How to Start a HomeWell Senior Care Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

OPENING PATH

How does the current HomeWell Care Services opening process work?

3–9 months
Official FDD estimate from signing to opening

The April 20, 2026 FDD says a typical HomeWell Care Services franchisee is anticipated to open within 3–9 months after signing. That estimate is not the contractual deadline: the Franchise Agreement generally requires opening within 120 days, with a licensing exception when a required state home-care license remains pending despite best efforts. “HomeWell Senior Care” is the former brand name; the current U.S. offer is HomeWell Care Services.

Data basis: legal franchisor HomeWell Franchising LLC; 2026 FDD issued April 20, 2026; current offer reviewed for single-Territory, multiple-Territory and conversion situations; Timeline Mode A — official total estimate. Primary evidence: FDD Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20; Franchise Agreement Sections 5, 8 and 9; Territory, Site Approval Letter, Lease Addendum, Franchise Owner Agreement, ACH Authorization, Brand Protection Agreement and Confidentiality Agreement attachments. Checked July 18, 2026. No verified franchise-controlled public copy of the 2026 FDD was located, so FDD citations below are unlinked.
120 days
General opening deadline
From Franchise Agreement Effective Date. FA §8.3.
45 days
License application deadline
Applies where state home-care licensing or registration is required.
10 business days
Site review window
Site deemed approved absent written disapproval after a complete request.
111.5 hours
Disclosed training total
39.5 classroom plus 72 on-the-job hours. FDD Item 11.
14 calendar days
Federal disclosure period
Before signing a binding agreement or paying franchisor/affiliate.
QUALIFICATION

What must a prospective HomeWell franchisee qualify for before signing?

HomeWell’s current franchise site describes discovery as connecting with the franchise team, reviewing the opportunity, speaking with existing owners, and completing a final consultation and approval with the Executive Leadership Team before signing. The 2026 FDD does not state a universal minimum net worth, liquid-capital amount, credit-score threshold, or required healthcare background. HomeWell’s current training page also says owners can come from different professional backgrounds and be trained in home-care essentials.

Contractually, the buyer must identify a Managing Owner whom HomeWell approves. If the franchisee is an entity, each owner and each owner’s spouse signs the Franchise Owner Agreement; that document includes personal financial assurance for the franchisee’s monetary obligations. A hired Manager is optional, but must meet Manual criteria, complete initial training and sign a Brand Protection Agreement. The Managing Owner remains responsible if that Manager can no longer serve.

Source: 2026 HomeWell Care Services FDD Item 15, p.38; Franchise Agreement §9, pp.8–9; Franchise Owner Agreement Attachment E.

✓
Complete HomeWell’s discovery discussions and obtain Executive Leadership Team approval before signing.
✓
Identify the proposed Managing Owner and confirm HomeWell will approve that person.
✓
Decide whether the purchase covers one Territory or multiple Territories; each Territory uses a separate Franchise Agreement.
✓
For an entity franchisee, review the Franchise Owner Agreement obligations for every owner and owner’s spouse.
✓
Do not assume unpublished financial or credit criteria; verify current approval standards directly with HomeWell.
✓
Confirm the franchise can legally be offered in the buyer’s state before relying on territory availability.
DISCLOSURE & SIGNING

When can the Franchise Agreement be signed and what documents matter?

The federal Franchise Rule requires the FDD to be delivered at least 14 calendar days before the prospect signs a binding franchise agreement or pays money to the franchisor or an affiliate in connection with the sale. The FTC consumer guide to buying a franchise explains the disclosure timing, and the FTC Franchise Rule page links to 16 CFR Part 436. State franchise-registration rules can add requirements, so the exact sale sequence must be checked for the buyer’s state.

After approval and the required disclosure period, the franchisee signs one Franchise Agreement for each Territory. Attachment B identifies the Territory by ZIP codes; Attachment C is the Site Approval Letter; Attachment D is the Lease Addendum; Attachment E is the Franchise Owner Agreement; and Attachment F authorizes ACH payments. Signing also triggers the nonrefundable initial franchise fee under the selected 2026 FDD option, the $5,000 training fee, and the $1,000 compliance-platform setup fee.

Source: 2026 FDD Items 5 and 22, pp.7–9 and 57; Franchise Agreement Attachments B–F.

Opening path Governing structure What changes What to verify
Single Territory One Franchise Agreement plus its attachments Territory is defined by contiguous ZIP codes; one approved professional office is required. Exact ZIP codes, current availability and the final Attachment B map.
Multiple Territories Separate Franchise Agreement for each Territory No area-development agreement or development schedule is disclosed; HomeWell may require separate offices for separate Territories. Whether offices may be shared and how opening deadlines apply to each agreement.
Conversion Current FDD identifies a conversion path but no separate conversion agreement HomeWell may waive or discount the initial fee after reviewing the existing client base, location and experience. Which ordinary site, licensing, training and opening requirements HomeWell will modify, if any, in writing.
VERIFIED ROADMAP

What are the actual steps from inquiry to opening?

1
Complete discovery and leadership approval
Action: Connect with franchise development, review the opportunity, speak with owners and complete final consultation.
Actor: Applicant and HomeWell franchise-development/leadership teams.
Timing: No contractual duration disclosed.
Blocker: HomeWell approval and territory availability.
2
Receive and review the 2026 FDD
Action: Review all 23 Items, the Franchise Agreement and attachments before committing.
Actor: Applicant; HomeWell supplies disclosure.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before binding signing or covered payment.
Next dependency: Final approval and completion of applicable state sale requirements.
3
Sign the agreement package for each Territory
Action: Execute the Franchise Agreement, Territory attachment and required owner/payment documents.
Actor: Franchisee, owners, spouses where applicable, and HomeWell.
Timing: Effective Date starts the main contractual clocks.
Blocker: Unresolved entity, guaranty, Territory or state-registration issues.
4
Start licensing and secure an approvable office
Action: In licensing states, submit the home-care license or registration application; locate a professional office inside the Territory.
Actor: Franchisee; government authority controls licensing.
Timing: License application within 45 days when required.
Blocker: Licensing backlog, zoning, site suitability or incomplete application.
5
Obtain site approval, lease and buildout approval
Action: Submit the site, execute the Site Approval Letter, send the lease, seek the landlord’s Lease Addendum signature and equip the office to Manual standards.
Actor: Franchisee, HomeWell and landlord.
Timing: 10-business-day deemed-approval rule for the site request.
Blocker: Landlord refusal or HomeWell’s written disapproval of site/buildout/layout.
6
Install systems, insurance and required staffing
Action: Set up WellSky Personal Care, required email and compliance tools; obtain approved insurance; employ the required Care Manager and other staff needed for lawful operation.
Actor: Franchisee, approved suppliers, insurer and employees.
Timing: Before opening; no single total duration disclosed.
Blocker: Supplier setup, insurance proof, credentialing or staffing gaps.
7
Complete training and pass pre-opening inspection
Action: The Managing Owner and specified employees must successfully complete initial training; the business must pass HomeWell’s one-day pre-opening on-site inspection.
Actor: Trainees, HomeWell trainers and inspector.
Timing: Training begins after the Effective Date and concludes by opening.
Blocker: Unsuccessful training completion or failed inspection.
8
Receive final readiness approvals and begin accepting clients
Action: Hold licenses/permits/credentialing, provide insurance proof, obtain written buildout/layout approval and satisfy training/inspection conditions before opening.
Actor: Franchisee, HomeWell and government authorities.
Timing: Generally by day 120; licensing exception may apply.
Next dependency: Begin actively accepting clients; hold the required grand-opening event within the disclosed window.

Roadmap basis: 2026 FDD Items 9, 11, 12 and 15, pp.23–38; Franchise Agreement §§5, 8 and 9.

SITE APPROVAL

How are Territory, site approval, lease approval and opening approval different?

The Territory is established in Franchise Agreement Attachment B and is defined by contiguous ZIP codes. The office is a separate approval: it must be a professional office, not a home office, at least 300 square feet, inside the Territory and compliant with HomeWell’s minimum site criteria. HomeWell may consider population density, traffic patterns and proximity to other HomeWell locations when reviewing the proposed site.

Source: 2026 FDD Item 11, pp.28–32, and Item 12, pp.32–35; Franchise Agreement §8.1–8.3, pp.7–8; Attachments B–D.

Territory fixedAttachment B identifies the ZIP-code territory.Not an exclusive territory.
Franchisee finds officeProfessional office, no home office, inside the Territory.Minimum 300 sq. ft.
HomeWell reviews siteCommercially reasonable acceptance or rejection.10-business-day deemed-approval rule.
Site Approval LetterAttachment C documents the approved site.No suitability warranty.
Lease handled separatelySend executed lease; use best efforts for landlord to sign Lease Addendum.HomeWell does not review lease terms.
Build and equipFranchisee funds construction, layout, furnishings, systems and signage to standards.Manual controls specifications.
Written buildout approvalConstruction, buildout and layout must be approved before opening.Separate from site approval.
Inspection and openingPass the pre-opening inspection and all other readiness conditions.Then begin accepting clients.
SITE APPROVAL IS NOT TERRITORY PROTECTIONThe Franchise Agreement says site approval only indicates that the proposed premises meet HomeWell’s minimum criteria; it is not a warranty that the location will succeed. Territory rights come from the Franchise Agreement and Attachment B. The 2026 FDD expressly states that the Territory is not exclusive, even though HomeWell limits certain same-brand in-home care competition inside it.
TRAINING & READINESS

What training and staffing must be complete before opening?

The Managing Owner and any employees HomeWell specifies must attend and successfully complete the pre-opening initial training program. The FDD discloses 39.5 classroom hours and 72 on-the-job hours, with remote instruction, coaching and work at the franchise office. The Managing Owner and initial designated Manager, if any, must complete training to HomeWell’s satisfaction before opening. HomeWell currently expects virtual delivery, but may use in-person training.

The required staffing structure is distinct from training. The franchisee must have an approved Managing Owner and must employ a full-time Care Manager; the Managing Owner cannot serve as the Care Manager. A separate Manager can handle daily management if qualified and trained. Before hiring employees, the Franchise Agreement requires criminal background checks. HomeWell’s current support and training page describes its LaunchWell pathway and role-based Learning Lab, but the FDD and Franchise Agreement control the mandatory pre-opening standard.

Source: 2026 FDD Item 11, pp.25–27, and Item 15, p.38; Franchise Agreement §§5 and 9.

OPENING DEADLINE

Which deadlines can delay or terminate the opening process?

The controlling deadline is generally 120 days after the Franchise Agreement Effective Date. In a state requiring a home-care license or registration, the franchisee must submit the application within 45 days. If the required license is still not issued by day 120 despite the franchisee’s best efforts, the agreement requires opening within 30 days after license approval. This is a conditional extension mechanism, not a general 150-day opening period.

Contractual day-counts that govern the opening path

All values are days, but each bar keeps its own stated trigger.

License application from Effective Date 45 days General opening deadline from Effective Date 120 days Opening after delayed state-license approval 30 days 0 60 120 days

Interpretation: the license exception can extend opening beyond day 120 only when the required state license remains pending despite best efforts; once approved, the separate 30-day clock begins. Source: 2026 FDD Item 11, p.32; Franchise Agreement §8.3.

CONTRACTUAL DEADLINEFailure to open on time is identified in Item 17 as a non-curable default, and the Franchise Agreement allows termination for default. A delayed site, training completion, insurance, staffing or ordinary buildout issue is not stated as an automatic extension right. The disclosed licensing exception should therefore be distinguished from discretionary accommodations that are not written into the agreement.
OPENING AUTHORIZATION

What must be verified before the business can begin accepting clients?

HomeWell defines the business as open when all pre-opening conditions are satisfied and the franchisee begins actively accepting clients. Before that point, the Managing Owner and specified employees must complete training, the office must pass HomeWell’s on-site inspection, required insurance must be purchased and evidenced, applicable licenses/permits/credentialing and governmental approvals must be obtained, and HomeWell must give written approval of construction, buildout and layout.

Required systems include WellSky Personal Care, HomeWell-designated email services and the online home-care compliance platform. Insurance must come from approved carriers and meet the Franchise Agreement or Manual requirements. The franchisee is responsible for local legal compliance, permits and licensing; HomeWell’s pre-opening assistance does not include obtaining those approvals. The required grand-opening event may occur from 30 days before opening through 90 days after opening.

Source: 2026 FDD Item 11, p.32; Item 8, pp.19–22; Franchise Agreement §8.3, pp.7–8.

✓
Territory description and ZIP-code map match the dealthe buyer believes was awarded.
✓
Site Approval Letter is executed and any lease/Lease Addendum issue is resolved.
✓
HomeWell has provided written approval of office construction, buildout and layout.
✓
All required licenses, permits, credentialing and governmental approvals are active.
✓
Required insurance is in force and proof has been delivered to HomeWell.
✓
Managing Owner and specified employees successfully completed initial training.
✓
The one-day pre-opening on-site inspection has been passed.
✓
WellSky, required email, compliance platform and other required office systems are operational.
BUYER VERIFICATION

What should a buyer verify directly with HomeWell before committing?

First, confirm the exact current legal offer, because the present franchisor is HomeWell Franchising LLC and the current brand is HomeWell Care Services, while “HomeWell Senior Care” is historical. Second, verify which Territory is actually available using HomeWell’s current territory page only as a starting point; the signed Attachment B controls the granted ZIP codes. Third, ask whether the intended state requires home-care licensing, registration, a nurse, an administrator or other credentialing that affects the 45-day and 120-day clocks.

For multi-Territory buyers, confirm whether HomeWell will require a separate office for each Territory and whether the agreements will share or stagger effective dates. For a conversion, obtain any modification to ordinary opening requirements in writing rather than assuming that an existing agency automatically satisfies site, training, insurance, systems or inspection conditions. Prospects can also use HomeWell’s owner-discovery page and the FDD Item 20 contact lists to compare how recent owners experienced licensing, site approval, training and launch timing.

Bottom line: the verified path is discovery and leadership approval → FDD review and federal/state waiting requirements → one Franchise Agreement per Territory → licensing and site work → lease/buildout/systems → staffing and training → inspection and written readiness approvals → active client acceptance. The total 3–9 month period is an official estimate, not a promise. The franchisee-controlled critical dependency is completing licensing/site/training/insurance work early; the key outside dependency is government licensing plus HomeWell approvals. The main contractual issue to verify is how the 120-day opening deadline applies to the buyer’s state and each signed Territory agreement.
Official HomeWell U.S. franchise website — current brand and franchise opportunity.
HomeWell owner discovery and approval process — consultation and Executive Leadership Team approval before signing.
HomeWell support and training — current LaunchWell and Learning Lab description.
HomeWell territories — current public market-availability starting point.
HomeWell franchise FAQ — current public statements about owner fit and territory method.
FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise — federal FDD timing and due-diligence guidance.
FTC Franchise Rule — official rule page for 16 CFR Part 436.