How does opening a Realty ONE Group franchise work?
Realty ONE Group Affiliates, Inc. estimates about 90 days from signing the Unit Franchise Agreement and making the first payment to opening the Outlet. This is an estimate, not a promise. The controlling dependencies are site consent, lease and licensing work, Initial Training, Trade Dress and signage review, required insurance and systems, and written authorization to operate. A separate 180-day contractual threshold can permit termination if the Outlet has not opened.
- Legal franchisor
- Realty ONE Group Affiliates, Inc., a Nevada corporation
- Document basis
- U.S. FDD issued March 26, 2026; Unit Franchise Agreement
- Applicable offer
- One Outlet under one Unit Franchise Agreement; new office or conversion
- Timeline mode
- Mode A: official total estimate, plus separate contractual deadlines
- Core evidence
- FDD Items 1, 5-12, 15-17 and 20; Agreement §§6.1, 7.1-7.3, 8.4, 8.10 and 8.12
- Date checked
- July 14, 2026
Public context: official Realty ONE Group franchise page, official U.S. brand website, and the FTC Franchise Rule page. Contractual statements below are cited to the 2026 FDD and attached Unit Franchise Agreement in plain text because no verified franchisor-controlled public FDD link was identified.
Calendar days before signing or franchisor-related payment.
Business days after the proposed address is submitted.
One factor stated for franchisor consent to a proposed Outlet.
Three eight-hour classroom days; verify the Item 7 conflict.
Office Manager plus at least one equity owner.
What must an applicant qualify for before signing?
The 2026 FDD discloses screening requirements but does not publish a minimum net worth, liquid-capital amount, credit score, education level, or required years of real estate experience.
Meeting the disclosed conditions does not guarantee approval. The public franchise page invites prospects to request information, while the FDD says Realty ONE Group Affiliates conducts screening during the application process. The exact application stages, approval committee, scoring method, and approval turnaround are not disclosed and should be requested in writing.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 1 pp. 1-2; Item 7 p. 10; Item 15 pp. 25-26; Unit Franchise Agreement §§8.1 and 8.12. See the official franchise inquiry page.
What is the opening sequence from inquiry to authorization?
The sequence below follows the dependencies disclosed in the 2026 FDD and Unit Franchise Agreement. Realty ONE Group does not publish a complete public application workflow, so the first-stage approval mechanics remain an explicit uncertainty rather than an assumed “award” step.
Submit an inquiry and complete screening
- Action
- Provide ownership, financial-capacity and background-check information requested by Realty ONE Group Affiliates.
- Actor
- Applicant and franchisor.
- Timing
- No application turnaround is disclosed.
- Blocker
- Unverified funding capacity, licensing path, ownership or screening results.
Receive and review the FDD
- Action
- Review the current FDD, Unit Franchise Agreement, state addenda and guaranty before signing.
- Actor
- Franchisor delivers; applicant reviews.
- Timing
- At least 14 calendar days before signing or payment to the franchisor or affiliate.
- Blocker
- Missing updates, material agreement changes or unresolved state-specific terms.
Sign the Unit Franchise Agreement
- Action
- Execute the agreement, ownership exhibits and applicable guaranties; pay the Initial Franchise Fee when due.
- Actor
- Approved franchisee, 20% owners and Realty ONE Group Affiliates.
- Timing
- The effective date starts the principal 60-, 120- and 180-day clocks.
- Blocker
- The fee is generally fully earned and nonrefundable; state addenda may modify payment timing.
Secure and obtain consent to the Outlet
- Action
- Submit a new site or document the existing office being converted; return the signed location-consent letter.
- Actor
- Franchisee finds and secures premises; franchisor reviews.
- Timing
- Acceptable premises must be located, secured and consented to within 60 days.
- Blocker
- Lease terms, minimum size, parking, neighborhood, zoning, or failure to execute a lease rider if required.
Complete licensing, insurance and office setup
- Action
- Obtain brokerage and local approvals, required insurance, Trade Dress, furnishings, signage, utilities and contractor work.
- Actor
- Franchisee, landlord, insurers, contractors and government authorities.
- Timing
- Insurance evidence is due within 30 days after signing; coverage must be active on Opening Date.
- Blocker
- Third-party permits, certificates of occupancy, landlord consent, construction or policy endorsements.
Install required systems and approved materials
- Action
- Prepare the Computer System, internet, accounting data exchange, MLS/IDX access, zONE-related requirements, signs and approved promotional materials.
- Actor
- Franchisee and designated or approved suppliers.
- Timing
- Specified opening materials must arrive no later than two business days before Opening Date.
- Blocker
- Unapproved vendors, noncompliant branding, missing data access or incomplete software agreements.
Complete Initial Training
- Action
- The designated Office Manager and at least one equity owner attend the next offered program and complete it to ROGA’s satisfaction.
- Actor
- Required trainees and franchisor-designated instructors.
- Timing
- Typically within 45 days before opening and no later than 180 days after signing.
- Blocker
- Unsatisfactory completion; the Office Manager may retake or an approved replacement may attend.
Pass review and activate the Opening Date
- Action
- ROGA reviews Trade Dress and signage, issues written consent to operate, grants designated software access, and obtains the Opening Date acknowledgment.
- Actor
- Franchisor authorizes; franchisee corrects deficiencies and signs the letter.
- Timing
- Deficiencies must be corrected within 30 days; opening must occur within 180 days after the effective date.
- Blocker
- Incomplete training, unresolved inspection items, missing licenses, insurance or systems.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 7-12 and 15; Unit Franchise Agreement §§6.1, 7.1-7.3, 8.4, 8.10 and 8.12. Federal timing is explained in the FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide and 16 CFR §436.2.
Which milestones run from the Franchise Agreement effective date?
The following periods share the same effective-date trigger. They are not additive: site work, licensing, office setup and training may overlap.
Calendar days from the Unit Franchise Agreement effective date
Interpretation: the 120-day milestone concerns eligibility for incentives described in the ONE Resource Guide; it is not the opening deadline. The 180-day period is the material contractual risk point.
Source: 2026 Unit Franchise Agreement §7.2(a), p. 11; FDD Item 11, pp. 15-16.
If acceptable premises are not located and consented to within 60 days, ROGA may cancel the Franchise Agreement without refunding the Initial Franchise Fee. If the Franchised Business has not commenced within 180 days, ROGA may terminate by written notice, again without a refund. The agreement does not disclose an automatic extension right.
How do site approval and an existing-office conversion differ?
Both paths use the same Unit Franchise Agreement, but a new office carries a heavier site-search, lease and buildout dependency. The FDD does not offer a separate conversion agreement or a multi-unit development agreement.
New Realty ONE Group Outlet
The franchisee locates and secures premises. Realty ONE Group Affiliates reviews the proposed address and considers location, neighborhood, parking, minimum 1,250-square-foot size, physical characteristics and lease terms. The franchisee remains responsible for the lease, zoning, permits, construction, furnishing and certificates of occupancy.
Conversion of an existing brokerage office
The site already exists, so the search and initial acquisition step may be reduced. The office still must become an approved Real Estate Office, comply with Trade Dress and signage requirements, maintain the required broker license and insurance, install the prescribed systems, complete Initial Training and receive written consent to operate under the Brand.
Each approval is distinct; none automatically proves the next one.
Interpretation: the Primary Marketing Area is not an exclusive territory. Site consent is not lease approval, permit issuance, construction completion, training completion or opening authorization.
Source: 2026 FDD Item 11 pp. 15-16; Item 12 pp. 22-23; Unit Franchise Agreement §§7.1-7.2.
What training must be completed before the Outlet can open?
The designated Office Manager and at least one equity owner must satisfactorily complete the next Initial Training offered, unless ROGA determines that extenuating circumstances justify delay. The detailed Item 11 curriculum lists three classroom days in California, Arizona or Nevada, with eight hours per day and no on-the-job hours.
| Day | Disclosed focus | Hours | Opening dependency |
|---|---|---|---|
| Day 1 | COOLTURE, finance and operations, systems | 8 classroom | Required trainees must complete satisfactorily |
| Day 2 | Growth, AI-powered recruiting, people development | 8 classroom | Next available program generally required |
| Day 3 | Retention, broker support, implementation | 8 classroom | Software access follows successful completion |
The 2026 FDD contains an internal inconsistency: Item 11 shows a three-day, 24-hour program, while an Item 7 note says training “typically is accomplished in five days.” Obtain the current calendar, location, required-attendee list, completion standard, retake terms and all travel obligations in writing before fixing the opening schedule.
Sources: 2026 FDD Item 11 pp. 20-21 and Item 7 p. 10; Unit Franchise Agreement §6.1. The public ONE.U coaching page describes broader educational resources but does not replace the contractually required Initial Training.
What must be complete before written opening authorization?
Opening is not achieved merely by finishing construction or training. The Outlet must be licensed, insured, equipped, branded, connected to required systems, staffed with the trained Office Manager and accepted through ROGA’s pre-opening review.
The Opening Date is the day the franchisee officially activates ROGA’s proprietary reporting software and becomes eligible to operate the Franchised Business at the Real Estate Office. The franchisee must sign ROGA’s Opening Date acknowledgment letter. Any deficiencies identified during the pre-opening inspection must be corrected within 30 days or the agreement may be terminated.
Sources: 2026 FDD Items 8, 11 and 15; Unit Franchise Agreement definitions and §§6.1(b), 7.2(d), 7.3, 8.4, 8.10 and 8.12. The official ZONE ecosystem overview provides current public context on the brand’s technology platform.
Who controls each critical opening dependency?
Applicant / franchisee
Realty ONE Group Affiliates
Third parties
ROGA’s assistance does not guarantee a site, lease, financing, permit, insurance policy, contractor schedule, licensed personnel or opening date. Item 10 states that the franchisor offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation.
What should be verified in writing before the agreement is signed?
Use Item 20’s current and former franchisee contacts to test the disclosed process: ask how long approval, site consent, training scheduling, software activation, inspection correction and final authorization actually took. The FTC also recommends reviewing the disclosure and agreements carefully before committing; its Franchise Rule Compliance Guide page explains the federal disclosure framework.
What is the practical bottom line?
The verified path is screening and FDD review, Unit Franchise Agreement signing, site or conversion-office consent, licensing and lease work, Trade Dress and technology setup, required Initial Training, pre-opening review, written operating consent and activation of the Opening Date. The total timeline is an official 90-day typical estimate, not a guarantee. The most important applicant-controlled dependency is securing a compliant, licensed and insured office quickly. The decisive franchisor dependency is site and opening consent; the largest external dependency is landlord and government approval. The key contractual issue is the nonrefundable 60-day site and 180-day opening risk, together with the unresolved three-day versus five-day training disclosure.