Opening timeline
How long does it take to open a Shubh Beauty Salon franchise?
The 2026 FDD estimates two to three months from Franchise Agreement execution to opening. This is an estimate, not a guaranteed deadline. A Walmart location remains subject to Walmart’s site process and Commencement Date; a non-Walmart location depends on site approval, lease negotiation, buildout, permits, licensing, equipment delivery, insurance, staffing, training, and final opening approval.
Calendar-day FDD review
Before signing or paying the franchisor or affiliate.
Days for site review
After a specific non-Walmart location is submitted.
Business days of training
Owner plus up to two people; manager included if applicable.
Opening authorization gates
Buildout, training, payment, and insurance evidence.
Days to hold grand opening
Measured from the date regular operations begin.
Sources: Shubh Franchise LLC 2026 FDD, cover and Item 11, pp. 21–25; Franchise Agreement §§1, 4, 8 and 10. Federal timing is confirmed by the FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise and the FTC Franchise Rule page.
Qualification
What must an applicant qualify for before Shubh Beauty approves the franchise?
The attached Franchise Agreement requires a truthful application, a current financial statement, and a sworn notarized statement that the information is accurate. The financial statement must be current within 30 days of application, and any material negative change before approval must be disclosed. Shubh may conduct a background investigation.
The agreement states that only U.S. citizens may own a U.S. franchise and that applicants with felony convictions will not be considered. It also requires disclosure of any current or former relationship with a similar franchisor or licensor, plus proof of release and clearance from any continuing noncompete obligation. These are contractual application criteria; meeting them does not guarantee approval.
Official minimums versus preferences
The FDD does not disclose a minimum net worth, liquid-capital threshold, credit score, education level, or beauty-industry experience requirement. The official franchise inquiry page describes sales and customer-service ability, schedule management, honesty, and high personal standards as desired traits, not stated contractual financial minimums.
Verified sequence
What is the evidence-based process from inquiry to opening?
The current offer is for one location under one Franchise Agreement. Each additional Salon requires a separate agreement; the FDD does not disclose an Area Development Agreement or a contractual multi-unit development schedule.
Submit the application and financial statement
Actor: Applicant.
Timing: Financial information current within 30 days.
Blocker: Missing, inaccurate, or unnotarized information.
Complete qualification and location-path review
Actor: Franchisor; Walmart also reviews a Walmart candidate.
Action: Background, ownership, prior-brand, manager-license, and suitability review.
Blocker: Failed criteria or Walmart rejection.
Receive and review the FDD and agreements
Actor: Applicant and professional advisers.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before signing or payment.
Next: Resolve the non-Walmart deadline conflict before execution.
Execute the governing documents
Actor: Franchisee, owners, franchisor, and affiliate when applicable.
Action: Sign the Franchise Agreement and guaranties; a Walmart operator also signs the Sublease.
Trigger: Initial franchise fee is due at execution; Walmart security deposit also applies.
Secure the approved site and lease structure
Actor: Franchisee finds the site; franchisor approves; landlord or Walmart controls occupancy.
Timing: Non-Walmart site decision within 30 days after the specific site is submitted.
Blocker: Lease terms, site rejection, or Walmart availability.
Design, permit, build, and license the Salon
Actor: Franchisee, landlord, contractor, and government authorities.
Action: Follow Shubh layout, colors, flooring, furniture, signage, and equipment specifications.
Blocker: Zoning, permits, inspections, code compliance, or cosmetology licensing.
Install systems, insurance, and opening supplies
Actor: Franchisee and approved suppliers.
Action: Install specified POS, printer, card processor, two tablets, camera system, furnishings, and service inventory.
Blocker: Unapproved vendors, missing coverage, or incomplete additional-insured endorsements.
Complete training and staff readiness
Actor: Franchisee, approved manager, trainees, and franchisor trainer.
Timing: Three business days; all required sessions completed satisfactorily.
Blocker: Failed training or staff not trained by the franchisee.
Obtain opening authorization and launch
Actor: Franchisor authorizes; franchisee opens.
Action: Pass setup approval, finish training, pay all due amounts, and deliver insurance evidence.
Next: Conduct the required grand opening within five days.
Sources: 2026 FDD Items 8, 9, 11, 12 and 15; Franchise Agreement Introduction and §§1, 3–5, 8 and 10. The official site separately confirms the two location types, 300–1,000 square-foot recommendation, license requirement, and three-day training on its franchise FAQ.
Location path
How do Walmart and non-Walmart opening paths differ?
Both paths use the same Shubh Franchise Agreement, brand standards, training requirement, insurance baseline, systems, and final opening gates. The real-estate control is different: a non-Walmart franchisee leases directly from a third-party landlord, while a Walmart franchisee subleases from affiliate Vrajhalie LLC under its Walmart Master Lease.
| Decision point | Non-Walmart property | Walmart store |
|---|---|---|
| Site initiation | Franchisee identifies and submits a specific site. | Franchisee proposes a store; franchisor contacts Walmart. |
| Occupancy document | Direct lease, subject to franchisor location and lease approval. | Sublease with Vrajhalie LLC, dependent on the Master Lease. |
| Timing control | Lease, contractor, permitting authorities, and franchisor approvals. | Walmart controls site availability and the Commencement Date. |
| Territory | One approved address only; no exclusive territory. Separate agreement for every additional Salon. | |
| Opening consequence | Franchisor may terminate if site or opening deadlines are missed, subject to disclosed refund and extension terms. | Missing Walmart’s prescribed date may lead to termination and retention of the initial fee; an extension is not guaranteed. |
Site approval is not territory protection
Approval confirms that one address meets Shubh’s site standards. It does not create an exclusive area, prevent another Shubh Salon nearby, approve the lease economics, guarantee permits, or authorize opening. The official location directory can help a buyer map existing outlets, but the FDD and signed location exhibit control the franchise rights.
Contractual timing
Which deadlines control, and what must be clarified before signing?
The FDD gives a two-to-three-month estimate, but several separate clocks govern the transaction. Most importantly, the FDD summary and attached Franchise Agreement state different non-Walmart opening deadlines. The inconsistency should be corrected in writing or explained in a signed amendment before the buyer relies on either period.
Bars show the stated number of days; triggers differ and the two non-Walmart opening bars conflict.
Interpretation: the 90-day attached-agreement term and 180-day Item 11 summary cannot both be treated as the operative non-Walmart deadline without clarification. Sources: 2026 FDD cover and Item 11, pp. 22–23; Franchise Agreement §2(a), p. 13.
Contractual deadline
The FDD also gives Shubh a termination right if no site is located within three months after signing, with a refund of the initial fee less incurred establishment and site-investigation costs; an extension is discretionary and tied to diligence. Separately, if the parties cannot agree on a site within 12 months and the franchisee was diligent, the Franchise Agreement states the initial fee will be refunded. A Walmart opening instead follows Walmart’s Commencement Date.
If the final agreement contains a material unilateral change from the form attached to the FDD, the FTC generally requires at least seven calendar days to review the revised agreement before signing. Negotiated changes initiated by the prospect are treated differently. See the FTC’s Amended Franchise Rule FAQs.
Responsibility map
Who controls each opening dependency?
Shubh supplies standards, reviews specified submissions, conducts training, and gives final permission to open. The franchisee remains responsible for the application, site pursuit, lease obligations, buildout execution, permits, professional licensing, staffing, insurance, approved purchases, and readiness. Walmart, landlords, contractors, suppliers, insurers, and government authorities can independently delay the sequence.
Each cell identifies the primary actor; assistance does not transfer the underlying obligation.
Sources: 2026 FDD Items 8, 9, 11, 12 and 15; Franchise Agreement §§1, 4, 5 and 10. For federal accessibility during construction or alteration, review the ADA Standards for Accessible Design; state and local requirements still vary.
Opening readiness
What must be complete before Shubh authorizes the Salon to open?
The FDD states four express pre-opening conditions: Shubh must approve the developed Salon against its standards; pre-opening training must be completed to its satisfaction; the initial franchise fee and all other amounts then due to Shubh and Vrajhalie LLC must be paid; and the franchisee must deliver the requested insurance policies or other evidence of coverage and premium payment.
Those four gates sit on top of the franchisee’s operational dependencies. The Salon must have the specified POS and camera systems, two tablets, approved furnishings and equipment, opening supplies, required signage, trained staff, active cosmetology-license coverage, local permits and inspections, and a lease or sublease that permits occupancy. The franchisee—not Shubh—hires and trains employees.
Training is not opening authorization
Completing the three-day program satisfies only one of the four express gates. It does not approve the premises, cure a permit problem, prove insurance, waive amounts due, or override Walmart’s Commencement Date. The training table totals approximately 20.5 hours, but the FDD says hours may be adjusted for experience and learning rate.
The brand’s current service menu can be checked on the official Shubh Beauty services page, but the 2026 FDD and Operations Manual control what the franchise may offer. The FDD permits approved salon services and states that products may not currently be sold.
Buyer verification
What should a buyer verify before signing and before opening?
Ask which non-Walmart opening deadline will appear in the executed agreement and obtain written correction.
Identify when the three-month site period begins, what proves diligence, allowable deductions from a refund, and whether an extension is available.
For non-Walmart premises, confirm lease approval and opening contingencies. For Walmart, review the Sublease, Master Lease excerpts, deposit conditions, and Commencement Date.
Confirm the precise cosmetology, salon-establishment, sanitation, zoning, building, sign, fire, and occupancy approvals with the relevant authorities.
Confirm required suppliers, specifications, policy limits, additional insureds, certificate timing, and delivery lead times.
Use Item 20 contacts to test actual site approval, Walmart coordination, buildout, training, inspection, and opening-support experience.
Identify which owners and spouses must sign, and review state addenda that may change guaranty or dispute terms.
Request the current readiness checklist, inspection process, required documents, approver, and form of opening authorization.
For general franchise due diligence, the FTC recommends reading all 23 FDD Items and contacting current and former franchisees. The franchisor’s current business contact information appears on the official contact page; contractual notices must follow the signed agreement rather than a website form.
Practical conclusion
What is the verified opening path?
The verified path is application and qualification, federal FDD review, agreement execution, location-specific site and occupancy approval, compliant buildout and licensing, approved systems and insurance, satisfactory training and staff preparation, then Shubh’s opening authorization. The official total estimate is two to three months, but it is not a promise. The applicant-controlled critical path is securing and developing a compliant site; the largest outside dependency is the landlord, local authorities, or Walmart. Before signing, the buyer should resolve the conflicting 90-day and 180-day non-Walmart opening terms and confirm the applicable site, refund, extension, and Commencement Date provisions.