How Much Does a HomeWell Senior Care Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Annual owner earnings estimate
$24,000–$83,000

A manager-run, mature single-territory HomeWell Care Services business may produce approximately $24,000 to $83,000 in annual pre-tax owner earnings, with a modeled base case near $50,000. An active Managing Owner who replaces a paid manager may receive an estimated owner-operator benefit of roughly $134,000 to $193,000, but about $109,300 of that amount represents the market value of the owner's full-time labor rather than passive business profit.

Evidence mode: FDD-anchored scenario estimate Confidence: Limited Format: Single territory, open more than one year Performance period: Calendar 2025
Independent estimate

This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by HomeWell Franchising LLC. It combines identified facts from the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document with separately identified IRS, U.S. Census Bureau, BLS, and editorial assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of market demand, territory maturity, billed hours, caregiver wages, office staffing, the Care Manager requirement, royalties, minimum fees, marketing, financing, owner involvement, and execution.

Data basis
Legal franchisor
HomeWell Franchising LLC, the successor entity identified in the current U.S. offer. The FDD explains that HomeWell Senior Care was an earlier brand name; new franchises are offered as HomeWell Care Services.
FDD reviewed
2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 20, 2026; Item 19 reports revenue and Gross Margin, but not net profit or owner compensation.
Applicable population
Single-territory HomeWell businesses open more than one year at December 31, 2025; Item 19 reports by HomeWell business, not always by individual territory.
External benchmarks
IRS 2022 corporate statistics, 2022 Economic Census data for NAICS 621610, and May 2023 BLS wages for Medical and Health Services Managers.
Public FDD link
No matching 2026 FDD was verified on a franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD references are stated by year, Item, and page without a hyperlink.
Date checked
July 19, 2026. Brand status was cross-checked against the official HomeWell U.S. franchise website.
Direct answer

How much can a HomeWell owner reasonably earn each year?

The defensible manager-run range is approximately $24,000 to $83,000 per year, with a base scenario near $50,000. This is an estimated pre-tax operating-cash proxy for a single-territory HomeWell business open more than one year, before financing interest, financing principal, personal income taxes, and replacement capital expenditures.

The estimate is intentionally wider than a single-point answer because Item 19 does not report Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, Owner Compensation, or Cash Flow. It reports Gross Revenues and a source-defined Gross Margin after caregiver wages. The remaining operating costs must therefore be modeled rather than presented as an official HomeWell result.

Scenario Revenue anchor Cash-margin assumption Manager-run owner earnings
Conservative $519,000 4.7% $24,000
Base $649,000 7.7% $50,000
Upside $779,000 10.7% $83,000

Revenue uses 80%, 100%, and 120% of the official $649,031 median for the 47 single-territory HomeWell businesses open more than one year. Margin uses a 7.6898% IRS-derived cash proxy with a minus/plus 3 percentage-point sensitivity. Displayed values are rounded to the nearest $1,000 after full-precision calculations.

Estimated manager-run owner earnings by scenario

The earnings range changes with both revenue and the assumed all-in cash margin.

Manager-run annual owner earnings scenarios Three columns show approximately twenty-four thousand dollars for the conservative scenario, fifty thousand dollars for the base scenario, and eighty-three thousand dollars for the upside scenario. $0 $30k $60k $90k $24k $50k $83k Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: the base case is not a forecast or “most likely” result. It is the central analytical scenario. Source basis: 2026 FDD Item 19, p. 46; IRS Publication 16, Tax Year 2022, Table 5.1; editorial 80%/100%/120% revenue spread and ±3 percentage-point margin sensitivity.

Revenue is not earnings

The official $649,031 median is Gross Revenues, not salary, profit, or take-home pay. Caregiver wages alone consume approximately half of revenue in the FDD's single-territory Gross Margin cohort, before office payroll, a full-time Care Manager, a possible manager, rent, insurance, royalties, marketing, software, recruiting, and other overhead.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 FDD actually measure?

Item 19 officially measures Gross Revenues and Gross Margin, not owner earnings. The most relevant central revenue figure is the $649,031 median for 47 single-territory HomeWell businesses that had been open more than one year as of December 31, 2025.

The FDD defines a “HomeWell business” as all franchised operations run by one franchisee, potentially covering one or multiple territories. For the single-territory cohort, that distinction is straightforward. For multi-territory owners, Item 19 reports per business rather than reliably per territory, so the figures cannot be divided or multiplied without additional operating assumptions.

Single-territory cohort Businesses Average 2025 Gross Revenues Median 2025 Gross Revenues
Open 10+ years 4 $2,213,260 $1,802,961
Open 6–9 years 1 $3,030,347 $3,030,347
Open 1–5 years 42 $909,564 $563,570
All open more than one year 47 $1,065,640 $649,031

Official FDD facts: 2026 FDD Item 19, Table 2, p. 46. The overall range was $2,442 to $11,470,529, and 15 of 47 businesses, or 32%, met or exceeded the $1,065,640 average. The large average-versus-median gap shows why the median is the more conservative central anchor.

What does “Gross Margin” mean here?

Gross Margin is the percentage of Gross Revenues remaining after caregiver wages only. For 40 qualifying single-territory businesses with complete reporting, the 2025 mean was 49%, the median was 50%, and the range was 30% to 74%. This is an official Item 19 result for businesses open at least one year, but it is not Operating Profit.

At the $649,031 revenue median, a 50% Gross Margin implies about $324,516 remaining after caregiver wages. That amount must still cover all non-caregiver operating costs. The FDD specifically warns that Item 19 does not show whether participating franchisees operated at a net profit or net loss. See 2026 FDD Item 19, Table 4, pp. 48–50.

$649k Official median Gross Revenues

47 single-territory businesses open more than one year; calendar 2025.

50% Official median Gross Margin

After caregiver wages only; 40 complete-reporting single-territory businesses.

7.7% Derived base cash-margin proxy

IRS net income plus interest and depreciation, divided by total receipts.

$109.3k BLS manager labor benchmark

May 2023 mean wage for Medical and Health Services Managers in Home Health Care Services.

9%+ Disclosed percentage fee burden

Standard 6% royalty, 1% Brand Development Fund, and at least 2% local marketing, before fixed and minimum fees.

32% Met or exceeded average revenue

15 of 47 single-territory businesses in the official revenue cohort.

Scenario method

How was the earnings estimate calculated?

The estimate anchors revenue to HomeWell's official median and applies a broad official-industry cash-margin proxy. It is estimated, not reported by HomeWell, and it applies to a mature single-territory business rather than a newly opened agency or multi-territory portfolio.

Estimated manager-run owner earnings = scenario Gross Revenues × scenario cash-margin proxy
Base cash-margin proxy = (IRS Net Income + IRS Interest Paid + IRS Depreciation) ÷ IRS Total Receipts = 7.6898%

The IRS input is Tax Year 2022 corporate data for “Miscellaneous health care and social assistance” in Publication 16, Table 5.1. The calculation uses $9.172 billion of Net Income, $1.527 billion of Interest Paid, $4.577 billion of Depreciation, and $198.655 billion of Total Receipts. Adding back interest and depreciation creates a cash-oriented operating proxy before financing interest and non-cash depreciation, but it is not HomeWell EBITDA and it is not specific to non-medical home care franchises.

The 2022 Economic Census table for NAICS 621610 Home Health Care Services reports $114.188 billion of revenue and $55.548 billion of annual payroll for employer establishments, a payroll-to-revenue ratio of approximately 48.6%. That is directionally consistent with HomeWell's 50% median Gross Margin after caregiver wages, but Census payroll includes more than caregiver wages and is not used as a profit margin.

Key modeling assumptions and exclusions

  • Revenue spread: 80%, 100%, and 120% of the $649,031 FDD median because Item 19 does not provide quartiles for the total mature single-territory cohort.
  • Margin spread: 7.6898% minus or plus 3 percentage points because the IRS source provides one broad aggregate margin rather than a HomeWell distribution.
  • Fee treatment: the IRS cash proxy is treated as all-in after ordinary deductions; HomeWell fees are not subtracted a second time. Whether the benchmark adequately represents franchise fees is a major limitation.
  • Financing: interest and principal are excluded from operating earnings. Actual loan payments reduce cash available to the owner.
  • Capital spending: depreciation is added back, while replacement equipment and other capital expenditures are not separately modeled.
  • Taxes: no personal or entity-level income tax estimate is published.
Owner role

How does owner involvement change the result?

An active owner can convert a manager payroll cost into owner labor value, increasing estimated owner-operator benefit by about $109,300. This is a benchmark estimate for the same mature single-territory scenarios, not a claim that HomeWell pays owners a salary or that every owner can eliminate a manager position.

Item 15 requires an approved Managing Owner who is primarily responsible for daily management and supervision. The Managing Owner must devote full-time effort unless management is delegated to a qualified manager. HomeWell also requires a separate full-time Care Manager, and the Managing Owner cannot serve as the Care Manager or the primary sales or marketing professional. These staffing constraints limit how much payroll an active owner can realistically replace. See 2026 FDD Item 15, p. 38.

Manager-run earnings versus owner-operator benefit

Owner-operator benefit adds a $109,300 market wage for management labor to residual business earnings.

Owner role comparison across three scenarios For conservative, base, and upside scenarios, manager-run owner earnings are approximately twenty-four thousand, fifty thousand, and eighty-three thousand dollars. Owner-operator benefit is approximately one hundred thirty-four thousand, one hundred fifty-nine thousand, and one hundred ninety-three thousand dollars. $0 $50k $100k $150k $200k Conservative $24k $134k Base $50k $159k Upside $83k $193k
Manager-run residual owner earnings Owner-operator benefit, including labor value

Interpretation: the gap is compensation for full-time management work, not passive profit. Wage source: BLS May 2023 Medical and Health Services Managers, Home Health Care Services industry mean annual wage of $109,300. BLS wage data exclude self-employed workers and do not include employer payroll burden.

Owner-operator effect

An owner who performs the Managing Owner role may capture both residual business earnings and the economic value of labor. The $134,000–$193,000 owner-operator range should therefore be read as combined compensation for capital and work, not as a distributable return available to an absentee owner.

Recurring obligations

Which HomeWell fees can move owner earnings most?

The royalty structure, required marketing, and minimum-payment schedule are the most material disclosed fee variables. These are official 2026 FDD obligations, while their exact effect on a particular owner's profit remains uncertain because Item 19 does not provide a full income statement.

Royalty
Generally 6% of monthly Gross Revenues or the applicable minimum royalty per territory, whichever is greater. The minimum increases with territory age and can reach $5,000 per month for Territory 1 late in the 10-year term. 2026 FDD Item 6, pp. 10 and 15.
Alternative fee option
A new single-territory franchisee choosing the lower initial fee pays 10% of Gross Revenues or the minimum until the first territory has generated $1.5 million of cumulative Gross Revenues, then 6% or the minimum. The four-percentage-point difference equals about $26,000 annually at $649,031 of revenue, all else equal.
Brand Development Fund
1% of Gross Revenues, subject to monthly minimums that rise to $1,000 after month 19. At $649,031 of annual revenue, 1% is approximately $6,490.
Local marketing
The greater of 2% of Gross Revenues or $1,000 per month per territory. At the median revenue anchor, 2% is approximately $12,981.
Other recurring items
The annual conference registration fee is $1,200 for two attendees. Email service is currently $4.20 per account per month, or $8.40 for unlimited storage. Required software, insurance, recruiting, licensing, and other operating costs are separate.

At the $649,031 median, the standard percentage obligations alone equal at least 9% of revenue: approximately $38,942 for a 6% royalty, $6,490 for the Brand Development Fund, and $12,981 for local marketing. That totals about $58,413 before the conference fee, email, software, insurance, and any higher minimum royalty. These figures are expense obligations, not additional deductions from the scenario model, because the IRS cash-margin proxy is treated as an all-in benchmark.

Uncertainty

What could push actual owner earnings outside the range?

The largest unresolved uncertainty is non-caregiver overhead at the local agency level. Item 19 gives an unusually useful caregiver-wage Gross Margin, but it does not disclose the payroll, occupancy, recruiting, insurance, royalty, marketing, technology, interest, depreciation, or owner-compensation lines needed to calculate actual HomeWell profit.

Sample limitation

The $649,031 median covers 47 single-territory businesses open more than one year, while the 50% Gross Margin median covers only 40 businesses with complete client, hours, and caregiver-payroll data. Item 20 also reports 43 openings, 20 terminations, and two outlets that ceased operations for other reasons during 2025, ending the year with 201 franchised territories and no company-owned outlets. The Item 19 sample therefore reflects a growing but changing system.

What a buyer should verify before relying on the range

  • Request the written substantiation for Item 19 and confirm how each HomeWell business's Gross Revenues and caregiver wages were collected and reviewed.
  • Ask current franchisees for full 2025 profit-and-loss statements, separating caregiver wages, office payroll, Care Manager compensation, manager compensation, recruiting, rent, insurance, software, royalties, and marketing.
  • Confirm whether the 6% royalty or a minimum royalty would control for the specific territory age and projected monthly Gross Revenues.
  • Confirm whether the buyer will use the standard initial-fee structure or the 10% royalty structure until $1.5 million of cumulative revenue.
  • Separate owner salary for actual work from distributions, retained earnings, and residual business profit.
  • Model debt interest and principal separately using the buyer's actual financed amount, rate, term, and collateral requirements.
  • Interview both current and former franchisees listed in Item 20, including owners near the intended territory maturity and revenue level.

The FTC's guide to evaluating franchise financial performance representations explains that earnings claims must have a reasonable basis and appear in Item 19, subject to narrow exceptions. The FTC also notes that prospective buyers may request written substantiation and should compare the disclosure with current and former franchisee experience.

Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible earnings conclusion?

A reasonable planning range is $24,000 to $83,000 in manager-run annual pre-tax owner earnings for a mature single-territory HomeWell Care Services business, with a base analytical scenario near $50,000. This is scenario-based, not an official HomeWell earnings disclosure. An active owner may realize approximately $134,000 to $193,000 of owner-operator benefit when the $109,300 market value of management labor is included.

The most important earnings driver is the combination of billed revenue and labor efficiency: the FDD's median Gross Margin leaves only half of revenue after caregiver wages, and all other operating costs come from that remainder. The largest uncertainty is the agency's actual non-caregiver overhead, especially office staffing, the Care Manager requirement, management structure, recruiting, and whether percentage fees or minimum payments control.

A buyer should treat the range as a screening tool, then verify the 2026 FDD Item 19 definitions, request written substantiation, and obtain comparable franchisee profit-and-loss statements. Debt service and personal taxes must be modeled separately for the buyer's circumstances.