How long does it take to open The Spice & Tea Exchange franchise?
The 2026 FDD gives this post-signing interval as an estimate, not a promise; it does not disclose one complete duration from initial inquiry to signing. Opening still depends on Site and lease approval, buildout and local approvals, required purchases and insurance, Initial Training, and final franchisor authorization. Real estate, permitting, financing, equipment delivery, and training can extend the schedule.
The 2026 FDD Item 11 states that the Store must open within one year after Franchise Agreement execution. Franchise Agreement §5.1, however, contains both language requiring approval to open and opening within 180 days and a separate one-year “Opening Date.” Treat this as a contract point to reconcile in writing before signing rather than assuming which deadline controls. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, p. 29; Franchise Agreement §5.1, p. 9.
What must a candidate qualify for before signing?
The 2026 FDD does not publish a minimum credit score, liquid-capital threshold, net-worth threshold, education requirement, or required culinary or retail experience for a new Unit Franchise applicant. The Application and Deposit Agreement says the franchisor evaluates applicant credentials, but it does not state the qualification criteria.
A Store must be managed at all times by an owner who completed Initial Training. If the franchisee is an entity, its owners and their spouses, when applicable, must sign personal guarantees, and ownership must be listed on the Franchisee Entity Information Sheet. The Franchise Agreement also requires proof of financing needed to develop and operate the Store. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 15, pp. 43–44; Franchise Agreement §5.1, p. 9.
The brand’s public franchise materials invite prospects to request information and describe Discovery Day for qualified candidates, but the 2026 FDD does not make Discovery Day a contractual opening prerequisite. Do not treat marketing-stage events as equivalent to application approval, franchise award, or agreement execution.
What happens from inquiry to opening?
The sequence below follows the 2026 FDD and attached agreements. Some activities can overlap, but a Store cannot open until the franchisor has approved the completed Store, required training is satisfactory, amounts due are paid, Principal Owner conditions are met, required insurance evidence is delivered, and Site-acquisition documents are approved and received.
Which disclosed periods matter most before opening?
These periods use the same unit—days—but they start from different events, so they should not be added together. The chart shows relative length only; several workstreams can run in parallel.
Who controls each critical opening dependency?
Site approval is not lease approval, territory exclusivity, or opening authorization. Item 12 generally sets a minimum one-mile Protected Area around the Site, with smaller or differently measured urban areas possible; Market Areas and Development Areas do not carry the same protection. The franchisor may still require lease protections, completed buildout, insurance evidence, training and other documents. Its assistance does not guarantee financing, landlord consent, permits, construction timing or Site performance.
What training must be completed before the Store opens?
Initial Training includes Spice UniversiTea for the franchisee and up to two additional approved designees, plus on-site Opening Team training. Spice UniversiTea is approximately 32–42 classroom hours. The Opening Team provides approximately 71–110 on-the-job man-hours, although the franchisor may require more or fewer; the franchisee bears costs for required man-hours over 110.
Required attendees must complete Initial Training to the franchisor’s satisfaction and pass the TSTE Training Quiz before opening. The FDD also requires at least 10 hours reviewing training materials and 10–25 hours of preparatory training/development work. Travel, living and compensation expenses for trainees are the franchisee’s responsibility. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 34–36.
How does the three-Store Area Development Program change the opening process?
The Area Development Program is a separate development commitment, not simply a larger Protected Area for one Store. The Developer signs the Development Agreement and the first Store’s Franchise Agreement contemporaneously. The Development Area is described before signing, but it is non-exclusive; each Store still requires its own approved Site and then-current Franchise Agreement.
| Development period | Lease securitization deadline | Opening deadline | Cumulative Stores |
|---|---|---|---|
| First | 180 days from Development Agreement effective date | 12 months from effective date | 1 |
| Second | 12 months from earlier of actual or required first-Store opening | 6 months from second-Store lease deadline | 2 |
| Third | 12 months from earlier of actual or required second-Store opening | 6 months from third-Store lease deadline | 3 |
A missed Development Schedule can create default consequences. Item 12 describes discretionary remedies that may include an extension with a non-refundable Extension Fee, reduction of development rights or area, or termination; Item 17 and Development Agreement §6.2 describe a 30-day cure after notice for a Development Schedule default. Buyers should compare the signed Data Sheet, state addenda and final agreement language because the schedule is contract-specific. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 12 and 17, pp. 38 and 52; Development Agreement §§1–6 and Exhibit A.
Do kiosk or resale paths follow the same opening process?
No. The 2026 FDD’s principal new-franchise offers are the Unit Franchise Program and three-Store Area Development Program. A Kiosk Site is a separate add-on that the franchisor may offer only to a current franchisee in compliance; if offered, the franchisee has 30 days after notice to exercise the option, sign the then-current Kiosk addendum, pay current fees and meet current Kiosk qualifications. It is not presented as a first-time standalone franchise path. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 6 and 12, pp. 13 and 37–38; Franchise Agreement Exhibit J.
A buyer acquiring an existing Store is a transferee path rather than a new-unit opening. The franchisor may provide a modified Initial Training program and customize the timeframe based on the transferee’s familiarity with the System. The FDD does not disclose separate conversion, mobile or home-based franchise programs. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, p. 36.
What must be verified before opening day?
What can happen if the opening schedule slips?
Failure to open within the time prescribed by the Franchise Agreement is listed as a curable default in Item 17, generally subject to a 30-day cure period under Franchise Agreement §16.3. Separately, §5.1 says the franchisor may, in its sole discretion, grant up to three 30-day extensions for permit delays beyond the franchisee’s reasonable control if full permit applications were made within 30 days after Site and lease approval and status documentation is submitted at least 10 days before each requested extension.
Those extensions are discretionary and tied to permit-delay conditions; they are not a general right to extend any missed milestone. The FDD also states that the franchisor may terminate if the Store does not open in the required time. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 11 and 17, pp. 29 and 45–47; Franchise Agreement §§5.1 and 16.3.
What should a buyer ask the franchisor to confirm before signing?
Ask for the current written candidate qualification standards, because the FDD does not disclose a minimumcredit score, net worth, liquid capital, or experience threshold. Confirm whether a Deposit Agreement is proposed, the exact expiration date of its right-of-first-refusal protection, and whether the proposed market area could become the final Market Area or Protected Area.
For real estate, ask which Site materials start the 30-day review clock, which lease-rider and collateral-assignment forms the landlord must sign, and which Site and lease approval dates trigger permit-extension eligibility. For training, confirm who must attend, the current format and location of Spice UniversiTea, how the TSTE Training Quiz is administered, and what “completion to our satisfaction” requires.
Finally, reconcile the 180-day and one-year opening language in Franchise Agreement §5.1, and, for an Area Developer, review the completed Exhibit A Development Schedule rather than relying on a generic expectation. Item 20 provides current and former franchisee contacts that can be used to verify how long Site approval, lease negotiation, buildout, training and opening authorization actually took in comparable markets.
Where can the opening process be checked publicly?
Bottom line: the Unit Franchise path is qualification review, FDD review, signing, Site and lease approval, buildout and third-party approvals, required purchases and insurance, Initial Training, and franchisor opening authorization. The FDD estimates 2–6 months after signing, not a guaranteed duration. The main franchisee-controlled dependency is advancing the Site, lease, permits, financing and readiness work; major external dependencies are franchisor approvals and landlord, government, contractor and supplier timing. Reconcile §5.1’s 180-day versus one-year opening language before signing.