That is an independent manager-run scenario range for a mature U.S. Realty ONE Group Outlet in a standard Marketing Area, before personal income taxes, financing, depreciation, and capital spending. The base scenario is about $51,000. When a qualified owner replaces the required full-time Office Manager, the modeled owner-operator benefit is about $65,000 to $237,000; that higher figure includes the value of the owner's labor and is not passive business profit.
This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Realty ONE Group Affiliates, Inc. It combines verified 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document facts with separately identified wage, revenue, transaction, and operating-cost assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of market size, active-agent count, agent pricing, transaction volume, home-price mix, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
Legal franchisor: Realty ONE Group Affiliates, Inc. Parent: Realty One Group International, LLC. FDD issuance date: March 26, 2026. Item 19 status: no financial performance representation. Structural anchors: Item 6 recurring fees, Item 12 agent-count requirements, Item 15 Office Manager obligation, and Item 20 U.S. outlet counts. External benchmarks: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics management wages and IRS Statistics of Income industry context. Confidence is LIMITED because no same-brand revenue or profit measure is disclosed. Date checked: July 14, 2026.
Conservative through upside annual scenarios; base case is approximately $51,000.
Includes residual operating profit plus modeled value of full-time management labor.
The 2026 FDD discloses neither outlet sales nor franchisee profit or owner compensation.
Item 12 requires at least 25 associated Real Estate Agents at each later anniversary.
BLS wage proxy; the model uses an $80,000 fully loaded manager-cost assumption.
Item 20 also reports 12 company-owned Outlets, but no economics for either population.
What does the 2026 FDD actually disclose about owner earnings?
Officially, it discloses no revenue, operating profit, net income, cash flow, owner compensation, or other outlet-level performance measure. Realty ONE Group Affiliates, Inc. states in Item 19 that it makes no representation about future franchisee performance or the past performance of company-owned or franchised Outlets. The applicable source is the 2026 Realty ONE Group FDD, Item 19, page 30.
This means there is no official average, median, quartile, margin, or percentage-achieving figure to convert into annual owner earnings. The official Realty ONE Group commission-model page describes a 100% commission proposition for agents, but it does not disclose the office's agent charges, retained revenue, operating expenses, or owner profit. Gross home sales and agents' Gross Commission Income therefore cannot be treated as franchise-owner earnings.
A brokerage may handle substantial property sales volume while retaining only a small portion as office revenue. Owner earnings begin only after agent payouts, franchise charges, office payroll, occupancy, technology, insurance, local marketing, professional fees, and manager compensation.
Does Item 20 provide a useful substitute?
No; Item 20 is official system-population evidence, not earnings evidence. At December 31, 2025, the FDD reports 408 franchised Outlets and 12 company-owned Outlets. During 2025, 43 franchised Outlets opened, while 4 terminated, 1 was not renewed, and 36 ceased operations for other reasons. Those counts help a buyer assess cohort change and operating-history risk, but they do not reveal why any Outlet opened, transferred, closed, gained agents, or lost money. Source: 2026 Realty ONE Group FDD, Item 20, pages 31–37.
How was the annual earnings range calculated?
The range is estimated from a transparent annual model for a standard Marketing Area Outlet operating after its second anniversary. It uses the FDD's agent-count rule and recurring-fee formulas, then applies explicit editorial assumptions for office-retained revenue, transaction activity, non-franchise operating costs, and manager compensation.
What is the reproducible formula?
The formula is estimated office-retained operating revenue minus ordinary unit-level costs and disclosed recurring franchise charges. For the manager-run case:
Estimated pre-tax owner earnings = office-retained revenue − Monthly Agent Fee − Transaction Fee − Marketing and Promotion Fee − local marketing − other operating costs − Office Manager cost.
Office-retained revenue means revenue kept by the brokerage after commissions paid to agents, not property sales volume and not Gross Commission Income. The model excludes initial investment, financing interest and principal, depreciation, capital expenditures, owner salary, owner distributions, and personal income taxes.
| Annual model input or result | Conservative | Base | Upside |
|---|---|---|---|
| Active Real Estate Agents | 25 | 40 | 60 |
| Modeled retained revenue per agent | $8,000 | $9,000 | $10,000 |
| Estimated office-retained revenue | $200,000 | $360,000 | $600,000 |
| Transactions per agent | 4 | 6 | 8 |
| FDD charges plus modeled local marketing | $41,230 | $81,864 | $146,640 |
| Other operating costs, excluding Office Manager | $94,000 | $147,600 | $216,000 |
| Manager-run pre-tax owner earnings | −$15,230 | $50,536 | $157,360 |
| Owner-operator benefit | $64,770 | $130,536 | $237,360 |
Figures are calculated at full precision and rounded in prose and charts. “FDD charges plus modeled local marketing” includes the Monthly Agent Fee, modeled Transaction Fee, 2% Marketing and Promotion Fee, and 2% local-marketing assumption.
Which assumptions are official and which are editorial?
The fee mechanics and minimum agent count are official; the revenue and expense levels are scenario assumptions. The distinction is material:
- Official FDD facts: $60 Monthly Agent Fee per associated agent; standard-area minimum Monthly Agent Fee of $1,200 after the first anniversary; at least 25 agents after the second anniversary; Transaction Fee of $135 for the first $200,000 of property price plus $50 for each additional $200,000; Marketing and Promotion Fee equal to 2% of Agent and Transaction Fees; recommended local marketing of at least 2% of Gross Revenues.
- Editorial transaction assumption: $185 per closing, equal to the $135 base plus one $50 price increment. Actual Transaction Fees vary by property price, transaction eligibility, team attribution, and the optional Fixed Transaction Fee Program.
- Editorial revenue assumptions: $8,000, $9,000, and $10,000 of annual office-retained revenue per active agent. The FDD and public brand pages do not disclose this number.
- Editorial operating-cost assumptions: 47%, 41%, and 36% of retained revenue for administrative payroll excluding the Office Manager, occupancy, technology, MLS, insurance, accounting, legal, supplies, and other ordinary costs. The declining ratios represent scale sensitivity, not an FDD-reported efficiency curve.
- Manager-cost assumption: $80,000 annually, based on the BLS 2024 median wage of $66,700 for property, real estate, and community association managers, plus a 20% editorial payroll-burden allowance. The occupation is a proxy, not an exact match for a brokerage Office Manager.
Pre-tax residual after the modeled $80,000 Office Manager cost; dollars per standard-area Outlet.
Interpretation: the model crosses from a modest loss to positive residual earnings as active-agent count, retained revenue per agent, and operating leverage improve. The chart does not show probabilities.
Source: independent calculations using 2026 Realty ONE Group FDD Items 6, 12, and 15; BLS May 2024 wage data; editorial assumptions shown above.
How does owner involvement change the result?
Owner involvement changes the modeled annual economic benefit by approximately $80,000 in every scenario because the owner may replace a paid manager where the owner is qualified and the FDD's requirements are satisfied. This is an estimated labor substitution, not additional passive profit.
Item 15 says principal owners are recommended but not required to participate directly. Each Outlet must nevertheless have a designated Office Manager who completes initial training and devotes full time during normal business hours to management, operation, and development. The model's manager-run result deducts an $80,000 annual employment cost. The owner-operator result adds that cost back because the owner performs the work.
The distance between each pair is the modeled $80,000 annual value of management labor.
Interpretation: owner operation can improve cash available to the owner, but the added amount compensates full-time work. Hiring a manager above or below $80,000 changes manager-run earnings dollar-for-dollar.
Source: 2026 Realty ONE Group FDD, Item 15, pages 25–26; BLS real-estate management wage benchmark; independent calculations.
The owner-operator figure should not be compared directly with a passive investment return. It combines business residual with compensation for recruiting agents, supervising office operations, managing budgets, maintaining compliance, and developing the brokerage during normal business hours.
Which Realty ONE Group fees have the greatest earnings impact?
The recurring burden is driven by agent count and transaction volume rather than a percentage royalty. This is official FDD structure, but the annual dollar totals below depend on the independent scenarios.
In the three scenarios, Item 6 charges plus modeled local marketing total approximately $41,230, $81,864, and $146,640. Those are not FDD-reported annual averages. They are calculated from the scenario's agent count, transaction count, $185 modeled fee per closing, and office-retained revenue.
The absence of a percentage royalty does not establish a high margin. A high-activity office can owe larger Agent Fees and Transaction Fees, while the office must still fund staff, occupancy, technology, MLS access, insurance, professional services, and the required management function. Source: 2026 Realty ONE Group FDD, Items 6 and 12, pages 6–10 and 22–23.
Why is the reasonable earnings range so wide?
The largest unresolved variable is office-retained revenue per active agent, which the FDD does not disclose. The result is therefore estimated with limited confidence for a mature standard-area Outlet, not reported for the 408 franchised Outlets in Item 20.
Five variables move the answer most: active-agent count, revenue retained from each agent, transactions per agent, local occupancy and payroll, and the cost or labor value of the Office Manager. A $10,000 change in annual manager cost changes manager-run owner earnings by $10,000. A $1,000 change in retained revenue per agent changes annual revenue by $25,000 at 25 agents, $40,000 at 40 agents, and $60,000 at 60 agents before related costs.
What do government benchmarks add?
They add context, not a same-brand profit margin. The IRS 2023 nonfarm sole-proprietorship tables combine “offices of real estate agents, brokers, property managers, and appraisers.” The row's business receipts and net income less deficit imply an aggregate ratio of about 35.0%, but it includes individual Schedule C operators, owner labor, losses, and business formats that do not match a staffed Realty ONE Group Outlet. That ratio is not used to generate the article's scenario results.
The 2022 U.S. Economic Census basic dataset provides employer-establishment revenue, employment, and payroll measures by NAICS, including the real estate sector. It does not isolate Realty ONE Group's agent-fee model, Office Manager obligation, Marketing Area structure, or franchised-unit costs, so no Census margin is applied.
For manager labor, the BLS occupation proxy is imperfect. Brokerage-office management can resemble both property/real-estate management and general operations management. The latter had a May 2024 median wage of $102,950 for general and operations managers, above the $66,700 real-estate management median. A buyer should replace the $80,000 assumption with a local, role-specific quote.
The earnings figures are operating results before financing. Loan interest and principal payments can materially reduce cash available to the owner, but the FDD does not provide sufficiently uniform financing terms for a single debt-service estimate. Personal income taxes are also excluded because entity structure, jurisdiction, deductions, and owner circumstances differ.
What should a buyer verify before relying on any earnings estimate?
A buyer should replace every editorial assumption with outlet-specific evidence and compare only like-for-like U.S. Outlets. The most useful population is a mature Marketing Area office with a similar agent count, manager structure, housing price mix, and occupancy market.
- Ask for lawful written substantiation. Under the FTC Franchise Rule, financial performance information must follow the rule's disclosure framework. Ask whether a current Item 19 supplement exists and retain the written basis for any earnings claim.
- Reconcile 12 months of office-retained revenue. Separate property sales volume, Gross Commission Income, agent payouts, office fees, transaction charges, ancillary income, refunds, and pass-through amounts.
- Test the agent cohort. Verify average active agents, joins, departures, teams, transaction sides per agent, and how often the office falls below the Item 12 minimum.
- Recalculate Item 6 charges from actual transactions. Use property prices, Gross Commission Income eligibility, team splits, CPI adjustments, and the Fixed Transaction Fee Program rather than a flat modeled fee.
- Separate owner labor from residual profit. Obtain a local quote for a qualified full-time Office Manager and identify every task the owner would perform instead.
- Interview current and former franchisees. Item 20 states that no current or former franchisees signed confidentiality clauses during the last three fiscal years that restrict discussion of their experiences. Compare Marketing Area offices separately from Low-Density Marketing Area offices.
- Model financing independently. Add interest and principal only after confirming the amount financed, rate, term, collateral, fees, and repayment schedule.
The official U.S. Realty ONE Group franchise page is useful for current brand and operating-model context, but its system marketing statements are not substitutes for a franchised Outlet profit-and-loss statement.
What is the decision-useful owner-earnings takeaway?
The strongest defensible range is a scenario-based annual loss of about $15,000 to pre-tax manager-run earnings of about $157,000, with a base case near $51,000. A qualified owner who performs the required full-time Office Manager function has modeled owner-operator benefit of about $65,000 to $237,000, but approximately $80,000 of the difference is labor value rather than passive profit.
The most important earnings driver is office-retained revenue per productive agent. The largest unresolved uncertainty is that the 2026 Realty ONE Group FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation and does not disclose agent pricing, Outlet revenue, or operating expenses. Before making a decision, a buyer should verify the applicable Item 19 and any lawful supplement, reproduce Item 6 fees from actual transaction records, and test the model through current and former franchisee interviews.