How to Start a The Glass Guru Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Opening path

How does The Glass Guru opening process work?

Official total timeline disclosed

Direct answer: The 2026 FDD estimates about 60 days from signing the Franchise Agreement to opening a standard The Glass Guru Business, but the contract requires the franchisee to be open and operational within 90 days. That window contains separate site, lease, entity, permitting, equipment, insurance, training, staffing, technology, and marketing dependencies; it is not an approval promise.

Legal franchisorThe Glass Guru Enterprises, Inc., a Texas corporation
Disclosure basis2026 FDD issued April 20, 2026, amended April 30, 2026
Formats reviewedStandard unit, converted business, resale, and simultaneous two-franchise path
Evidence usedItems 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20; Franchise Agreement; Second Franchise Agreement Addendum; checked July 15, 2026
14 days
Federal FDD review period
Calendar days before signing or payment. 16 CFR 436.2.
60 days
Site-selection deadline
Measured from the Franchise Agreement effective date.
90 days
Opening deadline
Time is expressly stated to be of the essence.
92 hours
Estimated initial training
36 classroom plus 56 on-the-job hours.

The controlling documents are the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document and attached agreements. The official The Glass Guru franchise website is useful for current contact and marketing information, but a web page does not replace the signed Franchise Agreement, its Specifics exhibit, applicable state addenda, or local licensing rules.

Qualification

What must an applicant qualify for before signing?

The 2026 FDD does not publish a minimum net worth, liquid-capital threshold, credit score, education level, glass-industry background, citizenship requirement, or prior business-ownership requirement. Those points therefore must be confirmed directly during the application review; meeting any marketing qualification does not compel The Glass Guru Enterprises, Inc. to award a franchise.

The Franchise Agreement allows the franchisor to obtain credit reports and perform criminal or other background checks, and the applicant must sign required authorizations. A material misrepresentation or omission in the franchise application is listed as a ground for termination without a cure opportunity. The operating entity must be created before opening, become the franchisee under the agreement, remain in good standing, provide formation and tax-identification documents, and generally confine its activities to The Glass Guru franchise operations unless written consent permits otherwise.

Owner and manager requirement

The Franchise Business must remain under an owner’s overall supervision. A franchisor-approved Designated Manager—an owner or employee—must manage day-to-day operations full time, avoid involvement in a competing business, and satisfactorily complete initial training before opening. Every owner and the owner’s spouse must sign the Guaranty and Assumption of Obligations.

Application to opening

What are the verified opening steps?

1
Submit the inquiry and application information
Actor: Applicant.
Action: Provide accurate ownership, financial, management, and background information and authorize permitted checks.
Blocker: The FDD does not disclose mandatory financial minimums; obtain them in writing.
2
Receive and review the FDD
Actor: Franchisor and applicant.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or its affiliate.
Next: Reconcile state addenda and all proposed agreements.
3
Document the award and sign the contract package
Actor: Franchisee, owners, spouses, and franchisor.
Action: Sign the Franchise Agreement, Specifics, guaranty, ownership disclosure, communications assignment, and applicable state documents; pay the non-refundable initial fee.
Blocker: The APR and approved-location fields must be verified before execution.
4
Select and secure an approved location
Actor: Franchisee finds the site; franchisor approves it.
Timing: Approved site within 60 days after the effective date; the agreement provides a 15-day deemed-approval rule if the franchisor does not disapprove after written notice.
Blocker: Lease or purchase terms require franchisor approval before signing.
5
Build the operating platform
Actor: Franchisee, landlord, contractors, suppliers, insurer, and authorities.
Action: Complete the entity, office, vehicles, signs, tools, internet, telephone, mobile devices, furniture, hardware, software, permits, licenses, and insurance.
Blocker: Local zoning, licensing, construction, delivery, or inspection delays.
6
Complete training and staff the business
Actor: Owner, Designated Manager, approved trainees, and franchisor.
Timing: Training must be completed before opening and within 90 days of signing.
Blocker: Unsatisfactory completion may require a substitute manager; failure by day 90 can permit termination without a fee refund.
7
Activate systems and the grand-opening campaign
Actor: Franchisee, approved suppliers, and franchisor.
Action: Configure required technology and accounting systems, record marketing expenditures, and begin the required grand-opening campaign.
Blocker: Unapproved advertising cannot be used; custom submissions have a 10-business-day review window.
8
Verify readiness and commence operations
Actor: Franchisee; franchisor verifies contractual prerequisites.
Action: Deliver insurance evidence, confirm permits and licenses, complete training, hire necessary personnel, and pay amounts due.
Timing: Open and operate continuously by day 90.
Contractual deadline

Failure to obtain an approved site within 60 days or to open within 90 days gives the franchisor a contractual termination right, and the initial franchise fee is not returned. An expected 60-day opening is an estimate; the 90-day provision is the binding deadline for the standard path.

Timing evidence

Which time windows control the critical path?

Key pre-opening periods measured in days
The bars compare disclosed durations; they are not additive because each period has its own trigger.
Federal FDD review period
14
Site deemed-approval period after written notice
15
Approved-site deadline after signing
60
Training and opening deadline after signing
90
The 60-day site requirement leaves only 30 days before the standard opening deadline, so lease review, permitting, equipment, insurance, training, hiring, and systems work must proceed in parallel where legally and practically possible.

Sources: 16 CFR 436.2; 2026 FDD cover and Item 11, page 25; Franchise Agreement Sections 5.1, 5.2, 5.6, 5.7, and 8.1. See the FTC Franchise Rule, the FTC compliance guide, and 16 CFR Part 436.

Site approval

What must be verified about the territory, site, and lease?

The franchisor designates the Area of Primary Responsibility, or APR, by U.S. ZIP codes and records it in the Specifics exhibit. The franchisee must find the location inside the APR. The Glass Guru Enterprises, Inc. supplies general site guidelines and considers premises size and condition, demographics, proximity to other The Glass Guru Businesses, lease requirements, visibility, and overall suitability, but it does not represent that its assistance or approval predicts success.

Site approval, lease approval, and APR protection are separate decisions. The franchisor must approve the proposed location and the lease or purchase terms before the franchisee signs; it may require the landlord and franchisee to sign the Addendum to Lease and Collateral Assignment of Lease. The franchisee remains responsible for zoning, code compliance, permits, construction, remodeling, decoration, utilities, and landlord performance.

Buyer verification

Item 12 describes a typical APR population of 250,000 to 1,250,000, while Franchise Agreement Section 2.3 states 150,000 to 800,000. Do not average these ranges. Confirm the actual ZIP codes, population basis, franchise-fee calculation, exclusivity language, and Minimum Performance Requirements in the final Specifics exhibit before signing. The FDD says population is based on the most recent figures available from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Responsibility map

Who controls each opening dependency?

Applicant and franchisee

Accurate application, entity formation, guaranties, site search, lease negotiations, permits, buildout, vehicles, tools, technology, insurance, staffing, training attendance, approved marketing, payment, and continuous operation.

The Glass Guru Enterprises, Inc.

APR designation, site and lease approval, specifications, Manuals access, initial training, supplier standards, marketing approval, and a dedicated liaison for general opening guidance. Assistance is not a permit, financing, construction, or profit guarantee.

Third parties

Landlord consent, contractor schedules, supplier delivery, insurance underwriting, lender decisions, and federal, state, county, or municipal licenses and inspections. The FDD specifically notes that glass or contractor licensing may apply in several states.

Required insurance currently includes commercial general liability limits of $1 million per occurrence and $2 million aggregate, automobile liability of $1 million, workers’ compensation of at least $100,000 or a higher state requirement, and replacement-cost property coverage. The carrier must be licensed in the state and have at least the required A.M. Best rating; The Glass Guru Enterprises, Inc. must be named as an additional insured and/or loss payee.

Training and readiness

What must be completed before opening authorization?

The owner and Designated Manager must complete the initial program to the franchisor’s satisfaction. The FDD estimates 36 classroom hours and 56 on-the-job hours, including a home pre-launch checklist, LMS video work, orientation, restoration and glazing basics, pricing and estimating, customer service, CRM workflow, supplies and vendors, goal setting, and marketing. The franchisor selects headquarters or a Qualified Training Location; disclosed locations include Plano, Roseville, Austin, and Charleston.

Tuition is not charged for the owner, Designated Manager, one office assistant, and up to two additional field or office assistants approved in advance, but the franchisee pays travel, lodging, meals, wages, and later or additional training costs. A dedicated liaison is made available around opening for general assistance; extra on-location support is subject to franchisor approval and then-current rates plus expenses.

Contract package completeFranchise Agreement, Specifics, guaranties, ownership information, assignments, and state addenda.
Approved site and leaseWritten site approval, approved lease or purchase terms, and landlord addendum where required.
Entity and authorityFormation documents, tax ID, governing approvals, good standing, and ownership records delivered.
Licenses and permitsAll applicable operating, glass, contractor, zoning, building, and local approvals obtained and certified.
Insurance evidenceRequired policies, limits, endorsements, additional-insured status, and premium evidence supplied.
Equipment and systemsApproved vehicle, signs, restoration tools, phone, internet, devices, hardware, FieldPulse access, Guru systems, and QuickBooks Online.
Training and staffingOwner and Designated Manager completed training; technicians and office personnel are ready.
Opening marketingGrand-opening campaign underway, custom materials approved, and expenditures tracked in required accounting software.

The grand-opening campaign must begin before opening and continue through 90 days after opening, with at least $15,000 spent over that period and an expenditure report submitted within 90 days after opening. The campaign is separate from the continuing monthly local-advertising requirement. Membership in the National Glass Association is also currently collected and maintained through the franchisor.

Alternative paths

How do conversion, resale, and two-franchise openings differ?

Path Governing documents Opening difference Verification point
Converted competing business Franchise Agreement The existing business must convert to The Glass Guru marks, System, Manuals, standards, and approved setup. The franchisor may offer a royalty incentive when the business demonstrates at least $500,000 in prior 12-month gross sales. The incentive is discretionary; confirm upgrade scope and conversion date.
Resale or acquisition Transfer provisions and then-current Franchise Agreement Franchisor consent, financial and business qualification, releases, transfer documents, landlord consent, third-party approvals, and Designated Manager training are required before control changes. Confirm who pays transfer and upgrade obligations and whether the location remains approved.
Two franchises purchased together Two Franchise Agreements plus Addendum to Second Franchise Agreement Temporary site and phone within 60 days; first business must reach Phase 2; franchisor has 30 days to approve onboarding; second-unit onboarding is 90 days; opening is due within two years. Permanent site must be secured at least 60 days before the two-year deadline; untrained new managers and assistants finish training at least 30 days before opening.

The FDD does not disclose a broad area-development agreement. Its defined multi-unit route is the simultaneous purchase of two franchises under two Franchise Agreements and the Second Franchise Agreement Addendum. Current Phase 2 criteria include specified staffing, at least $75,000 in monthly gross revenue for six consecutive months, and compliance; the franchisor retains sole discretion to determine whether the first business has reached Phase 2.

Source and buyer checks

What should a buyer verify before committing?

Request the final Franchise Agreement and every state-specific addendum, compare them with the FDD, and have qualified franchise, real-estate, licensing, construction, insurance, lending, and tax professionals review the provisions within their fields. Contact current and former franchisees listed in Item 20 and Exhibit F to verify how long site approval, permits, training, supplier delivery, software setup, and opening support actually took in comparable markets.

Synthesis

What is the practical opening conclusion?

The verified standard path is application and qualification review, federal FDD review, contract execution and payment, APR documentation, approved site and lease, entity and operating setup, permits and insurance, training, staffing and systems, approved grand-opening marketing, and readiness verification before operations begin. The total timeline is official: approximately 60 days is the FDD estimate, while 90 days after signing is the contractual opening deadline.

The most important applicant-controlled dependency is securing an acceptable site and lease early enough to finish the remaining work. The most important external dependencies are franchisor approvals and local licensing, landlord, contractor, supplier, insurer, and inspection timing. Before signing, resolve the APR population-range inconsistency, confirm the actual ZIP-code territory and qualification criteria, and determine whether the standard, conversion, resale, or two-franchise agreement path applies.