How much does a The Spice & Tea Exchange franchise cost?
The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $312,900 to $557,514 to establish one Unit Franchise Store. The range includes the Initial Franchise Fee, Establishment Package, possible Supplemental Inventory Fee, build-out, opening expenses, and Additional Funds for the first six months. It expressly excludes buying real estate or constructing a building.
- Legal franchisor
- The Spice & Tea Exchange Franchising, LLC, a Florida limited liability company
- Parent and cost-relevant affiliates
- The Spice & Tea Exchange Holdings, LLC; The Spice & Tea Exchange Development, LLC; and The Spice & Tea Exchange Distribution, LLC
- FDD issuance date
- April 28, 2026
- U.S. offer structures
- Unit Franchise Program and Area Development Program; a Kiosk Location may be offered separately to an existing compliant franchisee
- Primary cost evidence
- 2026 FDD Items 5, 6, and 7, pages 10–22; cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 10, 11, 12, and 17
- Public-link status
- No matching 2026 FDD was located on a brand-controlled public domain, so FDD Item and page citations below are intentionally unlinked
- Information checked
- July 21, 2026
The brand’s current public materials include an official franchise investment page and an official franchise models page. The financial figures in this article follow the later, verified 2026 FDD.
Key cost figures
These six figures separate the principal signing payments, the six-month operating cushion, the multi-unit rights fee, and the continuing royalty obligation.
What is included in the initial investment?
The 2026 Item 7 range combines payments to The Spice & Tea Exchange Franchising, LLC or its affiliates with third-party premises, professional, insurance, training-travel, and working-capital costs. The Establishment Package is unusually important because The Spice & Tea Exchange Development, LLC uses it to bundle initial inventory, selected operational tools and equipment, marketing materials, real-estate support, reference materials, initial training, freight, Manuals, and the POS System. Item 8 currently requires core Store inventory and supplies to be purchased from The Spice & Tea Exchange Distribution, LLC or another approved source. The brand also publishes separate supply-chain and inventory information, but the FDD controls the amounts below.
Payments to the franchisor or affiliates
Three opening categories are paid to the franchisor or its affiliates, and two of them are normally due when the contract is signed.
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 range | When paid | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Franchise Fee — Single Unit | $38,750 | At signing of the Franchise Agreement | Item 7, pages 18 and 20 |
| Establishment Fee | $139,410–$154,900 | At signing of the Franchise Agreement | Item 7, pages 18 and 20 |
| Supplemental Inventory Fee | $4,000–$24,000 | As invoiced | Item 7, page 18 |
Premises, build-out, and opening costs
The premises group creates most of the range movement because local construction scope and lease terms are outside the franchisor’s control.
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 range | Payment basis | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Construction/Build-Out, Tea Bar Equipment, and Other Dress-Out | $111,840–$254,364 | As agreed with third-party providers | Item 7, page 18 |
| Grand Opening Advertising | $3,000–$5,000 | As incurred | Item 7, pages 18 and 20 |
| Professional Fees | $500–$3,500 | As agreed with providers | Item 7, pages 18 and 20 |
| Utility Deposits | $250–$500 | Lump sum as incurred | Item 7, page 18 |
| Office Equipment | $350–$4,000 | Lump sum as incurred | Item 7, pages 19 and 20 |
| Rent and Security Deposits | $1,800–$10,000 | Lump sum as incurred | Item 7, pages 19–21 |
| Insurance — first-year premium | $1,000–$3,500 | Lump sum as incurred | Item 7, pages 19 and 21 |
The Store is estimated at 1,200 to 1,800 square feet and is generally assumed to occupy leased space in a stand-alone building, retail complex, or similar setting. The Item 7 rent line covers rent and security deposits, not the full stream of future rent. The franchisor’s official real-estate and site-selection information provides public context, while the lease, local construction scope, and landlord terms determine the buyer’s actual premises cash requirement.
Compliance, training travel, and six-month operating funds
These amounts cover local approvals, the buyer’s own training-related expenses, and the operating cushion already included in the official total.
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 range | What it covers | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| State and Local Business Licenses, Permits, and Filing Fees | $500–$4,000 | Required local and state approvals | Item 7, page 19 |
| Training Expenses | $1,500–$5,000 | Travel, living, and compensation expenses for the franchisee and approved designees | Item 7, pages 19 and 21 |
| Additional Funds — 6 months | $10,000–$50,000 | Start-up operating expenses, including payroll, during the Initial Investment Period | Item 7, pages 19 and 21 |
| Official Unit Franchise Program total | $312,900–$557,514 | Excludes real-estate or building-purchase costs | Item 7, page 19 |
The Initial Investment Period begins on the Franchise Agreement date and lasts six months. The Additional Funds line already sits inside the official total; adding another $10,000 to $50,000 on top would double-count it. Item 7 says payroll is included but does not separately state whether owner compensation is included. The public franchise training information helps explain the training structure, but the franchisee remains responsible for travel, living, and compensation costs.
Interpretation: construction and dress-out account for $142,524 of low-to-high movement, materially more than any other plotted category. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 18–21. Values are official ranges; bar proportions are derived from those endpoints.
When is the money paid?
The largest franchisor-controlled payments arrive at contract signing, before the Store opens. Third-party premises and opening costs then arise as agreements are signed, invoices are issued, and work is performed. The FDD estimates a two- to six-month interval from Franchise Agreement signing to opening, requires a site within 180 days, and requires the Store to open within one year. The brand’s official franchise process page provides public process context.
How does the Area Development Program change the cost?
The 2026 FDD states a $364,150 to $608,764 Area Development Program total for a minimum three-Store commitment. That amount consists of the $90,000 Area Development Fee plus the estimated investment for the first Store. It is not the complete cost of constructing and opening all three Stores.
The three-Store commitment is a rights-and-first-Store total
The disclosed multi-unit total combines development rights with only the first location’s opening range.
What the total means: the developer signs the Development Agreement and the first Franchise Agreement at the same time. The Development Fee and the first Store’s Establishment Fee and other initial fees are due then. The Development Fee is not credited against Establishment Fees. Later Stores require separate Franchise Agreements and then-current fees and development costs. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pages 12 and 21–22.
The FDD also permits a possible Kiosk Location for a current franchisee in compliance with its agreements. The disclosed yearly Kiosk Location Fee is $1,500, but the 2026 Item 7 tables do not provide a complete Kiosk initial-investment range. A Kiosk therefore should not be priced using the Unit Franchise Program total without a current addendum and written initial-fee schedule.
Which fees continue after opening?
The principal recurring obligations are the Royalty Fee, System Development Fee, Local Advertising Requirement, technology-support fee, and Integrated Music System Fee. The Royalty Fee is not simply 7%: the monthly charge is the greater of 7% of Gross Sales or $1,750. “Gross Sales” excludes specified sales taxes paid to authorities and authorized customer refunds, adjustments, credits, and allowances. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 12 and 17–18.
Interpretation: the current recurring percentage burden includes 7% Royalty, 1% System Development, and 1% Local Advertising, while a future cooperative contribution could be imposed up to 2% but would be credited toward the Local Advertising Requirement. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 12–14. The chart does not convert percentages to dollars or estimate Gross Sales.
Recurring and format-dependent charges
The current recurring schedule mixes Gross Sales percentages with monthly fixed ranges and one optional format fee.
| Fee or requirement | Amount or basis | Timing | Important condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | Greater of 7% of Gross Sales or $1,750 | Monthly, currently due on the fifth day for the prior month | The minimum applies regardless of sales level |
| System Development Fee | Currently 1% of Gross Sales; up to 3% | Monthly | May increase on 30 days’ written notice |
| Local Advertising Requirement | Currently 1% of Gross Sales | Monthly spending; quarterly reporting | Franchisee-controlled qualifying local spend |
| Local Advertising Cooperative Fee | Up to 2% of Gross Sales | If and when established | Credited toward Local Advertising Requirement; no cooperative currently exists |
| Subscription, Support and Inventory Management Fee | Currently $300–$800 per month | Monthly | High end assumes an optional second POS system |
| Integrated Music System Fee | $90–$150 per month | Third-party schedule | Includes audio programming and necessary stereo equipment |
| Kiosk Location Fee | $1,500 per year | With Kiosk addendum | Only if the franchisor offers and approves a Kiosk Location |
The required Computer System also creates replacement and upgrade exposure. Item 11 estimates $1,500 to $2,500 if a buyer needs a compliant computer system, while the broader Item 7 Office Equipment range is $350 to $4,000 because the low end assumes some equipment is already owned. Item 11 estimates optional or required maintenance, updating, upgrading, or support contracts at $38 to $2,500 per year but states there is no contractual limit on the frequency or cost of upgrades.
Which charges arise only after a specific event?
Item 6 contains several fixed, variable, and reimbursement-based charges that do not belong in the standard opening total because they arise only when a particular event occurs. Renewal, transfer, relocation, extra training, defaults, supplier violations, and closures can each create additional cash obligations.
| Event-triggered fee | 2026 amount | Trigger | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Spice UniversiTea Attendance Fee | $1,500 per person; then-current fee capped at $3,000 | Existing franchisee or employee attends a scheduled session; reattendance may also be required after delay | Item 6, pages 12–13 |
| Additional On-Site Training or Assistance | Up to $600 per day per trainer, plus travel and expenses | Requested or required extra assistance | Item 6, page 14 |
| Renewal/Successor Franchise Fee | $17,500 | Signing successor Franchise Agreement | Items 6 and 17, pages 14 and 46 |
| Transfer Fee | $15,000 | Approved transfer | Items 6 and 17, pages 16 and 49 |
| Transferee Training Fee | $7,500 | Training an approved transferee | Item 6, page 14 |
| Site Relocation Fee | $7,500 plus expenses | Approved relocation | Items 6 and 12, pages 16 and 40 |
| Administrative Fee | 15% of amounts paid on the franchisee’s behalf | Franchisor advances required costs | Item 6, page 15 |
| Unauthorized Vendor/Product Fee | $250 per item type, per occurrence | Use of an unauthorized supplier, item, or vendor | Item 6, page 16 |
Does the FDD require a specific liquid capital or net worth amount?
No specific Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold is stated in the 2026 FDD. That absence does not reduce the Item 7 investment or establish that a buyer will qualify with only the $10,000 to $50,000 Additional Funds line. The franchisor may evaluate financial resources during its approval process, and lenders or landlords may impose separate requirements.
- Estimated Initial Investment
- The $312,900 to $557,514 Item 7 range for establishing one Unit Franchise Store under the FDD assumptions.
- Additional Funds
- The included $10,000 to $50,000 estimate for the first six months; it is not a disclosed Liquid Capital requirement.
- Liquid Capital
- Cash or readily available funds. The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum amount.
- Net Worth
- Assets minus liabilities, which is not the same as cash available to invest. The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum amount.
- Personal Guarantee
- Owners must guarantee the franchisee entity’s obligations, and the FDD states that spouses may also be required to accept liability. This is a liability commitment, not a capital threshold.
Item 10 states that The Spice & Tea Exchange Franchising, LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and will not guarantee a note, lease, or other obligation. Financing approval, interest rate, collateral, and down payment therefore remain outside the franchisor’s Item 7 estimate. The Federal Trade Commission’s Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise explains why the FDD, franchise agreements, and buyer-specific financing plan must be evaluated separately.
Verified fee reductions
The 2026 FDD discloses two limited reductions. A qualifying U.S. military veteran who owns a majority interest may receive a 25% reduction on the first Store’s $38,750 Franchise Fee, producing a $29,062.50 fee. The veteran reduction does not apply to the Area Development Program. Separately, the franchisor may provide a 10% goodwill discount on the $154,900 Establishment Fee to an existing franchisee in good standing who meets then-current criteria. Neither reduction lowers construction, deposits, insurance, training travel, Additional Funds, or ongoing fees.
What does the official range not fully resolve?
The Item 7 total is an estimate under stated assumptions, not a cap. The largest unresolved amount is the site-specific build-out and premises obligation, followed by inventory timing and the operating cash needed after the initial six-month estimate. Required-source rules also matter: Item 8 says approximately 90% to 100% of purchases and leases used to establish and operate a Store must follow the franchisor’s approved or designated sources and System Standards, excluding labor and payroll.
Which cost documents should be reconciled before signing?
The buyer’s final capital plan should reconcile the 2026 FDD with the actual Franchise Agreement exhibits, site documents, and supplier quotes. The FTC’s Franchise Rule materials explain the disclosure framework and the required review period. A state filing directory, such as the Wisconsin active franchise registration list, can provide a separate government check on filing status; it is not a substitute for the current FDD delivered to the buyer.
What is the practical capital takeaway?
The verified 2026 starting point is $312,900 to $557,514 for one Unit Franchise Store, with a buyer-protective caveat that the official low end uses an Establishment Fee discount limited to qualifying existing franchisees. The largest disclosed variable is the $111,840 to $254,364 Construction/Build-Out, Tea Bar Equipment, and Other Dress-Out range. The official total also includes $10,000 to $50,000 of Additional Funds for six months, but excludes real-estate or building purchase costs and does not disclose a Liquid Capital or Net Worth requirement.
After opening, the cost contract continues through the monthly Royalty Fee of the greater of 7% of Gross Sales or $1,750, the current 1% System Development Fee, the current 1% Local Advertising Requirement, technology and music fees, required-source purchases, and conditional charges. For an Area Development buyer, the disclosed $364,150 to $608,764 figure buys three-Store development rights and funds the first Store—not all three Store openings.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Spice & Tea Exchange Franchise?
- How Does The Spice & Tea Exchange Franchise Work?
- How to Open a The Spice & Tea Exchange Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Spice & Tea Exchange Franchise?
- How Much Does a Spice & Tea Exchange Franchise Owner Make?