure the VC Business, install systems, stock inventory, and train employees.

Complete pre-opening marketing and provide proof of readiness.

Vital Care Franchisor LLC

Designate the Territory, accept or reject the site, review the Lease and Plans, and issue System Standards.

Provide required training and access to Manuals; approve the Approved DBA and applicable advertising.

Issue written opening approval only after required conditions are confirmed.

Third parties

Landlord executes the Lease Rider and delivers possession; architects, engineers, and contractors complete compliant buildout.

State boards, local authorities, CMS, accreditors, payors, insurers, suppliers, and software vendors process separate requirements.

Their timing is not guaranteed by Vital Care.

Official verification resources include the state board of pharmacy directory, the CMS list of approved home infusion therapy accrediting organizations, the CMS provider and supplier enrollment guide, HHS guidance for covered entities and business associates, and the USP General Chapter <797> resource. Applicability and sequence must be confirmed for the specific state, services, payors, and facility.

OPENING READINESS

What should the buyer verify before authorizing construction or opening?

Use this checklist to reconcile the final deal documents with the actual site and regulatory path.

The Franchisee Entity, ownership percentages, Operating Principal, Key Manager, Compliance Officer, Pharmacist-in-Charge, and all Owner Guarantees are accepted in writing.
The exact Territory is attached to Appendix A, and the buyer understands that limited territorial protection is not the same as an exclusive Territory or site approval.
The site package is accepted before binding acquisition; the Lease contains required provisions; the landlord signs the unmodified Lease Rider or approved changes.
Vital Care approves final Plans before permitting, and the contractor, zoning, utilities, clean-room design, USP standards, inspections, and certificate of occupancy are sequenced for the jurisdiction.
State pharmacy, nursing, business, controlled-substance, non-resident pharmacy, NPI, Medicare, payor, accreditation, and surety-bond requirements are identified only where applicable.
The Business Associate Agreement, Pharmacy Software License, Cyber Security Standards, Special Power of Attorney for Billing, approved email domain, required add-ons, and data-access obligations are implemented.
Initial Training, New Owner Training, QuickStart Training, any sterile-compounding training, and employee competency records will be complete by their governing deadlines.
Required insurance is effective; the Approved DBA has been issued; grand-opening advertising runs from 30 days before through 30 days after opening under an approved plan.
The written opening approval conditions, the 10-day launch period, both Primary Center opening caps, any extension conditions, and the $2,500-per-month discretionary extension fee are confirmed.
For an Ambulatory Center, Stand-Alone Center, Conversion Business, or transfer, the buyer has the correct authorization, addendum, separate Franchise Agreement, Clinic Operator documents, and format-specific deadline.
Site approval is not territory protection

Appendix A defines the Territory; written acceptance identifies an approved Primary Center site. Vital Care does not warrant the site’s success, and the Territory is not exclusive. Lease approval, Plan approval, licensing, certificate of occupancy, training completion, and written opening approval remain separate decisions.

FINAL SYNTHESIS

What is the verified Vital Care opening path?

The verified path is candidate screening, FDD review, discretionary franchise grant, Entity and agreement execution, Territory and site acceptance, site acquisition and Lease Rider, approved Plans and construction, regulatory and operational readiness, mandatory training, pre-opening marketing, and written opening approval.

The approximately 300-day Primary Center timeline is an official estimate, while the 330-day and 270-day limits are contractual deadlines that both apply. The most important applicant-controlled dependency is securing and building an accepted site while completing staffing and documentation. The most important external dependency is government licensing and accreditation. Before signing, verify the exact format, the site-review duration—which is not disclosed—and whether the applicable authorities can complete their work within the Opening Deadline.