How to Start a Precision Door Service Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

OPENING PATH

How does the Precision Door Service franchise opening process work?

Within 9 months Contractual opening deadline

A standard Precision Garage Door Service franchise must begin operating within nine months after the franchisor signs the Franchise Agreement. That is a deadline, not a promised opening time. Before opening, the franchisee must complete required training and other pre-opening obligations, while site approval, leasing, financing, suppliers, insurance, staffing, and government approvals can create separate dependencies.

14 days
Federal FDD review floor
Calendar days before a binding contract or covered payment.
10 days
Site-decision target
Business days after a complete site-compliance submission.
30 days
Territory notice window
If the Territory is not designated when the agreement is signed.
1–3 months
Training timing
Initial training generally takes place after Franchise Agreement signing.
60 days
Typical post-training opening
Typical, not guaranteed, after completing the initial training program.
Legal franchisorPrecision Door Service SPV LLC.
Disclosure basis2026 FDD issued April 1, 2026; checked July 20, 2026.
Opening formats reviewedStart-up, conversion, resale/transfer, and qualifying private-equity multi-unit development.
Timeline modeOfficial contractual deadline; stage timings are disclosed separately and are not added into a promised total.
Primary documentsFDD Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20; Franchise Agreement and schedules; PE Development Agreement and related addendum.
QUALIFICATION

What must a Precision Door Service applicant qualify for before signing?

The current official investment page lists at least $50,000 in liquid capital and a $250,000 minimum net worth. Those figures are current marketing qualification criteria, not stated minimums in the 2026 FDD, and the public page does not specify whether each threshold is measured per person, ownership group, entity, unit, or development commitment. Meeting them does not guarantee approval.

Experience

The official franchise site says industry experience is not required. The FDD nevertheless requires trained, direct supervision of the Business, so “no industry experience” should not be read as “no operating or training obligation.”

Owner participation

An individual ordinarily must directly perform or supervise the Business. An entity ordinarily needs direct on-site supervision by a trained designated owner unless the franchisor consents to a trained manager structure.

Ownership and guaranties

For an entity franchisee, persons or entities holding 5% or more must personally guarantee Franchise Agreement performance. A qualifying PE Owner may receive different guaranty treatment if the franchisor agrees.

Work authorization and financing

The FDD requires applicable owners to maintain immigration status allowing them to live, work, own, and operate the U.S. business. Franchisor financing is discretionary; FDD credit-score bands describe financing terms, not a universal franchise-approval score.

The brand's published mutual-evaluation sequence moves from a Franchise Developer through territory analysis and discovery to a Meet the Team Day for qualified candidates. It does not identify the exact FDD-delivery point, so the federal disclosure step remains separate.

PROCESS ROADMAP

What are the verified steps from inquiry to opening?

1

Start the mutual evaluation

Action: Request information and speak with the assigned Franchise Developer.
Actor: Applicant and franchisor.
Timing: No contractual duration disclosed.
Next dependency: Mutual fit, territory availability, and financial qualification.
2

Complete discovery and candidacy review

Action: Provide requested information, review territory analysis, and complete discovery; qualified candidates may attend Meet the Team Day.
Actor: Applicant and franchisor.
Timing: Not fixed in the FDD.
Blocker: Approval is discretionary; published minimum finances do not guarantee an award.
3

Receive and review the FDD and contracts

Action: Review the 2026 FDD, Franchise Agreement, guaranties, schedules, and any format-specific documents.
Actor: Franchisor delivers; applicant reviews.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or covered payment under the FTC rule.
Next dependency: Resolve state addenda and agreement questions before signing.
4

Sign the governing agreements

Action: Execute the Franchise Agreement and required schedules; an entity supplies guaranties. A PE Owner signs the Development Agreement and first Franchise Agreement together.
Actor: Approved applicant and franchisor.
Timing: The nine-month opening deadline begins when the franchisor signs the Franchise Agreement.
Next dependency: Territory, site, training, and setup work.
5

Finalize Territory and secure an approved site

Action: Select an industrial or commercial office site inside the Territory, verify guideline and zoning compliance, and submit evidence.
Actor: Franchisee selects and negotiates; franchisor approves the site.
Timing: Franchisor attempts a decision within 10 business days after a complete submission.
Blocker: No agreed approved location means the Business cannot operate.
6

Complete required initial training

Action: Complete Phase I if required, Phase II, and Field Training to the franchisor's satisfaction.
Actor: Required owner, Principal Owner, designated manager, or other approved attendee structure.
Timing: Training generally occurs 1–3 months after signing; the program is scheduled 10 times yearly or when minimum class size is met.
Blocker: Operations cannot begin before satisfactory training completion.
7

Finish the pre-opening readiness stack

Action: Equip the location; arrange approved inventory, tools, vehicles, software, phones, website, insurance, staffing, background checks, permits, licenses, and required marketing setup.
Actor: Franchisee, using franchisor standards and approved sources where required.
Timing: Several workstreams can overlap.
Blocker: Landlords, lenders, insurers, suppliers, contractors, and government authorities can delay readiness.
8

Open only after the pre-opening conditions are satisfied

Action: Confirm training and all pre-opening obligations are complete, then commence operations.
Actor: Franchisee; franchisor determines satisfaction with its requirements.
Timing: Franchisees typically open within 60 days after training, but must open within the contractual nine-month window.
Verify: The FDD does not describe a separate written “opening certificate”; confirm the franchisor's final go-live clearance procedure.
Contractual deadline The 2026 Franchise Agreement requires opening within nine months after the franchisor signs it. The reviewed documents disclose no automatic extension right. Do not assume permitting, leasing, financing, training, or construction delays extend the window; verify any written amendment or waiver before relying on one.
TRAINING

What training must be completed before Precision Door Service can open?

The FDD requires completion of Phase I Training if the franchisor requires it, Phase II Training, and Field Training to the franchisor's satisfaction. Item 11 says Phase I and Phase II are provided to the franchisee or, for an entity, its designated manager; Franchise Agreement Section 6 says the franchisee or its Principal Owners must attend initial training. Entity buyers should resolve that attendee-language difference in writing for their ownership structure before scheduling travel or delegating management.

Disclosed initial-training hours
Compatible training-stage hours from the 2026 FDD schedule; Phase I applies only if required.
Phase I classroom
15 hrs
Phase II classroom
72 hrs
Field Training
8–40 hrs

Phase II is the largest disclosed training block; Field Training varies by assigned duration and may occur at a selected operating franchise or virtually.

Source: 2026 Precision Door Service SPV LLC FDD, Item 11, pp. 50–53. The narrative also says Phase II generally lasts five days, so candidates should verify the current delivery calendar and daily schedule.

Buyer verification — training scope The current official franchise website says that trade training itself is not provided to owners or team members, while the 2026 FDD Phase II schedule lists technical subjects including residential opener troubleshooting and residential door installation. The FDD controls the disclosed contractual relationship; ask the franchisor to explain exactly who receives each technical module and what employee or technician training remains the franchisee's responsibility.
RESPONSIBILITIES

Who controls the critical opening dependencies?

The franchisor supplies standards, approvals, training, manuals, approved-source rules, and disclosed opening support, but it does not select the site, negotiate the lease, guarantee financing, obtain local licenses, or employ the franchisee's staff. Franchisor and third-party approvals are separate gates.

Opening responsibility matrix
Phase
Applicant / franchisee
Franchisor
Third parties
Qualification
Provide candidacy and financial information; arrange capital.
Evaluate fit and decide whether to award; financing, if any, is discretionary.
Lenders independently decide outside financing.
Territory and site
Select the site, submit compliance evidence, negotiate lease or purchase.
Designate Territory and approve a compliant site.
Landlord, zoning, and permitting authorities control their approvals.
Training
Required attendee completes prescribed training satisfactorily.
Schedule, deliver, and evaluate required franchise-system training.
Selected operating franchise may host Field Training.
Readiness
Procure, hire, insure, license, equip, and complete pre-opening work.
Set specifications, approved-source rules, systems, and required standards.
Suppliers, insurers, contractors, utilities, and authorities deliver or approve their pieces.

Basis: 2026 FDD Items 8, 10 and 11; Franchise Agreement Sections 5 and 6.

SITE APPROVAL

How are Territory, site approval, lease responsibility, and opening rights different?

The Franchise Agreement grants a designated Territory with limited protection, not exclusivity. The franchisee must find an industrial or commercial office location inside it, demonstrate compliance with site guidelines and zoning, and obtain franchisor site approval. If the Data Sheet leaves the Territory blank at signing, the agreement provides for notice within 30 days after the Effective Date.

Site approval is not lease approval or a promise of local permission. The franchisee negotiates the lease or purchase. The franchisor will attempt to decide a complete site submission within 10 business days; without an agreed approved location, the Business cannot operate.

Site approval is not territory protection Territory designation defines where the franchise rights apply; site approval tests a proposed location against system criteria. A landlord's consent, zoning compliance, construction readiness, and government licensing remain separate dependencies. The Neighborly market inquiry information should be treated as preliminary marketing context, not a substitute for the signed Territory definition.
FORMAT DIFFERENCES

Does the opening path change for a conversion, resale, or multi-unit buyer?

Yes. The 2026 FDD describes start-ups and conversions under the standard franchise offer, while resales/transfers and qualifying PE Owner development use additional documents and different dependencies. These paths should not be merged into one generic sequence.

Path Governing documents Process difference Timing point to verify
Start-up Franchise Agreement and schedules New operating location, training, equipment, systems, and other pre-opening obligations. Nine-month contractual opening deadline.
Conversion Franchise Agreement; possible Excluded Services Addendum at franchisor discretion Existing business activities may need to be separated from the franchised Business if the franchisor approves an exclusion. No separate conversion opening timeline is disclosed.
Resale / transfer Assignment and Consent, Buyer Commitment, and current-form Franchise Agreement Buyer must complete initial training, although the franchisor may modify training based on transfer circumstances. Closing and consent conditions replace a simple new-unit sequence.
PE multi-unit PE Development Agreement, PE Addendum, and separate Franchise Agreement for each Business Development commitment is 2–5 Businesses; first Franchise Agreement is signed with the Development Agreement. First Business within nine months; later units follow the Development Schedule.

For a PE Owner, missing the Development Schedule can affect future development rights even when existing signed Franchise Agreements remain in place. The FDD's Item 17 summary gives a 120-day cure period for a Development Schedule default; buyers should match that summary against their executed Development Agreement and state-specific rider.

OPENING READINESS

What should be verified before the business actually starts taking jobs?

The Franchise Agreement bars operations until required training and other pre-opening obligations are satisfied. Training completion alone should not be treated as opening authorization.

Franchise Agreement, Data Sheet, guaranties, and any format-specific agreements are fully executed.
Territory is documented and the selected industrial or commercial office site has franchisor approval.
Lease or purchase, zoning, utilities, buildout, equipment, signage, and vehicle setup are ready for operations.
Required Phase I if applicable, Phase II, and Field Training are completed to the franchisor's satisfaction.
Approved tools, inventory, equipment, and supplier requirements are met; tools needed before training are procured on time.
Required Software System, telephone routing, electronic identities, website, and technology accounts are operational.
Required insurance is in force and evidence of coverage has been provided as required by the Franchise Agreement.
Employees and subcontractors are hired and trained; required background checks are completed for personnel entering customer property.
All applicable government licenses, permits, certificates, and any local contractor-license requirements are satisfied.
Required marketing setup is ready, including franchisor-approved materials and the local opening plan described in the brand's support system.
Required industry-association membership has been addressed; the current official body is the International Door Association.
The franchisor has confirmed what it treats as final operational clearance because the FDD does not describe a separate opening certificate.

For the federal pre-sale step, the FTC's consumer franchise guide explains that the FDD must be received at least 14 calendar days before the prospect signs a contract or pays money to the franchisor or an affiliate in connection with the sale. The FTC Franchise Rule is the governing federal rule source; state franchise-law addenda may impose additional requirements.

FINAL SYNTHESIS

What is the practical opening decision for a Precision Door Service buyer?

The verified path is mutual evaluation and qualification, FDD review, execution of the correct agreements, Territory and site work, required training, and completion of pre-opening obligations. The strongest total-timeline evidence is the contractual deadline to open within nine months after the franchisor signs the Franchise Agreement; it is not an expected or guaranteed completion time.

The main applicant-controlled dependency is coordinating an approved site with training, financing, staffing, equipment, insurance, technology, and licensing. Key outside dependencies are the site decision, training schedule, landlord and lender actions, supplier delivery, and government approvals. Before signing, verify final go-live clearance, training scope for your ownership structure, and any written relief if third-party delay threatens the nine-month deadline.