How much does a Precision Door Service franchise cost?
The 2026 Estimated Initial Investment for a new Precision Garage Door Service® franchise is $164,285–$360,294. That is the official Item 7 range for one standard U.S. territory. It includes the Initial Franchise Fee, premises setup, required equipment, opening inventory, launch marketing, and Additional Funds for the first three months, but it does not include the cost of purchasing real estate.
Standard startup franchise under the April 1, 2026 FDD. The range includes $34,500–$69,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months and an Initial Franchise Fee of $75,000–$150,000. Real estate purchase costs are excluded.
Legal franchisor: Precision Door Service SPV LLC. Document: U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 1, 2026. Formats reviewed: a standard startup or approved conversion, plus the separate Development Agreement available only to qualifying private-equity owners. Items used: 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17. Checked: July 22, 2026.
The franchisor's official U.S. franchise information repeats the 2026 Item 7 range. A matching public copy of the 2026 FDD was not located on an official franchise-controlled domain, so FDD citations in this article are intentionally unlinked and identify the Item and printed page. The legal franchisor also appears on the Wisconsin active franchise registration list; registration is not government approval of the offering.
Capital snapshot
Sources: 2026 FDD, cover; Item 5, pp. 15–18; Item 6, pp. 19–26; Item 7, pp. 27–31. Liquid Capital and Net Worth: official franchise cost page checked July 22, 2026.
What is included in the $164,285–$360,294 range?
The 2026 Item 7 total contains 20 disclosed expenditure categories. The Initial Franchise Fee is the largest individual category, but the upper end also reflects inventory, insurance, marketing, premises, vehicles, technology, training, and working capital. Additional Funds are part of the official total, not an amount to add again.
Agreement, office, and administrative setup
| Item 7 category | Low | High | When paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $75,000 | $150,000 | At Franchise Agreement signing |
| Software System Enrollment Fee | $1,250 | $1,250 | At Franchise Agreement signing |
| Office lease | $1,725 | $5,750 | Before opening |
| Office build-out | $0 | $4,600 | As incurred |
| Telephone number charges | $0 | $575 | Before opening |
| Deposits and other prepaid expenses | $230 | $575 | As incurred |
| Professional Fees, Licenses and trade association memberships | $575 | $5,750 | As incurred |
Equipment, inventory, and field assets
| Item 7 category | Low | High | When paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tools | $460 | $1,840 | Before training |
| Furniture and fixtures | $1,095 | $4,600 | Before opening |
| Office equipment | $1,725 | $4,600 | Before opening |
| Signage | $345 | $4,600 | Before opening |
| Opening parts and electronics inventory | $17,250 | $28,750 | Before opening |
| Office supplies | $345 | $920 | Before opening |
| Vehicle(s) | $1,380 | $2,764 | As incurred |
| Uniforms | $230 | $345 | Monthly |
Training, launch marketing, insurance, and working capital
| Item 7 category | Low | High | When paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| Training and travel, lodging and food expenses | $2,300 | $5,175 | Before and during training |
| Insurance | $5,750 | $23,000 | As incurred |
| Website Development | $2,875 | $11,500 | Before opening |
| Advertising, Promotional and Local Marketing Spending | $17,250 | $34,500 | Before opening and during first three months |
| Additional Funds for first three months | $34,500 | $69,000 | As incurred |
| Official Estimated Initial Investment | $164,285 | $360,294 | Real estate purchase costs excluded |
Source: Precision Door Service SPV LLC 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 27–31. Category names, ranges, and timing follow the FDD table.
The Initial Franchise Fee dominates the range, while Additional Funds and opening marketing create a second large block of required startup capital. Bars use $150,000 as the common scale maximum.
Official figures: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 27–28. The bar positions are derived only by dividing each disclosed endpoint by the $150,000 chart maximum.
The published Item 7 high total is $360,294, but the displayed high-end line items add to $360,094, a derived $200 difference. The article preserves the official total rather than replacing it. The Vehicle(s) row also shows only $1,380–$2,764, while its footnote discusses purchases of $40,000–$75,000 per vehicle plus $8,000–$16,000 for wraps, racks, and boxes. A buyer should obtain a written reconciliation of the Item 7 total and a vehicle-specific cash schedule before signing.
Why can the startup cost vary by more than $196,000?
The largest variable is the territory-based Initial Franchise Fee, followed by vehicle strategy, inventory, insurance, marketing, and premises. A Precision Garage Door Service territory generally contains 150,000–300,000 SFHUDs, and Precision Door Service SPV LLC charges $0.50 per SFHUD. The FDD does not publish a separate Item 7 total for an approved conversion of an existing garage-door business, so a conversion buyer must identify which existing assets actually satisfy current standards.
Premises are required
The business cannot operate from a home. Item 7 assumes at least 2,000 square feet of industrial or commercial office space. The lease line covers one month's rent plus a security deposit equal to two months' rent; buying real estate is outside the total.
Fleet choice changes cash timing
The system currently requires one or two compliant white late-model pickup trucks or vans. Leasing can spread payments, while the FDD footnote estimates $40,000–$75,000 per purchased vehicle, plus specified outfitting.
Other material drivers are opening parts and electronics inventory from approved suppliers, insurance limits, website launch work, required local marketing, and the number of technicians needing devices, ServiceTitan licenses, uniforms, and vehicles. The Neighborly brand profile confirms the corporate brand relationship, while the FDD controls the cost obligations.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 15–16; Item 7, pp. 27–31; Item 8, pp. 32–37; Item 11, pp. 45–49; Item 12, pp. 54–55.
When does a buyer actually pay the startup costs?
The largest franchisor payment is due at signing, while third-party costs accumulate before training, before opening, and during the first three months. The 2026 FDD says the prospective franchisee must receive the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate, consistent with the FTC Franchise Rule.
Pay the $75,000–$150,000 Initial Franchise Fee and the $1,250 Software System Enrollment Fee. Both are generally non-refundable. If franchisor financing is approved, the down payment and promissory note are also executed at signing.
Acquire the required tool set and pay travel, lodging, and meals. An additional Phase II trainee currently costs $1,000–$2,000, and an additional Field Training participant currently costs $1,000 per week. Item 7 estimates $2,300–$5,175 for training-related travel and expenses, with remote delivery potentially reducing travel.
Fund the lease and deposit, any build-out, equipment, signage, opening inventory, vehicle preparation, insurance, licenses, website development, and pre-opening marketing. The Franchise Agreement requires opening within nine months after signing.
Use the $34,500–$69,000 Additional Funds allowance for cash-flow shortfalls and continue the Start-Up Phase Marketing Spending. These amounts are already included in Item 7.
The License Fee and MAP Fee apply to Gross Sales on their monthly schedule. Technology Package charges begin in the earlier month of opening or initial software setup; ServiceTitan user fees and call-center charges follow their provider schedules.
The Minimum License Fee begins. The monthly License Fee becomes the greater of 6% of prior-month Gross Sales or the applicable territory-based minimum.
The franchisor's official ownership sequence provides process context, but the signed Franchise Agreement and current FDD determine when money is legally due.
Sources: 2026 FDD cover; Item 5, pp. 15–18; Item 6, pp. 19–26; Item 7, pp. 27–31; Item 10, pp. 39–41; Item 11, pp. 49 and 54.
Which fees continue after the franchise opens?
The core recurring charges are a 6% License Fee and a 2% MAP Fee, both based on Gross Sales. The License Fee is subject to a monthly minimum after the first 12 months. Local marketing, software, website management, call-center services, insurance, association membership, and the annual Reunion add separate obligations.
| Ongoing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing | Cost interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| License Fee | 6% of Gross Sales; subject to Minimum License Fee | Monthly, currently the 5th | Greater of percentage fee or applicable minimum |
| MAP Fee | 2% of Gross Sales | Same schedule as License Fee | Separate from local marketing spending |
| Local Marketing Group | Up to 3% of Gross Sales | As determined by the LMG | Applies if a group is designated |
| Minimum Local Marketing Spending | After the initial period, greater of $20,000 or 8% of prior-year Gross Sales | Annual spending obligation | Item 6 basis; see conflict note below |
| Technology Package and related accounts | Currently $124.45/month base, plus added accounts and services | Monthly, currently the 15th | Starts at operations or first software setup, whichever is earlier |
| ServiceTitan | Current per-user tiered charges; $151–$241 per service-professional user/month depending on user count | Paid directly to provider | Separate from Technology Package |
| Website management and maintenance | Approximately $3,000 per website/month | Paid to third-party vendor | Includes SEO and pay-per-click management services |
| Approved call center | Setup $0–$249; minimum monthly $160–$600; potentially $25 per booked appointment | As provider charges | Required for rollover and after-hours calls |
| Annual Reunion | Currently up to $1,000 registration; $2,000 nonattendance charge | When billed | Travel and living expenses are additional |
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 19–26; Item 8, pp. 32–37; Item 11, pp. 42–48 and 54.
The percentage License Fee remains 6% of prior-month Gross Sales; these amounts are the disclosed floor when the floor exceeds 6%.
Official figures: 2026 FDD, Item 6, Fees Chart, pp. 25–26. Bars use $2,500 as the common maximum. Higher legacy-territory tiers are omitted because the FDD marks them not applicable to new franchisees.
Item 6 states that, after the Initial Marketing Spend Requirement, Minimum Local Marketing Spending is the greater of $20,000 or 8% of the previous year's Gross Sales. Item 7 footnote 15 instead prints 5%. Because the current FDD conflicts internally, a prospective franchisee should not assume the lower percentage; obtain written confirmation of the operative percentage in the current Franchise Agreement and any amendment.
- Gross Sales
- The disclosed fee base generally includes all revenues and receipts arising from the Business, excluding collected sales taxes, authorized refunds, rebates or discounts, and approved Excluded Services.
- Start-Up Phase Marketing Spending
- At least $15,000 during the period before opening and the first three months after opening.
- Initial Marketing Spend Requirement
- At least $60,000 during the first 12 months and $75,000 during months 13–24, in addition to the MAP Fee.
- Minimum License Fee
- A territory-based monthly floor that applies after month 12; the payable License Fee is the greater of the floor or 6% of prior-month Gross Sales.
Is $50,000 of liquid capital enough to open?
No. The current official franchise page lists at least $50,000 of Liquid Capital and $250,000 of Net Worth, but those are screening qualifications, not substitutes for the $164,285–$360,294 Estimated Initial Investment. Liquid Capital is readily available funding; Net Worth is assets minus liabilities; neither figure changes the Item 7 cost contract.
The official cost and qualification page provides the $50,000 and $250,000 thresholds. The 2026 FDD does not state a separate minimum amount of Non-Borrowed Funds.
At the low end, the official investment range exceeds the Liquid Capital threshold by $114,285. That derived difference does not predict a buyer's down payment, but it shows why meeting the qualification threshold alone does not prove the project is fully funded.
What franchisor financing can and cannot cover
Precision Door Service SPV LLC may finance part of the Initial Franchise Fee for a qualified buyer, but it has no obligation to do so. Standard financing may cover up to 70% of the Initial Franchise Fee and, at the franchisor's discretion, up to 80% for a buyer meeting additional requirements. It does not represent financing of the full Item 7 investment, and no franchisor financing is offered when a broker is involved.
| Credit score | Disclosed annual interest rate |
|---|---|
| Under 600 | 12% |
| 600–649 | 11% |
| 650–699 | 10% |
| 700 or more | 9% |
The down payment and promissory note are due at signing, and monthly installments begin about two months after initial training. The general repayment guidance ranges from up to five years for loans below $45,000 to nine years for loans above $150,000. The financing requires a security interest in the franchise and business assets, and personal guarantees can apply, including a spouse's guarantee. A third-party lender referral does not guarantee approval. The FDD also says franchisor financing is currently limited to an amount less than 50% of the Business's total equity, debt, and other financial support.
Sources: official franchise cost page checked July 22, 2026; 2026 FDD, Item 10, pp. 39–41.
How does the cost change for a private-equity multi-unit commitment?
A qualifying private-equity owner may be offered a Development Agreement for two to five Precision Garage Door Service Businesses. The 2026 FDD discloses a separate total of $171,785–$382,794, which combines the Development Fee with the cost of opening the first Business after crediting the overlapping 10% portion of the Initial Franchise Fee.
| Development path | Low | High | What the disclosed total covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Development Fee | $15,000 | $37,500 | 10% of aggregate Initial Franchise Fees for 2–5 Businesses; credited to unit fees |
| First Business investment after overlap adjustment | $156,785 | $345,294 | First-unit Item 7 investment less the 10% fee amount already in Development Fee |
| Total Developer investment disclosed | $171,785 | $382,794 | Development rights plus opening the first Business only |
The Development Agreement total is not the all-in cost of opening every committed Business. Each later Business requires its own Franchise Agreement, Initial Franchise Fee, and opening investment. If more than one Business must open within the first nine months, the cash commitment can exceed the displayed Developer range.
The Development Fee is due when the Development Agreement is signed. The first Franchise Agreement is signed at the same time, with its Initial Franchise Fee also due then. Later Initial Franchise Fees are due when each later Franchise Agreement is executed. These rights are not a standard multi-unit discount available to every buyer; they are a separate PE Owner structure.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 18–19; Item 7, pp. 31–32; Item 17, pp. 69–70.
Which charges arise only after a transfer, renewal, default, or special event?
The standard startup total does not include every later charge. Item 6 contains fixed, percentage-based, and variable obligations that activate only when a specific event occurs.
Which discounts can reduce the Initial Franchise Fee?
| Item 5 program | Potential reduction | Main condition |
|---|---|---|
| Multi-Unit Franchisee Discount | 5%–20% | Existing Precision franchisee for 2 to 5+ years buying additional territory |
| Cash Discount | Additional 5% | Full fee for additional territory paid within 90 days; unavailable with a broker |
| Additional Concept Discount | 10% | Franchisee of a qualifying affiliate concept for at least two years |
| HIRE Discount | 10%–25% | Qualified employee with 2 to 5+ years of consecutive service |
| VetFran Discount | 20% | Qualifying honorably discharged veteran who satisfies ownership requirements |
Combination restrictions matter. The Multi-Unit Franchisee Discount, HIRE Discount, and Additional Concept Discount generally cannot be combined with another discount. The VetFran Discount may be combined with the Additional Concept Discount, but not with the Multi-Unit Franchisee Discount. Except for VetFran, a calculated fee below the Minimum Initial Franchise Fee generally remains subject to that minimum.
$5,000 Renewal Fee for the one additional 10-year term, plus compliance with then-current training and agreement requirements. Continued operation on an interim month-to-month basis can raise the License Fee to 125% of the pre-expiration amount.
$20,000 Transfer Fee before transfer. A Buyer Commitment Agreement can add a $14,900 training fee. The negotiated purchase price for an operating Business and transaction legal costs are not disclosed in Item 7.
A 10% deposit based on the additional territory's Initial Franchise Fee. It is credited if exercised within the 18-month option period, but is non-refundable if the territory is not purchased or the buyer does not qualify.
$10 per day for overdue Franchise Agreement fees, $25 per month for late Software System Fees after 30 days, $50 per dishonored check or ACH draft, and 12% annual interest on unpaid balances.
Audit costs, expenses, underpayments, interest, and late fees can be charged after a 2% or greater Gross Sales understatement. Missing documents can cost $500 each, up to $2,500 per audit, plus rescheduling costs.
Up to 5% of qualifying Key Account Gross Sales, plus unestimated third-party billing or referral charges. Additional training is currently up to $500 per day, plus travel and related expenses.
$300 Amendment Fee, plus variable tax reimbursement, indemnification, attorneys' fees, and enforcement costs when applicable.
The 20% VetFran discount applies only to the Initial Franchise Fee for a qualifying veteran; it does not reduce the rest of Item 7. The current offer is supported by the Neighborly veteran support information, while eligibility and combination rules are governed by Item 5.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 16–18; Item 6, pp. 20–24; Item 7, pp. 30–31; Item 17, pp. 63–70.
What does the official range still leave unresolved?
The $34,500–$69,000 Additional Funds estimate covers cash-flow shortages during the first three months and includes payroll for three employees. It excludes compensation for the owner or a manager and excludes debt service. The FDD recommends planning for a period longer than three months, but it does not publish a longer-period dollar amount.
The official total excludes real estate costs. It assumes a lease-related line, and the business cannot be home-based.
Not included in Additional Funds, even though payroll for three employees is considered.
Loan principal and interest are excluded from Additional Funds and must be modeled from actual financing terms.
A resale buyer negotiates the operating-business purchase price with the seller; the standard startup range does not apply.
The Franchise Agreement can require new hardware, software, licenses, or upgrades, and the FDD states no contractual cap on those obligations.
Inventory, insurance, rent, licensing, wages, technician count, and approved-provider pricing vary by territory and circumstance.
A designated search provider may require a secondary location after the first year in limited circumstances; no separate cost estimate is disclosed.
Vehicle, signage, telephone, website, and other de-identification duties can create costs, but the FDD does not quantify them.
Before treating $360,294 as a hard ceiling, reconcile the vehicle assumptions, obtain current supplier and software quotes, confirm the 5% versus 8% local-marketing conflict, and build owner compensation and debt service outside Item 7. The FTC's FDD review guidance explains why the disclosure document, Franchise Agreement, and related contracts should be analyzed together.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 28–31; Item 8, pp. 32–37; Item 11, pp. 45–49; Item 17, pp. 63–70.
What capital figure should a prospective franchisee use?
Use $164,285–$360,294 as the verified 2026 Item 7 range for one new standard Precision Garage Door Service territory, not as a guaranteed ceiling. Keep the $75,000–$150,000 Initial Franchise Fee, $50,000 Liquid Capital qualification, $250,000 Net Worth qualification, and 6% License Fee conceptually separate.
The range moves primarily with territory size, premises, fleet strategy, inventory, insurance, marketing, and staffing-related technology. The most important unresolved questions are the FDD's $200 high-end arithmetic difference, the vehicle footnote, and the conflicting post-initial local-marketing percentages. A buyer considering a resale, conversion, or PE Owner Development Agreement needs a format-specific cost schedule rather than applying the standard startup total mechanically.
Verified capital position: the standard 2026 startup range is $164,285–$360,294, with Additional Funds already included for three months. A qualifying PE Owner Development Agreement is separately disclosed at $171,785–$382,794 for development rights plus the first Business, not every committed unit. Continuing fees and circumstance-triggered obligations sit outside the opening total except where Item 7 expressly includes an initial payment.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Precision Door Service Franchise?
- How Does the Precision Door Service Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Precision Door Service Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What Are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Precision Door Service Franchise?
- How Much Does a Precision Door Service Franchise Owner Make?