How does the Home Instead opening process work from inquiry to launch?
The 2026 FDD does not disclose one total inquiry-to-opening duration. After the Franchise Agreement becomes effective, the standard deadline is 30 days to complete required training and open. If state licensure is required and best efforts are used, the formula extends to 30 days after the later of the Effective Date or license issuance, subject to a 90-day cap from the Effective Date.
The official Home Instead franchise ownership process describes candidate evaluation before award; the FDD controls contractual obligations after signing. The Federal Trade Commission separately explains the 14-calendar-day disclosure rule, which is a pre-signing protection rather than an estimate of how long Home Instead approval or opening will take.
What must a prospective Home Instead franchisee qualify for?
Home Instead’s official qualifications page publishes no strict education or experience minimum and the 2026 FDD states no minimum net worth, liquidity threshold or credit score. The candidate process does require financial and background information, while the Franchise Agreement says the grant relies on the Principals’ business skill, financial capacity and personal character.
Meeting published qualities does not guarantee approval. Because the FDD gives no numerical underwriting thresholds, ask which current financial and background criteria will be applied to your ownership group.
Sources: Home Instead, Inc. 2026 FDD, Item 15 pp.46–47 and Franchise Agreement §§1(A), 9(H), 18; official Home Instead qualifications page.
What are the actual steps from initial inquiry to opening?
Training is typically offered up to three times per year, the Office agreement must exist before training, and the Franchise Agreement sets a 30-day post-signing opening clock. Together, those facts make signing date, Office acquisition and training scheduling a likely critical path. This is a derived inference, not an opening-time promise.
Sources: Home Instead, Inc. 2026 FDD, Items 5, 11 and 17; Franchise Agreement §§2–4 and 16; Deposit Agreement; official ownership process; FTC Franchise Rule.
What does Home Instead require for the Protected Area, Office and licensing?
The Franchise Agreement grants a Protected Area defined in Exhibit A, generally based on an estimated minimum population of 10,000 people age 65 or older. Separately, the franchisee selects a dedicated, non-residential Home Instead Office or verifiable business address inside that area, and Home Instead must consent to the location in writing.
The FDD allows an office park, co-working/shared facility or other commercial space that meets Home Instead’s address, privacy and security standards. Home Instead may give location input if requested but does not review construction, remodeling or decorating plans. Any furnishings, improvements and required systems must meet system standards before opening.
The Protected Area restricts other Home Instead franchise locations, but the FDD reserves digital channels, National Accounts and certain affiliate activities. Office consent also is not a success guarantee. Verify territory rights, Office approval and reserved competitive channels separately.
Licensure is market-specific. Some states may require a home-care license, certificate of need or other approvals, and particular services can add requirements. The franchisee is responsible for obtaining applicable licenses, permits and certificates. The official territory page shows marketed U.S. opportunities but does not establish license or Office approval.
Sources: Home Instead, Inc. 2026 FDD, Items 1, 7, 11 and 12; Franchise Agreement §§1–3.
What training and systems must be completed before opening?
The Franchise Agreement requires successful Franchise Training before opening and describes an approximate 4–7 day program, with in-person, virtual or hybrid delivery at Home Instead’s designation. Item 11 discloses 25 instructor-led hours plus 19 hours of assignments, web-based training and on-the-job training.
The largest disclosed module is Care Pros & Key Players at 16 hours; the schedule combines classroom-style instruction with LMS, assignments and on-the-job components rather than relying on one training format.
Source: Home Instead, Inc. 2026 FDD, Item 11 pp.35–36 and Franchise Agreement §4(A). The official training and support page describes the broader training environment; the FDD controls the contractual training requirement.
Technology readiness is another pre-opening dependency. Item 11 requires approved operating software—currently WellSky or the Honor Care Platform—and additional Required Systems such as the LMS, ApplicantStack, Microsoft Office 365, Salesforce, Zeewise and Yext. The franchisee supplies compliant computer hardware, internet connectivity and security.
Staff hiring is the franchisee’s responsibility. The Franchise Agreement requires employee criminal background checks and drug screening to the extent allowed by law; Home Instead may also require Business Development Advisor and Client Care Advisor roles through the Operations Manual.
Who controls the key dependencies that can delay opening?
Evidence basis: Home Instead, Inc. 2026 FDD, Items 8, 10, 11, 12 and 15; Franchise Agreement §§2–4 and 9. Responsibility labels distinguish contractual duties from assistance and third-party approvals.
Does the process change for an existing franchise, conversion, multi-territory owner or institutional owner?
New territory
Core document
Franchise Agreement with the Protected Area in Exhibit A. The standard Office, licensing, systems, training and opening requirements apply.
Existing franchise acquisition
Approval path
Home Instead must approve the transfer. Item 17 includes buyer approval, purchase-agreement review, training arrangements, a current Franchise Agreement, seller release and guaranties.
Conversion
Publicly marketed path
The official site markets conversion, but Item 22 lists no separate conversion agreement. Confirm the applicable Franchise Agreement and transition requirements before assuming the new-territory sequence applies unchanged.
Multi-territory ownership
Core document
The Multi-Territory Addendum conditionally coordinates multiple Franchise Agreements; it is not an Area Development Agreement. Up to three contiguous territories may share an approved trained Operations Manager, subject to law and approval.
Institutional owner
Core document
The Institutional Owner Addendum uses a designated top executive, modifies the guaranty structure and can require escrow or letter-of-credit financial assurance.
The official process page describes marketed new, resale and conversion paths; the 2026 FDD and signed agreements control the transaction actually used.
What should a buyer verify before the Franchise Agreement becomes effective?
Use Item 20 contacts to ask recent owners about training, licensing and opening coordination. The FTC’s franchise buyer guide highlights current and former franchisees as a due-diligence source; their experience does not replace the Franchise Agreement or professional advice.
What is the practical bottom line for opening a Home Instead franchise?
The verified path is market selection and application, FDD review, financial/background and fit evaluation, offer and signing, Office and pre-opening setup, successful Franchise Training, then opening. The full inquiry-to-opening duration is not disclosed, while the post-signing opening deadline is official: normally 30 days, with the stated license exception capped at 90 days from the Effective Date. The main applicant-controlled dependency is coordinating Office, systems, staffing and training; the main external dependency is licensure. Verify both before signing.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Home Instead Senior Care Franchise?
- How Does the Home Instead Senior Care Franchise Work?
- How Does the Home Instead Senior Care Franchise Work?
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Home Instead Senior Care Franchise?
- How Much Does a Home Instead Senior Care Franchise Owner Make?