How Much Does the Glass Guru Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Capital required

How much does a The Glass Guru franchise cost?

The 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $155,805 to $385,280 to establish one new Franchise Business. The range applies to the standard service business operating from an approved office-and-warehouse facility inside an Area of Primary Responsibility. It includes the Initial Franchise Fee, premises, equipment, vehicles, opening advertising, three months of selected operating costs, and $50,000 to $80,000 of Additional Funds/Working Capital.

$155,805–$385,280Estimated Initial Investment

This is the official Item 7 range for a new franchise in the 2026 FDD. Additional Funds are already inside the total, not an amount to add again. The cover states that $49,500 to $201,023.10 of the investment must be paid to The Glass Guru Enterprises, Inc. or an affiliate. 2026 FDD cover; Item 7, pp. 13–18.

Data basis: The legal franchisor is The Glass Guru Enterprises, Inc., a Texas corporation. The current U.S. FDD was issued April 20, 2026 and amended April 30, 2026. This analysis uses Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17 and was checked July 16, 2026. No matching 2026 FDD was verified on a franchise-controlled public website, so FDD citations below are unlinked Item-and-page references. The brand’s official U.S. franchise information is linked separately.

Paid to franchisor or affiliate $49,500–$201,023.10 Cover-page portion of the startup range directed to those entities.
Additional Funds $50,000–$80,000 Three-month working-capital allowance already inside Item 7.
Grand Opening Advertising $15,000 Required before opening and through the first 90 operating days.

The published total should be read as a sequence of obligations rather than a single check written on one day. Some amounts are paid to the franchisor, some go to landlords or vendors, and some remain available inside the operating company to cover early expenses. That distinction matters when planning the source and timing of cash. A borrower may have enough approved financing for equipment but still need unrestricted funds for deposits, travel, advertising, professional services, and the opening reserve. The official range also does not state how much debt a particular applicant can carry, what collateral a lender will require, or how much personal liquidity should remain outside the business after opening.

The low end is not described as a typical or recommended budget. It is simply the sum of the lowest disclosed assumptions for every line. Reaching it would require several low-cost conditions to occur together, including a smaller territory fee, limited premises expense, lower equipment choices, modest professional costs, and the lower reserve amount. The high end is built the same way from the upper bounds. A prospective owner should therefore compare each local quote with the corresponding disclosure category rather than choosing one point inside the range and treating it as a forecast.

Item 7 cost drivers

What makes the official investment range so wide?

The largest source of variation is the population-priced Initial Franchise Fee, followed by Additional Funds/Working Capital and vehicle costs. The Item 7 low and high totals reconcile exactly when all 20 line items are added, but several line items are limited-period estimates rather than full asset prices.

High-end grouped contribution to the $385,280 Item 7 maximum

The bars show derived group totals made only from compatible high-end Item 7 line items.

Agreement and launch
$228,250
Working capital
$80,000
Equipment and systems
$47,030
Premises and compliance
$22,500
Training and professional
$7,500

Interpretation: the $228,250 agreement-and-launch group includes the $199,500 maximum Initial Franchise Fee, Glass Restoration Tools, Grand Opening Advertising, Initial Local Advertising, and the optional Brand Identity Package. The five derived groups add to the official $385,280 maximum. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 13–17.

The grouping above is an arithmetic aid, not a new franchisor estimate. It preserves every high-end line and merely organizes them by the decision they serve. This makes the main pressure points visible without replacing the underlying disclosure. A local quote can move one category while leaving the others unchanged, so the overall result should be rebuilt whenever the territory, lease, fleet, or reserve assumption changes. The same approach can be used with the low-end figures, but mixing a low figure from one scenario with an unrelated high figure from another would not reproduce either official total.

Payments tied to signing and launch

Item 7 category Disclosed amount When due What the range covers
Franchise Feep. 13; Item 5, pp. 3–4 $49,500–$199,500 Upon signing the Franchise Agreement Price depends on Area of Primary Responsibility population.
Glass Restoration Toolspp. 13, 15 $1,000–$1,250 Upon signing Initial tools; proprietary Foggy Window Restoration components must come from the franchisor.
Training Expensespp. 13, 15 $1,500–$2,500 Before opening Travel, meals, and lodging; the estimate assumes one attendee.
Grand Opening Advertisingpp. 14, 16 $15,000 Before opening and during the first 90 days Required opening campaign in addition to local advertising.
Initial Local Advertisingpp. 14, 16 $3,750–$7,500 First three months Low end equals three months of the $1,250 Minimum Local Advertising Expenditure.
Brand Identity Packagepp. 14, 16 $0–$5,000 Upon signing Optional branded displays, apparel, cards, and similar materials from third parties.

Premises, equipment, and field assets

Item 7 category Disclosed amount When due Cost interpretation
Real Estate/Rentpp. 13–15 $3,500–$8,000 First three months Assumes an approximately 1,000–2,000 square-foot office/warehouse and advance rent plus a one-month security deposit.
Utility Depositspp. 13, 15 $0–$500 Before opening Depends on local utility policies and customer history.
Leasehold Improvementspp. 13, 15 $500–$2,000 Before opening Minimal renovations; local labor, materials, condition, and location can change the amount.
Insurancepp. 13, 15; Item 8, p. 19 $500–$4,000 Before opening Required policies include general liability, automobile liability, workers’ compensation, and property coverage. The FDD requires an insurer with at least an A rating; the AM Best ratings portal is the referenced rating system.
Office/Shop Equipment and Suppliespp. 13, 15 $5,000–$8,500 Before opening Office supplies, printers, shop tools, scorers, pliers, and initial consumables for basic glass replacement.
Signagepp. 13, 15 $2,500–$4,000 Before opening Varies with location, zoning, fabrication, and installation labor.
Furniture, Fixtures & Equipmentpp. 13, 15 $500–$3,500 Before opening Desks, chairs, lamps, filing cabinets, and other basic office items.
Vehicles & Modificationspp. 13, 15–16 $15,000–$25,000 Before opening Three months of payments assuming full financing, generally for at least two vehicles, plus wraps and required glass racks.
Excluded from the vehicle figure

The $15,000 to $25,000 vehicle line is not the full purchase price of the fleet. It represents three months of estimated payments under a full-financing assumption and includes wraps and glass racks. A cash purchase, different loan structure, or additional vehicle creates a different capital profile.

Systems, professional setup, and operating reserve

Item 7 category Disclosed amount When due Cost interpretation
Computer Equipmentpp. 13, 15; Item 11, p. 25 $1,250–$4,800 Before opening At least one workstation with required software; suitable existing equipment may be used.
Software Systemspp. 13, 15; Item 11, p. 25 $1,305–$2,730 First three months Includes the Technology Fee and a separate QuickBooks Online license for the first three months.
Phone Systempp. 13, 15 $500–$2,500 Before opening Cell phone and dedicated commercial line with a local Area of Primary Responsibility number.
Licenses & Permitspp. 14, 16 $2,000–$4,000 Before opening Contractor, business, glass, window-replacement, and other local licenses as applicable.
Legal & Accountingpp. 14, 16 $2,500–$5,000 First three months and as needed Professional advice plus approved third-party bookkeeping, currently described as $1,500 for the first three full months.
Additional Funds/Working Capitalpp. 14, 16–17 $50,000–$80,000 As necessary Variable and fixed operating expenses without revenue for the first three months. The FDD does not say that owner compensation is included.
Required-source exposure

Item 8 estimates that 15% to 25% of establishment expenditures and 30% to 40% of ongoing expenditures will involve goods or services bought from the franchisor, an Approved Supplier, or to prescribed specifications. The franchisor is the sole source for the proprietary MicroVents, MicroSeals, spray tips, and MicroVent applicator used for Foggy Window Restoration. 2026 FDD, Item 8, pp. 18–20.

Several disclosed amounts are deliberately narrow in time. Rent and software cover only the opening months, while the vehicle line reflects a short payment window rather than the cost of owning the assets. Other categories, such as licenses, insurance, and professional services, depend on local rules or individual arrangements. The total is therefore best used as a map of required spending categories and timing. It should not be read as a promise that the business will have no further cash needs after the initial period or that every vendor will offer the assumptions used in the table.

Territory pricing

How does the Area of Primary Responsibility change the franchise fee?

The Initial Franchise Fee uses a base price for an Area of Primary Responsibility with up to 250,000 people and adds a per-person charge above that threshold. The Glass Guru Enterprises, Inc. uses the most recent U.S. Census Bureau figures available when the territory is designated.

The Glass Guru territory-fee formula

$49,500 Base Initial Franchise Fee for an APR population up to 250,000.
+$0.15 Added for each person above 250,000 in the approved APR.
$199,500 Illustrated maximum at the expected APR ceiling of 1,250,000 people.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 3–4; Item 12, pp. 27–28. The franchisor identifies the U.S. Census Bureau data portal as the population-data authority.

An honorably discharged U.S. veteran who meets the franchisor’s qualifications may receive a 10% discount on the non-refundable Initial Franchise Fee. The discount does not reduce rent, vehicles, working capital, advertising, technology, or the other Item 7 categories. 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 4.

The approved population matters only at the point the territory and price are established. The FDD states that the owner keeps the territory without a price increase during the contract term if population later grows. That protects the original fee calculation from ordinary demographic change, but it does not expand the boundary or create rights to additional locations. The final schedule attached to the agreement should identify the included zip codes, because a population total without the underlying geography is not enough to verify the calculation or understand where the business may operate without an extra service charge.

FDD caveat

Item 7 lists wire, cashier’s check, or installments as payment methods for the Franchise Fee, while Item 5 says the fee is paid in full and earned when the Franchise Agreement is signed. Item 10 also states that the franchisor offers no direct or indirect financing. Any installment arrangement should therefore be confirmed in the final contract rather than treated as disclosed financing.

Cash milestones

When is the startup money paid?

Cash is not paid in one lump sum. The Franchise Fee and certain tool or identity-package purchases are tied to signing; premises, insurance, equipment, vehicles, licensing, and travel are paid before opening; several Item 7 estimates cover the first three months after opening.

  1. Disclosure period before any binding payment

    The FDD states that it must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before a prospective franchisee signs a binding agreement or pays the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC franchise-buying guide explains the federal disclosure framework.

  2. Franchise Agreement signing

    The Initial Franchise Fee is due, and Item 7 also places Glass Restoration Tools and any selected Brand Identity Package at signing. Item 5 characterizes the Initial Franchise Fee as non-refundable and earned in full upon signing.

  3. Site, training, and pre-opening purchases

    The approved location must generally be selected within 60 days. Deposits, leasehold work, insurance, shop equipment, signage, furniture, computers, phones, vehicles, licenses, and training travel are paid as arranged before operations begin.

  4. Opening within the 90-day development window

    Item 11 estimates a typical 60-day period from signing to opening and requires the Franchise Business to be operational within 90 days. Grand Opening Advertising begins before opening and continues through the first 90 days.

  5. First three months and monthly ACH cycle

    Rent, software, local advertising, bookkeeping, and Additional Funds cover all or part of the first three months. Monthly fees owed to the franchisor are generally transferred by ACH on the 20th; the Royalty Fee and Brand Fee minimums begin after the first 180 days of operations.

Sources: 2026 FDD cover; Item 5, pp. 3–5; Item 6, pp. 5–13; Item 7, pp. 13–17; Item 11, pp. 22, 25–26. The federal rule text is available from the FTC Franchise Rule page.

This sequence creates a practical difference between committed capital and money that must be immediately available. The signing payments are fixed by the contract date, while many third-party costs depend on when a site is approved, when training is scheduled, and when vendors require deposits. The opening reserve must remain available after the visible setup purchases are made. A funding plan that uses all available cash for the fee, vehicles, and equipment can still be undercapitalized if it leaves no room for payroll, rent, advertising, utilities, insurance, and other early operating outflows during the disclosed initial period.

Ongoing obligations

Which fees continue after opening?

The principal continuing franchisor charges are the Royalty Fee, Brand Fee, and Technology Fee. Local Advertising is paid to third parties, and QuickBooks Online is a separate third-party subscription not included in the Technology Fee.

Core ongoing percentage fees disclosed in Item 6

Column height compares the stated percentage of Gross Sales; it does not estimate an annual dollar amount.

7%
Royalty Fee
2%
Brand Fee
1%
Technology Fee

Interpretation: all three are stated as percentages of Gross Sales, but the payment rules differ. Royalty and Brand Fee minimums begin after 180 days; Technology Fee is currently subject to a $595 minimum and $1,195 maximum each month. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 5–6.

Recurring cost entity Amount or basis Timing and payee Important qualification
Royalty Fee 7% of Gross Sales 20th of each month; franchisor by ACH $1,750 monthly minimum begins after the first 180 days.
Brand Fee 2% of Gross Sales 20th of each month; franchisor by ACH $500 monthly minimum begins after 180 days; the FDD says this money is not placed in a system-wide advertising fund.
Technology Fee 1% of Gross Sales 20th of each month; franchisor by ACH Currently $595 minimum and $1,195 maximum per month; subject to change on 60 days’ notice.
Minimum Local Advertising Expenditure $1,250 per month Each month; approved third parties Spent in the Area of Primary Responsibility and separate from the Brand Fee.
Non-APR Service Fee 1% of applicable Gross Sales 20th of each month; franchisor by ACH Applies only to products and services provided outside the franchisee’s APR and not inside another franchisee’s APR.
Trade Associations $100 yearly + up to $20 Yearly; collected by franchisor Paid to the National Glass Association; the possible $20 is an administration charge.
QuickBooks Online $75–$150 per month Ongoing; third-party provider Required accounting license and expressly excluded from the Technology Fee. Item 11, p. 25.

The percentage columns should not be added to a guessed sales figure to create an annual cost estimate. The disclosure states the contractual bases, but it does not provide a buyer-specific sales forecast in this cost analysis. Minimums and caps also prevent a simple percentage-only reading. The local advertising obligation is different again because it is a required spend with outside providers rather than a payment placed in a central advertising fund. A monthly cash model should keep these categories separate so that the payee, due date, minimum, cap, and approval rules remain visible.

Conditional charges

Which fees apply only when a specific event occurs?

Item 6 contains substantial event-triggered obligations beyond the recurring fees. These amounts matter because a transfer, reporting failure, relocation, insurance lapse, holdover, or territorial breach can create costs that are not part of the initial investment.

Reporting and data failures
$175 per month for late customer-data entry; $75 per day for improper Gross Sales reporting; and $50 per day for other untimely required reporting. Repeated data failures can also lead to an independent CPA audit at the franchisee’s expense.
Late payment and audit
Late Fees are 1.5% per month or the highest lawful rate, whichever is less. Audit Expenses become payable if an audit finds an understatement of at least 3% or is caused by late entries or reporting failure.
Training and operating assistance
Substitute manager, additional initial, new technician, and performance-improvement training are currently $1,000 per day, with additional initial training charged per person. Additional Operations Assistance is currently $1,000 per day; Ongoing Training Programs are currently $350 per program.
Temporary management
The current fee is the greater of $500 per day or 25% of Gross Sales during the management period, plus uncovered expenses. It may apply after a termination notice or an owner’s death or incapacity. For Washington franchisees, the FDD limits the charge to actual and reasonable expenses and no more than 180 days.
Transfer and resale assistance
The Transfer Fee is $10,000. A separate $10,000 Placement/Referral Fee applies when the Franchise Resale Assistance Program locates the buyer, in addition to the Transfer Fee and possible broker charges.
Renewal, holdover, and termination
There is no fee at the first 10-year renewal; the second renewal carries a $10,000 Renewal Fee. Holdover increases the Royalty Fee, Brand Fee, and Technology Fee to 150% of their ordinary monthly amounts. At expiration or termination, the Holdback Amount is the greater of $5,000 or 5% of average monthly Gross Sales for the prior six months; it is due five days beforehand and may be held for six months.
Insurance, relocation, and taxes
An insurance lapse can require reimbursement of unpaid premiums plus the franchisor’s expenses. Relocation requires reimbursement of the franchisor’s assistance costs. Taxes imposed on fees, other than the franchisor’s applicable income taxes, are passed through.
Territory violations
The Cross Territory Violation Fee is 80% of Gross Sales from products or services provided inside another The Glass Guru franchisee’s APR, due within 10 days of notice. A second violation can support termination.
Convention, enforcement, and indemnification
The current National Convention fee is $850 for the first registrant and $425 for each additional attendee, plus travel and living expenses; the registration fee can remain due when required attendance is missed. Enforcement and indemnification obligations can require actual legal costs and attorneys’ fees.
NSF and supplier approval
Returned electronic payments carry a current $75 per-occurrence fee plus interest and possibly another attempt fee. The Supplier Approval Fee is currently not charged, but Item 6 reserves the category.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 6–13. Fees identified as “subject to change” generally require 60 days’ notice and may not increase by more than 50% in one calendar year or 100% over the franchise term under the Item 6 notes.

These charges are not presented as routine monthly costs, but they are still part of the economic contract. Some arise from a voluntary event, such as a sale or relocation. Others follow a compliance failure, late payment, reporting problem, or territorial breach. The amount can be fixed, percentage-based, or equal to actual expenses, which makes a single contingency allowance impossible to derive from the disclosure. The useful distinction is therefore between predictable operating obligations and event-driven exposure. Contract administration, insurance maintenance, accurate reporting, and timely approvals affect whether several of these charges ever become payable.

Format differences

How do a second franchise, conversion, resale, and renewal change the cost?

The Item 7 range is for developing a new franchise. The FDD does not give one replacement total for a second-unit commitment, converted business, resale, or renewal; each path changes which costs apply and adds separate contract obligations.

A second franchise signed at the same time

The disclosed $135 to $7,110 range is only the initial three-month interim cost for the second franchise’s temporary site, telephone, and local marketing. It is not the total cost to open the second Franchise Business.

$60–$3,000 Temporary Real Estate/Rent for the first three months.
$75–$360 Telephone cost for the first three months.
$0–$3,750 Local marketing for the first three months.

The temporary site and phone must be secured within 60 days. The FDD estimates 1½ to 2 years from signing to opening the second business and requires opening within two years. The interim costs continue until opening, so the first-three-month table is not a complete second-unit reserve. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 16–18; Item 11, pp. 22, 25–26.

Converted business

A conversion may avoid many new-unit expenditures, but the franchisee can be required to upgrade the existing business to comply with the Franchise Agreement. No separate conversion investment range is disclosed. A qualifying competing business with at least $500,000 of Gross Sales for its most recent 12-month operating period may receive a 50% Royalty Fee reduction for 24 months on the mutually agreed pre-conversion sales amount; sales above that amount remain subject to the full Royalty Fee. 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 4–5; Item 7, p. 18.

Resale and renewal

A resale buyer separately negotiates the purchase price with the seller and may also face the disclosed Transfer Fee, training expenses, and required upgrades. At renewal, most new-unit startup costs do not recur, but capital expenditures may be required to maintain System uniformity. The first renewal after the initial term has no renewal fee; the next renewal carries the disclosed Renewal Fee. 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–8; Item 7, p. 18; Item 17, pp. 34–37.

These paths cannot be compared by subtracting a few line items from the new-unit total. A converted operation may already own vehicles, tools, staff, or premises, yet still need branding, systems, training, and compliance work. A resale includes a negotiated asset price that is outside the franchisor’s startup table. A second commitment creates a long interim development period before the later location is fully equipped. Renewal may avoid opening expenses while requiring modernization. Each path therefore needs its own written schedule of what is already owned, what must be replaced, what must be paid to another party, and what remains subject to approval.

Funding disclosure

Does The Glass Guru state a liquid-capital requirement or offer financing?

The 2026 FDD does not disclose a numerical Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold. Item 10 states that The Glass Guru Enterprises, Inc. does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or other obligation.

Estimated Initial Investment
$155,805 to $385,280 for the disclosed new-unit format. This is an expense range, not a liquidity test.
Additional Funds
The disclosed first-three-month allowance for fixed and variable operating expenses without revenue; already included in Item 7.
Liquid Capital
No numerical minimum is stated in the 2026 FDD. A lender or the franchisor may still evaluate available cash during approval or underwriting.
Net Worth
No prospective-franchisee Net Worth requirement is stated in the cost disclosures. Net Worth is not interchangeable with cash available to invest.
Personal obligations
The FDD states that the franchisee must be a business entity and that owners—and in specified circumstances a spouse—may be required to guarantee obligations under the Franchise Agreement.
Funding implication

The absence of a stated liquidity threshold does not reduce the Item 7 cash requirement. It means the FDD does not publish a separate minimum-cash or minimum-net-worth number. Any external loan approval, down payment, collateral, or owner-equity requirement is a separate underwriting decision.

A sound funding worksheet should separate unrestricted cash, borrowed proceeds, vendor financing, and personal reserves. Some sources may be available only for a specific asset or may be released after invoices are produced. Others may require a personal contribution before closing. The disclosure does not resolve those lender mechanics. It also does not state how much personal cash should remain outside the company for household expenses or unexpected delays. Those are applicant-specific questions that sit beside, rather than inside, the official startup range.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 13–18; Item 10, p. 21; Item 15, p. 32 and Franchise Agreement guaranty provisions.

Buyer verification

Which cost assumptions need confirmation before signing?

The official range is complete as an Item 7 disclosure, but it does not settle the buyer-specific cost of territory population, a local facility, vehicle financing, owner living expenses, upgrades, or a second-unit development period.

Confirm the final APR population and fee calculation. The territory schedule should show the exact population source, threshold calculation, and resulting Initial Franchise Fee.
Price the approved office-and-warehouse facility. Item 7 assumes approximately 1,000–2,000 square feet, three months of rent, and an advance security deposit, but local rent, zoning, and renovation terms determine the actual commitment.
Separate vehicle payments from vehicle purchase price. The disclosed line covers only three months under a full-financing assumption and includes wraps and glass racks.
Define what the working-capital reserve must support. Item 7 includes a three-month reserve but does not identify owner compensation as an included expense or guarantee that the reserve will be sufficient.
Update changeable fees immediately before contract execution. Technology, training, convention, reporting, and other Item 6 amounts marked “current” or “subject to change” can differ from the figures in the April 2026 FDD.
Obtain path-specific figures for a conversion, resale, renewal, or second franchise. The FDD explains which obligations can change but does not publish one complete substitute total for those circumstances.

Cost synthesis: the official new-unit range is the capital baseline, not a complete buyer-specific cash forecast. The Initial Franchise Fee varies sharply with APR population, Additional Funds are already included, and the vehicle line is only a three-month financing estimate. After opening, Royalty, Brand, Technology, Local Advertising, software, and conditional Item 6 charges remain separate obligations. The most important unresolved figure is the buyer-specific cash requirement after the territory, facility, fleet, financing structure, and three-month reserve are finalized.