How do you open a Two Men and a Truck franchise in the United States?
The 2026 FDD does not disclose one complete period from first inquiry to opening. The current franchise website describes an average 4–6 month candidate process that ends with awarding/signing, while the FDD says a signed franchise is typically open 1–3 months later and must open within four months. Treat application, disclosure, licensing, site approval, trucks, training, inspection, and final opening approval as separate dependencies.
What must a candidate qualify for before signing?
The current official franchise site uses financial screening during pre-qualification. It states $150,000 in liquid assets for the traditional/Metro model and, for Mod Market opportunities, $80,000 in liquid assets plus $160,000 in net worth. The 2026 FDD itself does not publish a universal candidate credit-score minimum or a single net-worth threshold for every applicant, so these website figures should be treated as current pre-qualification criteria to confirm with Franchise Sales, not as a promise of approval.
Operationally, the Franchise Agreement requires the franchisee—or an approved representative for an entity owner—to personally supervise day-to-day operations. A franchisee or approved manager must maintain a full-time presence. Owners holding 10% or more of an entity generally must be personally bound to the Franchise Agreement and personally guarantee obligations; smaller owners must sign prescribed noncompete and nondisclosure agreements. Meeting minimum financial screens does not eliminate the franchisor's final approval discretion.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 11 and 15; Preliminary Approval Agreement §§2, 4–6; official Metro/Mod market requirements.
What is the verified opening sequence?
The sequence below separates marketing-stage candidate steps from contractual obligations. The official website's candidate process includes review, application, FDD review and validation, planning, Discovery Day, and awarding; the contractual opening work begins only after the governing agreements and approval conditions are satisfied.
Inquiry, review and application
Receive and review the FDD
Complete preliminary approval, if used
Sign the governing agreement
Secure an approved site and plans
Build the operating platform
Complete required training
Pass inspection and receive opening approval
The 2026 FDD says the franchise must open within four months after signing the Franchise Agreement. If the parties cannot agree on a site and the franchise is not open within that period, the Franchise Agreement may be terminated without a refund of fees. This is a deadline, not an expected opening promise.
Who controls each major opening dependency?
The franchisor provides specifications, reviews proposed locations and plans, conducts training, and must approve development before opening. The franchisee remains responsible for selecting the site, lease or purchase arrangements, code compliance, permits, construction, equipment, trucks, employees, insurance, and implementation. Government agencies, landlords, suppliers, contractors, insurers, and lenders can therefore delay a compliant opening even when franchise approval is progressing.
| Stage | Applicant / franchisee | Franchisor | Third-party dependency |
|---|---|---|---|
| Approval and authority | Provide requested information; pursue financing and required trucking authority. | Evaluates qualifications and grants or denies final approval. | State authority agency; lender if financing is used. |
| Site and buildout | Select site; submit plans; obtain permits; construct or remodel. | Approves site, plans and development standards. | Landlord, zoning/building authorities, architect and contractor. |
| Systems and launch assets | Acquire trucks, equipment, approved technology, signage and insurance. | Provides specifications and approved/designated supplier requirements. | Vehicle vendors, suppliers, software providers and insurers. |
| Training and opening | Complete training, staff the unit, finish readiness tasks. | Trains, inspects and approves development before operation; generally provides up to three days of opening assistance without charge. | Employees and any required local or federal operating authorities. |
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 8, 10, 11, 12 and 15; Franchise Agreement §§1.1, 1.5, 2.3, 2.5 and 2.7. For interstate household-goods operations, verify any applicable federal registration and insurance requirements with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.
Current official franchise webpages do not use fully consistent truck-count language: the general start-up page says a new franchise opens with two new trucks, while the Mod Market page says one truck at opening for Mod Markets and 2–3 for Metro. The 2026 FDD identifies obtaining the first trucks as a key timing dependency but does not state one universal opening count in Item 11. Confirm the current written opening checklist for the exact format before ordering vehicles.
What training must be completed before opening?
Before operating, the franchisee and/or the designated franchise representative—typically a general manager—must satisfactorily complete initial training to the franchisor's satisfaction. Gearing Up is 32–42 classroom hours at Stick Men University in Lansing, Michigan, although virtual delivery may be required or permitted. A Mod Market franchisee may also be required to complete 3–5 days of on-site training at a location chosen by the franchisor.
The FDD states that initial training is provided for up to two people, including the franchisee and a designated general manager. Training must be completed within four months of signing the Franchise Agreement, and employees must be covered by workers' compensation insurance before the franchisor starts any training involving them. The franchisee pays wages and travel and living costs. The public training page also describes a broader First Gear start-up process covering pre-opening checklists, equipment and trucks, staffing, organizational planning, and first-year milestones.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 50–51; official new-franchisee training overview.
How do Preliminary Approval and Area Development change the process?
A Preliminary Approval Agreement is optional. If used, it reserves the identified area while the franchisor continues evaluating the applicant. The applicant pays a non-refundable reservation fee—$10,000 for Metro or $5,000 for Mod—which is credited toward the initial franchise fee only if the parties later sign a Franchise Agreement. The applicant must supply requested information, complete any preliminary training, pursue state trucking authority, and satisfy financing and other start-up conditions. Final approval remains in the franchisor's sole discretion.
An Area Development Agreement is materially different from owning one unit. The developer must commit to at least two franchises, and each Marketing Area receives its own individual Franchise Agreement. The development deadlines are set in Appendix A rather than by one universal FDD schedule. For later sites, the developer submits the proposed site information and lease terms; the franchisor may request more information within 30 days, then approves or rejects the site in writing. The applicable disclosure period must pass before each Franchise Agreement is signed.
If a force-majeure event outside the Area Developer's control causes a schedule delay and the developer acted in good faith, the development schedule is extended by the delay, generally no more than 180 days unless the franchisor caused the delay. Outside that provision, the franchisor has no obligation to extend development rights. A buyer considering multi-unit development should therefore verify every Appendix A opening date before signing.
What should be verified before the doors open?
The FDD does not promise that permits, financing, a lease, truck delivery, construction, staffing, or government authority will be obtained by a specific date. The official site says the start-up team assists with planning for trucks, building selection, phones, internet, equipment and staffing, but those support activities do not transfer the franchisee's contractual responsibility for obtaining and completing the required items. See the official start-up requirements page for the franchisor's current public description of opening assets and the official opening-support overview.