How Much Does a Vital Care Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

How much does a Vital Care franchise cost?

The disclosed total initial investment is $810,623 to $1,412,073 for a new Vital Care business anchored by a Primary Center. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document does not apply this figure to an optional Remote Center, conversion, resale, successor term or buyer-specific financing plan.

$810,623–$1,412,073

2026 Estimated Initial Investment for the Primary Center format. It includes the $60,000 first-business Franchise Fee and $274,000 to $367,000 of Additional Funds for the first six months after opening, but not the development cost of an optional Remote Center. Source: 2026 Vital Care FDD, Item 7, pp. 19–23.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Vital Care Franchisor LLC. FDD issuance date: April 23, 2026. Primary cost sources: Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant details from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Applicable investment format: a new VC Business with a Primary Center. Information and public-source availability checked July 18, 2026.

The franchisor continues to publish official U.S. franchise information, and Vital Care Franchisor LLC appears in the Wisconsin active franchise-registration list. No matching 2026 FDD was located on a franchise-controlled public page, so FDD references in this article are unlinked Item-and-page citations.

Capital snapshot

The upfront payment, six-month reserve and therapy-based royalty span are the three figures most likely to be confused with one another.

$60,000 First VC Business Franchise Fee Due in full when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
$274,000–$367,000 Additional Funds Included in Item 7; intended for the first six months after opening.
1.75%–19.25% Standard Royalty Rates Applied to Gross Revenue by Therapy classification; not one blended rate.
WHAT THE RANGE CONTAINS

What does the 2026 Item 7 investment include?

The opening estimate covers the franchisor payment, premises and clean-room buildout, accreditation, equipment, technology, initial inventory, pre-opening payroll and a six-month operating reserve. The tables preserve the official category names and disclosed low-to-high amounts.

Premises, systems and opening infrastructure

Most site and compliance costs are paid to third parties before opening, with construction producing the widest disclosed range.

Item 7 category Low High Payment timing
Franchise Fee $60,000 $60,000 At Franchise Agreement signing
Accreditation $9,000 $21,450 Before opening
Rent and Security Deposit $2,600 $20,500 Before opening
Leasehold Improvements $210,000 $530,000 As incurred before opening
Utilities $6,250 $16,900 Before opening
Furniture, Fixtures, Equipment, and Signage $48,023 $78,523 Before opening
Technology System $13,000 $15,200 Before opening

Training, staffing and initial operating capital

This phase covers required preparation, pre-opening payroll, initial supplies and the reserve intended to support the first six months.

Item 7 category Low High Payment timing
Third-Party Training and Travel and Living Expenses During Initial Training $1,000 $4,300 During training
Inventory $4,900 $16,000 Before opening
Grand Opening Advertising $5,000 $5,000 Program begins 30 days before and ends 30 days after opening
Insurance and Surety Bond $6,850 $10,700 Deposit and periodic payments before opening
Professional Fees $0 $24,500 Pre-opening
Staffing $170,000 $255,000 Pre-opening
Additional Funds – 6 Months $274,000 $367,000 As incurred after opening

Source: 2026 Vital Care FDD, Item 7, pp. 19–23. The official total is $810,623 to $1,412,073.

FDD CAVEAT

The low-end line items add exactly to $810,623. A derived addition of the listed high-end line items produces $1,425,073—$13,000 above the FDD’s stated high total of $1,412,073. The FDD does not explain that difference. This article preserves the official total and treats the high-end reconciliation as an issue to confirm in writing before budgeting.

The Leasehold Improvements estimate covers a 2,000–3,000-square-foot prototype, including the clean room, architecture, general contracting, permits, labor, plumbing, electrical and HVAC. The range already reflects tenant-improvement allowances described as typical in most markets; an actual landlord allowance may be higher or lower. The real-estate purchase price is not included.

The Insurance and Surety Bond line includes first-year insurance and a bond required for a Medicare number. The FDD specifies a $50,000 bond limit, while the listed figure is the expected premium and related cost rather than $50,000 of cash posted as an expense. CMS separately states that DMEPOS suppliers generally must post a $50,000 surety bond for each NPI they maintain; see the CMS DMEPOS enrollment requirements.

FORMAT-SPECIFIC LIMIT

Does the disclosed range apply to every Vital Care format?

No. The 2026 disclosure gives one investment range for a new business centered on a Primary Center. It excludes an optional Remote Center and says the estimate does not apply to a conversion or successor term.

The cost contract is anchored to the pharmacy-and-suite site

Only the base format has a published total; four additional center types require separate development pricing.

Range disclosed for the base format

A new business with a Primary Center containing an Infusion Pharmacy, clean room and Infusion Suite.

$810,623–$1,412,073 2,000–3,000 sq. ft.
Formats without a separate opening range

Ambulatory Infusion Suite, Ambulatory Infusion Clinic, Stand-Alone Infusion Suite and Stand-Alone Infusion Clinic.

Remote Centers Cost not disclosed Verify separately

Source: 2026 Vital Care FDD, Items 1, 5 and 7, pp. 3–4, 9 and 19–20. The franchisor’s official franchise information page confirms that it is currently presenting the U.S. opportunity, but it does not publish separate development ranges for the additional formats.

Item 5 says the initial fee is payable whether the agreement covers the base site or either Stand-Alone format. The first business fee is $60,000; a second and each subsequent business is $40,000. That reduction does not establish a lower total investment because no second-unit or multi-unit development range is published.

A Conversion Business is also outside the published estimate. The franchisor may modify construction, equipment, opening and operating requirements through a conversion addendum, so the buyer needs a conversion-specific scope and cost schedule rather than applying the base-format range mechanically.

CASH MILESTONES

When is the initial investment paid?

The money is not paid all at once. The initial fee is due at signing, most location and compliance costs are paid as incurred before opening, and the operating reserve is spent during the first six months. Item 5 states that no other pre-opening fees for goods or services are payable to the franchisor or its affiliates.

Sign the agreement Pay the $60,000 first-business fee in full. It is non-refundable. The FTC explains that an FDD generally must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before a prospect signs or pays; see the FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise.
Secure and develop the accepted site Pay the rent deposit, first month’s rent, architecture, clean-room construction, improvements, permits, utilities, furniture, fixtures, equipment, signage and required systems as those obligations arise before opening.
Complete accreditation, insurance and training Pay accreditation vendors before opening; fund insurance deposits and periodic premiums; pay third-party sterile-compounding training and trainee travel and living costs during training. The surety-bond payment is made within six months after signing and then annually.
Fund staffing, inventory and the opening campaign Pay pre-opening payroll and initial inventory as incurred. Spend at least $5,000 on the opening campaign from 30 days before through 30 days after opening; that amount does not count toward the annual local-marketing requirement.
Use the operating reserve during the first six months The $274,000 to $367,000 amount is already inside the official total. It covers categories such as employee wages, payroll taxes, Operating Fees, additional advertising, insurance, recruiting, licenses, supplies, utilities and cash-flow timing connected with claims processing.
PAYMENT TIMING

The FDD estimates about 300 days from signing to opening and requires opening no later than 330 days after the Franchise Agreement’s effective date and within 270 days after the landlord delivers possession. A discretionary extension may carry a $2,500 fee for each month or partial month. Source: 2026 Vital Care FDD, Item 11, pp. 31–32.

ONGOING OPERATING FEES

Which Vital Care fees continue after opening?

The ongoing structure combines therapy-specific royalties, possible percentage charges, mandatory local marketing and fixed or usage-based technology costs. The standard rate is not flat: it changes with the Therapy classification assigned by the franchisor.

Ongoing fee or requirement Amount and basis Timing Cost interpretation
Royalty Fees 1.75% to 19.25% of applicable Gross Revenue by Therapy classification Currently monthly by the 10th Calculated when cash is collected or received, using the classification then in effect.
Increased Royalty Fee Additional 0% to 2% based on trailing-twelve-month Gross Revenue tiers Currently monthly by the 10th Begins at 0.25% when the disclosed threshold reaches $10,000,000; capped at 2%.
Marketing Fee Currently not collected; may be up to 1% of Gross Revenue Monthly by the 10th if activated Would fund a Vital Care Brand Fund if the franchisor forms one.
Marketing Spending Requirement At least 1% of prior-calendar-year Gross Revenue As incurred Paid to third parties for local advertising; separate from the Marketing Fee.
Technology Fee Currently not collected; may be up to 0.5% of Gross Revenue Monthly by the 10th if activated Separate from Pharmacy Software, add-on, Cyber Security and Email License Fees.
Pharmacy Software Fee $1,500/month first Center; $750/month each additional Center; $500/month each extra block of five concurrent users Monthly by the 10th Required sublicense for Vital Systems by CareTend.
Pharmacy Software Add-On Systems Delivery Manager: $0.38 shipment, $1.20 delivery, $0.08 SMS; Vital Care Connected: $495/site; VC CareStart: $350/location/month plus $6/new referral Monthly, annual, implementation or transaction basis Required modules may change. Optional CarePort Intake Standard and Referral Management are each $4,800 annually; implementation is $1,200.
Cyber Security Fees $480 annually per laptop or desktop Billed monthly by the 10th Separate from other technology charges.
Email License Fee Five addresses included; additional licenses currently $32/employee/month for desktop applications or $8/employee/month online Monthly by the 10th VitalCare.com email system is required.

Source: 2026 Vital Care FDD, Item 6, pp. 9–18. The current required Pharmacy Software is identified as Vital Systems by CareTend; the vendor’s official CareTend information describes the platform as software for home infusion, specialty pharmacy and HME/DME providers.

COST IMPLICATION

“Marketing Fee currently not collected” does not mean there is no recurring marketing obligation. The 1% local Marketing Spending Requirement remains separate, and a future Brand Fund fee of up to 1% could be added. Amounts paid to a required Advertising Cooperative would count toward the local-spending requirement, but the FDD says a cooperative could require additional spending without a stated cap.

For amounts collected through the billing and claims process, the FDD permits the franchisor to withhold its defined Operating Fees before remitting the balance. That group includes royalties, specified percentage charges and certain software and security costs. The percentage basis is Gross Revenue as defined in the disclosure; no annual dollar estimate should be inferred.

EVENT-TRIGGERED OBLIGATIONS

Which fees arise only in particular circumstances?

Several large charges are not part of the opening range or ordinary monthly schedule. They are triggered by renewal, transfer, delay, extra support, noncompliance, default or termination.

Successor term: 25% of the applicable then-current Franchise Fee when the successor franchise agreement is signed. Renewal also requires refurbishment to then-current specifications within six months after the renewal date; the refurbishment amount is not disclosed.
Transfer: a Control Transfer costs the greater of $100,000 or 3% of the then-current enterprise value of the VC Business, plus administrative costs. A Non-Control Transfer costs $10,000 plus administrative costs.
Late payment: interest at 18% per year or the maximum lawful rate, whichever is lower, plus $100 for each week a payment remains late.
Opening delay: a discretionary extension of the Opening Deadline may cost $2,500 for each month or partial month extended.
Additional training or support: specified repeat, replacement or extra trainees may be charged $1,000 per person per applicable session; in-person consulting is currently $1,000 per employee or agent per day plus travel and living expenses; a Temporary Key Manager is currently $500 per day plus expenses and actual costs.
Default management: temporary management may cost 3% of Gross Revenue during the management period plus direct out-of-pocket costs and expenses.
Payment processing: if a designated third-party processor is required, the disclosed combined charge is 1.5% to 3.5% of the purchase amount per transaction.
Required events: registration is estimated at $0 to $2,500 per person, plus attendee travel and living costs. A separate charge applies to unapproved absence, but the FDD gives conflicting amounts as noted below.
Unapproved products, services or suppliers: review and testing may cost up to 110% of the franchisor’s or affiliate’s inspection, evaluation, personnel and travel costs, whether or not approval is granted.
Insurance intervention: if required coverage is not maintained and the franchisor procures it, the charge is the premium plus no more than 110% of procurement costs.
Audit, inspection and correction: a Gross Sales understatement of 2% or more can shift audit costs to the franchisee. Repeated noncompliance can trigger inspection costs, and uncorrected deficiencies can trigger Remedial Expenses up to 110% of the franchisor’s or affiliate’s costs.
Other optional or breach-related amounts: IGNS and NHIA group memberships may each cost up to $3,500 per year; an Administration-Only Therapy violation may cost up to $2,500 per occurrence plus investigation and enforcement; indemnification and enforcement obligations may require actual losses, defense costs, legal fees or court costs.
Termination after default: liquidated damages follow the Item 6 formula. For a termination within two years after opening, the amount is the greater of $250,000 or the applicable 48-month fee formula; later termination uses a formula tied to average Royalty Fees, applicable Marketing Fees and months remaining.

Source: 2026 Vital Care FDD, Item 6, pp. 12–18; opening-delay details from Item 11, pp. 31–32.

SOURCE CONFLICT

The 2026 FDD is internally inconsistent about the extra charge for missing a mandatory seminar, convention or program without advance approval. Item 6, p. 14 states the registration fee plus $500; Item 11, p. 41 states the registration fee plus $2,000. A prospect should obtain written confirmation of the controlling amount before signing.

CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS AND FINANCING

Does Vital Care disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?

The 2026 FDD does not state a separate numeric Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds minimum in Items 5–7. The official franchise page says applicants must provide documentation of the capital required, but it does not publish a numeric threshold. Therefore, the $274,000 to $367,000 Additional Funds range for the Primary Center format should not be relabeled as Vital Care’s liquid-capital requirement.

The distinctions matter: the total is a project-cost range; the $60,000 upfront payment is only one component; the six-month reserve is already included; and Net Worth is not cash available for deployment. The official franchise criteria page requires documentation of sufficient capital but publishes no numeric threshold.

Does the franchisor finance the investment?

No direct or indirect franchisor financing is disclosed. Item 10 states that Vital Care does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation. Item 7 also excludes finance charges, interest and debt-service obligations from the investment estimate. Third-party financing availability and terms depend on factors such as creditworthiness, collateral, lender policy and market availability.

EXPLICIT UNCERTAINTY

The Additional Funds estimate may not cover every cash need. The FDD specifically warns that more capital may be required for pharmaceuticals and for timing differences in claims processing, and that funds may be needed after the initial six-month period. Owner compensation is not expressly resolved in the footnote.

BUYER VERIFICATION

What should a prospective franchisee verify before relying on the range?

The official range is a starting contract disclosure, not a site-specific budget. The highest-priority checks are the unexplained Item 7 total discrepancy, local construction scope, format-specific costs and the cash required beyond the first six months.

Reconcile the high-end total. Ask the franchisor to explain why the listed highs add to $1,425,073 while the disclosed total high is $1,412,073.
Price the exact format. Obtain a separate written development budget for each Remote Center type or a Conversion Business.
Confirm local premises assumptions. Verify lease terms, tenant-improvement allowance, clean-room scope, permits, architectural fees, utility deposits and construction timing for the proposed Primary Center.
Map every technology charge. Count Centers, concurrent-user blocks, laptops, desktops, employee email licenses, required add-on systems and per-transaction charges.
Model claims-timing liquidity separately. Confirm pharmaceutical purchasing needs and reimbursement timing rather than assuming six months of Additional Funds will be sufficient.
Obtain written fee clarifications. Resolve the mandatory-event absence conflict and confirm current amounts for software modules, cybersecurity, email licenses, training and any Brand Fund or Technology Fee activation.

Decision synthesis. The verified range applies only to the base site described above. Construction, pre-opening payroll and the six-month reserve drive most of the disclosed variation. The total remains separate from the upfront payment, any undisclosed buyer qualification and post-opening percentage or technology obligations. The key unresolved issues are the $13,000 high-end arithmetic mismatch and the missing development ranges for additional formats and conversions.